I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Michigan, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?
Based on our most recent research, the USCCA has identified just two states with statutes against carrying a concealed firearm while wearing a mask: California and Illinois (although sheriffs and county prosecutors in Illinois have made statements indicating that wearing a mask to protect others from COVID-19 while carrying a gun isn’t illegal as long as the wearer isn’t wearing the mask while committing a crime). Due to the large number of inquiries, some states have publicly addressed their laws regarding wearing masks actually refer to individuals concealing their identity with the intention to commit illegal acts or to specifically hide their identity, and do not address wearing a mask while legally carrying a concealed firearm. The Montcalm County Sheriff’s Office put out a Facebook post confirming that there is no law in Michigan that makes it a crime to carry a weapon in while wearing a COVID 19 mask.
The following statute was identified in Michigan, although it makes no mention of concealed carry.
§ 750.396. A person who intentionally conceals his or her identity by wearing a mask or other device covering his or her face for the purpose of facilitating the commission of a crime is guilty of a misdemeanor.
If you have further questions, we recommend that you reach out to your local law enforcement office, or district attorney.
Michigan is a shall-issue state. Licenses are issued at the local level by county clerks.
A permit to purchase, a background check and firearms registration are required to buy a handgun from a private individual. A license to purchase is not required if purchasing a handgun from a federal firearms dealer. Only residents are allowed to purchase handguns, though non-residents are allowed to purchase long guns.
Open carry is legal in Michigan with several restrictions. The minimum age is 18 years old. Residents who can legally possess a firearm, can open carry without a permit if the gun is registered in their name. Non-residents must have a valid concealed carry license from their home state in order to conceal or open carry. Open carry is allowed in more places than concealed carry as the restricted areas referenced in Mich. Comp. Laws § 28.425o apply to concealed carry.
Concealed carry is legal for residents with a Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) and for non-residents that are at least 21 years old who have CCW licenses/permits issued by their home state. CPLs are issued to residents only, with exceptions for active duty military stationed in Michigan as well as active duty military stationed outside of Michigan, if Michigan is the applicant’s home of record. In addition Michigan Complied Laws Section 28.432a includes a list of individuals that are excepted from requiring a CPL, which includes specific peace officers, members of the military in the line of duty, etc. CPLs require successful completion of a firearms training course that has been state approved with at least eight hours of instruction, including three hours of range time. Some areas are off-limits to concealed carry, including schools and hospitals. In terms of reciprocity, Michigan recognizes resident permits from all states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.
Michigan is a Castle Doctrine state and has a “stand your ground” law. A person may use deadly force, with no duty to retreat anywhere he or she has the legal right to be. Any person who uses a gun legitimately in self-defense has immunity from civil liability.
Use of Non-deadly Force An individual not engaged in the commission of a crime may use non-deadly force against another individual anywhere he or she has the legal right to be with no duty to retreat if the person honestly and reasonably believes that the use of that force is necessary to defend himself or herself or another individual from the imminent unlawful use of force by another individual.
Use of Deadly Force An individual not engaged in the commission of a crime may use deadly force against another individual anywhere he or she has the legal right to be with no duty to retreat if the person honestly and reasonably believes that the use of that force is necessary to prevent:
Imminent death of or imminent great bodily harm to himself or herself or to another individual; or
Imminent sexual assault of himself or herself or of another individual.
No. Michigan does not recognize constitutional carry.
Open Carry Permitted?
Is open carry permitted in Michigan?
Yes, without a permit for residents who can legally possess a firearm. Non-residents must have a permit from their home state. Open carry is allowed in more places than concealed carry as the restricted areas referenced in Mich. Comp. Laws § 28.425o apply to concealed carry and not to open carry.
Gun Permit Licensure?
If Michigan requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?
Michigan is a shall-issue state.
Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?
What is the minimum age in Michigan to get a concealed carry permit?
The minimum age to carry concealed in Michigan is 21.
Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?
Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Michigan with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?
Permit holders may carry concealed handguns and stun guns.
Tasers or Stun Guns?
Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Michigan?
Yes. A concealed carry permit is required to purchase or possess a stun gun or Taser. Permittees may have and use a stun gun or Taser in a reasonable way, as long as:
you have a valid Michigan license to carry a concealed pistol;
you've received training in the use and risks of the Taser; and
the device has an identification and tracking system that allows it to be traced to the buyer (presumably through the darts) when it’s first used.
It’s illegal to use a Taser except under circumstances that justify the legal use of physical force, including to defend yourself or someone else from an attack or sexual assault.
Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Michigan?
Yes, the reasonable use of pepper spray by a person in the protection of a person or property under circumstances that would justify the person's use of physical force is allowed in Michigan. Individuals may possess self-defense spray or foam devices that contain no more than 35 grams of any combination of orthochlorobenzalmalononitrile and inert ingredients, with no more than 18% oleoresin capsicum, with or without ultraviolet dye. Minors may not purchase or possess pepper spray.
Does Michigan issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?
Yes, only to active-duty military stationed in Michigan or active duty military stationed outside of Michigan, but Michigan is the applicant's home of record. Also, if a new Michigan resident has a current concealed carry license from another state, Michigan will accept that and waive the 6-month residency requirement.
Public Access to Concealed Carry Registry?
Does Michigan allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?
No, however the information is available for law enforcement.
Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Michigan?
Yes, handguns only may be carried with a valid concealed pistol license. Without a permit, handguns must be unloaded and in a closed case designed for the storage of firearms either in the trunk of the vehicle or for vehicles without a trunk, not readily accessible to the occupants of the vehicle.
Can you carry a firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Michigan?
You can concealed carry in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol with a valid concealed carry permit, unless posted and provided you’re not under the influence (blood alcohol level >0.02). However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars.
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Michigan?
Michigan statutes don't specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See theHandguns at Hotels pagefor additional information.
Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?
Does Michigan have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?
Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Michigan? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.
No. "No Weapons" signs are not enforced in Michigan.
Does Michigan have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?
Yes. The authority to regulate firearms is reserved to the state, except local municipalities may:
Prohibit the discharge of firearms or pneumatic guns (with some restrictions on the latter prohibition) within the jurisdiction of a city or charter township;
Prohibit or regulate conduct with a firearm or pneumatic gun that is a criminal offense under state law; and
Prohibit or regulate the transportation, carrying, or possession of firearms or pneumatic guns by employees of a local unit of government in the course of their employment with that local unit of government.
No. Michigan has no laws pertaining to Extreme Risk Protection Orders (ERPO).
Does Michigan state law define brandishing?
Yes. A person may not willfully and knowingly brandish (to point, wave about or display in a threatening manner with the intent to produce fear in another) a firearm in public except in a lawful act of self-defense or the defense of another.
Carry While Using Alcohol or Controlled Substances?
Does Michigan have laws regarding carrying a firearm while using alcohol or controlled substances?
Not while under the influence of alcoholic liquor (BAC of 0.02 or greater) or a controlled substance or while having a bodily alcohol content prohibited under this section. "Controlled substance" means that term as defined in MCL § 333.7104. "Under the influence of alcoholic liquor or a controlled substance" means that the individual's ability to properly handle a pistol or to exercise clear judgment regarding the use of that pistol was substantially and materially affected by the consumption of alcoholic liquor or a controlled substance.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times, or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Michigan?
Only Michigan residents may purchase pistols in Michigan. A NICS background check is performed on all commercial firearm sales at the time of purchase. The FFL may elect to use a valid Michigan License to Purchase a Pistol (received from your local police department) in lieu of a NICS background check. The buyer must be at least 21 years of age, a resident of Michigan, possess a clean criminal background, and be mentally stable. Upon purchase a Pistol Sales Record (RI-60) form is completed. One copy of this form will be kept by the seller, one by the purchaser, and the third must be filed with the Michigan State Police through your local police department within 10 days of your purchase.
