I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Mississippi, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?
Based on our most recent research, the USCCA has identified just two states with statutes against carrying a concealed firearm while wearing a mask: California and Illinois (although sheriffs and county prosecutors in Illinois have made statements indicating that wearing a mask to protect others from COVID-19 while carrying a gun isn’t illegal as long as the wearer isn’t wearing the mask while committing a crime). Due to the large number of inquiries, some states have publicly addressed their laws regarding wearing masks actually refer to individuals concealing their identity with the intention to commit illegal acts or to specifically hide their identity, and do not address wearing a mask while legally carrying a concealed firearm. Although we have not conducted an exhaustive search, we found no statute in Mississippi addressing masks.
If you have further questions, we recommend that you reach out to your local law enforcement office, or district attorney.
There is no permit, background check or firearms registration required when buying a handgun from a private individual. A background check is required if purchasing a handgun from a Federal Firearms Dealer.
Open carry is legal in Mississippi for anyone at least 18 years of age who can legally possess a firearm with several restrictions, including that the firearm be carried in a holster, sheath or scabbard that is at least partially visible above clothing anywhere where guns are not otherwise prohibited. Some areas are off-limits, including schools and bars.
Concealed carry is legal without a permit for anyone who can legally possess a firearm as long as the handgun is carried in a holster or sheath. Mississippi statutes don’t address the minimum age for permitless concealed carry. For reciprocity reasons, two types of permits are still available at the state level: the Standard Firearms Permit (SFP) and an enhanced version (E-SFP), which allows carry in more locations. A permit applicant must be 21 years old (or at least 18 and a member or the military or a veteran) and either be a resident of Mississippi, a non-resident with a valid permit from another state, active duty member of the military stationed in Mississippi or be a retired law enforcement officer establishing residency in the state. The E-SFP requires a firearms training course offered by an instructor certified by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety. In terms of reciprocity, since Mississippi has permitless carry, any person who can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm on his or her person without a license or permit.
Mississippi is a Castle Doctrine state and has a “stand your ground” law. A person who is not the initial aggressor and is not engaged in unlawful activity shall have no duty to retreat before using deadly force if the person is in a place where the person has a right to be.
Justifiable Homicide Homicide may be justified in the following cases.
When committed by a person in resisting being killed, resisting a felony upon the person, or upon or in any dwelling, vehicle, place of business, place of employment or in the immediate premises thereof in which such person shall be.
When committed in the lawful defense of one’s own person or any other human being, where it is reasonable to believe the person was in imminent danger of a felony or great personal injury.
“Dwelling” means a building or conveyance of any kind that has a roof over it, whether the building or conveyance is temporary or permanent, mobile or immobile, including a tent, that is designed to be occupied by people lodging therein at night, including any attached porch.
The statute provides that a person acting in justifiable self-defense shall have similar presumptions in civil cases and is immune from civil suits if found “not guilty” in criminal proceedings.
Yes. Mississippi allows constitutional carry. A license is not required for a loaded or unloaded pistol or revolver to be carried upon the person in a sheath, belt holster or shoulder holster or in a purse, handbag, satchel, other similar bag or briefcase or fully enclosed case if the person is not engaged in criminal activity other than a misdemeanor traffic offense, is not otherwise prohibited from possessing a pistol or revolver under state or federal law, and is not in a prohibited location.
If Mississippi requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?
Mississippi is a shall issue state.
Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?
What is the minimum age in Mississippi to get a concealed carry permit?
The minimum age for permitless concealed carry isn't addressed in Mississippi statutes. However, standard and enhanced firearms permits are issued to applicants that qualify and are a minimum of 21 years old or at least 18 and a member of the military or a military veteran.
Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?
Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Mississippi with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?
Yes. You can carry a stun gun or a concealed handgun with a Mississippi concealed carry permit.
Tasers or Stun Guns?
Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Mississippi?
Yes. While no permit is required for purchase, a concealed carry permit is required to carry a stun gun or Taser. The same areas that are off-limits for concealed handguns apply to carrying stun guns.
Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Mississippi?
Yes. There is no statute prohibiting the purchase or use of pepper spray in Mississippi.
Does Mississippi issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?
Yes. Standard permits are available to non-residents. The applicant must have a valid permit from another state, be active duty member of the military stationed in Mississippi or be a retired law enforcement officer establishing residency in the state. If the applicant is a member of the military between the ages of 18 and 21, he/she must have a valid Mississippi driver's license or identification card issued by the Department of Public Safety.
Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Mississippi?
Yes, without a permit for anyone not otherwise prohibited from possessing a handgun. A handgun may be carried upon the person if it is in a sheath, belt holster or shoulder holster; in a purse, handbag, satchel, other similar bag; or in a briefcase or fully enclosed case.
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Mississippi?
Private businesses may restrict or deny concealed carry on their premises. To ban firearms, a property owner must place written notice, clearly readable at a distance of not less than 10 feet, that says “carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited.” The individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See theHandguns at Hotels page for additional information.
Does Mississippi have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?
A public or private employer may not establish, maintain or enforce any policy or rule that has the effect of prohibiting a person from transporting or storing a firearm in a locked vehicle in any parking lot, parking garage or other designated parking area. There are exceptions for secured parking lots and properties where firearms are prohibited.
Does Mississippi have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?
No. Mississippi does not have magazine capacity restrictions.
Does Mississippi have ammunition restrictions?
No. There are no ammunition restrictions in Mississippi.
"No Weapons Allowed" Signs Enforced?
Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Mississippi? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.
Yes. The carrying of a stun gun, concealed pistol or revolver may be disallowed in any place in the discretion of the person or entity exercising control over the physical location of such place by the placing of a written notice clearly readable at a distance of not less than 10 feet that the “carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited.”
All provisions of Mississippi enhanced carry law shall also be authorized to carry weapons in courthouses except in courtrooms during a judicial proceeding and any location listed in subsection (13) of Section 45-9-101, except any place of nuisance as defined in Section 95-3-1, any police, sheriff or highway patrol station, or any detention facility, prison or jail.
Does Mississippi have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?
Yes. However, local governments may regulate the discharge of firearms and the carrying of firearms at:
A public park or at a public meeting of a county, municipality or other governmental body;
A political rally, parade or official political meeting; or
A non-firearm-related school, college or professional athletic event.
Significant penalties can be levied against a public official who violates the state’s preemption law, including a personal fine of up to $1,000. The state also prohibits local funds from being used to defend the official and allows a prevailing plaintiff to recover attorney’s fees.
No. However, if any person, having or carrying any dirk, dirk-knife, sword, sword-cane, or any deadly weapon, shall, in the presence of another person, brandish or wield the same in a threatening manner, not in necessary self-defense, or shall in any manner unlawfully use the same in any fight or quarrel they shall be guilty of a deadly weapons offense. In prosecutions under this section it shall not be necessary that any gun, pistol, or other firearm be loaded, or in condition to be discharged.
Carry While Using Alcohol or Prescription Medication?
Does Mississippi have laws regarding carrying a firearm while using alcohol or prescription medication?
Not addressed in state statutes.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Mississippi?
No. A permit is not required to purchase a handgun in Mississippi.
Background Checks for Private Gun Sales?
Are background checks required for private gun sales in Mississippi?
No. Private firearms transfers are not subject to a background check requirement, although federal and state purchaser prohibitions, including age restrictions, still apply. It is recommended that you retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun.
Mississippi Permit Exempts from Background Check?
Does my current Mississippi concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?
Yes. License to carry concealed pistol or revolver issued to individuals under Miss. Stat. Ann. § 45-9-101 qualify. Security guard permits issued under Miss. Stat. Ann. §97-37-7 do not qualify.
Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Mississippi?
