I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Utah, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?
Based on our most recent research, the USCCA has identified just two states with statutes against carrying a concealed firearm while wearing a mask: California and Illinois (although sheriffs and county prosecutors in Illinois have made statements indicating that wearing a mask to protect others from COVID-19 while carrying a gun isn’t illegal as long as the wearer isn’t wearing the mask while committing a crime). Due to the large number of inquiries, some states like Utah, have publicly addressed their laws regarding wearing masks. The Department of Public Safety took to social media to dispel any rumors regarding individuals who were under the impression that it was a crime to wear a mask and carry a concealed weapon, saying there is no law that would prohibit the two of these being done at the same time.
If you have further questions, we recommend that you reach out to your local law enforcement office, or district attorney.
Utah is a shall-issue state. Permits are issued at the state level by the Department of Public Safety.
There is no permit, background check or firearms registration required when buying a handgun from a private individual. Although the state has preemption, Salt Lake County has established a policy that background checks for private sales in the counties three event facilities (Salt Palace Convention Center, Mountain America Expo Center and Salt Lake County Equestrian Park).
Open carry is legal in Utah if you have a concealed carry permit. The minimum age is 18 years old. Without a permit, you can only open carry a handgun if it is unloaded and at least two actions from being fired (e.g., rack the slide to chamber, then pull the trigger).
Concealed carry is legal for residents with an Utah Concealed Firearm Permits (CFP) and non-residents with any valid state license/permit. The minimum age is at least 21 years of age or 18 for a provisional permit. Utah CFPs are issued to residents and non-residents who have a permit from their home state. Some areas are off-limits, including courthouses and secured areas of airports. Concealed carry permits require a firearms familiarity course that has been certified by the Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI). In terms of reciprocity, Utah will honor all other state or county permits.
Force in Defense of Person An individual is justified in threatening or using force when and to the extent that the individual reasonably believes that force or a threat of force is necessary to defend the individual or another individual against the imminent use of unlawful force.
An individual is justified in using deadly force only if the individual reasonably believes that force is necessary to prevent death or serious bodily injury to the individual or another individual as a result of imminent use of unlawful force, or to prevent the commission of a forcible felony.
Force in Defense of Property A person is justified in using force, other than deadly force, when and to the extent that the person reasonably believes that force is necessary to prevent or terminate another person’s criminal interference with real property or personal property:
Lawfully in the person’s possession;
Lawfully in the possession of a member of the person’s immediate family; or
Belonging to a person whose property the person has a legal duty to protect.
Deadly Force in Defense of Persons on Real Property A person is justified in using deadly force in his defense of persons on real property other than his habitation if:
He or she is in lawful possession of the real property;
He or she reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent or terminate the other person’s trespass onto the real property;
The trespass is made or attempted by use of force or in a violent and tumultuous manner; and
The person reasonably believes that the trespass is attempted or made for the purpose of committing violence against any person on the real property and he or she reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent personal violence; or The person reasonably believes that the trespass is made or attempted for the purpose of committing a forcible felony that poses imminent peril of death or serious bodily injury to a person on the real property and that the force is necessary to prevent the commission of that forcible felony.
Civil and Criminal Immunity The person using deadly force in defense of personal or real property is presumed for the purpose of both civil and criminal cases to have acted reasonably and to have had a reasonable fear of imminent peril of death or serious bodily injury if the trespass or attempted trespass is unlawful and is made or attempted by use of force, or in a violent and tumultuous manner or for the purpose of committing a forcible felony.
Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Utah?
Yes, with a permit. Without a permit for anyone that can legally possess a firearm, as long as the vehicle is in the person’s lawful possession or the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle.
Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Utah?
Yes, with a valid concealed carry permit.
Carry in State/National Parks, State/National Forests and Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)?
Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in Utah?
Yes, with a valid concealed carry permit, although not in any state or Federal buildings. See theNational Parks webpage for links to each Park in Utah.
Carry in Bars/Restaurants That Serve Alcohol?
Can you carry a firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Utah?
Yes, there is no statute making it illegal to concealed carry with a valid concealed carry permit, unless posted and provided you are not under the influence.
Carry/Possess at a hotel?
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Utah?
Utah statutes don't specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See theHandguns at Hotels pagefor additional information.
Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?
Does Utah have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?
