No permit is needed to purchase a firearm from a private individual, there is no waiting period and there is no firearms registration in the state. A background check is required if purchasing a handgun from a Federal Firearms Dealer.
Open carry is legal without a permit, for anyone that can legally own a firearm and is at least 21 years old (or at least 18 years old for members or veterans of the U.S. military) in lawful self-defense and self-protection or any other legitimate purpose such as hunting, fishing, educational or recreational purposes. Some areas are off-limits, including public government buildings.
Constitutional carry went into effect on November 1, 2019. It allows anyone who is at least 21 years old (or at least 18 years old and is a member of the military or honorably discharged veteran) that can legally own a firearm to openly or concealed carry without a permit. Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation’s Self-Defense Act Licenses (SDAL) are issued to residents and military personnel and their spouses stationed in Oklahoma only. A person must be 21 or older, have completed a firearms course and meet other criteria to apply. There are restrictions on the caliber of the firearm a permit holder can carry with, .45 caliber being the highest. Licenses are not available for non-residents. In terms of reciprocity, Oklahoma recognizes permits issued by all other states. In addition, residents of other permitless carry states can carry in the state.
Oklahoma is a Castle Doctrine state and has a “stand your ground” statute. There is no duty to retreat, and the law applies any place where a person has a right to be. A person has no duty to retreat and has the right to stand his or her ground and meet force with force, including deadly force, if he or she reasonably believes it is necessary to do so to prevent death or great bodily harm to himself or herself or another, or to prevent the commission of a forcible felony.
A person within a place of worship or at a business is presumed to have held a reasonable fear of imminent peril of death or great bodily harm when using defensive force that is intended or likely to cause death or great bodily harm to another if:
The person against whom the defensive force was used was in the process of unlawfully and forcefully entering or had unlawfully entered a dwelling, residence, occupied vehicle, place of business or place of worship, or if that person had removed or was attempting to remove another against the person’s will; or
The person who uses defensive force knew or had reason to believe that an unlawful and forcible entry or unlawful and forcible act was occurring or had occurred; or
The person who uses defensive force knew or had a reasonable belief that the person against whom the defensive force was used entered or was attempting to enter into a dwelling, residence, occupied vehicle, place of business or place of worship for the purpose of committing a forcible felony, and that the defensive force was necessary to prevent the commission of the forcible felony.
“Dwelling” means a building or conveyance of any kind, including any attached porch, whether the building or conveyance is temporary or permanent, mobile or immobile, which has a roof over it, including a tent, and is designed to be occupied by people.
“Residence” means a dwelling in which a person resides either temporarily or permanently or is visiting as an invited guest
Immunity from Civil & Criminal Liability A person who uses justified defensive force is immune from criminal prosecution and civil action for the use of such defensive force.
Yes. Constitutional carry went into effect on November 1, 2019. It allows anyone who is at least 21 years old (or at least 18 years old and is a member of the military or honorably discharged veteran) that can legally own a firearm to carry openly or concealed without a permit.
Open Carry Permitted?
Is open carry permitted in Oklahoma?
Yes, with a permit for anyone at least 18 years old. Open carry is defined as a loaded or unloaded pistol or handgun carried upon the person in a holster where the firearm is visible, or carried upon the person using a scabbard, sling or case designed for carrying firearms.
Without a permit, for anyone that can legally own a firearm and is at least 21 years old (or at least 18 years old for members or veterans of the U.S. military) in lawful self-defense and self-protection or any other legitimate purpose. Other legitimate purposes include hunting, fishing, educational or recreational purposes. The carrying or use of weapons must be in a manner otherwise permitted by statute or authorized by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act and must not be carried in furtherance of a crime.
However, handguns larger than .45 caliber are prohibited.
Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Oklahoma?
Yes. Stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a permit.
Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray?
Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Oklahoma?
Yes. There is no statute prohibiting the purchase or use of pepper spray in Oklahoma. It is unlawful to use pepper spray against another person knowing the other person to be a peace officer, corrections officer, probation or parole officer, firefighter or an emergency medical technician or paramedic who is acting in the course of official duty.
Does Oklahoma have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?
No. Oklahoma does not have magazine capacity restrictions.
Does Oklahoma have ammunition restrictions?
Yes. The possession or use of any “restricted bullet” is prohibited. A “restricted bullet” is a round or elongated missile with a core of less than 60% lead and that has a fluorocarbon coating, designed to travel at high velocity and capable of penetrating body armor. Carrying a concealed handgun loaded with ammunition larger than .45 caliber is also prohibited.
Can you carry a concealed firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Oklahoma?
You can concealed carry in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol without a permit, unless posted and provided you are not under the influence. However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants.
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Oklahoma?
