Born To Protect Join USCCA Cart
0
Born To Protect 24/7: 800-674-9779 0
Wyoming State Seal

Wyoming Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws

Carry allowed with my Wyoming permit?
No
Yes
Yes, Selected State(s)

Have concealed carry permits from more than one state?

Check out our new Multi-State Permit Tool here!

31k
Permits Issued
35
STATES HONORED
36
RECIPROCATING STATES
578k
STATE POPULATION
21
MINIMUM AGE TO OBTAIN A CC PERMIT
8
ATTORNEYS IN USCCA NETWORK
5.36%
PERMIT PERCENTAGE
5
YEARS PERMIT VALID
8
USCCA CERTIFIED INSTRUCTORS

I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Wyoming, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?

Based on our most recent research, the USCCA has identified just two states with statutes against carrying a concealed firearm while wearing a mask: California and Illinois (although sheriffs and county prosecutors in Illinois have made statements indicating that wearing a mask to protect others from COVID-19 while carrying a gun isn’t illegal as long as the wearer isn’t wearing the mask while committing a crime). Due to the large number of inquiries, some states have publicly addressed their laws regarding wearing masks, clarifying that they actually refer to individuals concealing their identity with the intention to commit illegal acts or to specifically hide their identity, and do not address wearing a mask while legally carrying a concealed firearm. Although we have not conducted an exhaustive search, we found no statute in Wyoming addressing masks.

If you have further questions, we recommend that you reach out to your local law enforcement office, or district attorney.

NEED ANSWERS NOW?

There’s a lot of information here, so our Customer Engagement Team is always ready to help:
Click to chat with someone on our team now.

Summary of Wyoming Gun Laws

Wyoming is a shall-issue state. Wyoming Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP) applications are processed on a local level by the county sheriff’s office and issued by the Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI). Local law enforcement has some discretion in determining whether or not to issue a concealed weapons permit to an applicant.

No permit is needed to purchase a firearm from a private individual, no background check is required, there is no waiting period and there is no firearms registration in the state. Background checks are required if purchasing a handgun from a Federal Firearms Dealer. However, a Wyoming CFP exempts the holder from the federal requirement of a background check prior to purchase of a firearm.

Open carry is legal for residents and non-residents without a permit for anyone who is at least 21 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm.

Concealed carry is legal for residents of Wyoming without a permit/license and for non-residents that have a permit/license from a state that Wyoming honors. The minimum age to purchase and possess a handgun is 21 years old — 18 years old for shotguns or rifles. Some areas are off-limits, including schools as well as businesses primarily devoted to the sale and consumption of alcohol. A Wyoming CFP requires a firearms-training course that has been state approved or experience with a firearm through participation in an organized shooting competition or military service. Wyoming does not issue non-resident permits. In terms of reciprocity, Wyoming honors permits from other states that recognize Wyoming permits.

Self-Defense

Wyoming is a Castle Doctrine state and has a “stand your ground” law. There is no duty to retreat, and the law applies at a person’s home or habitation or any place where the person is lawfully present.

The use of defensive force is reasonable when it is the defensive force that a reasonable person in like circumstances would judge necessary to prevent an injury or loss and no more, including deadly force, if necessary to prevent imminent death or serious bodily injury to the person employing the deadly force.

A person is presumed to have held a reasonable fear of imminent peril of death or serious bodily injury to himself or herself or another when using defensive force, including deadly force if:

  • The intruder against whom the defensive force was used was in the process of unlawfully and forcefully entering or had unlawfully and forcibly entered, another’s home or habitation, or if that intruder had removed or was attempting to remove another against his or her will from one’s home or habitation;  and
  • The person who uses defensive force knew or had reason to believe that an unlawful and forcible entry or unlawful and forcible act was occurring.

A person who unlawfully and by force enters or attempts to enter another’s home or habitation is presumed to be doing so with the intent to commit an unlawful act involving force or violence.

Criminal Immunity
A person who uses legal, reasonable defensive force shall not be criminally prosecuted for that use of reasonable defensive force.

[Wyo. Stat. § 6-8-104(g)]

Wyoming Gun Laws at a Glance

Open Carry/ Concealed Carry Basics

Constitutional Carry?

Does Wyoming allow constitutional carry?

Yes, only for residents.

[Wyo. Stat. § 6-8-104(a)(iv)]

Open Carry Permitted?

Is open carry permitted in Wyoming?

Yes, without a permit. Any person who is at least 21 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm can open carry.

Gun Permit Licensure?

If Wyoming requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?

Wyoming is shall-issue, with discretion.

[Wyo. Stat. § 6-8-104(g)]

Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?

