Born To Protect Join USCCA Cart
0
Born To Protect 24/7: 800-674-9779 0
Maryland State Seal

Maryland Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws

Carry allowed with my Maryland permit?
No
Yes
Yes, Selected State(s)

Have concealed carry permits from more than one state?

Check out our new Multi-State Permit Tool here!

24k
Permits Issued
0
STATES HONORED
26
RECIPROCATING STATES
6M
STATE POPULATION
21
MINIMUM AGE TO CC
11
ATTORNEYS IN USCCA NETWORK
0.4%
PERMIT PERCENTAGE
Varies
YEARS PERMIT VALID
86
USCCA CERTIFIED INSTRUCTORS

I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Maryland, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?

Based on our most recent research, the USCCA has identified just two states with statutes against carrying a concealed firearm while wearing a mask: California and Illinois (although sheriffs and county prosecutors in Illinois have made statements indicating that wearing a mask to protect others from COVID-19 while carrying a gun isn’t illegal as long as the wearer isn’t wearing the mask while committing a crime). Due to the large number of inquiries, some states have publicly addressed their laws regarding wearing masks actually refer to individuals concealing their identity with the intention to commit illegal acts or to specifically hide their identity, and do not address wearing a mask while legally carrying a concealed firearm. Although we have not conducted an exhaustive search, we found no statute in Maryland addressing masks.

If you have further questions, we recommend that you reach out to your local law enforcement office, or district attorney.

NEED ANSWERS NOW?

There’s a lot of information here, so our Customer Engagement Team is always ready to help:
Click to chat with someone on our team now.

Summary of Maryland Gun Laws

Maryland is a may-issue state with concealed weapons permits issued at the state level by the state police.

A permit to purchase, a background check and firearms registration are required to buy a handgun from a private individual. Private firearms sellers must process transfers of handguns and assault weapons through a licensed dealer or designated law enforcement agency, who then conducts a background check. In addition, Maryland has established a handgun roster that, subject to limited exceptions, lists the only handguns that dealers or any private sellers are allowed to sell in the state.

Open and concealed carry are legal in Maryland only for Maryland Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP) holders. In order to obtain a WCHP, applicants must be at least 21 years old (or 18 years old for employment purposes only) and must show a good and substantial reason to carry a handgun. WCHPs require a state-approved 16-hour firearms training course that includes live-fire training. An additional eight hours of training is required at each WCHP renewal. Permits are issued to residents and non-residents. Some areas are off-limits, including rest areas and state parks. In terms of reciprocity,  Maryland does not honor permits from any other states. In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the expiration date for Maryland Wear and Carry Handgun Permits expired on March 12, 2020 or later will be extended to the thirtieth (30th) day after the COVID-19 state of emergency has been lifted.

Self-Defense

Although Maryland doesn’t have a specific statute, it follows common law principles making it a Castle Doctrine state. There is a duty to retreat, requiring people who are outside of their homes to retreat or avoid danger if possible before using deadly force to defend themselves. Deadly force is only legal when defending one’s self from the immediate threat of serious injury or death. A person:

  • Must have reasonable grounds to believe himself or herself in apparent imminent or immediate danger of death or serious bodily harm from his or her assailant or potential assailant;
  • Must have in fact believed himself or herself in this danger;
  • Must not have been the aggressor or provoked the conflict; and
  • The force used must have not been unreasonable and excessive.

In addition, according to Maryland Code, a person is not liable for damages for a personal injury or death of an individual who enters the person’s dwelling or place of business if:

  • The person reasonably believes that force or deadly force is necessary to repel an attack by the individual; and
  • The amount and nature of the force used by the person is reasonable under the circumstances.

[Md. Code Ann., Courts and Judicial Proceedings § 5-808]

Maryland Gun Laws at a Glance

Open Carry/ Concealed Carry Basics

Constitutional Carry?

Does Maryland allow constitutional carry?

No. Maryland does not allow constitutional carry.

Open Carry Permitted?

Is open carry permitted in Maryland?

Yes. Open carry is allowed with a Maryland WCHP.

Gun Permit Licensure?

If Maryland requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?

Maryland is a may issue state.

Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?

What is the minimum age in Maryland to get a concealed carry permit?

You must be at least 21 years old (or 18 years old for employment purposes only) to get a concealed carry permit in Maryland.

Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?

Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Maryland with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?

No. A person may not carry weapons other than handguns, even with a WCHP.

Tasers or Stun Guns?

Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Maryland?

