Arkansas State Seal

Arkansas Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws

Carry allowed with my Arkansas permit?
No
Yes
Yes, Selected State(s)

Have concealed carry permits from more than one state?

Check out our new Multi-State Permit Tool here!

217k
Licenses Issued
50
STATES HONORED
37
RECIPROCATING STATES
3M
STATE POPULATION
21
MINIMUM AGE FOR CC LICENSE
6
ATTORNEYS IN USCCA NETWORK
7.20%
License PERCENTAGE
5
YEARS License VALID
25
USCCA CERTIFIED INSTRUCTORS

NEED ANSWERS NOW?

There’s a lot of information here, so our Customer Engagement Team is always ready to help:
Click to chat with someone on our team now.

Summary of Arkansas Gun Laws

Arkansas is a shall-issue, permitless carry state with concealed weapons licenses being issued at the state level by the Department of Public Safety.

There is no license, background check or firearms registration required when buying a handgun from a private individual.

It is now clear that permitless open carry is legal without a license in Arkansas for any person who is at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm. As of October 17, 2018, the Arkansas Appeals Court stated in case CR-18-353 Jamie Taff v. State of Arkansas, “Under the clear language of § 5-73-120(a), the possessor of a handgun must have an unlawful intent to employ it as a weapon against a person in order to make that possession a criminal act.” The minimum age to open carry is 18 years old. Some areas are off-limits, including schools and bars.

Concealed carry is legal without a license for anyone that is over 18 who can legally possess a firearm and on a journey (outside of a person’s home or property) Concealed Handgun Carry Licenses (CHCL) are issued to residents at least 21 years of age or 18 years of age if a member of the U.S. Armed Forces or National Guard and require a firearms training course that has been state-approved. Arkansas offers two types of handgun carry licenses, the CHCL and an Enhanced concealed carry licenses (E-CHCL) which allows for carrying in some forbidden areas such as public colleges, most public buildings, non-secure locations in airports, churches and more. The E-CHCL requires approximately 8 hours of additional classroom and gun-range training. Although Arkansas doesn’t issue non-resident licenses, active-duty military and their spouses may apply for an Arkansas CHCL. In terms of reciprocity, since Arkansas has permitless carry, anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm on his or her person without a license or permit.

Self-Defense

The Castle Doctrine in Arkansas indicates that the right of an individual to defend himself or herself and the life of a person or property in the individual’s home against harm, injury or loss by a person unlawfully entering or attempting to enter or intrude into the home is a fundamental right to be preserved and promoted as a public policy in the state. As of March 3, 2021 Arkansas has a “stand your ground” law, and there is no duty to retreat before force can be used for self-defense anywhere a person is lawfully allowed to be.

Use of Physical Force
A person is justified in using a degree of physical force that he or she reasonably believes to be necessary to defend him or herself or a third person from the use or imminent use of unlawful physical force.

Use of Deadly Physical Force in Defense of a Person
A person is justified in using deadly physical force if the person reasonably believes that the other person is:

  • Committing or about to commit a felony involving physical force or violence;
  • Using or about to use unlawful deadly physical force;  or
  • A pattern of domestic abuse.

A person is not required to retreat before using deadly physical force if the person:

  • Is lawfully present at the location where deadly physical force is used;
  • Has a reasonable belief that the person against whom the deadly physical force is used is imminently threatening to cause death or serious physical injury to the person or another person; 
  • Is not the initial aggressor and has not provoked the person against whom the deadly physical force is used; and
  • Is not engaged in criminal activity.

Defense of Premises
A person in lawful possession or control of premises or a vehicle is justified in using non-deadly physical force when and to the extent that the person reasonably believes it is necessary to prevent or terminate the commission or attempted commission of a criminal trespass by the other person in or upon the premises or vehicle.

A person may use deadly physical force if the person reasonably believes the use of deadly physical force is necessary to prevent the commission of arson or burglary by a trespasser.

