Born To Protect Join USCCA Cart
0
Born To Protect 800-674-9779 0

National Parks, Wildlife Refuges, Forests & Airports

National Parks/National Wildlife Refuges: As of February 22, 2010, Section 512, Credit CARD Act of 2009 (54 USC § 104906 and Title 36 Chpt. 1 Part 2 § 2.4) took effect changing federal law to make park firearm regulations reflect state law. For example, if a state allows open and/or concealed carry or loaded/unloaded firearms in vehicles, carrying a firearm or possessing loaded/unloaded firearms in a vehicle is allowed in a National Park in that state.

Per 18 U.S. Code § 930, park buildings (visitor centers, ranger stations, offices, fee collection buildings, and maintenance facilities, etc.) are still federal facilities and off-limits to firearms. These places are marked with signs at all public entrances. Discharge of firearms, except when lawfully hunting, is generally prohibited. View the NPS pamphlet or the National Park Service Firearms webpage. The same applies for National Wildlife Refuges, 16 USC § 1a–7b and Chapter 50 Chapter 1 Part 27 § 27.42

National Forest lands do not ban firearms. States control the carrying of firearms in national forests in their state. However, as in National Parks, ranger stations and visitors centers are federal facilities and are off-limits to firearms.

Airports/Aircraft 49 CFR 1540.111 and 49 USC § 46505
Under federal law (local laws may differ), firearms are prohibited beyond the TSA checkpoints. You cannot attempt to enter a TSA checkpoint while armed, even by mistake.

National Park Carry At‑a‑Glance

Click the minus sign to the right for information on the National Parks in the State you’re interested in.

State National Parks Open Carry Concealed Carry Vehicle Carry
Alaska

Yes, without a permit for anyone at least 18 years old that is not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm.

Concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years of age or older who can legally possess a firearm — a permit is not required.

Yes, a loaded firearm can be carried openly or concealed by anyone at least 21 years old that can legally own a handgun.

Arizona

Open carry is legal in Arizona for any person who is at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm.

Anyone at least 21 years old who can legally possess a firearm, may concealed carry a firearm without a permit.

Yes, without a permit for anyone that is 21 years old and can legally purchase/own a firearm. Firearms must be in plain view from outside the vehicle for anyone that is under 21 years old.

Arkansas

Open carry is legal without a permit in Arkansas for any person who is at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm provided the individual does not have an “unlawful intent.”

Concealed carry is legal without a license for anyone that is over 18 who can legally possess a firearm and is on “a journey beyond the county in which the person lives.”

Yes, with a valid Arkansas license to carry or a permit from a state Arkansas honors. ​
Without a permit, firearms would need to be unloaded and cased.

California

Openly carrying loaded or unloaded firearms in public is generally prohibited in California.

Yes. While concealed carry is generally only legal with a California Concealed Carry Weapons License (CCWL), Section 25400 does not apply to, or affect, licensed hunters or fishermen carrying pistols, revolvers, or other firearms capable of being concealed upon the person while engaged in hunting or fishing. However, these individuals may not carry or transport loaded firearms when going to or from the expedition. The unloaded firearms should be transported in the trunk of the vehicle or in a locked container
other than the utility or glove compartment. 

 

Yes, but only with a California CCWL. Without a permit, the firearm must be locked in the vehicle's trunk or in a locked container in the vehicle other than the utility or glove compartment.

California

Openly carrying loaded or unloaded firearms in public is generally prohibited in California.

Concealed carry is only legal with a California Concealed Carry Weapons License (CCWL).

Yes, but only with a California CCWL. Without a permit, the firearm must be locked in the vehicle's trunk or in a locked container in the vehicle other than the utility or glove compartment.

Colorado

Open carry is legal for any person who is at least 18 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm, except in Denver county and other posted areas.

Concealed carry is legal in Colorado for residents with a Colorado permit to carry a concealed weapon (CCW) and non-residents that are at least 21 years old from states with which Colorado has reciprocity agreements.

Yes, without a permit.

Florida

Open carry is not legal in Florida, except for a few limited exceptions such as when engaged in fishing, camping, lawful hunting or target practice at an indoor range.

Concealed carry is legal with a Florida Concealed Weapons License (CWL) or for individuals that are at least 21 years old with a CCW permit from a state that Florida honors.