Yes, except as noted below, stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a permit. The minimum age to purchase is 18 years old, and a background check is required to verify that the purchaser has not been convicted of specific crimes. Instructions must be provided to the purchaser and the manufacturer must maintain a record of the original owner of the electronic control device.

[[Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-109]

Under Maryland law, it's illegal to carry a dangerous weapon unless you:

  • are a public official authorized to carry the weapon;
  • have a permit to carry a handgun; or
  • ​​​​​​​are carrying the weapon as a reasonable precaution against perceived danger and don’t intend to hurt someone else in an unlawful way.

Although the law does not specifically mention electronic control devices, they could be considered dangerous weapons.

It is illegal to possess Tasers and stun guns in public schools, State public buildings and City public buildings in the City of Baltimore.

[City of Baltimore Police Ordinance § 59-28]

A Maryland Wear/Carry Handgun Permit is required to possess a stun gun or Taser anywhere other than in your own home in Ocean City.

[Ocean City Ordinance Sec. 58-162]

Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray?

Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Maryland?

Yes, individuals may carry pepper spray or mace as a reasonable precaution against possible danger. However, a person may not wear or carry a dangerous weapon, chemical mace, pepper mace or a tear gas device openly with the intent or purpose of injuring an individual in an unlawful manner.

In order to purchase pepper spray in Baltimore you must be at least 18 years old and not be a convicted felon.

[Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-101(b)(4)]

Non-Resident Permitting?

Does Maryland issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?

Yes. Maryland grants permits to non-residents.

Public Access to Concealed Carry Registry?

Does Maryland allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?

No. Maryland does not permit the public access to concealed carry registry information.

Carry Locations

Carry in Vehicle?

Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Maryland?

Only with a Maryland WCHP. Without a permit, Maryland has restrictions for legal transport of firearms within/through Maryland. Handguns can only be transported between residences, to and from a repair shop, a shooting sporting event or between a residence and place of business if substantially owned and operated by the person. For interstate transportation, firearms must be unloaded and in an enclosed case or enclosed holster with neither the firearm nor any ammunition readily accessible or directly accessible from the passenger compartment. In the case the vehicle does not have a compartment separate from the driver's compartment, the firearm or ammunition shall be contained in a locked compartment other than the glove compartment or console.

[Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-203(b)(2)]

Carry at Roadside Rest Areas?

Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Maryland?

No. The display of firearms is prohibited.

[Md. Admin. Code § 11.04.07.12]

Carry in State/National Parks, State/National Forests and Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)?

Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in Maryland?

No for state/national parks and state/national forests.

[Md. Admin. Code §§ 08.01.07.14 and 08.07.06.04

Yes, with a Maryland WCHP for WMAs.

[Md. Admin. Code § 10-408(d)

Carry in Bars/Restaurants That Serve Alcohol?

Can you carry a firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Maryland?

Yes, there is no statute making it illegal to concealed carry with a Maryland WCHP, unless posted and provided you are not under the influence.

Carry/Possess at a hotel?

Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Maryland?

An innkeeper may refuse to provide lodging or services to, or may remove from a lodging establishment an individual who the innkeeper reasonably believes possesses property that may be dangerous to other individuals, such as firearms or explosives. The individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See the Handguns at Hotels page for additional information.

[Md. Code Ann., Bus. Reg. § 15-203(a)6]

Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?

Does Maryland have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?

Not addressed in Maryland state law.

Additional Related State Laws

Must Notify Officer You're Carrying?

Are you required to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Maryland?

No. You are not required to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Maryland.

Magazine Limits for Handguns?

Does Maryland have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?

No more than 10 rounds.

A person may not manufacture, sell, offer for sale, purchase, receive or transfer a detachable magazine that has a capacity of more than 10 rounds of ammunition for a firearm.

There is an exemption for .22 caliber rifles with tubular magazines and for law enforcement officers (LEOs) and retired LEOs.

[Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-305]

Ammunition Restrictions?

Does Maryland have ammunition restrictions?

No. Maryland does not have ammunition restrictions.

"No Weapons Allowed" Signs Enforced?

Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Maryland? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.

No. Not mentioned in state statutes.

Preemption?

Does Maryland have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?

Yes. There is full state preemption of all gun laws. However, municipalities may regulate firearms and ammunition in, or within 100 yards of, a park, church, school, public building and other place of public assembly.

[Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-209]

Red Flag Law?

Does Maryland have a red flag law?