Use of Physical Force in Defense of Property
A person is justified in using non-deadly physical force when and to the extent that the person reasonably believes it is necessary to prevent or terminate the commission or attempted commission of theft or criminal mischief or the subsequent flight from the commission or attempted commission of theft or criminal mischief.

[Ark. Code §§ 5-2-606, 5-2-607, 5-2-608, 5-2-609 & 5-2-620]

 

Arkansas Gun Laws at a Glance

Carry Basics

Permitless Carry?

Does Arkansas allow permitless carry?

Yes, for any person who is at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm provided there is no unlawful intent involved.

Open Carry Permitted?

Is open carry permitted in Arkansas?

Yes, without a permit/license. Any person who is at least 18 years old and legally entitled to possess a firearm can open carry.

[Ark. Code § 5-7-120(a)]

Gun Permit Licensure?

If Arkansas requires a license to carry a concealed firearm, how are those licenses issued?

Shall issue.

[Ark. Code § 5-7-111]

Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?

What is the minimum age in Arkansas to get a concealed carry license?

21.

Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?

Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Arkansas with a concealed carry license (or under permitless carry if applicable)?

No.

Tasers or Stun Guns?

Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Arkansas?

Yes. Stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a license. The minimum age to purchase is 19 years old.

Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray?

Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Arkansas?

Yes. It is legal to possess a small container of tear gas or pepper spray to be used for self-defense purposes only, but the capacity of the cartridge or container shall not exceed 150cc.

[Ark. Code § 5-73-124]

Magazine Limits for Handguns?

Does Arkansas have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?

No.

Ammunition Restrictions?

Does Arkansas have ammunition restrictions?

No.

Puzzled by Reciprocity Laws?
The USCCA is Building a BETTER Mobile App!
  • Real-time, location-based alerts as you travel indicating how the laws differ between states
  • The most complete, up-to-date information for all state and federal laws so you can avoid breaking them
  • Notifications as you approach restricted sites/gun free zones + much more
Receive updates and potentially be an early tester!

Carry Locations

Carry in Vehicle?

Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Arkansas?

Yes, when upon a journey (outside of a person's home or property), with or without a license to carry a concealed handgun, except in prohibited places, and provided there is no unlawful intent to employ it as a weapon against a person.​​​​​​

[Ark. Code § 5-73-120]

Carry at Roadside Rest Areas?

Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Arkansas?

Yes.

Carry in State/National Parks, State/National Forests and Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)?

Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in Arkansas?

Yes, but not in any building where a state office is located. See the National Parks webpage for links to each Park in Arkansas.

[Park Directive 3070]

Carry in Bars/Restaurants That Serve Alcohol?

Can you carry a concealed firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Arkansas?

You can concealed carry in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol with a concealed carry license, unless posted. However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants.

[Ark. Code § 5-73-306(12)]

Carry/Possess at a hotel?

Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Arkansas?

Arkansas statutes don't specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See the Handguns at Hotels page for additional information.

Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?

Does Arkansas have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?

It is legal for license holders to store a handgun in a locked and unattended motor vehicle in a publicly owned and maintained parking lot.

[Ark. Code § 5-7-122(a)(3)]

Although there are specific exceptions, generally, a private employer cannot prohibit an employee who is a licensee from transporting or storing a legally owned handgun in the employee's private motor vehicle in the private employer's parking lot when the handgun:

  • Is lawfully possessed; and
  • Is stored out of sight inside a locked private motor vehicle in the private employer's parking lot.

[Ark. Code § 11-5-117]

Key State Gun Laws

Duty to Inform Officer You're Carrying?

Do you have a duty to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Arkansas?

Yes. You have a duty to inform a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm immediately upon contact with law enforcement in Arkansas.

DRIVER'S LICENSE LINKED TO Handgun LICENSE?

Is my Arkansas driver’s license linked to my Arkansas concealed handgun carry license?

Yes. Your Arkansas driver’s license is linked to your Arkansas concealed handgun carry license. Therefore, a law enforcement officer will be notified immediately that you are a concealed carry license holder if they run your driver’s license.

"No Weapons Allowed" Signs Enforced?

Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Arkansas? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.

