Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Oregon's concealed carry laws. Applying for a CHL varies by state.
Read about the process for getting a Oregon Concealed Handgun License below.
COMPLETE a firearms training course
DOWNLOAD and complete an application or pick one up from your local sheriff's office
GATHER your documents. You will need:
VISIT your local sheriff's office and bring your documentation.
You will be fingerprinted.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX
You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
Applicants are required to complete firearms training in Oregon. You can meet the handgun competency requirement in one of the following ways:
An applicant must:
*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Oregon.
$100 for Initial Permit, Plus $15 for Background Check
$75 for Permit Renewals
Valid for Four Years from Date of Issue
45 Day Processing
VISIT YOUR LOCAL SHERIFF'S OFFICE FOR APPLICATION
SOME COUNTIES HAVE APPLICATIONS ONLINE
Sheriffs "may issue" licenses to residents of contiguous states with compelling business interest or other legitimate demonstrated need. The process is the same as for residents.
Moving to Oregon and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply?Oregon issues licenses to residents and residents of contiguous states with compelling business interests or other legitimate demonstrated needs only. You can apply for your license with the sheriff of your county once you provide proof of residency with your current address (Oregon driver’s license, voter registration card, etc.) or, if you are a resident of a contiguous state, once you provide a compelling business interest or other legitimate demonstrated need.
Moving from Oregon and have an Oregon resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Oregon license remains valid?If a person with an Oregon resident concealed handgun license establishes residency in another state, the license expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.
An otherwise expired concealed handgun license continues to be valid for up to 45 days after the licensee applies for renewal if:
OBTAIN an application from your local sheriff's office or check your county website for a downloadable one
VISIT your local sheriff's office and bring the following:
Pay the fee.
YOU MAY receive a new CHL the same day. If not, you will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You NeedBecome a member
Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your FamilyFind a USCCA Class