Yes. A variety of people, including family members, cohabitants, medical professionals and law enforcement are allowed to petition for an order to surrender to law enforcement authorities any firearm and ammunition in the respondent’s possession; and prohibit the respondent from purchasing or possessing any firearm or ammunition for the duration of the interim &/or final extreme risk protection order.

[Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 5-601(E)(2)]

Brandishing?

Does Maryland state law define brandishing?

No. However, a person may not intentionally cause or attempt to cause serious physical injury to another.

A person may not commit an assault with a firearm, including a handgun, antique firearm, rifle, shotgun, short-barreled shotgun or short-barreled rifle.

[Md. Code. Ann. Crim. Law § 3-202]

Carry While Using Alcohol or Drugs?

Does Maryland have laws regarding carrying a firearm while using alcohol or drugs?

Not while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

[Md. Admin. Code §5–314]

As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times, or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.

Handgun Purchase & Possession

Purchase Permits?

Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Maryland?

Yes, for handguns.

Background Checks for Private Gun Sales?

Are background checks required for private gun sales in Maryland?

Yes. Private firearms sellers must process transfers of handguns through a licensed dealer or designated law enforcement agency, who are required to conduct a background check. In addition, no regulated firearm transfers may be made to any person whom the private seller knows or has a reasonable cause to believe is a prohibited purchaser under state law. Private sellers of regulated firearms must also forward completed transaction information to the secretary of state's office within seven days after a regulated firearm transfer.

[Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 5-124]

Maryland Permit Exempts from Background Check?

Does my current Maryland concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?

No.

Waiting Period?

Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Maryland?

Yes. Seven days for handguns and assault weapons.

Handgun Registration?

Do handguns need to be registered in Maryland?

Yes, for handguns. New Maryland residents must register all regulated firearms with the Secretary of the Maryland Department of State Police within 90 days after establishing residency.

Approved Handgun Roster?

Does Maryland have a roster of handguns approved for sale?

No person may manufacture, sell or offer for sale in the state a handgun manufactured after January 1, 1985, that is not included on the handgun roster.

MD Handgun Roster

[Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 5-406]

Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?

What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Maryland?

Possess a handgun on my private property without a permit?

Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home without a permit?

Yes. Anyone legally entitled to carry a firearm may possess a firearm on real estate that the person owns or leases, where the person resides, or within the confines of a business establishment that the person owns or leases.

[Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-203(b)(6)]

Handgun Purchase Process
To purchase, rent or transfer ownership of a regulated firearm in Maryland, which includes handguns, you must possess a valid Handgun Qualification License (HQL). You must apply for this license online through the Maryland State Police web portal. Physical applications are not accepted.

  1. Within 3 years prior to obtaining a HQL, an applicant must complete a Firearms Safety Training Course taught by a state-approved Qualified Handgun Instructor. A USCCA Certified Instructor-led course can meet the qualifications for a Maryland Firearms Safety Training Course if the instructor is also licensed through the state. You can also search for an instructor near you. This training course may be waived if you are a veteran of the U.S. military, a qualified handgun instructor, a lawful owner of a regulated firearm or if you have completed a Maryland DNR Hunter’s Safety Course.
  2. Fingerprinting is also required before you can submit your HQL application unless you already possess a Maryland Wear and Carry Permit. Complete your online HQL application and pay the necessary fees. Upon approval, the state of Maryland will mail your HQL to you within 30 days. A HQL is valid for 10 years.
  3. Complete the Maryland State Police Application and Affidavit to Purchase a Regulated Firearm (MSP 77R) Form using the Maryland State Police Licensing Portal. Physical applications are not accepted. A valid email address is necessary to complete the form. After submitting your application you will get an email with an application number and a PIN number.
  4. Bring both the application number and PIN number to a Maryland State Police Barracks or a Maryland Regulated Firearm Dealer to finish the application process. The State Police/Dealer will complete the application and submit it to the state Licensing Division.
  5. After submitting your application, you must wait 7 days, after which you will get an email notifying you if you have been approved. Upon approval, you can purchase or transfer ownership of a firearm through an FFL Dealer.

Related Blog Posts

Carry While Hunting

Carry While Gun Hunting?

Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in Maryland?

Carry While Bow Hunting?

Can you concealed carry while bowhunting in Maryland?

Yes, but only While Bow Hunting in Deer Management Region A.

(2) The Department may not prohibit a licensed bow hunter from openly carrying a handgun that the hunter is otherwise authorized to carry under § 4-203 of the Criminal Law Article if the bow hunter:
(i) Is at least 21 years old;
(ii) Is hunting in deer management Region A as defined by the Department's Guide to Hunting and Trapping;
(iii) