Missouri State Seal

Missouri Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws

Carry allowed with my Missouri permit?
No
Yes
Yes, Permitless Carry
Yes, Selected State
216k
Permits Issued
50
STATES HONORED
36
RECIPROCATING STATES
6.1M
STATE POPULATION
19
MINIMUM AGE TO CC
18
ATTORNEYS IN USCCA NETWORK
3.54%
PERMIT PERCENTAGE
5
YEARS PERMIT VALID
50
USCCA CERTIFIED INSTRUCTORS

NEED ANSWERS NOW?

There’s a lot of information here, but our Customer Engagement Team is your best resource for help in a hurry.

Click to chat with someone on our team now.

Summary of Missouri Gun Laws

Missouri is a permitless carry state as well as a shall-issue state. Permits are issued at the local level by county sheriffs.

There is no permit, background check or firearms registration required when buying a handgun from a private individual. 

Open carry and concealed carry are legal in Missouri for anyone 19 years or older who can legally possess a firearm, with or without a concealed carry permit (CCP). However, local authorities can restrict concealed carry in any building owned, leased or controlled by the county or municipality and may require a CCP for open carry. It remains illegal, however, for domestic violence offenders, incompetent persons and felons to carry a firearm. 

To obtain a Missouri CCP, you must be at least 19 years old (18 if in the military) and have passed a firearms training course. The application must be made in your county of residence. Non-resident permits are only available to persons who are on active military duty or veterans who are at least 18 years old and stationed in Missouri. There are a number of restricted locations including courthouses and public passenger buses and trains. In terms of reciprocity, since permitless carry is legal in Missouri anyone 19 years or older who can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm on his or her person without a license or permit.

Missouri has Castle Doctrine laws and became the 25th state to adopt the “stand your ground” canon. It empowers gun owners to defend themselves outside of their homes or properties. They are not required to retreat, wherever they may lawfully be, prior to using deadly force. The law also prohibits political subdivisions to preclude the use of firearms to defend people or property. 

Missouri law does not plainly state you don’t need a permit to carry. They changed the definition of “unlawful use of a weapon” to only apply when a person carries a weapon into a place that is off-limits per Missouri law.

USCCA Membership Card

Never Carry ANYWHERE Without Your USCCA Membership...

Never Carry ANYWHERE Without Your USCCA Membership...

Never Carry ANYWHERE Without Your USCCA Membership...
Join Today & Become
Completely Prepared
Join Today & Become
Completely Prepared
Learn More

Missouri Gun Laws at a Glance

Open Carry/ Concealed Carry Basics

Constitutional Carry?

Does Missouri allow constitutional carry?

Yes. Missouri is a constitutional carry state.

Open Carry Permitted?

Is open carry permitted in Missouri?

Yes, without a permit for anyone 19 years or older who can legally possess a firearm. However, local authorities can regulate open carry for those who do not have a concealed carry permit. The City of Crestwood requires a CCP for open carry. As of April 12, 2019, open carry without a permit is not allowed on city property, including parks, the pool and city-owned buildings in the City of Blair. Permit holders are not allowed to carry at government meetings or schools. Business owners can post signs to restrict open and concealed carry.

[§ 21.750, RSMo]

Gun Permit Licensure?

If Missouri requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?

Missouri issues permits on a shall-issue basis.

Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?

What is the minimum age in Missouri to get a concealed carry permit?

You must be at least 19 years old to carry a concealed handgun in Missouri.

Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?

Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Missouri with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?

No. Missouri law does not allow the concealed carry of weapons other than handguns.

Tasers or Stun Guns?

Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Missouri?

Yes. Stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a permit.

Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray?

Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Missouri?

Yes. There is no statute prohibiting the purchase or use of pepper spray in Missouri.

Non-Resident Permitting?

Does Missouri issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?

Yes. Non-resident permits are only available to persons who are on active military duty, their spouses or veterans who are at least 18 years old and stationed in Missouri.

Public Access to Concealed Carry Registry?

Does Missouri allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?

