As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it can be to stay up to date on ever-changing gun laws…

Arkansas gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked firearms questions in your state. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding Arkansas gun laws. (Not from Arkansas? Find more state gun laws over in Legal & Second Amendment!)

What Does Open Carry Mean in Arkansas?

It is now clear that permitless open carry is legal without a license in Arkansas for any person who is at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm.As of October 17, 2018, the Arkansas Appeals Court stated in case CR-18-353, Jamie Taff v. State of Arkansas, “Under the clear language of § 5-73-120(a), the possessor of a handgun must have an unlawful intent to employ it as a weapon against a person in order to make that possession a criminal act.”  Some areas are off-limits, including schools and bars.

Can I Carry a Loaded Gun in My Car in Arkansas Without a Concealed Weapon Permit?

Yes, when upon a journey (outside of a person’s home or property), with or without a license to carry a concealed handgun, except in prohibited places, and provided there is no unlawful intent to employ it as a weapon against a person.​​​​​​

Is Arkansas a ‘Stand Your Ground’ State?

Yes. As of March 3, 2021 Arkansas has a “stand your ground” law, and there is no duty to retreat before force can be used for self-defense anywhere a person is lawfully allowed to be.

Can I Own a Gun If I Have a Medical Card in Arkansas?

Federal law prohibits all marijuana users from possessing or buying firearms and ammunition — even if state law allows the drug’s use. An individual can’t have both licenses. Under federal law, any marijuana user is an unlawful user of a controlled substance. The 9th Circuit Court of Appeals has upheld this rule. Marijuana in any form is illegal under federal law. Users of marijuana are prohibited persons. Checking “no” on Question 11(e) on Form 4473 would be a lie (and a felony) if you use marijuana.

Do You Have to Register Your Gun in Arkansas?

No. Arkansas does not require the registration of firearms. In addition, no permit is required to purchase a handgun. A background check is required to be completed by a federally licensed firearms dealer for anyone who doesn’t have an Arkansas Firearm Permit.

Can You Carry a Gun in Arkansas State Parks?

Yes. However, only an individual with an Enhanced CHCL can carry in buildings that house state offices within state parks (carry is not allowed in buildings in National Parks).

How Much Is a Concealed Carry Permit in Arkansas?

Currently, the initial permit fee structure in Arkansas is complex, with different costs for online and mail-in applications based on age. Online new licenses are $92 for anyone age 64 or younger and $66 for those 65 or older. These costs include the online application and background check fee. Applicants are responsible for obtaining a complete, classifiable set of fingerprints. That cost is not included.

*Note: Per Act 61, the initial fee will be reduced to $50 plus online application and background check fee. Renewals will be reduced to $25 for renewals and for applicants over 65 years of age.

Ready to Learn More About Arkansas Gun Laws?

It is your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map has been designed to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about Arkansas’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit the Arkansas gun laws page now… 

The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and, as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.