Subject to limited exceptions, Utah law generally prevents individuals from enforcing restrictions on an individual's ability to transport or store a firearm in a vehicle on any property designated for motor vehicle parking, if:
The individual is legally permitted to transport, possess, purchase, receive, transfer or store the firearm;
The firearm is locked securely in the motor vehicle or in a locked container attached to the motor vehicle while the motor vehicle is not occupied; and
The firearm is not in plain view from the outside of the motor vehicle.
This rule does not apply, however, to school premises, government entities, religious organizations and certain residential units.
Are you required to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Utah?
No. You are not required to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Utah.
Magazine Limits for Handguns?
Does Utah have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?
No. There are no magazine capacity restrictions for handguns in Utah.
Does Utah have ammunition restrictions?
No, Utah does not have ammunition restrictions.
"No Weapons Allowed" Signs Enforced?
Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Utah? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.
Yes/No. “No Weapons” signs under Utah gun laws have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off-limits. The law specifically mentions places of worship and private residences. If any of these places have posted a “No Weapons” sign, it is illegal to enter. This prohibition applies equally to concealed weapons permittees. However, a church or organization operating a house of worship may allow exceptions to the prohibition as the church or organization considers advisable. Owners may not restrict a renter or lessee from lawfully possessing a firearm in the residence.
Notice that firearms are prohibited may be given by:
Personal communication to the actor by the church or organization or a person with authority to act for the person or entity;
Posting of signs reasonably likely to come to the attention of persons entering the house of worship or private residence;
Announcement by a person with authority to act for the church or organization operating the house of worship in a regular congregational meeting in the house of worship;
Publication in a bulletin, newsletter, worship program or similar document generally circulated or available to the members of the congregation regularly meeting in the house of worship; or
Publication in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the house of worship is located or if the church or organization operating the house of worship has its principal office in this state.
No. However, it is illegal to draw or exhibit a dangerous weapon in the presence of two or more persons in an angry and threatening manner. The possession of a dangerous weapon, whether visible or concealed, without additional behavior does not constitute threatening.
Carry While Using Alcohol or Controlled Substances?
Does Utah have laws regarding carrying a firearm while using alcohol or controlled substances?
Not while consuming or under the influence (defined as blood or breath alcohol concentration of .05 grams or greater) or a controlled substance as defined in Section 58-37-2, outside of the person's residence or the residence of another with the consent of the individual who is lawfully in possession.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgment, slow your reaction times or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Utah?
No. You do not need a permit to purchase a handgun in Utah.
Background Checks for Private Gun Sales?
Are background checks required for private gun sales in Utah?
No. Private firearms transfers are not subject to a background check requirement, although federal and state purchaser prohibitions, including age restrictions, still apply. It is recommended that you retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun.
Although the state has preemption, Salt Lake County has established a policy that background checks for private sales must be conducted in the county's three event facilities (Salt Palace Convention Center, Mountain America Expo Center and Salt Lake County Equestrian Park).
Utah Permit Exempts from Background Check?
Does my current Utah concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?
Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Utah?
No. There is no waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Utah.
Do handguns need to be registered in Utah?
No. You do not need to register your handgun in Utah.
Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?
What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Utah?
You must be at least 18 years old to possess and transport a firearm in Utah.
Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in Utah?
(5) Nothing in Subsection (1) or (2) prohibits a person engaged in the lawful taking of protected or unprotected wildlife as defined in Title 23, Wildlife Resources Code of Utah, from carrying a concealed firearm as long as the taking of wildlife does not occur:
(a) within the limits of a municipality in violation of that municipality's ordinances; or (b) upon the highways of the state as defined in Section 41-6a-102.
Yes. A person who has obtained an archery permit for a big game hunt may carry a concealed weapon in accordance with Title 53, Chapter 5, Part 7 of the Utah Code, provided the person is not utilizing the concealed firearm to hunt or take protected wildlife.
Yes. A person is guilty of a class B misdemeanor who intentionally interferes with the right of a person licensed and legally hunting to take wildlife by driving, harassing, or intentionally disturbing any species of wildlife for the purpose of disrupting a legal hunt, trapping, or predator control.
Have Questions? Contact Our Award-Winning, Wisconsin-Based Member Services Team 24/7 at 800-674-9779
State Constitutional Provision
The individual right of the people to keep and bear arms for security and defense of self, family, others, property or the State as well as for other lawful purposes shall not be infringed; but nothing herein shall prevent the legislature from defining the lawful use of arms."