No. The Missouri concealed carry registry is not accessible by the public.

Carry Locations

Carry in Vehicle?

Can you carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle in Missouri?

Yes, without a permit and on restricted premises, so long as the firearm is not removed from the vehicle or brandished while the vehicle is on restricted premises. Restricted premises are locations where concealed carry is not allowed in the state of Missouri.

[§ 571.030, RSMo]

[§ 571.107.1, RSMo]

Carry at Roadside Rest Areas?

Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Missouri?

Yes. You may carry a concealed weapon at roadside rest areas.

Carry in State/National Parks, State/National Forests and Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)?

Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in Missouri?

Yes. Missouri allows the carrying of concealed handguns in state/national parks, state/national forests and wildlife management areas.

[10 CSR 90-2.020]

[3 CSR 10-7.432(1)]

Carry in Restaurants That Serve Alcohol?

Can you carry a firearm in restaurants that serve alcohol in Missouri?

Yes, in the restaurant area only (not in the bar area without the consent of the manager), but not if posted and provided you are not intoxicated.

[§ 571.107.1(7), RSMo]

Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?

Does Missouri have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?

Not addressed in Missouri state law.

Additional Related State Laws

Must Notify Officer You're Carrying?

Are you required to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Missouri?

Yes, but only when specifically asked by law enforcement.

[§ 571.121, RSMo]

Magazine Limits for Handguns?

Does Missouri have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?

No. Missouri does not restrict handgun magazine capacity.

Ammunition Restrictions?

Does Missouri have ammunition restrictions?

Yes. The possession and sale of "exploding bullets" (bullets or projectiles that explode or detonate on impact due to an independent explosive charge after being shot from a firearm) is prohibited. The minimum age to purchase or possess handgun ammunition is 18 years old.

"No Weapons Allowed" Signs Enforced?

Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Missouri? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.

No, unless an individual refuses to leave or repeatedly enters the premises while carrying a concealed weapon.

[§ 571.107.1(15), RSMo]

[§ 571.107.2, RSMo]

Preemption?

Does Missouri have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?

Yes. However, counties and municipalities may:

  • Prohibit the carrying of concealed firearms, even by persons permitted to do so under state law, in any building or portion of a building owned, leased or controlled by the county or municipality [Mo. Rev. Stat § 571.107.1(6)];
  • Require a concealed carry permit for open carry; and
  • Regulate the discharge of firearms.

[§ 21.750, RSMo]

Red Flag Law?

Does Missouri have a red flag law?

No. Missouri state law contains no Extreme Risk Protection Order (ERPO) ordinances.

Brandishing?

Does Missouri state law define brandishing?

No. However, a person commits the offense of unlawful use of weapons if he or she knowingly exhibits, in the presence of two or more people, any weapon capable of lethal use in an angry or threatening manner.

[Mo. Ann. Stat. § 571.030(4)]

Carry while using alcohol or prescription medication in Missouri?

Does Missouri have laws regarding carrying a firearm while using alcohol or prescription medication?

Yes, but not while intoxicated in Missouri. 

[§ 571.107.1(7), RSMo]

As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times, or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.

Handgun Purchase & Possession

Purchase Permits?

Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Missouri?

No. There is no permit required to purchase a handgun in Missouri.

Background Checks for Private Gun Sales?

Are background checks required for private gun sales in Missouri?

No. It is recommended that you retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun.

Waiting Period?

Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Missouri?

No. There is no waiting period when buying a handgun in Missouri.

Handgun Registration?

Do handguns need to be registered in Missouri?

No. Missouri does not require you to register handguns.

Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?

What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Missouri?

18 years old is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Missouri.

[Title XXXVIII § 571.060]

[Title XXXVIII § 571.080]

Carry While Hunting

Carry While Gun Hunting?

Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in Missouri?

Yes, but they cannot be used to take wildlife while deer hunting.

[MO Admin. Rules Dept of Conservation 3 CSR 10-7.431]

Carry While Bow Hunting?

Can you concealed carry while bowhunting in Missouri?

Yes, but they cannot be used to take wildlife while deer hunting.

