All gun sales must be completed through a licensed firearms dealer unless the transfer is to a family member. Buyers under 21 years old must have completed a Vermont hunters course (or equivalent) or be a member or former member of the military, active or veteran member of the National Guard, or law enforcement. Vermont does not require permits to purchase and has no firearms registration.
Both open carry and concealed carry are legal without a permit in Vermont. Any person 16 or older (although federal law requires the age to be 18) who can legally possess a firearm is allowed to carry openly or concealed. There is no distinction between resident or non-resident, both are allowed to carry without a permit in Vermont. Therefore, the state does not issue permits.
Yes, without a permit. Any person who is at least 18 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm can open carry.
Gun Permit Licensure?
If Vermont requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?
Vermont does not issue permits.
Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?
What is the minimum age in Vermont to get a concealed carry permit?
The minimum age to concealed carry in Vermont is 18.
Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?
Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Vermont with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?
Not applicable. Vermont does not issue permits.
Tasers or Stun Guns?
Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Vermont?
Yes. Stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a permit.
Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray?
Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Vermont?
Yes. There is no statute prohibiting the purchase or use of pepper spray in Vermont.
MAGAZINE LIMITS FOR HANDGUNS?
Does Vermont have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?
No more than 15 rounds for handguns.
On February 19, 2021, the Vermont Supreme Court upheld the constitutionality of the state law banning high-capacity magazines
In 2018, Vermont enacted legislation to generally restrict the sale, purchase, possession, manufacture and importation of large-capacity ammunition-feeding devices. There is a grandfather provision for large-capacity magazines that were lawfully possessed on or before April 11, 2018. There are various exemptions which include law enforcement, government officials and shooting competitions. Additional exemptions include attached tubular device designed to accept, and capable of operating only with, .22 caliber rimfire ammunition as well as curios or relics.
Can you carry a concealed firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Vermont?
Yes, there is no statute making it illegal to concealed carry in bars or restaurants, unless posted.
Carry/Possess at a hotel?
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Vermont?
Vermont statutes don't specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See theHandguns at Hotels pagefor additional information.
Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?
Does Vermont have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?
Do you have a duty to inform a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Vermont?
There is no duty to inform a law enforcement officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Vermont.
"No Weapons Allowed" Signs Enforced?
Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Vermont? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.
Yes. A person shall be imprisoned for not more than 3 months or fined not more than $500, or both, if, without legal authority or the consent of the person in lawful possession, he or she enters or remains on any land or in any place as to which notice against trespass is given by:
(A) actual communication by the person in lawful possession or his or her agent or by a law enforcement officer acting on behalf of such person or his or her agent;
(B) signs or placards so designed and situated as to give reasonable notice; or
(C) in the case of abandoned property:
(i) signs or placards, posted by the owner, the owner's agent or a law enforcement officer and so designed and situated as to give reasonable notice; or
(ii) actual communication by a law enforcement officer.
Vermont has a red flag law. A state's attorney or the office of the attorney general may file a petition requesting that the court issue an extreme risk protection order prohibiting a person from purchasing, possessing or receiving a dangerous weapon, or having a dangerous weapon within the person's custody or control.
No definition of brandishing was found in Vermont law. However, any person who shall intentionally point or aim any gun, pistol or other firearm at or towards another, except in self-defense or in the lawful discharge of official duty, shall be punished. Any person who shall discharge any such firearm so intentionally aimed or pointed shall also be punished.
Does Vermont have laws regarding carrying a concealed firearm while using alcohol or drugs?
Not addressed in state statutes.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Does Vermont issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?
No. A permit is not necessary.
PUBLIC ACCESS TO CONCEALED CARRY REGISTRY?
Does Vermont allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Vermont?
No. A permit is not required to purchase a handgun in Vermont.
Background Checks for Private Gun Sales?
Are background checks required for private gun sales in Vermont?
Yes. Firearm transfers must be completed through a licensed firearms dealer and require a background check. Exemptions include the following:
Transfers from one immediate family member to another immediate family member. This includes a spouse, parent, stepparent, child, stepchild, sibling, stepsibling, grandparent, stepgrandparent, grandchild, stepgrandchild, greatgrandparent, step-great-grandparent, greatgrandchild and step-great-grandchild
Transfers to another person in order to prevent imminent harm to any person, provided that this exception only applies while the risk of imminent harm exists
Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Vermont?
No. There is not a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Vermont.
Do handguns need to be registered in Vermont?
No. Handguns do not need to be registered in Vermont.
Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?
What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Vermont?
16 years old. A person, firm or corporation, other than a parent or guardian, who sells or furnishes to a minor under the age of 16 years a firearm or other dangerous weapon or ammunition for firearms shall be fined not more than $50.00 nor less than $10.00. This section shall not apply to an instructor or teacher who furnishes firearms to pupils for instruction and drill.
A child under the age of 16 years shall not, without the consent of his or her parents or guardian, have in his or her possession or control a pistol or revolver constructed or designed for the use of gunpowder or other explosive substance with leaden ball or shot. A child who violates a provision of this section shall be deemed a delinquent child under the provisions of chapter 52 of Title 33.
Have Questions? Contact Our Award-Winning, Wisconsin-Based Member Services Team 24/7 at 800-674-9779
State Constitutional Provision
That the people have a right to bear arms for the defense of themselves and the State as standing armies in time of peace are dangerous to liberty, they ought not to be kept up; and that the military should be kept under strict subordination to and governed by the civil power."
Anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry it concealed in permitless carry states without a permit/license. The minimum age* for permitless carry is shown. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.
*PC-18 = permitless carry if at least 18 years old
*PC-21 = permitless carry if at least 21 years old
Vermont does not issue permits and therefore there is no application process.
Vermont is a Constitutional Carry state which does not require permits for residents and visitors to carry firearms within the state. As long as you are legally allowed to possess a firearm under state and federal law, you can carry.
Since Vermont doesn’t issue permits, there is no training requirement. However, the USCCA recommends that anyone who makes the choice to carry a concealed firearm obtain as much training as possible in order to be a responsibly armed American.
Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.
Each department/agency is responsible for managing its RLEOs in Vermont.
It is legal in Vermont to carry, openly or concealed, any type of legal knife, so long as you have no criminal intent and do not carry it onto school, school buses or government property. Switchblades with a blade that is 3 inches or longer are illegal. Municipalities may have additional restrictions.
Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.
If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email [email protected] and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!
Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
If you have any questions regarding USCCA Membership, Delta Defense, handguns laws or the lawful process of carrying concealed, please contact the award-winning Delta Defense Customer Engagement Team.
Uncover the Backstory Free Book
Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.
Are You Born to Protect?
Get Your FREE USCCA Sticker! Enter your email below:
Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.
But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…
We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.