State Seal of /application/themes/uscca/images/state_seals/de.png

Delaware Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws

Updated: 04/26/2019
Carry allowed with my Delaware permit?
Yes
Yes, With Restrictions
Yes, Permitless Carry
Yes, Selected State
No

Summary of Delaware Gun Laws

Delaware is a may-issue state with concealed weapons permits issued at the county level by the prothonotary office.

There is no permit required to purchase firearms nor is firearms registration required in the state of Delaware. Private-party transfers of firearms to persons other than family members must be conducted through a licensed dealer, who is required by federal law to conduct a background check and keep a record of the sale. A transfer to a person who possesses a valid Concealed Deadly Weapon License (CDWL) is exempt from this requirement.

Open carry is legal in Delaware without a permit. The minimum age is 18 years old. Some areas are off-limits, including schools and courthouses. 

Concealed carry is legal in Delaware with a CDWL or a CCW permit from a state that Delaware honors. CDWLs are issued to residents only and require a firearms training course that includes live-fire shooting exercises. Applicants must obtain five references from residents of their county and then they must publish their application in a local newspaper 10 days before filing their application. The application is reviewed by the attorney general's office and a court. The attorney general has the discretion to issue, on a limited basis, a temporary license to a non-resident whom the attorney general determines has a short-term necessity to carry such a weapon within Delaware, in conjunction with that individual's employment, for the protection of person or property. In terms of reciprocity, Delaware recognizes permits issued by other states that honor Delaware licenses to carry concealed deadly weapons, afford a reasonably similar degree of protection as is provided by licensure in Delaware.

Delaware is a Castle Doctrine state. There is no duty to retreat in or from your dwelling or place of work in situations where there is a reasonable belief that such force is necessary to protect yourself or another person against death, serious physical injury, kidnapping or sexual intercourse compelled by force or threat. The law applies so long as you did not provoke the situation. There is a duty to retreat in public if you can retreat with complete safety, surrender an object someone is trying to take or comply with a demand to not do something.

18k
Permits Issued
1M
State Population
1.87%
Permit Percentage
21
States Honored
29
Reciprocating States
18
Minimum Age to CC

Delaware Gun Laws at a Glance

Open Carry/ Concealed Carry Basics

Constitutional Carry?

Does Delaware allow constitutional carry?

No.

Open Carry Permitted?

Is open carry permitted in Delaware?

Yes, without a permit. Any person who is at least 18 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm can open carry. 

Gun Permit Licensure?

If Delaware requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?

May Issue.

Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?

What is the minimum age in Delaware to get a concealed carry permit?

18

Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?

Can you conceal carry weapons other than handguns in Delaware with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?

Waiting on information from the Delaware DOJ.

[Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 1441]
Non-Resident Permitting?

Does Delaware issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?

Yes, the attorney general can issue temporary permits on a limited basis.

Public Access to Concealed Carry Registry?

Does Delaware allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?

No, however the information is available for law enforcement.

Carry Locations

Carry in Vehicle?

Can you carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle in Delaware?

Yes, with a permit only. Without a permit, a firearm must be transported in plain sight — such as on the dash or seat — but not in the glove box or any place it cannot be seen.

[Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 1442]
Carry at Roadside Rest Areas?

Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Delaware?

Yes.

Carry in State/National Parks, State/National Forests and Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)?

Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in Delaware?

Yes, except for areas that are posted.

[DE Admin. Rule 201-21.1.4] and [Admin Rule 402-8.8.3]

[Title 7 – Wildlife 3900-8.3.4.9]
Carry in Restaurants That Serve Alcohol?

Can you carry a firearm in restaurants that serve alcohol in Delaware?

Yes, unless posted, and provided you are not under the influence.
 

Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?

Does Delaware have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?

Not addressed in Delaware state law.

Additional Related State Laws

Must Notify Officer You're Carrying?

Are you required to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Delaware?

Magazine Limits for Handguns?