[MO Admin. Rules Dept of Conservation 3 CSR 10-7.432]

Hunter Harassment Law?

Is there a Hunter Harassment Law in Missouri?

Yes. A person commits the offense of interference with hunting, fishing, or trapping in the first degree if he or she intentionally interferes with the lawful taking of wildlife by another or if he or she enters or remains in a hunting, fishing or trapping area where lawful hunting, fishing or trapping may occur with the intent to interfere with the lawful taking of wildlife.

It shall be considered a violation of this section to intentionally harass, drive, or disturb any game animal or fish for the purpose of disrupting lawful hunting, fishing or trapping.

[MRS § 578.151]

Have Questions? Contact Our Award-Winning, Wisconsin-Based Member Services Team 24/7 at 800-674-9779​


State Constitutional Provision
That the right of every citizen to keep and bear arms, ammunition and accessories typical to the normal function of such arms, in defense of his home, person, family and property, or when lawfully summoned in aid of the civil power, shall not be questioned. The rights guaranteed by this section shall be unalienable. Any restriction on these rights shall be subject to strict scrutiny and the state of Missouri shall be obligated to uphold these rights and shall under no circumstances decline to protect against their infringement. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent the general assembly from enacting general laws which limit the rights of convicted violent felons or those adjudicated by a court to be a danger to self or others as result of a mental disorder or mental infirmity."
ARTICLE 1, § 23

Missouri Concealed Carry Reciprocity With Other States

Which states' permits does Missouri honor?

Alabama (if at least 19 years old)
Alaska (if at least 19 years old)
Arizona (if at least 19 years old)
Arkansas (if at least 19 years old)
California (if at least 19 years old)
Colorado (if at least 19 years old)
Connecticut (if at least 19 years old)
Delaware (if at least 19 years old)
District of Columbia (if at least 19 years old)
Florida (if at least 19 years old)
Georgia (if at least 19 years old)
Hawaii (if at least 19 years old)
Idaho (if at least 19 years old)
Illinois (if at least 19 years old)
Indiana (if at least 19 years old)
Iowa (if at least 19 years old)
Kansas (if at least 19 years old)
Kentucky (if at least 19 years old)
Louisiana (if at least 19 years old)
Maine (if at least 19 years old)
Maryland (if at least 19 years old)
Massachusetts (if at least 19 years old)
Michigan (if at least 19 years old)
Minnesota (if at least 19 years old)
Mississippi (if at least 19 years old)
Montana (if at least 19 years old)
Nebraska (if at least 19 years old)
Nevada (if at least 19 years old)
New Hampshire (if at least 19 years old)
New Jersey (if at least 19 years old)
New Mexico (if at least 19 years old)
New York (if at least 19 years old)
New York City (if at least 19 years old)
North Carolina (if at least 19 years old)
North Dakota (if at least 19 years old)
Ohio (if at least 19 years old)
Oklahoma (if at least 19 years old)
Oregon (if at least 19 years old)
Pennsylvania (if at least 19 years old)
Rhode Island (if at least 19 years old)
South Carolina (if at least 19 years old)
South Dakota (if at least 19 years old)
Tennessee (if at least 19 years old)
Texas (if at least 19 years old)
Utah (if at least 19 years old)
Vermont (if at least 19 years old)
Virginia (if at least 19 years old)
Washington (if at least 19 years old)
West Virginia (if at least 19 years old)
Wisconsin (if at least 19 years old)
Wyoming (if at least 19 years old)

Permitless carry is legal in Missouri for anyone 19 years or older who can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm on his or her person without a license or permit.

Missouri's concealed carry law provides recognition of concealed weapons permits from every state.  


Other States' Reciprocity With Missouri

Which states honor permits from Missouri?

Missouri residents can carry a concealed defensive firearm in the state of Oklahoma without any type of permit. You must carry your driver's license or state-issued ID when carrying your firearm in Oklahoma.

Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.