Yes. No license to carry a concealed handgun authorizes any person to carry a concealed handgun into any place that is posted, "carrying a handgun is prohibited."

A written notice is not required for a private home and any licensee entering a private home must notify the occupant that the licensee is carrying a concealed handgun.

[Ark. Code § 5-73-306(18)]

Preemption?

Does Arkansas have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?

Yes, the state has preemption over regulating firearms, except local municipalities may regulate the unsafe discharge of firearms.

[Ark. Code § 14-16-504]
[Ark. Code Ann. §14-54-1411(b)(1)]

Red Flag Law?

Does Arkansas have a red flag law?

No. Arkansas does not have a red flag law.

Brandishing?

Does Arkansas state law define brandishing?

No definition of brandishing was found in Arkansas law.
However, a person commits the offense of disorderly conduct if, with the purpose to cause public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, or recklessly creating a risk of public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, he or she engages in fighting or in violent, threatening or tumultuous behavior.

[Ark. Code. Ann § 5-71-207]

Carry While Using Alcohol or Controlled Substances?

Does Arkansas have laws regarding carrying a concealed firearm while using alcohol or controlled substances?

Not addressed in state statutes.

As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.

Non-Resident Permitting?

Does Arkansas issue concealed carry licenses to non-residents?

Yes, but only to members of the military stationed in Arkansas and their spouses.

[Ark. Code § 5-7-309]

Public Access to Concealed Carry Registry?

Does Arkansas allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?

No, however the information is available for law enforcement.

Handgun Purchase & Possession

Purchase permits?

Is a license required to purchase a handgun in Arkansas?

No.

Background Checks for Private Gun Sales?

Are background checks required for private gun sales in Arkansas?

No. Private firearms transfers are not subject to a background check requirement, although federal and state purchaser prohibitions, including age restrictions, still apply. It is recommended that you retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun.

Arkansas license Exempts from Background Check?

Does my current Arkansas concealed carry license exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?

Yes.

Waiting Period?

Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Arkansas?

No.

Handgun Registration?

Do handguns need to be registered in Arkansas?

No.

Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?

What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Arkansas?

18 years old.

(a) A person commits the offense of furnishing a deadly weapon to a minor if he or she sells, barters, leases, gives, rents or otherwise furnishes a firearm or other deadly weapon to a minor without the consent of a parent, guardian or other person responsible for general supervision of the minor's welfare.

[§ 5-73-109]

Possess a handgun on my private property without a license?

Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home without a license?

Yes. Permitless carry is allowed in Arkansas for anyone legally entitled to carry a firearm. 

Related Blog Posts

Have Questions? Contact Our Award-Winning, Wisconsin-Based Member Services Team 24/7 at 800-674-9779​


State Constitutional Provision
The citizens of this State shall have the right to keep and bear arms, for their common defense."
ARTICLE 2, § 5

Arkansas Concealed Carry Reciprocity With Other States

Which states' permits does Arkansas honor?

Alabama (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Alaska (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Arizona (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
California (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Colorado (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Connecticut (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Delaware (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
District of Columbia (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Florida (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Georgia (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Hawaii (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Idaho (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Illinois (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Indiana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Iowa (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Kansas (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Kentucky (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Louisiana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Maine (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Maryland (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Massachusetts (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Michigan (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Minnesota (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Mississippi (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Missouri (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Montana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Nebraska (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Nevada (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
New Hampshire (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
New Jersey (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
New Mexico (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
New York (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
New York City (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
North Carolina (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
North Dakota (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Ohio (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Oklahoma (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Oregon (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Pennsylvania (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Rhode Island (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
South Carolina (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
South Dakota (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Tennessee (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Texas (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Utah (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Vermont (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Virginia (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Washington (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
West Virginia (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Wisconsin (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Wyoming (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Puerto Rico (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Arkansas allows permitless carry for anyone that is over 18 who can legally possess a firearm and on a journey (outside of a person's home or property).


Other States' Reciprocity With Arkansas

Which states honor permits from Arkansas?