Yes, with a valid concealed carry permit. Without a permit, the firearm or other weapon must be securely encased or otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use. “Securely encased” means in a glove compartment, locked or unlocked; snapped in a holster; in a gun case, locked or unlocked; in a zippered gun case; or in a closed box or container which requires a lid or cover to be opened for access.

Hawaii

Hawaii permits open carry of handguns on the person with a Hawaii license to carry, which is only valid in the county of issue.

Hawaii permits concealed carry of handguns on the person with a Hawaii license to carry, which is only valid in the county of issue.

Yes, only with a Hawaii license to carry. Hawaii generally prohibits any person from carrying or possessing a loaded firearm on any public highway.

Idaho

Open carry is legal in Idaho for anyone at least 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm.

Idaho gun laws allow any state resident who is at least 18 years old and not otherwise disqualified from being issued a license to concealed carry a firearm without a permit. Non-residents need a concealed carry permit from another state to conceal carry inside city limits, although residents of other permitless carry states are allowed to carry without a permit from their state of residence.

Yes, without a permit anywhere in the state for residents of Idaho age 18 or older who can legally possess a firearm and any current members of the Armed Forces. In addition, non-residents age 18 or older who can legally possess a firearm can carry outside city limits without a permit. Non-residents must have a permit in order to carry inside city limits.

Illinois

Open carry of a handgun on your person is illegal in Illinois.

An Illinois Concealed Carry License is required to concealed carry a firearm in Illinois.

Yes, a concealed loaded or unloaded handgun can be carried within a vehicle only with an Illinois Concealed Carry License. A non-resident may transport a loaded concealed handgun in a vehicle if they have a valid CCW permit in their home state. They cannot under any circumstances remove the firearm from the vehicle. If they need to exit the vehicle they must lock it or place the firearm in a locked container. Any ammunition needs to be stored separately. 

Open carry of a handgun in a vehicle is illegal in Illinois.

Indiana

Open carry is legal in Indiana with a license to carry. The minimum age is 18 years old.

Concealed carry is legal in Indiana with a license to carry.  The minimum age is 18 years old.

Yes, with a valid concealed carry license. Without a permit, handguns must be unloaded, not readily accessible and secured in a case.

Kentucky

Open carry is legal in Kentucky without a permit for anyone at least 18 years of age that is not prohibited from carrying a firearm.

Kentucky is now a constitutional carry state so concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years old who can legally possess a firearm without a license/permit.

Yes, without a permit. Any person at least 21 years and otherwise able to lawfully possess a firearm, may carry concealed firearms or other concealed deadly weapons without a license in the same locations as a person with valid license.

Maine

Open carry is legal in Maine without a permit. Any person 21 or older who can legally possess a firearm is allowed to carry openly or concealed.

Concealed carry is legal in Maine without a permit Concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years of age who can legally possess a firearm.

Yes. You can concealed carry in a vehicle without a permit in Maine.

Michigan

Open carry is legal in Michigan with several restrictions. The minimum age is 18 years old. Residents can open carry without a permit if the gun is registered in their name. Non-residents must have a valid concealed carry license from their home state in order to conceal or open carry.

Concealed carry is legal with a Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) and for individuals at least 21 years old who have CCW licenses/permits issued by their home state.

Yes, handguns only may be carried with a valid concealed pistol license. Without a permit, handguns must be unloaded and either enclosed in a case, inaccessible from the interior of the vehicle or carried in the trunk.

Minnesota

Open carry is legal with a Minnesota permit to carry or a permit/license from a state that Minnesota honors.

Concealed carry is legal with a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol (PCP) or for individuals at least 21 years old who have a permit from a state Minnesota honors.

Yes, with a Minnesota permit to carry or a permit/license from a state that Minnesota honors. Otherwise it must be unloaded and either in the closed trunk or in a closed and fastened case, gunbox or securely tied package.

Missouri

Open carry is legal in Missouri for anyone 19 years or older who can legally possess a firearm. However, local authorities can regulate open carry for those who do not have a concealed carry permit.

Concealed carry is legal in Missouri for anyone 19 years or older who can legally possess a firearm.