States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Missouri

Colorado (resident permits only andat least 21 years old)
Florida (resident permits only and at least 21 years old)
Georgia (at least 21 years old)
Idaho (at least 21 years old)
Iowa (at least 21 years old)
Louisiana (at least 21 years old)
Michigan (resident permits only and at least 21 years old)
Nebraska (at least 21 years old)
New Mexico (at least 21 years old)
North Carolina (at least 21 years old)
Ohio (at least 21 years old)
Oklahoma (at least 21 years old)
Pennsylvania (resident permits only and at least 21 years old)
South Carolina (resident permits only and at least 21 years old)
Tennessee (at least 21 years old)
Texas (at least 21 years old)
Utah (at least 21 years old)
Virginia (at least 21 years old)
Wisconsin (at least 21 years old and not provisional licenses)
Wyoming (at least 21 years old)

Permitless Carry States

Anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry it concealed in permitless carry states without a permit/license. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.

Arizona (if at least 21 years old)
Alaska (if at least 21 years old)
Arkansas (if at least 21 years old)
Kansas (if at least 21 years old)
Kentucky (if at least 21 years old)
Maine (permit recognized if at least 21 years old; see Maine Reciprocity section for details)
Mississippi (if at least 21 years old)
New Hampshire (if at least 18 years old)
South Dakota (if at least 18 years old)
Vermont (if at least 18 years old)
West Virginia (if at least 21 years old)

Take USCCA Membership for a Test Drive

Get a feel for your USCCA Membership and see exactly what we’ll do for you the instant you activate your benefits. It’s 100% risk-free with your 365-day, money-back guarantee.

Discover Membership

In addition to the most trusted legal protection money can buy, discover what else your USCCA Membership has in store for you…

Discover Membership

Missouri Concealed Carry Permit Information

Requirements:

An applicant must:

  • Be at least age 19, or be at least 18 and a member of the United States Armed Forces or honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces;
  • Be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States;
  • Be either a resident of Missouri, a member of the Armed Forces stationed in Missouri or the spouse of such a military member;
  • Have taken a firearms training course;
  • Not have pled guilty to or entered a plea of no contest or have been convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year, other than a crime classified as a misdemeanor punishable by a term of imprisonment of 2 years or less that does not involve an explosive weapon, firearm, firearm silencer or gas gun;
  • Not have been convicted of, pled guilty to or entered a plea of no contest to one or more misdemeanor offenses involving crimes of violence during the immediately preceding 5-year period, or not have been convicted of 2 or more misdemeanor offenses involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs or the possession or abuse of a controlled substance during the immediately preceding 5-year period;
  • Not be a fugitive from justice or currently charged in an information or indictment with the commission of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year, other than a crime classified as a misdemeanor punishable by a term of imprisonment of 2 years or less that does not involve an explosive weapon, firearm, firearm silencer or gas gun;
  • Not have been dishonorably discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces;
  • Not have been engaged in a pattern of behavior, documented in public records, that causes the sheriff to have a reasonable belief that the applicant presents a danger to himself, herself or others;
  • Not have been adjudged mentally incompetent at the time of application or for 5 years prior to application, or committed to a mental health facility or a similar institution located in another state following a hearing at which the applicant was represented by counsel or a representative;
  • Not be the respondent of a valid “full order of protection” that is still in effect; and
  • Must meet federal law requirements.
Fees:

$93 for new permits

$50 for renewals 

$500 for lifetime permit (extended and lifetime permits are not valid outside of MO)

Valid For:

5 years

There are options for 10 and 20-year extended permits as well as lifetime permits. Consult with your county Sheriff's office before applying for an extended permit.

Processing Time:

45 days

Application:
Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permits:

Non-resident permits are only available to persons who are on active military duty or veterans who are at least 18 years old and stationed in Missouri. The spouses of active military personnel can also apply for a permit if they are at least 19 years old and reside in the state. The application and process are similar to that for residents.

