I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Oregon, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?
Based on our most recent research, the USCCA has identified just two states with statutes against carrying a concealed firearm while wearing a mask: California and Illinois (although sheriffs and county prosecutors in Illinois have made statements indicating that wearing a mask to protect others from COVID-19 while carrying a gun isn’t illegal as long as the wearer isn’t wearing the mask while committing a crime). In Oregon, the Marion County Sheriff’s Office is reminding the public that Oregon law allows residents to conceal carry a firearm while also wearing a mask.
If you have further questions, we recommend that you reach out to your local law enforcement office, or district attorney.
Oregon is a shall-issue state with concealed carry applications processed at the county level by the local sheriff’s office. However, the sheriff has some discretion if there are reasonable grounds to believe that the applicant has been or is reasonably likely to be a danger to self or others.
No permit is required to purchase a firearm. Private-party firearms transfers must be conducted through a licensed firearms dealer while both parties are present. The dealer is required by federal law to conduct a background check and keep a record of the sale. The Oregon State Police keep records of all gun sales from firearm dealers for five years.
Open carry is legal in Oregon without a license although local cities and counties are authorized to place restrictions on who may open carry in public places (which includes vehicles). The minimum age is 18 years old. Some areas are off-limits, including federal facilities and Indian reservations.
Concealed carry is legal only with an Oregon Concealed Handgun License (CHL). Oregon CHLs require an applicant to be at least 21 years of age and demonstrate competence with a handgun. This can be done through an approved firearms training course or through participation in organized shooting competition or military experience. Non-residents who live in contiguous states may apply for a CHL. In terms of reciprocity, Oregon does not honor permits from any other states.
Oregon law does not explicitly reference the Castle Doctrine, nor does it have a “stand your ground” statute. A person is justified in using physical force for self-defense or to defend a third person from what the person reasonably believes to be the use or imminent use of unlawful physical force, and the person may use a degree of force which the person reasonably believes to be necessary for the purpose.
Use of Physical Force A person is justified in using physical force for self-defense or to defend a third person from what the person reasonably believes to be the use or imminent use of unlawful physical force, and the person may use a degree of force which the person reasonably believes to be necessary for the purpose.
A person is justified in using physical force, other than deadly physical force, when and to the extent that the person reasonably believes it necessary to prevent or terminate the commission or attempted commission of:
Theft or criminal mischief of property;
Criminal trespass by another person in or upon the premises; or
A burglary in a dwelling.
Use of Deadly Physical Force A person is not justified in using deadly physical force unless the person reasonably believes that the other person is:
Committing or attempting to commit a felony involving the use or threatened imminent use of physical force against a person;
Committing or attempting to commit a burglary in a dwelling; or
Using or about to use unlawful deadly physical force against a person.
A person may use deadly physical force only:
In defense of a person; or
When the person reasonably believes it necessary to prevent the commission of arson or a felony by force and violence by the trespasser.
Yes, without a permit. However, local governments can prohibit open carry for persons who do not have an Oregon concealed handgun license and are carrying a loaded handgun in public places (inside of vehicles are considered public places). For instance, the cities of Portland, Beaverton, Tigard, Oregon City, Salem and Independence, plus the entirety of Multnomah County, prohibit open carry of loaded firearms. All public buildings are off-limits for those that open carry without an Oregon concealed handgun license.
If Oregon requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?
Oregon follows a shall-issue permit policy.
Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?
What is the minimum age in Oregon to get a concealed carry permit?
The minimum age to carry concealed in Oregon is 21.
Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?
Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Oregon with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?
No. A Oregon CHL only allows the concealed carry of handguns.
Tasers or Stun Guns?
Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Oregon?
Yes. Stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a permit.
Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray?
Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Oregon?
Yes. There is no statute prohibiting the purchase or use of pepper spray in Oregon. However, a person can be charged with a crime for recklessly discharging either of these items against another person.
Does Oregon issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?
Yes, only for residents of contiguous states with compelling business interest or other legitimate demonstrated need.
Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Oregon?
Yes, there is no prohibition on carrying loaded handguns in a vehicle, however, a loaded handgun must not be concealed and readily accessible. A handgun is considered readily accessible if it is in the passenger compartment of the vehicle. For vehicles with no storage location that is outside the passenger compartment of the vehicle, a handgun is considered not readily accessible if it is stored in a closed and locked glove compartment, center console or other container.