Yes, without a permit and on restricted premises, so long as the firearm is not removed from the vehicle or brandished while the vehicle is on restricted premises. Restricted premises are locations where concealed carry is not allowed in the state of Missouri.

Montana

Open carry is legal in Montana for anyone at least 18 years old that can legally own a firearm.

Concealed carry without a permit is legal for anyone at least 18 years old that can legally own a firearm, outside the official boundaries of towns or cities or the confines of logging, lumbering, mining or railroad camps and while engaged in any of the following activities:, fishing, hunting, hiking, farming or backpacking. A permit is required to carry concealed in towns, cities, and logging, mining or railroad camps.

Yes, anywhere with a valid concealed carry permit or outside of cities or towns without a permit. Open carry is legal without a permit.

Nevada

Open carry is legal in Nevada without a permit for anyone 18 and older who can legally possess a firearm.

Concealed carry is legal with a Nevada Firearm permit or for anyone at least 18 years old with a license/permit from a state Nevada honors.

Yes, with a permit with a Nevada Firearm permit or a license/permit from a state Nevada honors. Without a permit, a handgun may not be concealed on your person. It must either be entirely visible or in a concealed place away from your person. In addition, although this ordinance conflicts with Nevada state law, North Las Vegas city ordinance 9.32.080 prohibits the carrying of dangerous and deadly weapons in vehicles unless carried in good faith for the purpose of “honest work, trade or business, or for the purpose of legitimate sport or recreation.”

New Mexico

Open carry is legal in New Mexico without a permit for anyone at least 19 years of age who can legally possess a firearm.

A New Mexico Concealed Handgun License (CHL) or a permit from a state that New Mexico honors is required to carry a concealed loaded firearm on foot. The minimum age is 21 years old.

Yes, without a permit for anyone 19 or older who is not otherwise prohibited from possessing a firearm. However, if you don’t have a permit, you may not have the weapon concealed on your person when you exit your vehicle.

North Carolina

Open carry is legal in North Carolina without a permit for anyone at least 18 years of age who can legally possess a firearm.

Concealed carry is legal with a license/permit. The minimum age is 21 years old.

Yes, with a permit. Without a permit, a weapon cannot be BOTH concealed and readily accessible to a person. Therefore a handgun would need to be either openly displayed, otherwise in a locked glove box, locked console or in the trunk is lawful with or without a concealed carry permit.

North Dakota

Open carry of handguns is legal with a concealed carry permit for adults that have been residents for at least one year. Non-residents must have a valid concealed carry license from a state that North Dakota honors in order to open carry.

North Dakota has constitutional concealed carry for adults that have been residents for at least one year and are not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm. Concealed carry is also legal for non-residents with permits from states that North Dakota recognizes.

Yes, for individuals who have been a resident for at least one year with a valid driver’s license or State ID. Non-residents must have a concealed carry permit that ND honors.

Ohio

Open carry is legal in Ohio without a permit except in vehicles or in businesses that sell alcohol. The minimum age for possession of a handgun is 21 years old.

Concealed carry is legal with a license/permit. The minimum age is 21 years old.

Yes, with a valid concealed carry permit. Without a permit, a handgun is required to be unloaded and carried in a compartment that can be reached only by leaving the vehicle or in plain sight and secured in a rack or holder made for the purpose.

Oregon

Open carry is legal in Oregon without a license although local cities and counties are authorized to place restrictions on who may open carry in public places (which include vehicles).The minimum age is 18 years old.

Concealed carry is legal only with an Oregon CHL. The minimum age is 21 years old.

Yes, with an Oregon CHL permit. Without a permit, a loaded handgun must not be readily accessible or not concealed. However, local governments can set their own laws on public places, which includes vehicles.

South Carolina

Open carry of a handgun is illegal in South Carolina.

Concealed carry is legal with a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permits or a license/permit from a state that South Carolina honors. The minimum age is 21 years old.

Yes, with a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permits or a license/permit from a state that South Carolina honors. Without a permit the firearm must be secured in a closed glove compartment, closed console or closed trunk.

South Dakota

Open carry is legal in South Dakota without a permit for anyone at least 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm.

South Dakota is now a constitutional carry state, so anyone at least 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm, may concealed carry a firearm without a concealed carry permit.