The application process for non-residents is exactly the same as for residents. You will need to complete a firearms-familiarity course with a certified Utah instructor. There is no need to travel to Utah, as these courses are widely available in other states. If you reside in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah CFP or has reciprocity with Utah, you must obtain a CFP or CCW from your home state and submit a copy of it with your application for a Utah permit. If you are 18-20 years old and live in a state where the minimum age is 21, you can apply for a Utah provisional CFP. There is an extra charge of $10 for the permit fee.
You will need to complete an application for replacement, have it notarized and provide a copy of your driver’s license. A replacement fee of $10 will be charged.
You will need to complete an application for replacement, have it notarized and provide a copy of your driver’s license. A replacement fee of $10 will be charged.
Moving to Utah and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply? Utah issues resident and non-resident permits, so you can apply for your permit at any time. If you live in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) or has reciprocity with Utah, you must obtain a concealed carry permit from your home state and submit a copy of it with your application for a Utah permit.
Moving from Utah and have a Utah resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Utah permit remains valid? If a person with a Utah concealed firearm permit establishes residency in another state, the permit is valid until it expires provided he or she submits the above referenced application for a replacement.
Have fingerprints taken at the BCI or through your local law enforcement agency.
Have a passport-quality photograph taken at the BCI or other provider.
Submit your completed application through the mail or in person to the BCI along with the following:
Photocopy of driver’s license;
If you reside in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah CFP or has reciprocity with Utah, you must obtain a CFP or CCW from your home state and submit a copy of it. This does not apply if your state does not recognize the Utah permit;
Fingerprint card; and
Bureau of Criminal Identification 3888 West 5400 South Salt Lake City, Utah 84129
You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
Utah issues provisional concealed firearms permits to residents and non-residents who are 18-20 years old. The requirements for the Provisional CFP are the same as the standard CFP, and the same application is used by applicants for either permit. Provisional CFPs expire on the holder’s 21st birthday and, in order to change over to a standard permit after age 21, a complete application, including fingerprints, photo and fees must be submitted. One important note is that the Provisional CFP does not allow the holder to carry in primary and secondary schools per UCA 53-5-710(2).
Utah requires that training be attended in person and not through electronic means. General familiarity with the types of firearms to be concealed includes training in:
The safe loading, unloading, storage and carrying of the types of firearms to be concealed; and
Current laws defining lawful use of a firearm by a private citizen including: lawful self-defense, use of force by a private citizen, use of deadly force, transportation and concealment.
An applicant may satisfy the general familiarity requirement by one of the following:
Completion of a course of instruction conducted by a firearms training organization approved by the BCI;
Certification of general familiarity by a person who has been certified by the bureau; or
Equivalent experience with a firearm through participation in an organized shooting competition, law enforcement or military service (however, per information from the BCI on January 21, 2020, they have yet to see anyone with this “equivalent experience”).
Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified RLEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details, check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.
Department of Public Safety (DPS) administers firearms qualification; it is conducted by Utah Highway Patrol firearms instructors. Based on information received from the DPS, they require documentation (such as a copy of a retired certificate or badge) from the agency from which the RLEO retired, indicating he or she retired in good standing. They offer qualification once a year, usually in the Spring.
Carry in bars/restaurants that serve alcohol? Yes, you can carry in restaurants in Utah that serve alcohol.
Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? Yes, open carry is legal without a permit if the vehicle is in the person’s lawful possession, or the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle. Concealed carry within city limits is legal only with a permit.
Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes, you can carry in roadside rest areas in Utah.
Carry in state/national parks, state/national forests, and WMAs? Yes, you are allowed to carry in state/nation parks, state/national forests, and WMAs in Utah.
Carry in public schools with a permit? Yes, you can carry in public schools in Utah with a permit.
Carry in places of worship? There is no state statute prohibiting concealed carry in places of worship. However, since places of worship are private property, they may post signs prohibiting firearms.
It is legal for anyone who has never been convicted of a crime, adjudged delinquent or mentally ill, dishonorably discharged from the military, or who does not possess or use illegal drugs, to own and open or concealed carry any type of knife in Utah. Dangerous weapons are prohibited from school grounds and from public or private elementary through public or private institutions of higher education.
Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.
If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email firstname.lastname@example.org and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!
Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
Should you have any questions regarding the legal process, membership or any of the great features and benefits a USCCA Membership provides, feel free to contact our award-winning Wisconsin-based Member Services team at any time.
Uncover the Backstory Free Book
Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.
Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.
But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…
We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.