Background Checks for Private Gun Sales?
Are background checks required for private gun sales in Michigan?
Yes. A person acquiring a handgun must have a License To Purchase a Pistol. A background check is required to obtain this licenses.
Does my current Michigan concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?
Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Michigan?
No. Michigan has no waiting period for the purchase of a handgun.
Do handguns need to be registered in Michigan?
Although there is no firearm registry, all handgun sales require a Pistol Sales Record (RI-60) form to be filed with the Michigan State Police. There are several exceptions including, but not limited to, police officers.
Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?
What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Michigan?
18 years old.
Generally, an individual less than 18 years of age shall not possess a firearm in public except under the direct supervision of an individual 18 years of age or older, although there are exceptions for hunting, target/shooting ranges.
Possess a handgun on my private property without a permit?
Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home without a permit?
Yes. A permit is not required for anyone legally entitled to carry a firearm, to carry a handgun about a person’s place of business, residence, land that he or she owns or between the person’s dwelling and place of business. [Mich. Comp. Laws Serv. §§ 750.227(2)]
Handgun Purchase Process Only a Michigan resident may purchase a handgun in Michigan.
A NICS background check is performed on all commercial firearm sales at the time of purchase. The FFL may elect to use a valid Michigan License to Purchase a Pistol (LTP) or have the purchaser complete a Federal Form 4473 for a NICS background check.
To purchase a pistol in a private transaction, the buyer must have a Michigan CPL or LTP.
License to Purchase a Pistol (RI-10 Form) A License to Purchase a Pistol can only be obtained from your local police or sheriff’s office. You will need a valid Michigan driver’s license or Michigan state ID with your current address listed to get your permit. Generally, the background check that is conducted to get a LTP will take between 24 and 48 hours, and you will be allowed to pick up your permit after that criminal and mental health record background check has been completed.
A LTP must be used within 30 days of the date it is issued or it will be void. One copy of your RI-10 will be kept on record by the seller, one by the purchaser and the third must be filed with the Michigan State Police through your local police department within 10 days of your purchase.
Can you concealed carry while bowhunting in Michigan?
Yes, with a valid a concealed pistol license or properly carried under authority of a specific exception from the requirement of a concealed pistol license. However, a concealed pistol license does not authorize the individual to use the pistol to take game except as provided by law. .
Hunter Harassment Law?
Is there a Hunter Harassment Law in Michigan?
Yes. An individual shall not obstruct or interfere in the lawful taking of animals or fish by another individual. An individual violates this section when the individual intentionally or knowingly does any of the following:
Drives or disturbs animals or fish for the purpose of disrupting a lawful taking;
Blocks, impedes, or harasses another individual who is engaged in the process of lawfully taking an animal or fish;
Uses a natural or artificial visual, aural, olfactory, gustatory, or physical stimulus or an unmanned vehicle or unmanned device that uses aerodynamic forces to achieve flight or that operates on the surface of the water or underwater, to affect animal or fish behavior in order to hinder or prevent the lawful taking of an animal or a fish;
Erects barriers to deny ingress or egress to areas where the lawful taking of animals or fish may occur. This subdivision does not apply to an individual who erects barriers to prevent trespassing on his or her property;
Interjects himself or herself into the line of fire of an individual lawfully taking wildlife;
Affects the condition or placement of personal or public property intended for use in the lawful taking of an animal or a fish in order to impair the usefulness of the property or prevent the use of the property;
Enters or remains upon private lands without the permission of the owner or the owner's agent, for the purpose of violating this section. (h) Engages in any other act or behavior for the purpose of violating this section.