Yes, anyone at least 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm, can carry a handgun in a vehicle without a permit.

Tennessee

Open carry is legal with an enhanced Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit or without a permit if the gun is unloaded and the ammunition is not in the immediate vicinity. Tennessee prohibits the possession of a firearm “with the intent to go armed.” The minimum age is 18 years old.

Concealed carry is legal with a license/permit for anyone at least 21 years old.

Yes, anyone who is not otherwise prohibited from owning a firearm and is in lawful possession of the motor vehicle is not in violation of the open carry law in Tennessee as long as the firearm is not carried on one's person.

Texas

Open carry is only legal with a Texas License to Carry (LTC) or a concealed carry license/permit from a state with reciprocity, provided the handgun is in a shoulder or belt holster. The minimum age is 21 years old or 18 years old for active-duty military.

Concealed carry is legal with a Texas LTC or a concealed carry license/permit from a state that Texas honors. The minimum age is 21 years old or 18 years old for active-duty military.

Yes. With a LTC provided the handgun is concealed or is carried in a shoulder or belt holster. Without a LTC, anyone not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm may transport a handgun so long as it is concealed.

Utah

Open carry is legal in Utah if you have a concealed carry permit. The minimum age is 18 years old. Without a permit, you can only open carry a handgun if it is unloaded and at least two actions from being fired (e.g., rack the slide to chamber, then pull the trigger).

Concealed carry is legal with a license/permit. The minimum age is at least 21 years of age or 18 for a provisional permit.

Yes, without a permit if the vehicle is in the person’s lawful possession or the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle.

Virginia

Open carry is legal in Virginia without a permit. The minimum age is 18 years old.

Concealed carry is legal with a license/permit for anyone that is at least 21 years old.

Yes, with a permit. Carry in a vehicle is allowed without a permit if it is secured in a container or compartment including a console, glove compartment or any other area of the vehicle or vessel that possesses the ability to be closed.

Washington

Open carry is legal without a permit and the minimum age is 21 years old to carry a loaded handgun in public.

Concealed carry is legal with a Washington Concealed Pistol License (CPL) or a license/permit from a state that Washington honors for anyone that is at least 21 years old.

Yes, only with a Washington Concealed Pistol License or a license/permit from a state that Washington honors provided: 

  • The pistol is on the licensee's person;
  • The licensee is within the vehicle at all times that the pistol is there, or
  • The licensee is away from the vehicle and the pistol is locked within the vehicle and concealed from view from outside the vehicle.

Without a permit, firearms must be unloaded and in a closed opaque case or secure wrapper.

Wyoming

Open carry is legal without a permit for anyone who is at least 21 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm.

Concealed carry is legal for residents of Wyoming without a permit/license that are at least 21 years old and not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm. Non-residents must have a permit/license that Wyoming honors.

Yes. Wyoming residents who can legally own a firearm can carry it concealed on their person in a vehicle without any type of permit/license. Non-residents must have a permit/license from a state recognized by Wyoming to carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle. Any person who can legally possess a firearm is allowed to open carry a loaded handgun inside a vehicle as long as it is visible.

National Parks


Open Carry

Yes, without a permit for anyone at least 18 years old that is not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years of age or older who can legally possess a firearm — a permit is not required.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, a loaded firearm can be carried openly or concealed by anyone at least 21 years old that can legally own a handgun.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in Arizona for any person who is at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm.


Concealed Carry

Anyone at least 21 years old who can legally possess a firearm, may concealed carry a firearm without a permit.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, without a permit for anyone that is 21 years old and can legally purchase/own a firearm. Firearms must be in plain view from outside the vehicle for anyone that is under 21 years old.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal without a permit in Arkansas for any person who is at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm provided the individual does not have an “unlawful intent.”


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal without a license for anyone that is over 18 who can legally possess a firearm and is on “a journey beyond the county in which the person lives.”


Vehicle Carry

Yes, with a valid Arkansas license to carry or a permit from a state Arkansas honors. ​
Without a permit, firearms would need to be unloaded and cased.

National Parks


Open Carry

Openly carrying loaded or unloaded firearms in public is generally prohibited in California.