What is the minimum age in Wyoming to get a concealed carry permit?

The minimum age to apply for a Wyoming Concealed Firearms Permit is 21 (or at least 18 years of age if the local sheriff makes a personal recommendation on the applicant’s behalf).

Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?

Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Wyoming with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?

No. A Wyoming CFP does not permit weapons besides handguns.

Tasers or Stun Guns?

Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Wyoming?

Yes. Stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase without a permit.

Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray?

Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Wyoming?

Yes. There is no statute prohibiting the purchase or use of pepper spray in Wyoming.

Non-Resident Permitting?

Does Wyoming issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?

No. Wyoming does not issue permits to non-residents.

Public Access to Concealed Carry Registry?

Does Wyoming allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?

No, however the information is available for law enforcement.

Carry Locations

Carry in Vehicle?

Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Wyoming?

Yes. Wyoming residents who can legally own a firearm can carry it concealed on their person in a vehicle without any type of permit/license. Non-residents must have a permit/license from a state recognized by Wyoming to carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle. Any person who can legally possess a firearm is allowed to open carry a loaded handgun inside a vehicle as long as it is visible.

Carry at Roadside Rest Areas?

Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Wyoming?

Yes with a Wyoming concealed carry permit or a permit/license from a state that Wyoming honors.

Carry in State/National Parks, State/National Forests and Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)?

Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in Wyoming?

Yes, with a Wyoming concealed carry permit or a permit/license from a state that Wyoming honors, although the use of firearms is prohibited in all state parks, campgrounds, recreational grounds, historic landmarks or historic sites unless otherwise designated by the state Fish and Game Commission (Wy Admin. Rule 024.0002.1.16). See the National Parks webpage for links to each Park in Wyoming.  

Carry in Restaurants That Serve Alcohol?

Can you carry a firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Wyoming?

You can concealed carry in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol with a Wyoming concealed carry permit or a permit/license from a state that Wyoming honors, unless posted. However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants.

[Wyo. Stat. § 6-8-104(t)(vii)]

Carry/Possess at a hotel?

Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Wyoming?

Wyoming statutes don't specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See the Handguns at Hotels page for additional information.

Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?

Does Wyoming have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?

Not addressed in Wyoming state law.

Additional Related State Laws

Must Notify Officer You're Carrying?

Are you required to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Wyoming?

No. You have no duty to reveal that you are carrying a concealed weapon unless the officer asks.

[Wyo. Stat. § 6-8-104(b)]

Magazine Limits for Handguns?

Does Wyoming have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?

No. There are no handgun magazine capacity limits in Wyoming.

Ammunition Restrictions?

Does Wyoming have ammunition restrictions?

No. Wyoming law does not restrict handgun ammunition types.

"No Weapons Allowed" Signs Enforced?

Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Wyoming? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.

Yes. A person is guilty of criminal trespass if he enters or remains on or in the land or premises of another person, knowing he is not authorized to do so, or after being notified to depart or to not trespass. For purposes of this section, notice is given by:

  • Personal communication to the person by the owner or occupant, or his agent, or by a peace officer; or
  • Posting of signs reasonably likely to come to the attention of intruders.

Criminal trespass is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 6 months, a fine of not more than $750.00, or both.

[Wyo. Stat. § 6-3-303]

Preemption?

Does Wyoming have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?

Yes. The authority to regulate firearms is reserved to the state.

[Wyo. Stat. § 6-8-401(c)]

Brandishing?

Does Wyoming state law define brandishing?

No. However, any person who knowingly points a firearm at or in the direction of another, whether or not the person believes the firearm is loaded, is guilty of reckless endangering unless reasonably necessary in defense of his person, property or abode or to prevent serious bodily injury to another.

[Wyo. Stat. § 6-2-504]

Red Flag Law?

Does Wyoming have a red flag law?

No. Extreme Risk Protection Orders (ERPOs) do not exist in Wyoming.

Carry While Using Alcohol or Controlled Substances?

Does Wyoming have laws regarding carrying a firearm while using alcohol or controlled substances?

According to the Game and Fish Code, no person shall carry a firearm with a cartridge therein, or take any wildlife in Wyoming, while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance as defined in Wyo. Stat. § 35-7-1002.

[Wyo. Stat. § 23-3-307]

As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times, or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.

Handgun Purchase & Possession

Purchase Permits?

Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Wyoming?

No. You are not required to get a special permit before purchasing a handgun in Wyoming.

Background Checks for Private Gun Sales?

Are background checks required for private gun sales in Wyoming?

No. Private firearms transfers are not subject to a background check requirement, although federal and state purchaser prohibitions, including age restrictions, still apply. It is recommended that you retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun.