Does Delaware have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?

No limit for handguns.

Ammunition Restrictions?

Does Delaware have ammunition restrictions?

There are no state laws, however, the City of Wilmington prohibits armor-piercing ammunition. 

"No Weapons Allowed" Signs Enforced?

Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Delaware? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.

No. Not mentioned in state statutes.
 

Preemption?

Does Delaware have [preemption laws](https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/resources/terminology/firearms-and-ammunition/preemption) related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?

Yes. There is full state preemption of gun laws except counties may regulate the discharge of firearms and may adopt ordinances regulating open carry in police stations and county buildings. Restricted areas must be posted. However, individuals with concealed carry permits can conceal carry in those areas.  [Del. Code Ann. tit. 9, § 330(d)]

[Del. Code Ann. tit. 22, § 111]
Red Flag Law?

Does Delaware have a red flag law?

Yes. A family member of a person or a law enforcement officer may file a petition prohibiting and enjoining a person from controlling, owning, purchasing, possessing, having access to or receiving a firearm.

[Del. Code Ann. tit. 10, § 7701]

STATE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION
A person has the right to keep and bear arms for the defense of self, family, home and state, and for hunting and recreational use."
Article 1, §20

Delaware Concealed Carry Reciprocity With Other States

Which states' permits does Delaware honor?

Delaware recognizes licenses or permits to carry concealed deadly weapons issued by other states that honor Delaware licenses to carry concealed deadly weapons, afford a reasonably similar degree of protection as is provided by licensure in Delaware, and do not evidence a pattern of issuing licenses or permits to convicted felons. Some states issue multiple levels of permits or licenses; only those meeting the above requirements will be recognized in Delaware.


Other States' Reciprocity With Delaware

Which states honor permits from Delaware?

Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.


States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Delaware

Which states honor permits from Delaware with restrictions?

Colorado (resident permits only and at least 21 years old)
Florida (resident permits only and least 21 years old)
Idaho (at least 21 years old)
Iowa (at least 21 years old)
Kentucky (at least 21 years old)
Michigan (resident permits only and least 21 years old)
Minnesota (at least 21 years old)
New Mexico (at least 19 years old)
North Carolina (at least 21 years old)
Ohio (at least 21 years old)
Oklahoma (at least 21 years old)
Tennessee (at least 21 years old)
Texas (at least 21 years old)
Utah (at least 21 years old)
Virginia (at least 21 years old)

Permitless Carry States

Anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry it concealed in permitless carry states without a permit/license. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.

Alaska (if at least 21 years old)
Arizona (if at least 21 years old)
Arkansas (if at least 21 years old)
Kansas (if at least 21 years old)
Maine (permit recognized; see Maine Reciprocity section for details)
Mississippi (if at least 21 years old)
Missouri (if at least 19 years old)
New Hampshire (if at least 18 years old)
Vermont (if at least 18 years old)
West Virginia (if at least 21 years old)

WAIT! Don't Carry Your Gun Anywhere Without This...

Your USCCA Membership arms you with the self-defense education, training, and legal protection you need to carry your gun with complete confidence. Without it, you could be leaving your family vulnerable.
Click the button below to learn more...
 

Learn More

Delaware Concealed Carry Permit Information

Requirements:

An applicant must:

  • Be at least 18 years old;
  • Complete a firearms training course;
  • Have 5 references from the county in which he or she resides. The references shall clearly state that the applicant is a person of full age, sobriety and good moral character, that the applicant bears a good reputation for peace and good order in the community in which the applicant resides, and that the carrying of a concealed deadly weapon by the applicant is necessary for the protection of the applicant or the applicant’s property or both;
  • Verify his or her application by oath or affirmation in writing before a state-authorized officer and state in writing that the applicant’s certificate and recommendations were read by its 5 signers and that the signatures are authentic; 
  • Never have been convicted in Delaware or elsewhere of a felony or a crime of violence;
  • If under 25 years old, never have been, as a juvenile, adjudicated as delinquent for conduct which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a felony;
  • Never have been convicted for the unlawful use, possession or sale of a narcotic, dangerous drug or central nervous system depressant or stimulant;
  • Not be subject to a Protection From Abuse Order issued by a court;
  • Never have been committed for a mental disorder to any hospital, mental institution or sanitarium; and 
  • Meet federal law requirements.
Fees:

$65 for all applications

Valid For:

3 years for initial permit and 5 years for renewals

Processing Time:

No processing time is specified.

Application:

Link to application

Link to reference questionnaire

Link to Instructions

Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permits:

The attorney general has the discretion to issue, on a limited basis, a temporary license to carry concealed a deadly weapon to any individual who is not a resident of the state and whom the attorney general determines has a short-term need to carry such a weapon within the state, in conjunction with that individual's employment, for the protection of person or property. No individual shall be issued more than 3 temporary licenses.
 

Name/Address Changes:

Write an informal letter to the court providing information regarding any change of name or address and attach a copy of your Driver’s License with the new name or address,
two passport-style photos and the fee. Send it to:  

Superior Court of Delaware - NCC
500 N. King Street, Suite 500
Wilmington, DE 19801

A new permit, reflecting the new name/address, will be sent to you in the mail.

Lost/Stolen Permits:

Contact your local prothonotary office.


Delaware Concealed Carry Permit Application Process

How to Apply for a Delaware Concealed Carry Permit

Step 1:

Download and complete the application. You can take your training class before you submit your application or wait until your application is approved, at which point you have 90 days to submit your training certificate.

Step 2:

Arrange with a newspaper of general circulation in your county to have your application published once, at least 10 business days before the filing of your application with the court. Obtain an affidavit from the newspaper company stating that this requirement has been met and attach it to your application. PLEASE NOTE: Selected newspaper must have a circulation of at least 35% of the population in your zip code. Be sure to use your whole name — no initials — and your home address.

Step 3:

Arrange to be fingerprinted by the State Bureau of Identification (SBI) within 45 days of filing an application. Fingerprinting by appointment only. Call the SBI at (302) 739-2528 and you will be given the address of the Delaware State Police Troop to report to at the time you are given an appointment. You may want to verify payment methods at the time you schedule your interview.

Step 4:

Have the reference questionnaires completed by 5 citizens from the county in which you reside who are not related to you and who have known you for at least 1 year.

Step 5:

Take the completed and notarized application to the prothonotary office, or mail it to the prothonotary office in the county in which you reside. You will need to include the following:

  • The original set of fingerprints and a complete copy of all the documents;
  • Two passport-style photographs taken within the preceding 6-month period; and
  • The filing fee.
Step 6:

If your application is approved, you must now complete an approved gun course within 90 days. If you cannot complete the course within 90 days of the approval of your gun permit, submit proof that you have enrolled in the course.

Step 7:

Submit an original, notarized certification of satisfactory completion of the firearms training course. Please note that if a certification or proof of enrollment is not filed with the court within 90 days of the approval of your gun permit, they will assume you no longer want to obtain a gun permit. In order to obtain a gun permit, you will have to start the process over.

Step 8:

Your permit will be issued.


Firearms Training Requirements in Delaware

A firearms training course shall include the following elements:

No additional training is required for permit renewals.

Find A USCCA class near you


Delaware Concealed Carry Permit Renewal Process

How to Renew a Delaware Concealed Carry Permit

Step 1:

Renewal applications may be filed as early as January 2nd of the renewal year, but no later than June 1 of the year of license expiration. You must file the renewal application and a duplicate copy.  You may hand deliver your application to the Prothonotary’s Office, or if all the requirements are met, mail to the Prothonotary’s Office in the County in which you reside.

Step 2:

Download and complete the application form.

