I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Arizona, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?
Based on our most recent research, the USCCA has identified just two states with statutes against carrying a concealed firearm while wearing a mask: California and Illinois (although sheriffs and county prosecutors in Illinois have made statements indicating that wearing a mask to protect others from COVID-19 while carrying a gun isn’t illegal as long as the wearer isn’t wearing the mask while committing a crime). Due to the large number of inquiries, some states have publicly addressed their laws regarding wearing masks, clarifying that they actually refer to individuals concealing their identity with the intention to commit illegal acts or to specifically hide their identity, and do not address wearing a mask while legally carrying a concealed firearm. While Arizona has no known mask restriction laws relating specifically to the carrying of firearms, masks may be considered an aggravating circumstance if charged with another crime. [Az. Rev. Stat. 13-701(D)(26)]
If you have further questions, we recommend that you reach out to your local law enforcement office, or district attorney.
There is no permit, background check or firearms registration required when buying a handgun from a private individual. A purchaser must be at least 18 years old to buy a gun from a private individual. The minimum age to purchase a handgun from a federally licensed dealer is 21.
Open carry is legal in Arizona for any person who is at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm. Some areas are off-limits, including schools and liquor stores that have posted “no weapons” signs.
Anyone at least 21 years old who can legally possess a firearm, may concealed carry a firearm without a permit. Arizona Concealed Weapons Permits (CWP) are issued to residents and non-residents at least 21 years old or 19 for active military and veterans and require a firearms training course that has been state-approved, although there are training exemptions that may apply to law enforcement and members of the military, to name a few. In terms of reciprocity, since Arizona has permitless carry, any person 21 years of age and older who can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm on his or her person without a license or permit.
Use of Force A person is justified in threatening or using physical force when and to the extent a reasonable person would believe that physical force is immediately necessary to protect himself against the other’s use or attempted use of unlawful physical force.
Use of Deadly Force A person is justified in threatening or using deadly force against another:
If such person would be justified in threatening or using physical force against the other; and
When and to the degree a reasonable person would believe that deadly physical force is immediately necessary to protect himself against the other’s use or attempted use of unlawful deadly physical force.
Defense of a Third Person A person is justified in threatening or using physical force or deadly force against another to protect a third person if the person would be justified in threatening or using physical force or deadly physical force to protect himself against the unlawful physical force or deadly physical force.
Use of Physical Force in Defense of Premises A person in lawful possession or control of premises is justified in threatening to use physical force when and to the extent that a reasonable person would believe it immediately necessary to prevent or terminate criminal trespass in or upon the premises. A person may use deadly force only in the defense of himself or a third person.
“Premises” means any real property and any structure — movable or immovable, permanent or temporary — adapted for both human residence and lodging whether occupied or not.
Use of Physical Force in Defense of Property A person is justified in using physical force when and to the extent that a reasonable person would believe it necessary to prevent theft or criminal damage involving tangible movable property. A person may use deadly force only in the defense of himself or a third person.
Use of Force in Crime Prevention A person is justified in threatening or using both physical force and deadly physical force if and to the extent the person reasonably believes the force is immediately necessary to prevent a number of violent felonies, including murder and sexual assault.
Civil Immunity There is no civil liability for justified conduct.
Yes, without a permit. Any person who is at least 18 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm can open carry.
Gun Permit Licensure?
If Arizona requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?
Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?
What is the minimum age in Arizona to get a concealed carry permit?
Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?
Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Arizona with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?
1. "Deadly weapon" means anything that is designed for lethal use. The term includes a firearm.
4. "Firearm" means any loaded or unloaded handgun, pistol, revolver, rifle, shotgun or other weapon that will expel, is designed to expel or may readily be converted to expel a projectile by the action of an explosive. Firearm does not include a firearm in permanently inoperable condition.
Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Arizona?
Carry in State/National Parks, State/National Forests and Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)?
Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in Arizona?
Yes, although firearms are not allowed in any building where a state office is located. See theNational Parks webpage for links to each Park in Arizona.