Idaho (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Mississippi (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Montana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
New Hampshire (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
South Dakota (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Vermont (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.


States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Arkansas

Arkansas offers resident and non-resident (members of the military stationed in Arkansas and their spouses) licenses. If indicated with “Resident only” below, that state only honors Arkansas resident permits (and not those issued to non-residents).

Arizona (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)
Alaska (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)
Colorado (at least 21 years old and resident permits only)
Florida (at least 21 years old and resident permits only)
Iowa (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)
Kansas (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)
Kentucky (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)
Maine (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)
Michigan (at least 21 years old and resident permits only)
Missouri (permitless carry, at least 19 years old, 18 for military)
Nebraska (at least 21 years old)
New Mexico (at least 21 years old)
Ohio (at least 21 years old)
Oklahoma (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)
Pennsylvania (at least 21 years old and resident permits only)
South Carolina (at least 21 years old and resident permits only)
Tennessee (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)
Texas (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)
Utah (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)
Virginia (at least 21 years old)
West Virginia (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)
Wisconsin (at least 21 years old)
Wyoming (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Permitless Carry States

Alaska PC-21
Arizona PC-21
Arkansas PC-18
Idaho PC-18
Iowa PC-18
Kansas PC-21
Kentucky PC-21
Maine (permits recognized; see Maine Reciprocity section for details or PC-21)
Mississippi PC-18
MontanaPC-18
North DakotaPC-18 for residents only
Oklahoma PC-21
TexasPC-21
UtahPC-21
VermontPC-18
Wyoming PC-21

*PC-18 = permitless carry if at least 18 years old

*PC-21 = permitless carry if at least 21 years old

Permitless carry includes constitutional carry states as well as states where an individual must meet certain qualifications, e.g., no DUIs in the last 10 years, in order to legally carry (Tennessee). Each state determines the requirements and any limitations on the carry of firearms. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.


Arkansas Concealed Carry License Information

Requirements:

An applicant must:

  • Be a U.S. citizen or permanent legal resident;
  • Be at least 21 years of age or 18 years of age if a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, honorably discharged or National Guard;
  • Have been a resident of Arkansas for the last 90 days, or be an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces (or the spouse) who submits documentation of his or her active duty status;
  • Not suffer from a mental or physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a handgun and not have threatened or attempted suicide;
  • Not have been convicted of a felony, without having been pardoned and had firearms possession rights restored, or have had the record sealed or expunged for a sentence prior to March 13, 1995, or have had an offense which was dismissed and sealed or expunged under § 16-93-301 et seq. or § 16-98-303(g);
  • Not be subject to any federal, state or local law which makes it unlawful to receive, possess or transport any firearm, and have had his or her background check successfully completed through the Department of Arkansas State Police and the FBI’s National Instant Criminal Background Check System;
  • Not chronically or habitually abuse controlled substances or alcoholic beverage to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired (further detailed in §§ 5-73-309(7)(B) and (8)(B);
  • Have read the Arkansas concealed carry law;
  • Not have been adjudicated mentally incompetent;
  • Not have been voluntarily or involuntarily committed to a mental institution or mental health treatment facility (veterans who have voluntarily sought mental health treatment at a mental health institution or mental health treatment facility may obtain a license under this subchapter if a circuit court grants his or her petition under § 5-73-327);
  • Not be a fugitive from justice or does not have an active warrant for his or her arrest;
  • Have completed an approved firearms training class;
  • Not have been convicted of the offense of carrying a weapon within the last 5 years; 
  • Sign a statement of allegiance to the United States and Arkansas Constitutions; and
  • Meet federal law requirements.
Fees:

New license costs for anyone age 64 or younger

  • Online applications $91.90
  • Paper applications $88.25

As of July 28, 2021, veterans and active-duty military no longer have to pay license fees.

New license costs for anyone age 66 or older

  • Online applications $66.15
  • Paper applications $63.25

These costs include the online application and background check fee. Applicants are responsible for obtaining a complete, classifiable set of fingerprints and that cost is not included. As of July 28, 2021, veterans and active-duty military no longer have to pay license fees.