No. There is no waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Mississippi.
Do handguns need to be registered in Mississippi?
No. Handguns do not need to be registered in Mississippi.
Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?
What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Mississippi?
18 years old. A person may possess and transport a handgun in Mississippi if he or she is at least 18 years of age.
Possess a handgun on my private property without a permit?
Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home without a permit?
Yes. Any person over the age of 18 and legally entitled to carry a firearm within the confines of his or her own home, place of business, on real property associated with the home or business or within any motor vehicle.
Have Questions? Contact Our Award-Winning, Wisconsin-Based Member Services Team 24/7 at 800-674-9779
State Constitutional Provision
The right of every citizen to keep and bear arms in defense of his home, person or property, or in aid of the civil power when thereto legally summoned, shall not be called in question, but the legislature may regulate or forbid carrying concealed weapons."
Since Mississippi has permitless carry, any person who can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm on his or her person without a license or permit. All valid out-of-state weapons permits are recognized by Mississippi, regardless of the age of the permit holder.
Mississippi residents can carry a concealed defensive firearm in the state of Oklahoma without any type of permit. You must carry your driver's license or state-issued ID when carrying your firearm in Mississippi.
Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.
States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Mississippi
Mississippi offers resident and non-resident (military stationed in Mississippi and retired law enforcement officer establishing residency in the state) permits. If indicated with “Resident only” below, that state only honors Mississippi resident permits (and not those issued to non-residents).
Anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry it concealed in permitless carry states without a permit/license. The minimum age* for permitless carry is shown. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.
*PC-18 = permitless carry if at least 18 years old
*PC-21 = permitless carry if at least 21 years old
Be at least 21 years of age or 18 if a member of the military;
Have been a resident of the state for more than 12 months (although this may be waived if the applicant possesses a valid permit from another state, is on active military duty and stationed in the state, or is a retired law enforcement officer residing in the state);
Not have been convicted of a felony without having been pardoned;
Not be suffering from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a handgun;
Have no violent misdemeanor convictions within the last 3 years;
Not have been adjudicated mentally incompetent or must wait 5 years from the date of his or her restoration of mental capacity by court order;
Not have been committed to a mental institution or mental health treatment facility, unless he or she possesses a certificate from a psychiatrist licensed in Mississippi stating that he or she has not suffered from disability for a period of 5 years;
Not chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired;
Not be a fugitive from justice;
Not have had an adjudication of guilt withheld or imposition of sentence suspended on any felony unless 3 years have elapsed since probation or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled; and
Honorably retired law enforcement officers, disabled veterans and active duty members of the U.S. Armed Forces are exempt from the payment of the license fee. There will only be a $ 32.00 charge for the processing of fingerprints.
Yes. Standard permits are available to non-residents that meet one of the following criteria. The applicant must have a valid permit from another state, be active duty member of the military stationed in Mississippi or be a retired law enforcement officer establishing residency in the state. If the applicant is a member of the military between the ages of 18 and 21, he/she must have a valid Mississippi driver's license or identification card issued by the Department of Public Safety. Enhanced permits are only available to individuals who have been residents of the state for more than 12 months.
For reciprocity reasons, two types of permits are available at the state level: the Standard Firearms Permit (SFP) and an enhanced version (E-SFP). The E-SFP allows carry in more locations and is only available to residents. It requires a training course offered by an instructor certified by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety.
With proper documentation, any member or veteran of any active or reserve component branch of the U.S. armed forces, honorably retired law enforcement officer or honorably retired veteran having completed law enforcement or combat training with pistols or other handguns may obtain an enhanced permit.
Within 30 days after the changing of a permanent address, you must notify the Department of Public Safety in writing. Be sure to include in your correspondence your name, permit number, old and new addresses, and a contact number in case of questions. The change of address should be mailed to:
Firearm Permit Unit P.O. Box 958 Jackson, MS 39205-0958.