Concealed Carry

Yes. While concealed carry is generally only legal with a California Concealed Carry Weapons License (CCWL), Section 25400 does not apply to, or affect, licensed hunters or fishermen carrying pistols, revolvers, or other firearms capable of being concealed upon the person while engaged in hunting or fishing. However, these individuals may not carry or transport loaded firearms when going to or from the expedition. The unloaded firearms should be transported in the trunk of the vehicle or in a locked container
other than the utility or glove compartment. 

 


Vehicle Carry

Yes, but only with a California CCWL. Without a permit, the firearm must be locked in the vehicle's trunk or in a locked container in the vehicle other than the utility or glove compartment.

National Parks


Open Carry

Openly carrying loaded or unloaded firearms in public is generally prohibited in California.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is only legal with a California Concealed Carry Weapons License (CCWL).


Vehicle Carry

Yes, but only with a California CCWL. Without a permit, the firearm must be locked in the vehicle's trunk or in a locked container in the vehicle other than the utility or glove compartment.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal for any person who is at least 18 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm, except in Denver county and other posted areas.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal in Colorado for residents with a Colorado permit to carry a concealed weapon (CCW) and non-residents that are at least 21 years old from states with which Colorado has reciprocity agreements.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, without a permit.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is not legal in Florida, except for a few limited exceptions such as when engaged in fishing, camping, lawful hunting or target practice at an indoor range.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal with a Florida Concealed Weapons License (CWL) or for individuals that are at least 21 years old with a CCW permit from a state that Florida honors.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, with a valid concealed carry permit. Without a permit, the firearm or other weapon must be securely encased or otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use. “Securely encased” means in a glove compartment, locked or unlocked; snapped in a holster; in a gun case, locked or unlocked; in a zippered gun case; or in a closed box or container which requires a lid or cover to be opened for access.

National Parks


Open Carry

Hawaii permits open carry of handguns on the person with a Hawaii license to carry, which is only valid in the county of issue.


Concealed Carry

Hawaii permits concealed carry of handguns on the person with a Hawaii license to carry, which is only valid in the county of issue.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, only with a Hawaii license to carry. Hawaii generally prohibits any person from carrying or possessing a loaded firearm on any public highway.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in Idaho for anyone at least 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm.


Concealed Carry

Idaho gun laws allow any state resident who is at least 18 years old and not otherwise disqualified from being issued a license to concealed carry a firearm without a permit. Non-residents need a concealed carry permit from another state to conceal carry inside city limits, although residents of other permitless carry states are allowed to carry without a permit from their state of residence.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, without a permit anywhere in the state for residents of Idaho age 18 or older who can legally possess a firearm and any current members of the Armed Forces. In addition, non-residents age 18 or older who can legally possess a firearm can carry outside city limits without a permit. Non-residents must have a permit in order to carry inside city limits.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry of a handgun on your person is illegal in Illinois.


Concealed Carry

An Illinois Concealed Carry License is required to concealed carry a firearm in Illinois.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, a concealed loaded or unloaded handgun can be carried within a vehicle only with an Illinois Concealed Carry License. A non-resident may transport a loaded concealed handgun in a vehicle if they have a valid CCW permit in their home state. They cannot under any circumstances remove the firearm from the vehicle. If they need to exit the vehicle they must lock it or place the firearm in a locked container. Any ammunition needs to be stored separately. 

Open carry of a handgun in a vehicle is illegal in Illinois.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in Indiana with a license to carry. The minimum age is 18 years old.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal in Indiana with a license to carry.  The minimum age is 18 years old.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, with a valid concealed carry license. Without a permit, handguns must be unloaded, not readily accessible and secured in a case.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in Kentucky without a permit for anyone at least 18 years of age that is not prohibited from carrying a firearm.


Concealed Carry

Kentucky is now a constitutional carry state so concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years old who can legally possess a firearm without a license/permit.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, without a permit. Any person at least 21 years and otherwise able to lawfully possess a firearm, may carry concealed firearms or other concealed deadly weapons without a license in the same locations as a person with valid license.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in Maine without a permit. Any person 21 or older who can legally possess a firearm is allowed to carry openly or concealed.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal in Maine without a permit Concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years of age who can legally possess a firearm.