Wyoming Permit Exempts from Background Check?

Does my current Wyoming concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?

Yes.

Waiting Period?

Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Wyoming?

No. There is no waiting period to buy a handgun in Wyoming.

Handgun Registration?

Do handguns need to be registered in Wyoming?

No. Handguns do not need to be registered in Wyoming.

Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?

What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Wyoming?

You must be at least 18 years old to possess or transport a handgun in Wyoming.

[Wyo. Stat. § 6-8-104]

Possess a handgun on my private property without a permit?

Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home without a permit?

Although residents can concealed carry and open carry without a permit, Wyoming Statutes don’t specifically address carry on private property.

Related Blog Posts

Carry While Hunting

Carry While Gun Hunting?

Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in Wyoming?

Yes.

Carry While Bow Hunting?

Can you concealed carry while bowhunting in Wyoming?

Yes. However, the law does prohibit the use of firearms in taking or finishing off any big or trophy game animals during the archery season.

[WY Game & Fish FAQs]

Hunter Harassment Law?

Is there a Hunter Harassment Law in Wyoming?

Yes. No person shall with the intent to prevent or hinder the lawful taking of any wildlife:

  • Interfere with the lawful taking of or the process of lawfully taking any wildlife; or
  • Engage in any activity intended to threaten or otherwise affect the behavior of any wildlife.

It is illegal for:

  • Any person to fail to obey an order of any peace officer to immediately desist from conduct in violation of this section; or
  • Any organization or association to counsel or solicit its members or others to violate this section.

[Wyo. Stat. § 23-3-405]

Have Questions? Contact Our Award-Winning, Wisconsin-Based Member Services Team 24/7 at 800-674-9779​


State Constitutional Provision
The right of the citizens to bear arms in defense of themselves and the state shall not be denied."
ARTICLE 1, § 24

Wyoming Concealed Carry Reciprocity With Other States

Which states' permits does Wyoming honor?

Alabama (at least 21 years old)
Florida (handguns only)
Indiana (at least 21 years old)
Maine (at least 21 years old)
Missouri (at least 21 years old)
Montana (at least 21 years old)
New Hampshire (at least 21 years old)
North Dakota (at least 21 years old)
South Dakota (at least 21 years old)
Utah (at least 21 years old)
West Virginia (at least 21 years old)

The Wyoming concealed firearm permit statute provides that Wyoming will honor permits from other states, and issue Wyoming permits to holders of permits from other states, if:

    1. the other state recognizes Wyoming permits; and
    2. the permit from the other state is valid statewide.

The minimum age is 21 years old.


Other States' Reciprocity With Wyoming

Which states honor permits from Wyoming?

Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.


States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Wyoming

Colorado (at least 21 years old)
Florida (at least 21 years old)
Michigan (at least 21 years old)
Pennsylvania (at least 21 years old)
South Carolina (at least 21 years old)

Permitless Carry States

Anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry it concealed in permitless carry states without a permit/license. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.

Arizona (if at least 21 years old)
Alaska (if at least 21 years old)
Arkansas (if at least 21 years old)
Idaho (at least 18 years old)
Kansas (if at least 21 years old)
Kentucky (if at least 21 years old)
Maine (permit recognized; see Maine Reciprocity section for details)
Missouri (if at least 19 years old)
New Hampshire (if at least 18 years old)
Oklahoma (if at least 21 years old)
South Dakota (if at least 18 years old)
Vermont (if at least 18 years old)
West Virginia (if at least 21 years old)

Wyoming Concealed Carry Permit Information

Requirements:

An applicant must:

  • Be a citizen of the United States;
  • Have been a resident of Wyoming for at least 6 months or hold a valid statewide concealed firearm permit issued in another state that recognizes Wyoming permits;
  • Be at least 21 years of age (or at least 18 years of age if the local sheriff makes a personal recommendation on the applicant’s behalf);
  • Demonstrate familiarity with a firearm by past experience or through the completion of certain safety or training courses;
  • Not be prohibited by state law from possessing a firearm;
  • Not suffer from a physical infirmity that would prevent the safe handling of a firearm;
  • Not have been committed to a state or federal facility for the abuse of a controlled substance within the previous year;
  • Not have ever been convicted of certain state or federal felony crimes relating to controlled substances, and has not been convicted of certain state or federal misdemeanor crimes relating to controlled substances within the previous year;
  • Not chronically or habitually use alcoholic liquor or malt beverages to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired, and not have been involuntarily committed within the past 1-year period to any residential facility as a result of the use of alcohol;
  • Not currently be adjudicated to be legally incompetent, and not have been committed to a mental institution; 
  • Not have been found guilty of, or have pled no contest to, 1 or more misdemeanor crimes of violence within the last 3 years; and
  • Meet federal law requirements.
Fees:

Initial Permit $64 (The sheriff’s office may charge a separate fee for processing and fingerprinting.)