Name/Address Changes:

If you change your name, you have 30 days to notify your sheriff and obtain a corrected or new permit. The sheriff may charge you no more than $10 to process the name change. If you do not notify your sheriff within 30 days that you have changed your name, the sheriff MUST, by law, charge you a late fee of $10 per month for each month up to six months. If you neglect to notify your sheriff within 180 days that you have changed your name, your permit automatically becomes invalid.

You are not required to report a change of address unless you move to a different county. You have 30 days to notify the sheriff of the county into which you move of your permanent residence location. The sheriff may charge you no more than $10 to process the address change. If you do not notify the sheriff within 30 days that you have moved into their county, the sheriff MUST, by law, charge you a late fee of $10 per month for each month up to six months. If you neglect to notify the sheriff within 180 days that you have moved into their county, your permit automatically becomes invalid. You will get a new permit number and a new card from the sheriff.

Within 7 days of actually discovering the loss or destruction of the permit, the permit holder must appear at the sheriff’s department to furnish a written statement that the permit is lost/destroyed. A replacement permit will be issued within 3 days for a fee.

Lost/Stolen Permits:

Within 7 days of actually discovering the loss or destruction of the permit, the permit holder must appear at the sheriff’s department to furnish a written statement that the permit is lost/destroyed. A replacement permit will be issued within 3 days for a fee.


Missouri Concealed Carry Permit Application Process

How to Apply for a Missouri Concealed Carry Permit

Step 1:

Complete 8 hours of firearms training or the 1-hour online NRA firearms safety course, with the remainder of the training provided by a qualified concealed carry instructor.

Step 2:

Download and complete a hard copy (or online for Boone County) application. Provide proof of residence (required by some counties).

Step 3:

Take the completed application to the county sheriff's office or submit online where applicable.

Pay the fee.

You will be fingerprinted.

Step 4:

You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.


Firearms Training Requirements in Missouri

Firearms training is required in order to obtain Missouri CCP. Applicants who complete a one-hour NRA course must still complete a separate course taught by a qualified safety instructor, but do not need to spend a particular number of hours in such a course. The extra course that is required in addition to the NRA course must include instruction on:

  • Handgun safety techniques in the classroom, at home, on the firing range and while carrying the firearm;
  • Missouri’s requirements for obtaining a concealed carry permit from the sheriff of the individual’s county of residence;
  • Missouri’s laws relating to firearms;
  • Missouri’s laws relating to the justifiable use of force;
  • A live firing exercise of sufficient duration for each applicant to fire either a revolver or a semiautomatic pistol, from a standing position or its equivalent, a minimum of 20 rounds from the handgun at a distance of seven yards from a B-27 silhouette target or an equivalent target; and
  • A live fire test administered to the applicant while the instructor is present of 20 rounds from either handgun from a standing position or its equivalent at a distance from a B-27 silhouette target, or an equivalent target, of seven yards.

Applicants for all types of concealed carry permits who do not complete an NRA course must take and pass a firearms safety course of at least 8 hours in length that includes instruction on all of the above topics, plus:

  • The basic principles of marksmanship;
  • Care and cleaning of concealable firearms; and
  • Safe storage of firearms at home.

Find a USCCA Class Near You

Find a Gun Range in Missouri


Missouri Concealed Carry Permit Renewal Process

How to Renew a Missouri Concealed Carry Permit

Step 1:

You will normally get a reminder in the mail three to six months before your permits expiry date. You can submit a renewal application no longer than 6 months before the expiry date to 12 months after the expiry date.

Step 2:

Download and complete a hard copy application or online for Boone County.

Step 3:

Take the completed application along with your Missouri ID or Driver’s License (required by some counties) and your CCW permit or endorsement to the county sheriff's office or submit online where applicable.  

Pay the fee.

Step 4:

You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.


Law Enforcement Officers (LEO)/Retired LEOs

Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.