Be a legal resident of the State of Michigan for at least 6 months, active duty military permanently stationed in Michigan or active duty military stationed outside of Michigan, but Michigan is the applicant's home of record;
Have a valid State ID;
Be a citizen of the U.S. or a lawfully admitted alien;
Not have been convicted of a felony or have felony charges pending;
Not be subject to an order or disposition for any of the following:
Involuntary hospitalization or involuntary alternative treatment,
Personal protection order,
Bond or conditional release prohibiting purchase or possession of a firearm, or
Finding of not guilty by reason of insanity;
Not be prohibited from possessing, using, transporting, selling, purchasing, carrying, shipping, receiving or distributing a firearm under Michigan law;
Not have been dishonorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces;
Not have been convicted of one of the following misdemeanors in the 8 years immediately preceding the date of application: Failing to stop when involved in a personal injury accident; operating while intoxicated, second offense [MCL 257.625(9)(b)]; drunk driving, commercial vehicle [MCL 257.625m(4)]; or reckless driving [MCL 257.626];
Not have been convicted of one of the following misdemeanors in the three years immediately preceding the date of application: Operating under the influence [MCL 257.625], embezzlement [MCL 750.174], larceny [MCL 750.365], malicious destruction of stolen property [MCL 750.377a], second-degree retail fraud [MCL 750.356d];
Not have been found guilty of any crime and not have offered a plea of not guilty of, or been acquitted of, any crime by any reason of insanity;
Not have a diagnosed mental illness at the time the application is made that includes an assessment that the individual presents a danger to himself or herself or to another, regardless of whether he or she is receiving treatment for that illness;
Not be detrimental to the safety of his or her self or any other person; and
Michigan issues non-resident permits only to active-duty military stationed in Michigan.
Contact your county clerk for information regarding address/name changes.
If your CPL is stolen, report that to your local police department. You may obtain a replacement license from the clerk's office for $10. Bring your government-issued picture ID (driver’s license, etc.) and the fee along with a copy of the police report, and a new permit will be re-issued to you.
Moving to Michigan and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply? Michigan issues licenses to residents and active-duty military stationed in Michigan only. You can apply for your license to your county clerk once you have been a legal resident of the State of Michigan for at least 6 months, active duty military permanently stationed in Michigan or active duty military stationed outside of Michigan, but Michigan is the applicant's home of record. However, if a new Michigan resident has a current concealed carry license from another state, Michigan will accept that and waive the 6-month residency requirement.
Moving from Michigan and have a Michigan resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Michigan license remains valid? If a person with a Michigan concealed pistol license establishes residency in another state, the license expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.
Michigan Concealed Carry Permit Application Process
How to Apply for a Michigan Concealed Carry Permit
Complete a firearm training course if required.
Download the application or pick up from the county clerk's office.
Go to the county clerk's office of the county in which you reside and sign the application under oath. Include the following documents:
Training certificate and
A passport-quality photograph.
Pay the fee. The county clerk will provide a receipt for payment of fees.
Have classifiable fingerprints taken by the county clerk, state police, sheriff’s office, local police agency or other entity that provides fingerprinting services. Provide the Pistol application receipt to the provider.
The county clerk shall issue a license or notice of statutory disqualification within 45 days after the date the applicant has classifiable fingerprints taken.
The instructor for the pistol safety training course must be certified by the Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards (MCOLES). The training must be within 5 years preceding the date of application and include the following:
Safe storage, use and handling of a pistol including, but not limited to, safe storage, use and handling to protect a child;
Ammunition knowledge and the fundamentals of pistol shooting;
Firearms and the law, including civil liability issues;
Avoiding criminal attack and controlling a violent confrontation;
All laws that apply to carrying a concealed pistol in Michigan; and
At least 8 hours of instruction, including 3 hours of firing range time.
Waiver – The pistol safety training course requirement is waived for a new applicant who is a retired police officer or a retired law enforcement officer as defined in MCL 28.421(1)(o).
An application to renew a CPL may be submitted not more than six months before, nor one year after, the expiration of the current CPL. CPL holders will be notified that their license is approaching expiration by their county clerk three to six months prior to the expiration of their current license. CPLs can be renewed in person at the county clerk's office, via U.S. Mail or online.