Within 30 days after having a permit lost or destroyed, you must notify the Department of Public Safety (DPS) in writing. A notarized Lost or Destroyed Permit Affidavit or notarized statement to DPS that the permit has been lost or destroyed is required. If your permit is lost or destroyed, you may obtain a duplicate for $15. Duplicates are done at the Firearm Permit Unit at DPS headquarters and at the substations according to their published schedule.
Moving to Mississippi and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply? Mississippi issues standard permits to residents and non-residents, although enhanced permits are only issued to residents, so you can apply for your standard permit at any time. In order to apply for a standard resident permit, you may need to provide a Mississippi driver's license or state ID.
Moving from Mississippi and have a Mississippi resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Mississippi permit remains valid? If a person with a Mississippi firearms permit establishes residency in another state, the permit may not be valid. Contact the Firearm Permit Unit for details.
There is no requirement for standard firearms permit applicants to complete a handgun training course. Applicants for enhanced firearms permits must complete an 8-hour course on firearms safety taught by an enhanced permit certified firearm instructor.
Exemptions – With proper documentation, any member or veteran of any active or reserve component branch of the U.S. armed forces, honorably retired law enforcement officer or honorably retired veteran having completed law enforcement or combat training with pistols or other handguns may be exempt from the training requirement for E-SFPs.
Mississippi Concealed Carry Permit Renewal Process
How to Renew a Mississippi Concealed Carry Permit
Renewal packages are mailed out 90 days before a permits expiry date. The licensee must renew his or her license on or before the expiration date by filing with the department the renewal form, a notarized affidavit stating that the licensee remains qualified. There is a late fee of $15 that can be payed for up to 6 months past the expiry date. Any permits expired for more than 6 months are marked as permanently expired and you will need to make a new application for a permit.
Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details, check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.
Per Miss. Code Ann. § 45-1-101, retired LEOSA who don’t reside in convenient proximity to the law enforcement agency from which the officer retired, may obtain the necessary certification from the Mississippi Association of Chiefs of Police.
Where Can I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Mississippi?
Carry in bars/restaurants that serve alcohol? You can concealed carry in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol, unless posted. However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants.
Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? Yes, if it is in a sheath, belt holster or shoulder holster; in a purse, handbag, satchel or other similar bag; or in a briefcase or fully enclosed case.
Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes.
Carry in state/national parks, state/national forests, and WMAs? Yes.
Carry in places of worship? No, except for a church's authorized armed security team.
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Mississippi?
Places off-limits even with a permit/license
With standard firearm permit:
Any elementary or secondary school facility, junior college, community college, college or university facility;
School, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms;
Educational property (one section of state law says an enhanced permit holder can carry on school, community college or university property, another says it’s illegal. An AG’s opinion from 2012 says campus carry is allowed for enhanced permit holders);
Police, sheriff or highway patrol station;
Any detention facility, prison or jail;
Courtrooms during a judicial proceeding;
Per a ruling by the 1st Circuit Court, as of March 14, 2019, guns will be prohibited in courthouses in the 1st circuit counties of Alcorn, Itawamba, Lee, Monroe, Pontotoc, Prentiss and Tishomingo;
It is legal to own any knife in Mississippi, unless you are a minor or have been convicted of a felony. Minors and felons may not own Bowie, dirk, butcher or switchblade knives. You can open carry any knife in Mississippi. You may not concealed carry any Bowie, dirk, butcher or switchblade knife unless it is in your home or place of business, in your vehicle or you are fishing, hunting or participating in some sporting activity in which it is common to use that type of knife. In addition, weapons are not permitted on “educational property,” which includes school buses.
Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.
If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email email@example.com and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!
Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
Should you have any questions regarding the legal process, membership or any of the great features and benefits a USCCA Membership provides, feel free to contact our award-winning Wisconsin-based Member Services team at any time.
Uncover the Backstory Free Book
Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.
Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.
But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…
We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.