Indiana is a shall-issue state with permits being issued by the Indiana State Police.
There is no permit required to purchase a firearm, and firearms do not need to be registered. Only Indiana residents or residents of neighboring states who are at least 18 years old can buy long guns. To buy a handgun, you must be at least 21 years old and a resident of Indiana.
Open carry and concealed carry are legal in Indiana for residents with an Indiana License to Carry a Handgun (LCH) and for non-residents with any valid state license to carry. The Indiana LCH is valid for open, concealed and locked-case carry. The minimum age is 18 years old, and there is no requirement for firearms training. Applicants must be Indiana residents or have a regular place of business or employment in Indiana. Some areas are off-limits, including school property, school buses and riverboat casinos. In terms of reciprocity, Indiana honors permits from all states and jurisdictions.
Defense of Self or Others A person is justified in using reasonable force to protect the person or a third person from what the person reasonably believes to be the imminent use of unlawful force. However, a person is justified in using deadly force if the person reasonably believes that that force is necessary to prevent serious bodily injury to the person or a third person or the commission of a forcible felony.
Defense of Place A person is justified in using reasonable force, including deadly force, and does not have a duty to retreat if the person reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent or terminate the other person’s unlawful entry of or attack on the person’s dwelling, curtilage or occupied motor vehicle.
Defense of Property With respect to property other than a dwelling, curtilage, or an occupied motor vehicle, a person is justified in using reasonable force if the person reasonably believes that the force is necessary to immediately prevent or terminate the other person’s trespass on or criminal interference with property lawfully in the person’s possession, the possession of a member of the person’s immediate family, or belonging to a person whose property the person has authority to protect. However, a person is justified in using deadly force only if that force is justified.
Immunity No person in this state shall be placed in legal jeopardy of any kind whatsoever for protecting the person or a third person by reasonable means necessary.
Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Indiana?
Yes. Concealed carry is permitted at roadside rest areas in Indiana.
Carry in State/National Parks, State/National Forests and Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)?
Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in Indiana?
Yes, a person with a valid Indiana carry permit, may possess a handgun in our state parks with two exceptions. It is not allowed at DNR State Parks & Reservoir properties on land leased from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (e.g., Mississinewa, Salamonie, Patoka, Brookville, Cagles Mill, Cecil M. Harden and Monroe lakes) or at Falls of the Ohio State Park. See theNational Parks webpage for links to each Park in Indiana.
Can you carry a concealed firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Indiana?
Yes, there is no statute making it illegal to concealed carry with a valid permit in bars or restaurants, unless posted.
Carry/Possess at a hotel?
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Indiana?
Indiana statutes don't specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See the Handguns at Hotels page for additional information.
Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?
Does Indiana have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?
No person may adopt or enforce an ordinance, resolution, policy or rule that prohibits an employee from possessing a firearm or ammunition that is locked in the trunk of the employee’s vehicle, kept in the glove compartment of the employee’s locked vehicle, or stored out of plain sight in the employee’s locked vehicle. This restriction does not apply in various, specifically named locations including school property and private residences (see section (2)(b) for the list of locations).
Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Indiana? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.
No. "No Weapons Allowed" signs are not enforced in Indiana.
Does Indiana have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?
Yes, the state has preemption of firearms laws in Indiana, except local municipalities may prohibit the possession of a handgun in buildings containing courtrooms. There are several other areas they may restrict, however, none of the following apply to concealed carry permittees. These include the following:
Municipalities may enforce restrictions imposed by organizers of events on property leased by local governments;
Municipalities may enforce a provision prohibiting or restricting the possession of a firearm in county hospitals; and
Municipalities may prohibit the possession of firearms in buildings owned by the locality if metal detection devices are located at each public entrance and are staffed by at least one law enforcement officer to inspect people and bags.
Carry While Using Alcohol or Prescription Medication?
Does Indiana have laws regarding carrying a concealed firearm while using alcohol or prescription medication?
Not addressed in state statutes.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times, or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Does Indiana issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?
Yes. Non-resident permits are granted for out-of-state residents who have a regular place of business or employment in Indiana
PUBLIC ACCESS TO CONCEALED CARRY REGISTRY?
Does Indiana allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?
No. However, concealed carry registry information is available for law enforcement.
Possess a handgun on my private property without a permit?
Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home without a permit?
Yes. Carrying a handgun is permitted for anyone legally entitled to carry a firearm to carry a handgun in or on the person’s property or on property another person legally controls if that person consents to the carrying of a handgun on the property.
Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.
States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Indiana
Indiana offers resident and non-resident (out-of-state residents who have a regular place of business or employment in Indiana) permits. If indicated with “Resident only” below, that state only honors Indiana resident permits (and not those issued to non-residents).
Anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry it concealed in permitless carry states without a permit/license. The minimum age* for permitless carry is shown. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.
*PC-18 = permitless carry if at least 18 years old
*PC-21 = permitless carry if at least 21 years old
Have a “proper reason” to carry a handgun ("proper reason" can mean for the defense of oneself or the state of Indiana);
Be of good character and reputation;
Be a citizen of the United States or a non-citizen of the United States who is allowed to carry a firearm in the United States under federal law; and
Be a proper person to be licensed. A "proper person" is someone who does:
Not have a conviction for resisting law enforcement within the last 5 years;
Not have a conviction for a crime for which the person could have been sentenced for more than 1 year;
Not have a conviction for a crime of domestic violence, unless a court has restored the person's right to possess a firearm;
Not be prohibited by a court order from possessing a handgun;
Not have a record of being an alcohol or drug abuser as defined by the state of Indiana;
Not have documented evidence which would give rise to a reasonable belief that the person has a propensity for violent or emotionally unstable conduct;
Not make a false statement of material fact on the application;
Not have a conviction for any crime involving an inability to safely handle a handgun;
Not have a conviction for violation of the provisions of Article 47 within 5 years;
Not have an adjudication as a delinquent child for an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult, if the person applying for a license or permit under this chapter is less than 23 years of age;
Not have been involuntarily committed, other than a temporary commitment for observation or evaluation, to a mental institution by a court, board, commission or other lawful authority;
Not have been the subject of a 90-day commitment or regular commitment; and
Not have been found by a court to be mentally incompetent, including being found not guilty by reason of insanity or guilty but too mentally ill or incompetent to stand trial.
Not have been convicted of a felony;
Not have been arrested for a Class A or Class B felony, or any other felony that was committed while armed with a deadly weapon or that involved the use of violence, if a court has found probable cause to believe that the person committed the offense charged;
Not have had a license to carry a handgun suspended, unless the person’s license has been reinstated; and
As of July 1, 2020, there is no fee for a 5 year state license, $0.
The fee for a lifetime license includes a $50 local fee and a $75 state fee for anyone who does not currently possess a valid Indiana handgun license, and includes a $40 local fee and a $60 state fee for anyone who currently possesses a valid Indiana handgun license.
An applicant has an option to obtain a permit that is valid for 5 years or for a lifetime.
Out-of-state residents who have a regular place of business or employment in Indiana qualify for a 4-year personal-protection firearm license. Your local agency will be the sheriff of the county in which you have a regular place of business or employment. The following documents will be required:
A notarized out-of-state affidavit form; and
Proof of employment on company letterhead.
The process is the same as for residents.
To update your name or address on your Indiana Handgun License, log in to the Indiana State Police Handgun Licensing Portal and follow the prompts to update your information.
To obtain a duplicate Indiana Handgun License, log in to the Indiana State Police Handgun Licensing Portal and follow the prompts to request your duplicate.
Moving to Indiana and interested in applying for a license? How soon can you apply? Indiana issues licenses to residents and out-of-state residents who have a regular place of business or employment in Indiana only. You can apply for your license to the Indiana State Police once you have established your residence in Indiana.
Moving from Indiana and have an Indiana resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Indiana license remains valid? If a person with an Indiana license to carry a handgun establishes residency in another state, the license expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.
Indiana Concealed Carry Permit Application Process
How to Apply for a Indiana Concealed Carry Permit
Complete a Handgun License Application online and, within 90 days, do the following:
Schedule an appointment to electronically submit your fingerprints.
Visit your local sheriff’s department or municipal police office with your application number and your payment.
Your application will be electronically transferred to the IN State Police for final review, and you will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
Indiana Licenses to Carry Handguns are either “qualified” or “unlimited.” A qualified license will be issued for hunting and target practice only. An unlimited license is issued for the purpose of the protection of life and property.
No firearms training is required in Indiana. However, the USCCA recommends that anyone who makes the choice to carry a concealed firearm obtain as much training as possible in order to be a responsibly armed American.
Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details, check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.
Indiana adopted Ind. Code §§ 35-47-15-1 through 15-6 that mirror the Federal LEOSA requirements. The Indiana Law Enforcement Academy (ILEA) has a retired officer handgun qualification course for police officers in Indiana that have separated from service as qualified RLEOs under Public Law 108-277. Successful completion results in the retiree being issued a LEOSA Training and Qualification Card. This card, when accompanied by a Retired LEO ID, will provide the necessary documentation that the retiree has qualified within the last 12 months. Course dates and qualification information can be found on the ILEA website.
Carry in places of worship located on school property? Yes, for permit holders attending a worship service or religious ceremony conducted at a house of worship located on school property and for employees or volunteers who are concealed carrying as part of the person's official duties at a house of worship located on school property, provided handguns are not prohibited on the property.[Ind. Code § 188.8.131.52(a)(6)]
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Indiana?
I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Indiana, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?
There is no known statute in Indiana making it illegal to wear a COVID mask while carrying concealed. In addition, a representative from the office of Gov. Eric Holcomb has indicated that a protective COVID-19 mask does not interfere with the ability to carry.
CARRY WHILE GUN HUNTING?
Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in Indiana?
Yes, an individual may carry a handgun while hunting without a handgun license in accordance with Indiana Code 35-47-2-1. However, it is not legal to take a deer with a handgun except during the firearms and special antlerless seasons, and during the muzzleloader season with a muzzleloading handgun, and in compliance with DNR regulations.
Can you concealed carry while bow hunting in Indiana?
Yes, however, it is not legal to take a deer with a handgun while bow hunting.
HUNTER HARASSMENT LAW?
Is there a Hunter Harassment Law in Indiana?
Yes. A person who knowingly or intentionally interferes with the legal taking of a game animal by another person with intent to prevent the taking is guilty of hunter harassment. A person who knowingly or intentionally enters or remains upon public land or upon private land without permission of the owner or the owner's agent, with intent to violate this section, is guilty of hunter harassment.
Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.
If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email [email protected] and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!
Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
If you have any questions regarding USCCA Membership, Delta Defense, handguns laws or the lawful process of carrying concealed, please contact the award-winning Delta DefenseCustomer Engagement Team.
Uncover the Backstory Free Book
Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.
Are You Born to Protect?
Get Your FREE USCCA Sticker! Enter your email below:
Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.
But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…
We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.