Carry in Bars/Restaurants That Serve Alcohol?
Can you carry a firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Arizona?
Yes, concealed carry is legal with or without a permit, unless posted and provided you don’t consume any alcohol. Arizona's statutes are contradictory as ARS§ 4-229(A) indicates no permit is required to concealed carry in a bar/restaurant that serves alcohol while 4-244(29) and (30) indicate a permit is required.
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Arizona?
Arizona statutes don't specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See the Handguns at Hotels page for additional information.
Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?
Does Arizona have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?
Firearms can legally be carried in a case, holster, scabbard, pack or luggage that is carried within a means of transportation or within a storage compartment, map pocket, trunk or glove compartment of a means of transportation.
A property owner, tenant, public or private employer, or business entity shall not establish, maintain or enforce a policy or rule that prohibits a person who can legally possess a firearm from lawfully transporting or lawfully storing any firearm that is both:
1. In the person's locked and privately owned motor vehicle or in a locked compartment on the person's privately owned motorcycle; and
2. Not visible from the outside of the motor vehicle or motorcycle.
This section does not apply if, in part:
The property owner, tenant, public or private employer or business entity provides a parking lot, parking garage or other area designated for parking motor vehicles, that:
Is secured by a fence or other physical barrier;
Limits access by a guard or other security measure;
Provides temporary and secure firearm storage. The storage shall be monitored and readily accessible on entry into the premises and allow for the immediate retrieval of the firearm on exit from the premises; or
Provides alternative parking in a location reasonably proximate to the primary parking area for individuals who desire to transport or store a firearm in the individual's motor vehicle and does not charge an extra fee for such parking.
Does Arizona have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?
Does Arizona have ammunition restrictions?
"No Weapons Allowed" Signs Enforced?
Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Arizona? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.
Yes. A person commits misconduct involving weapons by knowingly entering any public establishment, or attending any public event, carrying a deadly weapon on his or her person after a reasonable request by the operator of the establishment, the sponsor of the event or the sponsor's agent to remove his or her weapon and place it in the custody of the operator of the establishment or the sponsor of the event for temporary and secure storage of the weapon pursuant to section 13-3102.01.
Misconduct involving weapons under subsection A ... paragraph 10 or 11 of this section is a class 1 misdemeanor.
Does Arizona have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?
Yes. There is full state preemption of all gun laws. In addition, Section 13-3108 provides that if a court determines a political subdivision has knowingly violated the preemption law, the court may assess a civil penalty of up to $50,000, and if a court determines that a state official enacting a law or rule knowingly violated the preemption law, that person's term may be subject to termination.
No. A person commits the crime of disorderly conduct if they recklessly handle, display or discharge a deadly weapon. Defensive displays of a firearm without justification could also be charged as aggravated assault. Defensive displays include actions such as putting your hand on a firearm while it is concealed in a pocket, sweeping the jacket to expose the firearm, or saying you have a firearm without drawing or waving it.
However, this statute specifically allows defensive display and protects the citizen against being prosecuted for it when it is justified.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Arizona?
Background Checks for Private Gun Sales?
Are background checks required for private gun sales in Arizona?
No. Private firearms transfers are not subject to a background check requirement, although federal and state purchaser prohibitions, including age restrictions, still apply. It is recommended that you retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun.
Arizona Permit Exempts from Background Check?
Does my current Arizona concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?
Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Arizona?
Do handguns need to be registered in Arizona?
Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?
What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Arizona?
18 years old.
A. A person who sells or gives to a minor, without written consent of the minor's parent or legal guardian, a firearm, ammunition or a toy pistol by which dangerous and explosive substances may be discharged is guilty of a class 6 felony.
C. The temporary transfer of firearms and ammunition by firearms safety instructors, hunter safety instructors, competition coaches or their assistants shall be allowed if the minor's parent or guardian has given consent for the minor to participate in activities such as firearms or hunting safety courses, firearms competition or training. With the consent of the minor's parent or guardian, the temporary transfer of firearms and ammunition by an adult accompanying minors engaged in hunting or formal or informal target shooting activities shall be allowed for those purposes.