Renewal $45

Valid For:

5 years

Processing Time:

90 days

Application:
Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permits:

Wyoming doesn't issue permits to non-residents.

Name/Address Changes:

You will need to complete an Address & Name Change Form and provide documentation for name changes and email or mail the completed form to the address on the form. New permits are NOT issued for address changes.

Lost/Stolen Permits:

You will need to complete a Duplicate Permit Application, furnish a notarized statement to the DCI that the permit has been lost or destroyed and pay a $5 fee for a duplicate. The county sheriff's departments maintain all required forms and collect all funds for CFPs. They may also have notary publics, so they can complete all forms, make copies for their records and send the fees and completed forms to the DCI.

Residency Changes:

Moving to Wyoming and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply?
Wyoming issues permits to residents only. You can apply for your permit with the sheriff of your county once you have been a resident of Wyoming for at least six months or hold a valid statewide concealed firearm permit issued in another state that recognizes Wyoming permits.

Moving from Wyoming and have a Wyoming resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Wyoming permit remains valid?
If a person with a Wyoming concealed firearms permit establishes residency in another state, the permit is valid until it expires provided the individual notifies the DCI within 30 days of his or her move. Once the individual's permit expires it will not be renewed since a permit can only be issued to a Wyoming resident.


Wyoming Concealed Carry Permit Application Process

How to Apply for a Wyoming Concealed Carry Permit

Step 1:

Complete a firearm training course if required.

Step 2:

Download the application, fill out the form and print four copies.

Step 3:

Obtain a money order or cashier’s check for the application fee, made out to DCI or WY attorney general's office. They do not accept cash, credit cards or personal checks. Ask your local sheriff's office about its fees, which will be separate from the DCI fees.

Step 4:

Take your completed application to your local sheriff's office. You will need the following:

  • Completed application;
  • Proof of training or evidence of qualification; and
  • Photo ID.

You will be fingerprinted.

Step 5:

Take the remaining copy of your application to a Wyoming DOT Driver Services office to have your picture taken for the permit. This must be done within 5 days of your application.

Step 6:

You will be contacted by the sheriff's office within 90 days of when they receive your permit.


Firearms Training Requirements in Wyoming

An applicant for a concealed weapons permit in Wyoming is required to demonstrate familiarity with a firearm. Any of the following activities constitutes sufficient familiarity under Wyoming law:

  • Completion of any certified firearm safety or training course utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Wyoming law enforcement academy;
  • Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies or any division of law enforcement or security enforcement;
  • Experience with a firearm through participation in an organized shooting competition or military service;
  • Certified as proficient in firearms safety by any Wyoming law enforcement agency under procedures established by that agency; or
  • Honorable retirement as a federal or state peace officer who has a minimum of 10 years of service.

Find a USCCA Class in Wyoming

Find a Gun Range Near You


Wyoming Concealed Carry Permit Renewal Process

How to Renew a Wyoming Concealed Carry Permit

Step 1:

You may apply for a renewal no earlier than 6 months before your expiration date. Renewals are considered late after the permit expiration date and an additional $10 late fee is applied. You can only apply for a later renewal up to 6 months after the expiration date. After that a new application and fees are required.

Step 2:

Download the application, fill out the form and print four copies.

Step 3:

Obtain a money order or cashier’s check for the application fee, made out to DCI or WY attorney general's office. They do not accept cash, credit cards or personal checks. Ask your local sheriff's office about its fees, which will be separate from the DCI fees.

Step 4:

Take your completed application to your local sheriff's office. You will need the following:

  • Completed application; and
  • Photo ID
Step 5:

Take the remaining copy of your application to a Wyoming DOT Driver Services office to have your picture taken for the permit. This must be done within 5 days of your application.

Step 6:

You will be contacted by the sheriff's office when they receive your permit.


Law Enforcement Officers (LEO)/Retired LEOs

Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.

No state agency has overall LEOSA responsibility in Wyoming. RLEOs from federal/out-of-state agencies/departments who reside in Wyoming may qualify with any firearms instructor (normally at a local department) approved by the Wyoming Police Officer Standards and Testing (POST). Once an RLEO completes annual qualification, a letter is issued certifying that the annual LEOSA qualification requirement has been met. The Wyoming Association of Sheriffs and Chiefs of Police provides stickers and form letters to the departments/agencies to indicate compliance with annual qualification requirements.