Renewal fees

  • Online $52.50
  • Paper $50.00

Includes application and background check fees. Beginning July 28, 2021, veterans and active-duty military will no longer have to pay license fees.

Late Renewals - expired less than six months require an additional $15 late fee.

Licenses expired over six months require the applicant to begin the application process with a new application.

Transfer from another state - $73.25, includes background check fee.

Arkansas State Police Concealed Handgun Carry Licensing Information

Valid For:

5 years

Processing Time:

120 days

Application:
Non-Resident Concealed Carry licenses:

Yes, but only for members of the military permanently stationed in Arkansas and their spouses. The process is the same as for residents.

Name/Address Changes:

For change of address, name or other information, complete the Change of Address/Name Notification Form and submit it in the mail or by email to the address listed on the form.

Lost/Stolen licenses:

You can submit a request for a new license online. The form must be notarized before submittal to the Arkansas State Police.

Residency Changes:

Moving to Arkansas and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply? Is your resident permit from your former state transferable to Arkansas? 
Arkansas issues licenses to residents and members of the military, National Guard and military spouses. You can apply for your license once you have been a resident of Arkansas for at least 90 days, meet the military requirements or if you are a spouse of an active duty member of the military. You can also transfer your previous resident permit by completing the new paper application above indicating Transfer Application.

Moving from Arkansas and have an Arkansas resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Arkansas license remains valid?
If a person with an Arkansas concealed handgun carry license establishes residency in another state, the license expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.


Arkansas Concealed Carry License Application Process

How to Apply for a Arkansas Concealed Carry License

Step 1:

Take the CHCL firearms safety class for a CHCL. If applying for an enhanced CHCL, the enhanced training class is also required.

Step 2:

Apply online or by submitting a paper application within 6 months of finishing your firearms safety class and write your confirmation number/order ID on your training certificate.

Step 3:

Have your fingerprints taken at your local law enforcement agency or by a private fingerprinting business.

Step 4:

Submit your fingerprints, training certificate and fee to the Arkansas State Police at:

Arkansas State Police
CHCL Section
1 State Plaza Drive
Little Rock, AR 72209
Step 5:

You will be notified if your application has been approved.

Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License (E-CHCL)

The Enhanced CHCL requires approximately 8 hours of additional classroom and gun-range training. The training course includes topics such as Arkansas firearms law, the rights and responsibilities of an Enhanced License holder, what to do in an active shooting, and all locations where the carry of concealed firearms remains prohibited. The applicant must also pass a shooting competency test. E-CHCL holders who complete this training course are given a “concealed carry endorsement” by the State Police on their licenses indicating that they may carry on public college and university campuses, as well as certain other "sensitive places," including:

  • Publicly owned buildings and facilities;
  • State Capitol grounds and the State Capitol building;
  • Any meeting place of the governing body of any governmental entity;
  • Any meeting place of the General Assembly or a committee of the General Assembly;
  • Any state office;
  • Athletic events;
  • A portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises;
  • A portion of an establishment where beer or light wine is consumed on the premises;
  • Inside the passenger terminal of an airport;
  • Any church or other place of worship;
  • Any place where a parade or demonstration requiring a permit is being held, even when the licensee is a participant in the parade or demonstration; and
  • The buildings and grounds of a public university/college or community college.

For holders of valid CHCLs, there is a form to complete and an additional fee of $15 to cover the license replacement.


Firearms Training Requirements in Arkansas

A basic, approximately 5 hour training class is required to obtain a CHCL. It must include the following: 

  • Knowledge of Arkansas law relating to firearms and the use of deadly force;
  • Familiarity with the basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of handguns;
  • Knowledge of self-defense principles; and
  • Physical competence with a handgun. Based on AR State Police CHL Rule 13.2, active duty or honorably discharged members of the U. S. Armed Forces, the National Guard, or a reserve component of the U. S. Armed Forces may be exempt from the “live-fire” training requirement if they can provide specific documentation.