A business entity may prohibit any person from carrying a concealed or unconcealed firearm on the property. If the building or property is open to the public, the property owner, tenant, employer, place of worship or business entity shall post signs on or about the property stating such prohibition. However, no property owner or business entity may prohibit any person (except a convicted felon) from transporting and storing a firearm in a locked vehicle on any property set aside for a vehicle. The individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See theHandguns at Hotels page for additional information.
Does Oklahoma have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?
No person, property owner, tenant, employer or business entity is allowed to maintain, establish or enforce any policy or rule that has the effect of prohibiting any person (except a convicted felon) from transporting and storing firearms in a locked motor vehicle, or from transporting and storing a firearm locked in or locked to a motor vehicle on any property set aside for any motor vehicle.
Does Oklahoma have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?
Yes. The authority to regulate firearms is reserved to the state, except local municipalities may regulate the discharge of firearms within the jurisdiction. State preemption is now extended to Red Flag laws as well.
No definition of brandishing was found in Oklahoma law. However, it shall be unlawful for any person to willfully or without lawful cause point a shotgun, rifle or pistol, or any deadly weapon, whether loaded or not, at any person or persons for the purpose of threatening or with the intention of discharging the firearm or with any malice or for any purpose of injuring, either through physical injury or mental or emotional intimidation or for purposes of whimsy, humor or prank, or in anger or otherwise.
It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in reckless conduct while having in his or her possession any shotgun, rifle or pistol, such actions consisting of creating a situation of unreasonable risk and probability of death or great bodily harm to another, and demonstrating a conscious disregard for the safety of another person.
Does Oklahoma have laws regarding carrying a concealed firearm while using alcohol or drugs?
Not while under the influence of beer, intoxicating liquors or any hallucinogenic, or any unlawful or unprescribed drug, or any drug prescribed by a licensed physician if the aftereffects of such consumption affect mental, emotional or physical processes to a degree that would result in abnormal behavior.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Does Oklahoma issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?
Yes. Only members of the military stationed in Oklahoma and their spouses.
PUBLIC ACCESS TO CONCEALED CARRY REGISTRY?
Does Oklahoma allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?
No, however, the information is available for law enforcement.
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Oklahoma?
No. A permit is not required to purchase a handgun in Oklahoma.
Background Checks for Private Gun Sales?
Are background checks required for private gun sales in Oklahoma?
No. Private firearms transfers are not subject to a background check requirement, although federal and state purchaser prohibitions, including age restrictions, still apply. It is recommended that you retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun.
Oklahoma Permit Exempts from Background Check?
Does my current Oklahoma concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?
Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Oklahoma?
No. There is not a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Oklahoma.
Do handguns need to be registered in Oklahoma?
No. Handguns do not need to be registered in Oklahoma.
Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?
What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Oklahoma?
18 years old.
It is unlawful for any parent or guardian to intentionally, knowingly or recklessly permit his or her child to possess any firearm if the parent is aware of a substantial risk that the child will use the weapon to commit a criminal offense or if the child has either been adjudicated a delinquent or has been convicted as an adult for any criminal offense that contains as an element the threat or use of physical force against the person of another.
It is unlawful for any child to possess any firearm, except firearms used for participation in hunting animals or fowl, hunter safety classes, education and training in the safe use and handling of firearms, target shooting, skeet, trap or other sporting events or competitions.
Have Questions? Contact Our Award-Winning, Wisconsin-Based Member Services Team 24/7 at 800-674-9779
State Constitutional Provision
The right of a citizen to keep and bear arms in defense of his home, person or property, or in aid of the civil power, when thereunto legally summoned, shall never be prohibited, but nothing herein contained shall prevent the legislature from regulating the carrying of weapons."
Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.
States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Oklahoma
Oklahoma offers resident and non-resident (members of the military stationed in Oklahoma and their spouses) permits. If indicated with “Resident only” below, that state only honors Oklahoma resident permits (and not those issued to non-residents).
Anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry it concealed in permitless carry states without a permit/license. The minimum age* for permitless carry is shown. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.
*PC-18 = permitless carry if at least 18 years old
*PC-21 = permitless carry if at least 21 years old
Moving to Oklahoma and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply? Is your resident license from your former state transferable to Oklahoma? Oklahoma issues licenses to residents and active duty military personnel and their spouses stationed in Oklahoma. You can apply for your license once you have a valid Oklahoma driver’s license or state photo identification card, meet the military requirements or if you are a spouse of an active duty member of the military.
Moving from Oklahoma and have an Oklahoma resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Oklahoma license remains valid? If a person with an Oklahoma Self-Defense Act license establishes residency in another state, the license expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.
You must successfully complete an 8-hour firearms safety and training course from a certified SDAL firearms instructor and demonstrate competency and qualification with a pistol authorized for carry by the Oklahoma Self‑Defense Act. Training certificates expire after 3 years.