Wyoming Location Restrictions

Where Can I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Wyoming?
  • Carry in restaurants that serve alcohol? Concealed carry is allowed in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol with a Wyoming concealed carry permit or a permit/license from a state that Wyoming honors, unless posted. However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants.
  • Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? Wyoming residents who can legally own a firearm can carry it concealed on their person in a vehicle without any type of permit/license. Non-residents must have a permit/license from a state recognized by Wyoming to carry a concealed firearm in a vehicle. Any person who can legally possess a firearm is allowed to open carry a loaded handgun inside a vehicle as long as it is visible.​​​​​​​ 
  • Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes.
  • Carry in state/national parks, state/national forests, and WMAs? Yes. 
  • Carry in places of worship? Yes.
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Wyoming?

Places off-limits even with a permit/license

  • Any elementary or secondary school facility;
  • Any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms;
  • Any college or university facility without the written consent of the security service of the college or university;
  • Any facility used primarily for law enforcement operations or administration without the written consent of the chief administrator;
  • Any detention facility, prison or jail;
  • Any courtroom, except that nothing shall preclude a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon in the courtroom;
  • Any meeting of a government entity;
  • Any meeting of the legislature or a committee thereof;
  • Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic liquor and malt beverages for consumption on the premises, if primarily devoted to that purpose;

[Wyo. Stat. § 6-8-104(t)]

  • The Wyoming boy's and girl's schools; 
  • The state hospital; and

[Wyo. Stat. § 6-5-209]


FAQ: Wyoming Concealed Carry Questions

What Are the Knife Laws in Wyoming?

It is legal to own and open carry any type of knife. It is legal to concealed carry a deadly weapon for anyone who has a valid weapon permit or is otherwise eligible to hold a weapon permit. There are restrictions for schools, school, college or professional athletic facilities, bars, government meetings, jails, a state penal institution, the Wyoming boys' school, Wyoming girls' school, and correctional facilities.

[Wyo. Stat. § 6-8-104(a) and (t) and 6-5-209]


Wyoming Gun Laws Updates:

Date Details
2020-09-03

Added information on Self Defense in the Summary

2020-06-30

Added information on wearing a COVID 19 mask while carrying concealed above the Summary

2020-06-26

Added link to National Parks to At A Glance table

2020-05-06

Added info on handguns at hotels in At A Glance table

2020-04-20

Added info on handguns on private property in At A Glance table

2020-04-07

Added info on private gun sales in At A Glance table

2020-02-24

Added info on carry in bars to the At A Glance table

2020-02-20

Added related blog posts with links

2020-02-18

Added info regarding residency changes and resulting impacts on carry permits

2020-01-31

Updated the knife laws and added statutory references

2020-01-13

Updated info on carry while using alcohol or controlled substances in At A Glance table

2019-12-04

Added info on whether a valid state ccw permit exempts a person from needing a background check when purchasing a firearm to the At A Glance table

2019-11-22

Added statutory references and links for can’t carry locations

2019-11-04

Added brandishing info to At A Glance table

2019-10-16

Added Hunter Harassment info to At A Glance table

2019-10-01

Added Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray to the At A Glance table

2019-09-09

Added Carry While Hunting info to At A Glance table

2019-08-14

Added anchor links to various sections below the Summary

2019-07-26

Added minimum age to possess and transport a handgun to At A Glance table

2019-05-24

Added stun gun/Taser info to At A Glance table

2019-04-19

Links checked

2019-04-03

Added info on state implementation of Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act (LEOSA)

2019-02-15

Added pages for Federal Gun Laws, Traveling with Firearms & Terminology

2019-02-09

Added ammunition restrictions to At A Glance table

2019-02-06

Added red flag info to At A Glance table

2019-01-25

Checked integrity of external links

2019-01-24

Added info about alcohol or prescription medication in At A Glance table

2019-01-10

Mag limit added to At A Glance table

Did We Miss Something?

Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated, trained and legally protected at all times. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.

If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email support@uscca.com and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!

Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.

The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.

Should you have any questions regarding the legal process, membership or any of the great features and benefits a USCCA Membership provides, feel free to contact our award-winning Wisconsin-based Member Services team at any time.

Are You Born to Protect?

Get Your FREE USCCA Sticker! Enter your email below:

Thanks!

You're Ready to Begin Your Journey to Becoming an Ultimate Protector.


But the USCCA is about more than a look or a tagline…

Laptop and mobile training view

We’re the lifesaving resource every gun owner needs to keep their family safe.

Learn More