An additional approximately 8 hour enhanced training class and live fire qualification is required to obtain an E-CHCL.

All training must be obtained with the last 6 months prior to applying for a license.

Training is also required prior to license renewal. The applicant must successfully demonstrate proficiency with the use of a handgun on the firing range by “live-fire.” Renewal training may also address updates and changes in the concealed handgun carry licensing laws and Rules.  An applicant who desires to obtain an enhanced license upon renewal may substitute an enhanced training certificate for the renewal training requirement.

Be sure to verify that any firearm training you receive in order to obtain your license is approved by the state of Arkansas.

Find a USCCA Class Near You

Find a Gun Range in Arkansas 


Arkansas Concealed Carry License Renewal Process

How to Renew a Arkansas Concealed Carry Permit

Step 1:

Renewals are the responsibility of the licensee. You must complete a firearm renewal training course within 6 months prior to the license expiration or renewal date. The renewal training must include “live fire.” 

The Department will accept the application packet prior to the 90 days before renewal, although the license will not be issued until closer to the renewal date. If your license has been expired for more than 6 months, you are required to submit a new application.

You may apply online or using a mail-in renewal application.

Step 2:

To renew online, go to https://chcl.ark.org/asplicense/chcl_renewal/.

If you use the mail-in process, first complete a firearm training course within the 6 months prior to the license expiration or renewal date. 

Step 3:

For online renewal applications after you complete and pay for your license online, you must contact a Concealed Handgun Instructor and complete the required training for a concealed handgun carry license.

For mail-in renewals, the following documents are required:

Mail to:

Arkansas State Police 
ATTN: CHCL Section
1 State Police Plaza Drive
Little Rock, AR 72209

Step 4:

You will be notified if your application has been approved.


Law Enforcement Officers (LEO)/Retired LEOs

Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details, check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.

Arkansas Code Annotated § 12‐15‐202 mirrors the requirements in LEOSA as well as requiring retired LEOs to have fingerprint impressions on file with the system together with written authorization for state- and national-level criminal record screening. 

In addition to LEOs, it applies to any active or retired prosecuting attorney, active or retired deputy prosecuting attorney, or emergency medical technician that is:

  • Presently employed by a public law enforcement department, law enforcement office, or law enforcement agency, local detention facility, or prosecuting attorney;
  • Not subject to any disciplinary action;
  • Carrying a badge and or appropriate written photographic identification issued by the employer;
  • Not otherwise prohibited under federal law; 
  • Not under the influence of alcohol or another intoxicating or hallucinatory drug or substance; and
  • Has fingerprint impressions on file with the Division of Arkansas State Police Automated Fingerprint Identification System automated fingerprint identification system.

It indicates a firearms instructor certified by the Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training who is employed by any law enforcement agency in this state may certify or recertify that a retired law enforcement officer has met the training and qualification requirements for certification set by the commission for active law enforcement officers to carry firearms. An emergency medical technician may only carry a concealed handgun under this section if during the most recent twelve-month period he or she has met at his or her expense the standards of this state for training and qualification for active law enforcement officers to carry firearms.

A certified or retired law enforcement officer, active or retired auxiliary law enforcement officer, active or retired prosecuting attorney, active or retired deputy prosecuting attorney, or emergency medical technician carrying a concealed handgun under this section is not subject to the prohibitions and limitations of § 5-73-306.


Arkansas Location Restrictions

Where Can I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Arkansas?
  • Carry in bars/restaurants that serve alcohol? You can concealed carry in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol with a concealed carry permit, unless posted. However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants.
  • Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? Yes, when upon a journey (outside of a person's home or property), with or without a license to carry a concealed handgun, except in prohibited places, and provided there is no unlawful intent to employ it as a weapon against a person.​​​​​​ 
  • Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes.
  • Carry in state/national parks, state/national forests and WMAs? Yes.
  • Carry at public universities, public colleges or community colleges? Yes, if the person is 21 or over, holds an Arkansas E-CHCL.  Other restrictions may apply. [Ark. Code § 5-73-322]. Note restricted areas in the "Where Can't I Carry" section.

Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License Holders (E-CHCL)
Possession of a valid E-CHCL enables the holder to possess and carry a concealed handgun in the following locations:

  • The buildings and grounds of a public university, college, or community college;
  • Publicly owned buildings and facilities;
  • State Capitol grounds and the State Capitol Building;
  • Any meeting place of the governing body of any governmental entity;
  • Any meeting place of the General Assembly or a committee of the General Assembly;
  • Any state office;
  • Athletic events not related to firearms;
  • A portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises unless posted;
  • A portion of an establishment where beer or light wine is consumed on the premises, unless posted;
  • Inside the passenger terminal of an airport (except for secured areas);
  • Any church or other place of worship, unless posted; and
  • Any place where a parade or demonstration requiring a permit is being held, even when the licensee is a participant in the parade or demonstration.
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Arkansas?

Places off-limits even with a permit/license

Concealed Handgun Carry License Holders (CHCL)

    • Any public pre-kindergarten, K-12 school or public daycare facility (except permittees may possess and store firearms in their vehicles in parking lots), school bus or school bus stop;

[Ark. Code Ann. §§ 5-73-119]

    • Posted firearm-sensitive areas at the Arkansas State Hospital, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences;
    • Any municipally owned or maintained park or recreational property that contains a:
      • Football, baseball, soccer, or other sports field where an athletic event or practice is occurring at the time;
      • Municipally owned or maintained building; or
      • Leased area to be used for a special event.

[Ark. Code Ann. §§ 5-73-122]

    • Any school, college, community college, or university campus building or event;
    • Any University of Arkansas athletic events and venues, the Jean Tyson Child Development Center and Ella’s;
    • Any police, sheriff or Arkansas State Police or Highway Police office;
    • Any buildings of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department, or onto grounds adjacent to such buildings (except rest areas, weigh stations and public parking areas);
    • Any residential treatment facilities owned or operated by the division of Youth Services of the Department of Human Services;
    • Any detention facility, prison or jail;
    • Any courthouse, courthouse annex, or other building owned, leased, or regularly used by a county for conducting court proceedings or housing a county office (with some exceptions, including employees of the county or building, countywide elected officials, to name a few);
    • Any courtroom (except for the judge);
    • Any meeting place of “the governing body of any governmental entity”;
    • Any meeting of the General Assembly or a committee of the General Assembly;
    • Any state office;
    • Any athletic event not related to firearms;
    • Any portion of an establishment, except a restaurant, licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises or where beer or light wine is consumed on the premises;
    • Inside the passenger terminal of any airport (except for secured areas), unless the handgun is encased for shipment by lawful transportation;
    • Any church or other place of worship, unless the head of the place of worship has given permission;
    • Participating in a parade or demonstration for which a permit is required;
    • Any place at the discretion of the person or entity exercising control over the physical location of the place by placing at each entrance to the place a written notice clearly readable at a distance of not less than 10' that “carrying a handgun is prohibited”.
    • At a private residence without having first advised the occupants that the license holder is carrying a concealed weapon and received permission to carry the handgun; and
    • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or state law or regulation.
  •  
  • See Can Carry Section for locations where E-CHCL holders may carry.

FAQ: Arkansas Concealed Carry Questions

What Are the Knife Laws in Arkansas?

Any knife is legal as long as you don’t intend to use it as a weapon against a person.

[Ark. Code § 5-73-120]

WEAR A COVID MASK & CARRY?

I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Arkansas, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?

There is no known statute in Arkansas making it illegal to wear a COVID mask while carrying concealed. In addition, the Arkansas State Police made a statement confirming that, “there’s no statutes or restrictions as far as wearing a mask and carrying concealed.” 

Carry While Gun Hunting?

Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in Arkansas?

Yes, provided the handgun otherwise lawfully possessed and is for personal protection and is not employed for hunting or is a legal killing device under Commission regulations.

[Ark. Fish & Game Commission Regs 05.19

Carry While Bow Hunting?