Course content shall include:
A safety inspection of the firearm to be used by the applicant;
Instruction on handling, safety and storage;
Dynamics of ammunition and firing;
Methods or positions for firing a handgun;
Information about the criminal provisions of Oklahoma law relating to firearms;
The requirements of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act;
Active duty or reserve duty law enforcement officers and retired law enforcement officers;
Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET) certified armed security officers, armed guards, and correctional officers:
Active duty members of the military, National Guard or military reserve who are legal residents of Oklahoma, or that have been honorably discharged within twenty years preceding the date of the application;
Retired peace officers in good standing from a law enforcement agency located in another state, who are legal residents of this Oklahoma, and who have received training equivalent to the training required for CLEET certification in this state; and
Any person who is otherwise deemed qualified for a training exemption by CLEET.
Renewals can be made within the period beginning 90 days before the licenses expiry date. Renewals for licenses that expired less than 3 years ago are also accepted, however there is a late fee. If a license has expired more than 3 years ago it cannot be renewed and a new application process must be started.
Take the completed application or online summary sheet to the sheriff’s office of the county in which you reside. You will need the following:
Two color passport-style photos,
Driver’s license or state ID card; and
Applicants who have applied online, uploaded photo and submitted payment online have completed the process. Other applicants must take or mail the online summary sheet or completed application, along with photographs and required fee to:
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation Self-Defense Act Licensing Unit 6600 North Harvey Place Oklahoma City, OK 73116
You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.
Currently, Oklahoma has not designated any state agency to be responsible for LEOSA. The Council on Law Enforcement Education & Training (CLEET) sets standards for Law Enforcement Education and Training. You must have been employed or commissioned as a full-time or reserve peace officer prior to retirement. LEOs or RLEOs from an Oklahoma state, county or municipal law enforcement agency, or a federal law enforcement agency qualify.
Where Can I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Oklahoma?
Carry in bars/restaurants that serve alcohol? You can concealed carry in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol without a permit, unless posted and provided you are not under the influence. However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants.
Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? Yes.
Carry when traveling on a city bus? Yes, it is allowed on public buses.
Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes.
Carry in state/national parks and state/national forests? Yes, but not in any buildings.
Carry in places of worship? There is no state statute prohibiting concealed carry in places of worship. However, since places of worship are private property, they may post signs prohibiting firearms.
Carry at the Tulsa Zoo & Gathering Place? As of November 1, 2019 concealed carry is allowed in any municipal zoo or park of any size that is owned, leased, operated or managed by a public trust or nonprofit entity.
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Oklahoma?
Places off-limits even with a permit/license
Any structure, building or office space which is owned or leased by a city, town, county, state or federal governmental authority for the purpose of conducting business with the public;
Any meeting of any city, town, county, state or federal officials, school board members, legislative members or any other elected or appointed officials;
Any courthouse or courtroom;
Any publicly owned or operated sports arena or venue during a professional sporting event, unless allowed by the event holder; and
Any place where gambling is authorized by law, unless allowed by the property owner.
It is legal to own any type of knife in Oklahoma. Knives may be carried for self defense, hunting, fishing, recreating, for educational purposes and for live historical reenactments. The possession of any weapon on school grounds is illegal.
I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Oklahoma, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?
There is no known statute in Oklahoma making it illegal to wear a COVID mask while carrying concealed. Two state laws making it unlawful to wear a mask which conceals the identity of the wearer during the commission of a crime or for the purpose of coercion, intimidation or harassment and committing an assault with a dangerous weapon while masked. However they do not address wearing a mask while legally carrying a concealed firearm.
Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in Oklahoma?
Yes. If you are approached by a game warden or other law enforcement officer you will need to immediately notify them that you are carrying a concealed weapon. The handgun cannot be used to down a deer. Federal lands such as Corps of Engineers or National Wildlife Refuges are subject to additional regulations.
Can you concealed carry while bow hunting in Oklahoma?
Yes. Under the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act a person may carry a firearm on any private or public state lands. This includes, but is not limited to while hunting, fishing, scouting and tracking. Federal lands such as Corps of Engineers or National Wildlife Refuges are subject to additional regulations that may prevent the provisions of this act. However, the handgun cannot be used to down an archery deer.
Yes. A person may not willfully obstruct or impede the participation of any individual in the lawful activity of shooting, hunting, fishing or trapping in this state. Provided, that nothing in this section shall prohibit a landowner or lessee from exercising their lawful rights of prohibiting hunting, fishing or trapping on their land, or any other legal right.
Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.
If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email [email protected] and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!
Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
If you have any questions regarding USCCA Membership, Delta Defense, handguns laws or the lawful process of carrying concealed, please contact the award-winning Delta Defense Customer Engagement Team.
Uncover the Backstory Free Book
Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.
Are You Born to Protect?
Get Your FREE USCCA Sticker! Enter your email below:
Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.
But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…
We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.