A. Notwithstanding any other provision of this title, any person may take wildlife in self-defense or in defense of another person if it is immediately necessary to protect oneself or to protect the other person.
Can you concealed carry while bowhunting in Arizona?
Yes. See references in previous section.
Hunter Harassment Law?
Is there a Hunter Harassment Law in Arizona?
Yes. It is illegal to intentionally interfere with, prevent or disrupt the lawful taking of wildlife by:
Harassing, driving or disturbing any wildlife.
Blocking, obstructing or impeding a person lawfully taking wildlife.
Erecting a barrier without the consent of the landowner or lessee with the intent to deny ingress to or egress from areas where wildlife may be lawfully taken.
Making physical contact, without permission, with a person lawfully taking wildlife.
Engaging in theft, vandalism or destruction of real or personal property.
Disturbing or altering the condition or authorized placement of real or personal property intended for use in the lawful taking of wildlife.
Making loud noises or gestures, set out animal baits, scents or lures or human scent, use any other natural or artificial visual, aural, olfactory or physical stimuli, or engage in any other similar action or activity, in order to disturb, alarm, drive, attract or affect the behavior of wildlife or disturb, alarm, disrupt or annoy a person lawfully taking wildlife.
Interjecting oneself into the line of fire of a person lawfully taking wildlife.
Have Questions? Contact Our Award-Winning, Wisconsin-Based Member Services Team 24/7 at 800-674-9779
State Constitutional Provision
The right of the individual citizen to bear arms in defense of himself or the State shall not be impaired, but nothing in this section shall be construed as authorizing individuals or corporations to organize, maintain or employ an armed body of men."
Since Arizona has permitless carry, any person who is at least 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm may open carry, and any person at least 21 years old may concealed carry a firearm without a permit.
Arizona residents can carry a concealed defensive firearm in the state of Oklahoma without any type of permit. You must carry your driver's license or state-issued ID when carrying your firearm in Oklahoma.
Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.
States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Arizona
Arizona offers resident and non-resident permits. If indicated with “Resident only” below, that state only honors Arizona resident permits (and not those issued to non-residents).
Arizona doesn't distinguish between resident and non-resident for permits, so the process is the same for everyone. It should be noted that there is no requirement for out-of-state applicants to obtain training in the state of Arizona or apply in person. If the applicant can demonstrate competence with a handgun through one of the approved methods identified in the training requirements section in their home state, they may request an application through email and submit it via the mail.
For changes of address, name changes or errors, print the Change Name/Address form, complete the appropriate section(s) and mail the form and required fee to the permit unit at the address listed on the form. A replacement permit will be generated and mailed to you.
You will need to contact your county sheriff to obtain a new permit.
Moving to Arizona and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply? Is your concealed carry permit from your former state transferable? Arizona doesn't distinguish between resident and non-resident permits, so you can apply for your permit at any time. You may carry concealed utilizing another state's permit as long as that permit is valid and in good standing. Although your permit isn't transferable, you may be able to use it as proof of firearms competence when applying for an Arizona permit. Contact the permit unit for additional information.
Moving from Arizona and have an Arizona resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Arizona permit remains valid? If a person with an Arizona concealed weapon permit establishes residency in another state, the permit is valid until it expires provided that individual submits the above referenced name/address change form.
An applicant shall demonstrate competence with a firearm through any of the following:
Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class that is available to the general public; that is offered by a law enforcement agency, junior college, college, or a private or public institution, academy, organization or firearms training school; and that is approved by the department of public safety or that uses instructors who are certified by the National Rifle Association (NRA);
Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Arizona Game and Fish Department or a similar agency of another state;
Completion of any NRA firearms safety or training course;
Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class that is offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies or other divisions or sub-divisions of law enforcement or security enforcement and that is approved by the Department of Public Safety;
Evidence of current military service or proof of honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions from the United States Armed Forces;
Possession of a valid current or expired concealed weapon, firearm or handgun permit or license that is issued by another state or a political subdivision of another state and that has a training or testing requirement for initial issuance;
Completion of any governmental police agency firearms training course and qualification to carry a firearm in the course of normal police duties; or
Completion of any other firearms safety or training course or class that is conducted by a Department of Public Safety-approved or NRA-certified firearms instructor.