Vehicle Carry

Yes. You can concealed carry in a vehicle without a permit in Maine.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in Michigan with several restrictions. The minimum age is 18 years old. Residents can open carry without a permit if the gun is registered in their name. Non-residents must have a valid concealed carry license from their home state in order to conceal or open carry.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal with a Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) and for individuals at least 21 years old who have CCW licenses/permits issued by their home state.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, handguns only may be carried with a valid concealed pistol license. Without a permit, handguns must be unloaded and either enclosed in a case, inaccessible from the interior of the vehicle or carried in the trunk.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal with a Minnesota permit to carry or a permit/license from a state that Minnesota honors.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal with a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol (PCP) or for individuals at least 21 years old who have a permit from a state Minnesota honors.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, with a Minnesota permit to carry or a permit/license from a state that Minnesota honors. Otherwise it must be unloaded and either in the closed trunk or in a closed and fastened case, gunbox or securely tied package.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in Missouri for anyone 19 years or older who can legally possess a firearm. However, local authorities can regulate open carry for those who do not have a concealed carry permit.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal in Missouri for anyone 19 years or older who can legally possess a firearm.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, without a permit and on restricted premises, so long as the firearm is not removed from the vehicle or brandished while the vehicle is on restricted premises. Restricted premises are locations where concealed carry is not allowed in the state of Missouri.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in Montana for anyone at least 18 years old that can legally own a firearm.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry without a permit is legal for anyone at least 18 years old that can legally own a firearm, outside the official boundaries of towns or cities or the confines of logging, lumbering, mining or railroad camps and while engaged in any of the following activities:, fishing, hunting, hiking, farming or backpacking. A permit is required to carry concealed in towns, cities, and logging, mining or railroad camps.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, anywhere with a valid concealed carry permit or outside of cities or towns without a permit. Open carry is legal without a permit.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in Nevada without a permit for anyone 18 and older who can legally possess a firearm.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal with a Nevada Firearm permit or for anyone at least 18 years old with a license/permit from a state Nevada honors.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, with a permit with a Nevada Firearm permit or a license/permit from a state Nevada honors. Without a permit, a handgun may not be concealed on your person. It must either be entirely visible or in a concealed place away from your person. In addition, although this ordinance conflicts with Nevada state law, North Las Vegas city ordinance 9.32.080 prohibits the carrying of dangerous and deadly weapons in vehicles unless carried in good faith for the purpose of “honest work, trade or business, or for the purpose of legitimate sport or recreation.”

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in New Mexico without a permit for anyone at least 19 years of age who can legally possess a firearm.


Concealed Carry

A New Mexico Concealed Handgun License (CHL) or a permit from a state that New Mexico honors is required to carry a concealed loaded firearm on foot. The minimum age is 21 years old.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, without a permit for anyone 19 or older who is not otherwise prohibited from possessing a firearm. However, if you don’t have a permit, you may not have the weapon concealed on your person when you exit your vehicle.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in North Carolina without a permit for anyone at least 18 years of age who can legally possess a firearm.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal with a license/permit. The minimum age is 21 years old.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, with a permit. Without a permit, a weapon cannot be BOTH concealed and readily accessible to a person. Therefore a handgun would need to be either openly displayed, otherwise in a locked glove box, locked console or in the trunk is lawful with or without a concealed carry permit.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry of handguns is legal with a concealed carry permit for adults that have been residents for at least one year. Non-residents must have a valid concealed carry license from a state that North Dakota honors in order to open carry.


Concealed Carry

North Dakota has constitutional concealed carry for adults that have been residents for at least one year and are not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm. Concealed carry is also legal for non-residents with permits from states that North Dakota recognizes.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, for individuals who have been a resident for at least one year with a valid driver’s license or State ID. Non-residents must have a concealed carry permit that ND honors.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in Ohio without a permit except in vehicles or in businesses that sell alcohol. The minimum age for possession of a handgun is 21 years old.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal with a license/permit. The minimum age is 21 years old.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, with a valid concealed carry permit. Without a permit, a handgun is required to be unloaded and carried in a compartment that can be reached only by leaving the vehicle or in plain sight and secured in a rack or holder made for the purpose.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in Oregon without a license although local cities and counties are authorized to place restrictions on who may open carry in public places (which include vehicles).The minimum age is 18 years old.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal only with an Oregon CHL. The minimum age is 21 years old.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, with an Oregon CHL permit. Without a permit, a loaded handgun must not be readily accessible or not concealed. However, local governments can set their own laws on public places, which includes vehicles.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry of a handgun is illegal in South Carolina.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal with a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permits or a license/permit from a state that South Carolina honors. The minimum age is 21 years old.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, with a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permits or a license/permit from a state that South Carolina honors. Without a permit the firearm must be secured in a closed glove compartment, closed console or closed trunk.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in South Dakota without a permit for anyone at least 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm.