However, local governments can set their own laws on public places, which includes vehicles.
Can you carry a firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Oregon?
Yes, there is no statute making it illegal to concealed carry with a valid OR CHL, unless posted.
Carry/Possess at a hotel?
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Oregon?
Oregon statutes don't specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See theHandguns at Hotels pagefor additional information.
Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?
Does Oregon have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?
Does Oregon have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?
No. There are no handgun magazine capacity limits in Oregon.
Does Oregon have ammunition restrictions?
Yes. It is illegal to possess teflon-coated handgun ammunition or handgun ammunition coated with any chemical compound with properties similar to Teflon and which is intended to penetrate soft body armor, for any person with the intent to use the ammunition in the commission of a felony.
A person commits the crime of unlawful use of a weapon if the person attempts to use unlawfully against another, or carries or possesses with intent to use unlawfully against another, any dangerous or deadly weapon.
Any person over the age of 12 years who, with or without malice, purposely points or aims any loaded or empty pistol, gun, revolver or other firearm, at or toward any other person within range of the firearm, except in self-defense, shall be charged with a crime.
Yes. A law enforcement officer or a family or household member of a person may file a petition enjoining the person from having in the person’s custody or control, owning, purchasing, possessing or receiving, or attempting to purchase or receive, a deadly weapon.
Does Oregon have laws regarding carrying a firearm while using alcohol or drugs?
Not addressed in state statutes.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times, or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Does my current Oregon concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?
Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Oregon?
No. There is no waiting period to buy a handgun in Oregon.
Do handguns need to be registered in Oregon?
No. However, whenever a retail dealer, pawnbroker or otherwise, buys or accepts in trade, a used firearm, the person shall enter in a register the time, date and place of purchase or trade, the name of the person selling or trading the firearm, the number of the identification documentation presented by the person and the make, model and manufacturer’s number of the firearm. The form is provided to the local law enforcement agency. Firearms dealers are required to retain a firearms transaction thumbprint form for 5 years after completion of the form.
Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?
What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Oregon?
The minimum age to possess or transport a handgun in Oregon is 18 years old.
Possess a handgun on my private property without a permit?
Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home without a permit?
Yes. A concealed carry permit is not required in a person’s place of residence or place of business. “Residence” includes a recreational vessel or recreational vehicle while used, for whatever period of time, as residential quarters for any lawful purpose.
Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in Oregon?
Yes. There are no Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife administrative rules that restrict the right to carry or have in your possession a firearm at any time. You may not hunt with that firearm unless regulations for the area and type of hunt in which you are participating allow you to do so.
Carry While Bow Hunting?
Can you concealed carry while bowhunting in Oregon?
Yes. You may carry or have in your possession a firearm during a general or controlled archery (bow) season. You must use legal archery equipment to hunt animals for which you have an archery tag.
Yes. A person commits the offense of obstructing the taking of wildlife if the person, having no right to do so, interferes with the lawful taking, or the process of taking, of wildlife by another with the intent to prevent the taking.
Anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry it concealed in permitless carry states without a permit/license. The minimum age* for permitless carry is shown. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.
*PC-18 = permitless carry if at least 18 years old
*PC-21 = permitless carry if at least 21 years old
Provide proof of residency (Oregon driver’s license, voter registration card, etc.);
Have a current address on his or her driver’s license;
Be a citizen of the U.S.;
Not have been convicted of a felony or found “guilty, except for insanity” of a felony;
Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor or found “guilty, except for insanity” of a misdemeanor within the 4 years prior to the application;
Not have been committed to the Oregon Health Authority;
Not have been found to be mentally ill and not be subject to an order that the person be prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm as a result of that mental illness;
Have no outstanding warrants for his or her arrest;
Not have been convicted of an offense involving controlled substances or have participated in a court-supervised drug diversion program including a misdemeanor conviction for the possession of marijuana (unless it is the person’s first conviction or drug diversion);
Not be on any form of pretrial release;
Not be registered as a sex offender in any state;
Not have been discharged from the jurisdiction of a juvenile court in the previous 4 years if under such jurisdiction for committing an act which, if committed by an adult, would have constituted a felony or a misdemeanor;
Not have received a dishonorable discharge from the U.S. Armed Forces;
Not be subject to a citation for stalking or a protective order issued pursuant to certain statutory provisions; and
Sheriffs "may issue" licenses to residents of contiguous states with compelling business interest or other legitimate demonstrated need. The process is the same as for residents.