Online - Those eligible to submit their CPL renewal application online will receive a renewal notice through the U.S. mail from the county clerk that issued their CPL containing a PIN. CPL holders who receive renewal notices not containing a PIN are not eligible to renew online. However, you may submit a completed CPL renewal application, with payment, to the MSP CPL Unit, P.O. Box 30634, Lansing, Michigan 48909, or renew in person at their county clerk’s office.
Download the CPL renewal application or if you received a renewal notice from the county clerk that issued their CPL containing a PIN, you may proceed to the online renewal page to submit your renewal application.
For those not renewing online, you may renew in person at their county clerk’s office or via the U.S. Mail at the address below. Once you submit a completed CPL renewal application and pay the renewal fees, you will be issued a receipt. If an individual applies for a renewal license prior to the expiration of his or her license, the expiration date of the current license is extended until the renewal license or notice of statutory disqualification is issued. A person carrying a concealed pistol after the expiration of his or her license pursuant to such an extension shall keep the receipt issued by the county clerk and his or her expired license in his or her possession at all times he or she is carrying the pistol. The receipt, when carried with the expired license, shall serve as a valid CPL until the new license or notice of statutory disqualification is received.
MSP CPL Unit P.O. Box 30634 Lansing, Michigan 48909
The applicant shall sign the statement on the application certifying that he or she has completed at least three hours of review of the required training and has had at least one hour of firing range time in the six months immediately preceding the renewal application.
The issuing authority shall issue a license or notice of statutory disqualification.
Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.
Where Can I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Michigan?
Carry in bars/restaurants that serve alcohol? You can concealed carry in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol, unless posted and provided you’re not under the influence (blood alcohol level >0.02). However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars.
Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? No.
Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes.
Carry in state/national parks, state/national forests, and WMAs? Yes.
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Michigan?
Places off-limits even with a permit/license
A “weapon free school zone,” defined to include any public or private, K-12 school, as well as in vehicles used by a school to transport students to or from school property (although a parent or legal guardian of a student of the school may carry a concealed pistol while in a vehicle on school property, if he or she is dropping the student off at the school or picking the student up from the school);
A public or private child care center or day care center, public or private child-caring institution or public or private child-placing agency;
A dormitory or classroom of a community college, college or university;
A sports arena or stadium;
A bar or tavern where the primary source of income of the business is the sale of alcoholic liquor by the glass and consumed on the premises;
Any property or facility owned or operated by a church, synagogue, mosque, temple or other place of worship, unless the presiding official permits the carrying of concealed pistols on that property or facility;
An entertainment facility with a seating capacity of 2,500 or more individuals;
Any courtroom, office or other space used for official court business or by judicial employees, unless the chief judge or other person designated by the chief judge has given prior approval consistent with the court's written policy [Mich. Supreme Court Admin. Order 2001-1]; and
Only out-the-front, double-edged automatic knives are restricted in Michigan. A person shall not carry a dagger, dirk, stiletto, a double-edged non-folding stabbing instrument of any length or any other dangerous weapon, except a hunting knife adapted and carried as such, concealed on or about his or her person; nor concealed or otherwise in any vehicle operated or occupied by the person, except in his or her dwelling house, place of business or on other land possessed by the person. These knives can be carried openly, but cannot be carried in a vehicle. They must be placed in a secure area which cannot be accessed by anyone in the vehicle. It is illegal to carry a dagger, dirk, razor, stiletto, or knife having a blade over 3 inches in length or any other dangerous or deadly weapon or instrument, with unlawful intent. In addition, knives are not allowed in schools.
Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.
If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email email@example.com and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!
Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
Should you have any questions regarding the legal process, membership or any of the great features and benefits a USCCA Membership provides, feel free to contact our award-winning Wisconsin-based Member Services team at any time.
Uncover the Backstory Free Book
Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.
Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.
But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…
We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.