Step 3:

Take the completed and notarized application to the prothonotary office, or mail it to the prothonotary office in the county in which you reside. You will need to include the following:

  • A complete copy of all the documents;
  • Two passport-style photographs taken within the preceding 6-month period; and
  • The filing fee.
Step 4:

Your permit will be issued.


Law Enforcement Officers (LEO)/Retired LEOs

Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.

The Delaware Criminal Code §§ 1441A and 1441B describe the State implementation of LEOSA for LEOs and RLEOs. 

Links
DSP Initial Application and Affidavit for retired DSP officers only
DSP Renewal Application and Affidavit
Current Shoot Dates


Delaware Location Restrictions

Where Can I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Delaware?

  • Carry in restaurants that serve alcohol? Yes.
  • Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? Without a permit, a firearm must be transported in plain sight — such as on the dash or seat — but not in the glove box or any place it cannot be seen. [Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 1442]
  • Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes.
  • Carry in state/national parks, state/national forests and WMAs? Yes, except where posted.
  • Carry in places of worship? There is no state statute prohibiting concealed carry in places of worship. However, since places of worship are private property, they may post signs prohibiting firearms.
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Delaware?

Places off-limits even with a permit/license

  • Any building, structure, athletic field, sports stadium or real property owned, operated, leased or rented by any public or private school, including, but not limited to, any kindergarten, elementary, secondary or vocational-technical school, or any college or university, or within 1,000 feet thereof;
  • Any motor vehicle owned, operated, leased or rented by any public or private school, including, but not limited to, any kindergarten, elementary, secondary or vocational-technical school, or any college or university;
  • Police stations;
  • Any building or structure owned, operated, leased or rented by any county or municipality, or the state, or any board, agency, commission, department, corporation or other entity thereof, or any private organization, which is utilized as a recreation center, athletic field or sports stadium;
  • Courthouses;
  • Police stations;
  • Prisons and other detention facilities; and
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or state law or regulation.

FAQ: Delaware Concealed Carry Questions

Do firearms need to be registered in Delaware?

No.

Is a permit required to purchase a gun in Delaware?

No.

Are background checks required for private gun sales in Delaware?

Yes.

Is there a waiting period after purchasing a firearm in Delaware?

No.

What are the knife laws in Delaware?

Open and concealed carry of folding knives with blades of not more than 3 inches is legal. Fixed blades and larger knives can only be carried concealed with a permit. Delaware prohibits knives in schools. There are a number of types of knives that are illegal in Delaware, including switchblades, gravity knives, throwing stars, knives with brass knuckles and knives that are undetectable by metal detectors.

What are the laws regarding carrying a firearm while using alcohol or prescription medication in DE?

Not while under the influence, per Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 1460
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.


Related Information & Links for Delaware Gun Laws


Delaware Gun Laws Updates:

Date Details
04/26/2019

Added permit renewal and name/address change info

04/17/2019

Links checked

03/15/2019

Added info on state implementation of Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act (LEOSA)

02/15/2019

Added pages for Federal Gun Laws, Traveling with Firearms & Terminology

02/09/2019

Added ammunition restrictions to At A Glance table

02/07/2019

Added red flag law info to At A Glance table

01/25/2019

Added church info to location restrictions section

01/25/2019

Links checked

01/24/2019

Added FAQ about alcohol or prescription medication

01/10/2019

Mag limit added to At A Glance table

12/12/2018

Added preemption info to At A Glance table

12/10/2018

Clarified the steps in the application process

11/29/2018

Added parking lot info to At A Glance table

10/22/2018

Added initial CCW law and reciprocity information for Delaware


Did We Miss Something?

Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated, trained and legally protected at all times. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.

f you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email support@uscca.com and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!

Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, "Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States: 2018.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.

The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. Members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.

Should you have any questions regarding the legal process, membership or any of the great features and benefits a USCCA Membership provides, feel free to contact our award-winning Wisconsin-based Member Services team at any time.