Concealed Carry

South Dakota is now a constitutional carry state, so anyone at least 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm, may concealed carry a firearm without a concealed carry permit.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, anyone at least 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm, can carry a handgun in a vehicle without a permit.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal with an enhanced Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit or without a permit if the gun is unloaded and the ammunition is not in the immediate vicinity. Tennessee prohibits the possession of a firearm “with the intent to go armed.” The minimum age is 18 years old.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal with a license/permit for anyone at least 21 years old.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, anyone who is not otherwise prohibited from owning a firearm and is in lawful possession of the motor vehicle is not in violation of the open carry law in Tennessee as long as the firearm is not carried on one's person.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is only legal with a Texas License to Carry (LTC) or a concealed carry license/permit from a state with reciprocity, provided the handgun is in a shoulder or belt holster. The minimum age is 21 years old or 18 years old for active-duty military.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal with a Texas LTC or a concealed carry license/permit from a state that Texas honors. The minimum age is 21 years old or 18 years old for active-duty military.


Vehicle Carry

Yes. With a LTC provided the handgun is concealed or is carried in a shoulder or belt holster. Without a LTC, anyone not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm may transport a handgun so long as it is concealed.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in Utah if you have a concealed carry permit. The minimum age is 18 years old. Without a permit, you can only open carry a handgun if it is unloaded and at least two actions from being fired (e.g., rack the slide to chamber, then pull the trigger).


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal with a license/permit. The minimum age is at least 21 years of age or 18 for a provisional permit.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, without a permit if the vehicle is in the person’s lawful possession or the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal in Virginia without a permit. The minimum age is 18 years old.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal with a license/permit for anyone that is at least 21 years old.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, with a permit. Carry in a vehicle is allowed without a permit if it is secured in a container or compartment including a console, glove compartment or any other area of the vehicle or vessel that possesses the ability to be closed.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal without a permit and the minimum age is 21 years old to carry a loaded handgun in public.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal with a Washington Concealed Pistol License (CPL) or a license/permit from a state that Washington honors for anyone that is at least 21 years old.


Vehicle Carry

Yes, only with a Washington Concealed Pistol License or a license/permit from a state that Washington honors provided: 

  • The pistol is on the licensee's person;
  • The licensee is within the vehicle at all times that the pistol is there, or
  • The licensee is away from the vehicle and the pistol is locked within the vehicle and concealed from view from outside the vehicle.

Without a permit, firearms must be unloaded and in a closed opaque case or secure wrapper.

National Parks


Open Carry

Open carry is legal without a permit for anyone who is at least 21 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm.


Concealed Carry

Concealed carry is legal for residents of Wyoming without a permit/license that are at least 21 years old and not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm. Non-residents must have a permit/license that Wyoming honors.


Vehicle Carry

Yes. Wyoming residents who can legally own a firearm can carry it concealed on their person in a vehicle without any type of permit/license. Non-residents must have a permit/license from a state recognized by Wyoming to carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle. Any person who can legally possess a firearm is allowed to open carry a loaded handgun inside a vehicle as long as it is visible.

Related Articles From the USCCA Blog

Gear We Love — October 2020

Gear We Love — October 2020

USCCA Editor — October 21, 2020

On The Trail: Bearing Arms in the Bush

On The Trail: Bearing Arms in the Bush

George Harris — May 6, 2015

The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. We make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer for a specific case.

Are You Born to Protect?

Get Your FREE USCCA Sticker! Enter your email below:

Thanks!

You're Ready to Begin Your Journey to Becoming an Ultimate Protector.


But the USCCA is about more than a look or a tagline…

Laptop and mobile training view

We’re the lifesaving resource every gun owner needs to keep their family safe.

Learn More