Can you concealed carry while bow hunting in Arkansas?

Yes, provided the handgun otherwise lawfully possessed and is for personal protection and is not employed for hunting.

[Ark. Fish & Game Commission Regs 05.19

It is unlawful to have a firearm in one’s immediate possession while hunting bear, deer or turkey with archery tackle, except for legal firearms when and where a firearms bear or deer season is open in compliance with 05.19, above.

[Ark. Fish & Game Commission Regs 06.05]

HUNTER HARASSMENT LAW?

Is there a Hunter Harassment Law in Arkansas?

Yes. It is unlawful to willfully obstruct or impede the participation of any individual in the lawful activity of hunting, fishing or trapping. Provided that nothing in this regulation shall prohibit a landowner or lessee from exercising his lawful right to prohibit hunting, fishing or trapping on his land or from exercising any other legal right.

[Ark. F&G Commission Regs 05.37]


Arkansas Gun Laws Updates:

Date Details
2021-08-02

Updated on expansion of LEOSA carry to EMTs per SB-467 in LEOSA Section

2021-08-02

Updated the definition of journey per HB-1898 in At A Glance table and Summary

2021-08-02

Updated carry locations per SB-573, HB-1598, SB-555 & SB-306

2021-08-02

Updated information on the new Stand Your Ground Law per SB-24 in the Summary

2021-05-17

Added info on driver's license link to permit in At A Glance table

2021-03-08

Added information on the new Stand Your Ground Law in the Summary

2020-11-11

Added information on a live-fire training exemption for military in the Training Section

2020-09-03

Added information on Self Defense in the Summary

2020-06-30

Added information on wearing a COVID 19 mask while carrying concealed above the Summary

2020-06-26

Added link to National Parks to At A Glance table

2020-05-05

Added info on handguns at hotels in At A Glance table

2020-04-17

Added info on handguns on private property in At A Glance table

2020-04-03

Added info on private gun sales in At A Glance table

2020-02-24

Added info on carry in bars to the At A Glance table

2020-02-18

Added related blog posts with links

2020-02-11

Added info regarding residency changes and resulting impacts on carry permits

2020-01-27

Updated the knife laws and added statutory references

2019-12-04

Added info on whether a valid state ccw permit exempts a person from needing a background check when purchasing a firearm to the At A Glance table

2019-11-18

Updated license fees and updated links to applications

2019-11-14

Added statutory references and links for can’t carry locations

2019-10-31

Added brandishing info to At A Glance table

2019-10-11

Added Hunter Harassment info to At A Glance table

2019-09-30

Added Chemical Spray/Pepper Sprayto the At A Glance table

2019-08-29

Added Carry While Hunting info to At A Glance table

2019-08-13

Added anchor links to various sections below the Summary

2019-07-24

Added minimum age to possess and transport a handgun to At A Glance table

2019-06-20

Clarified vehicle carry in At A Glance Table and Where Can I Carry sections

2019-05-23

Added stun gun/Taser info to At A Glance table

2019-04-25

Added permit renewal and name/address change info

2019-04-16

Links checked

2019-04-09

Updated permit fees & provided a link to the State fee structure page

2019-03-14

Added info on state implementation of Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act (LEOSA)

2019-02-20

Added info to vehicle carry in At A Glance table

2019-02-15

Added pages for Federal Gun Laws, Traveling with Firearms & Terminology

2019-02-09

Added ammunition restriction info to At A Glance table

2019-02-08

New CHCL fees added to permit information.

2019-02-06

Added red flag law info to At A Glance table

2019-01-31

Added info to

2019-01-25

Links checked

2019-01-23

Added alcohol or prescription medication info to At A lance table

2019-01-22

Added church carry info and statutory reference to locations restrictions section

2019-01-10

Mag limit info added to At A Glance table

Did We Miss Something?

Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.

If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email [email protected] and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!

Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.

The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.

If you have any questions regarding USCCA Membership, Delta Defense, handguns laws or the lawful process of carrying concealed, please contact the award-winning Delta Defense Customer Engagement Team.