The Concealed Weapon Permit Unit (CWPU) mails a courtesy renewal packet to customers whose permits are due to expire. The packet is mailed to the address on record approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date. The packet includes a renewal application and pre-addressed return envelope. If you have not received your courtesy renewal packet, you may print the renewal application from this site. Attn: Renewal. If you are unable to print a renewal application call or email the CWPU.
Renewals may be processed between 90 days prior to expiration and 60 days after expiration. If your permit is expired more than 60 days, and you still want to possess a concealed weapons permit, you must apply for a new permit. You may use your expired permit card as proof you have attended the firearms safety training, if it is in good standing.
AZ DPS-CWPU Attn: Renewal P.O. Box 6488 Phoenix, AZ 85005-6488
You may also drop off your application packet at the DPS Public Service Center building located at 2222 W. Encanto Blvd in Phoenix between the hours of 8:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. Please go to the main entrance.
Typically, applications are processed within 75 days of receipt if no additional research is required.
Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details, check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.
AZ Rev Stat 13-3112 T indicates the Department of Public Safety (DPS) may issue certificates of firearms proficiency according to the Arizona peace officer standards and training board firearms qualification for the purposes of implementing LEOSA. It requires law enforcement and prosecutorial agencies to issue photographic identification to qualified retired law enforcement officers. The chief law enforcement officer determines whether an officer has honorably retired and the determination is not subject to review. The DPS website contains a list of Certified LEOSA Instructors who are authorized to conduct standard qualification testing in firearms.
Carry in bars/restaurants that serve alcohol? Yes, concealed carry is legal with or without a permit, unless posted and provided you don’t consume any alcohol. Arizona's statutes are contradictory as ARS § 4-229(A) indicates no permit is required to concealed carry in a bar/restaurant that serves alcohol while 4-244(29) and (30) indicate a permit is required.
Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? Yes.
Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes.
Carry in state parks, state/national forests and WMAs? Yes.
Carry in an airport? Yes, in the unsecured areas of the terminal.
Carry in places of worship? There is no state statute prohibiting concealed carry in places of worship. However, since places of worship are private property, they may post signs prohibiting firearms.
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Arizona?
Places off-limits even with a permit/license
The grounds of any public school (handguns inside of vehicles must be unloaded before entering school grounds. If you have to exit your vehicle, the handgun must be unloaded and secured within the vehicle out of plain view);
Any establishment or event open to the public where the operator makes a reasonable request for you to give him or her custody or remove the weapon from the premises (a sign would qualify for such request. By law, cities and counties are required to offer on-site storage if they ban weapons, but not all are in compliance).
Any public college or university where the carrying of deadly weapons or firearms has been prohibited by the governing board [Ariz. Admin. Code § 7-4-102(3)];
The three Arizona State Universities (except in a locked and privately owned motor vehicle or in a locked compartment on the person's privately owned motorcycle, and not visible from the outside) [Arizona Board Of Regents Policy 5-303(3)];
On the premises on an on-sale liquor retailer while consuming alcohol or where the retailer who has posted a sign prohibiting weapons [Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 4-244(31)];
Most types of knives are legal and can be carried concealed, except in a vehicle when committing a serious offense, violent crime or felony. There is a duty to inform if asked by law enforcement. It is illegal for anyone under 21 to carry a concealed knife in a vehicle. Deadly weapons may not be possessed in a polling place on any election day or on school grounds.
Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.
If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email email@example.com and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!
Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
Should you have any questions regarding the legal process, membership or any of the great features and benefits a USCCA Membership provides, feel free to contact our award-winning Wisconsin-based Member Services team at any time.
Uncover the Backstory Free Book
Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.
Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.
But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…
We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.