Per Missouri Revised Statutes 571.030(2) & (12), only the law enforcement agency at which an LEO/RLEO worked can offer him/her the qualification training and issue a LEOSA identification card. If a law enforcement agency from that state does not have the program available, those LEOs that are or were from that agency would not be able to have a concealed weapon under LEOSA. Out-of-state LEOs moving to Missouri must verify if they have reciprocity with their state of residence or corroborate if any of Missouri’s law enforcement agencies will qualify them and issue them a LEOSA identification. RLEOs can check with the county in which they reside. For example, the Jasper County Sheriff’s Office is now hosting firearms qualifications for retired law enforcement officers (*qualified law enforcement officer). It is open to all retired Law Enforcement Officers that have relocated and are now living in Jasper County, Missouri.

Missouri State Hwy Patrol Separated Law Enforcement Officer Concealed Weapon Permit Application Form


Missouri Location Restrictions

Where Can I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Missouri?
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Missouri?

Places off-limits even with a permit/license

  • Any higher-education institution or elementary- or secondary-school facility, without the consent of the governing body of the school;
  • Any portion of a building used as a child-care facility;
  • Law enforcement agency facilities;
  • Within 25 feet of any polling place on any election day;
  • Any adult or juvenile detention or correctional institution, prison or jail;
  • Any courthouse solely occupied by the circuit, appellate or supreme court, or any courtrooms, administrative offices, libraries or other rooms of any such court;
  • Any meeting of the governing body of a unit of local government; or any meeting of the General Assembly or a committee of the General Assembly;
  • Any establishment licensed to dispense intoxicating liquor for consumption on the premises;
  • Any area of an airport to which access is controlled by the inspection of persons and property;
  • Any building or portion of a building owned, leased or controlled by some counties or municipalities; 
  • Any riverboat gambling operation accessible by the public;
  • Any gated area of an amusement park;
  • Any church or other place of religious worship without the consent of the minister or person or persons representing the religious organization that exercises control over the place of religious worship (except in a vehicle in the parking lot);
  • Any private property whose owner has posted the premises as being off-limits to concealed firearms;
  • Any sports arena or stadium with a seating capacity of 5,000 or more;
  • Any hospital accessible by the public;
  • Any public passenger bus or metro train; and
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law.

[§ 571.107.1, RSMo]


FAQ: Missouri Concealed Carry Questions

What Are the Knife Laws in Missouri?

Generally, you can openly or concealed carry any kind of knife in Missouri. You may not conceal carry a knife into any area where firearms are restricted under section 571.107.


Missouri Gun Laws Updates:

Date Details
2019-10-31

Added brandishing info to At A Glance table

2019-10-15

Added Hunter Harassmentinfo to At A Glance table

2019-10-01

Added Chemical Spray/Pepper Sprayto the At A Glance table

2019-09-06

Added Carry While Hunting info to At A Glance table

2019-08-13

Added anchor links to various sections below the Summary

2019-08-12

Updated carry in schoolswith permission from the governing body in the Location Restrictions section

2019-07-25

Added minimum age to possess and transport a handgun to At A Glance table

2019-05-24

Added stun gun/Taser info to At A Glance table

2019-05-01

Added permit renewal and name/address change info

2019-04-10

Added info about open carry in the City of Blair to the Gen'l section and At A Glance table

2019-03-28

Added info on state implementation of Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act (LEOSA)

2019-02-15

Added pages for Federal Gun Laws, Traveling with Firearms & Terminology

2019-02-09

Added ammunition restrictions to At A Glance table

2019-02-06

Added red flag law info to At A Glance table

2019-01-25

Links checked

2019-01-24

Added info about alcohol or prescription medication in At A Glance table

2019-01-22

Added church carry info to location restrictions section

2019-01-10

Mag limit added to At A Glance table

2018-12-13

Added preemption info to At A Glance table

2018-12-10

Clarified open carry info

2018-11-30

Added parking lot storage info to At A Glance table

2018-10-22

Added initial CCW law and reciprocity information for Missouri

Did We Miss Something?

Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated, trained and legally protected at all times. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.

If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email support@uscca.com and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!

Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States: 2018.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.

The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. Members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.

Should you have any questions regarding the legal process, membership or any of the great features and benefits a USCCA Membership provides, feel free to contact our award-winning Wisconsin-based Member Services team at any time.