The process varies by county. Contact your county sheriff's office. There is a $15 fee.
You should report the loss of your concealed handgun license to the law-enforcement agency in the city or county in which you lost your license. The process varies by county, but you may be able to apply online for a replacement. There is a $15 replacement fee.
Moving to Oregon and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply? Oregon issues licenses to residents and residents of contiguous states with compelling business interests or other legitimate demonstrated needs only. You can apply for your license with the sheriff of your county once you provide proof of residency with your current address (Oregon driver’s license, voter registration card, etc.) or, if you are a resident of a contiguous state, once you provide a compelling business interest or other legitimate demonstrated need.
Moving from Oregon and have an Oregon resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Oregon license remains valid? If a person with an Oregon resident concealed handgun license establishes residency in another state, the license expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.
You can meet the handgun competency requirement in one of the following ways:
Complete a hunters’ safety course approved by the Department of Fish and Wildlife or similar agency, if handgun training was a component of the course;
Completion of any firearm safety or training course available to the general public offered by law enforcement, a community college or private or public institution or organization, or firearms training school, if the instructors were certified by the NRA or a law enforcement agency and if the course had a handgun safety component;
Provide a copy of your DD214 if it indicates you have been trained with a handgun, sidearm or pistol; or
Present evidence of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition or military experience.
Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.
From the Oregon Dept of Public Safety Standards & Training (DPSST) LEOSA webpage, “In Oregon, ORS 166.250 generally prohibits a person from carrying a firearm concealed upon their person. However, ORS 166.260 creates an affirmative defense to prosecution for “Sheriffs, constables, marshals, police officers, whether active or honorably retired, parole and probation officers, or other duly appointed peace officers.” This statute is not limited to Oregon law enforcement officers on its face, so it also applies to officers from out of state. Oregon presently allows retired officers to carry concealed handguns without the “qualification” requirements of the federal law. In particular, the federal law is limited to retired officers who have either 15 years of employment or have suffered a service‐connected disability which would significantly limit its reach regarding out‐of‐state officers.”
With this Oregon law in mind, the issue for Oregon’s law enforcement officers is making sure retired officers meet Oregon’s firearms training requirements every 12 months. That retired officer may then lawfully carry a concealed handgun in other states.
Carry in bars/restaurants that serve alcohol? Yes, with an OR CHL.
Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? No.
Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes, with an OR CHL.
Carry in state/national parks, state/national forests, and WMAs? Yes, with an OR CHL.
Carry in places of worship? There is no State statute prohibiting concealed carry in places of worship. However, since places of worship are private property, they may post signs prohibiting firearms.
Carry in public buildings? Yes, with an OR CHL. “Public building” [ORS 166.360(9)] means a hospital, a capitol building, a public or private school, a college or university (however, see Can't Carry Section below for internal college policies), a city hall or the residence of any state official elected by the state at large, and the grounds adjacent to each such building, although court facilities are excluded. [ORS 166.370(3)(g)]
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Oregon?
Places off-limits even with a permit/license
The definition of public building (above) includes colleges and universities as well as the adjacent grounds, and by statute, concealed carry permit holders are allowed to carry in them. However, all seven state colleges and universities plus most community colleges have internal policies banning firearms on the properties.
Court facilities, however, the presiding judge of a judicial district or a municipal court may enter an order permitting the possession of specified weapons in a court facility. [Or. Rev. Stat. § 166.370]
It is legal to open carry any type of knife. Unless you have been convicted of a felony, you can own any knife you choose in Oregon. It is illegal in Oregon to concealed carry on your person a dirk, dagger or stabbing knife, a butterfly knife, gravity knife, any knife with a blade that projects or swings into position by force of a spring or by centrifugal force, or any similar instrument by the use of which injury could be inflicted upon the person or property of any other person. Knives are prohibited in public buildings and court facilities except for an ordinary pocketknife having a blade less than 4 inches in length.
Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.
If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email firstname.lastname@example.org and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!
Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
If you have any questions regarding USCCA Membership, Delta Defense, handguns laws or the lawful process of carrying concealed, please contact the award-winning Delta Defense Customer Engagement Team.
Uncover the Backstory Free Book
Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.
Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.
But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…
We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.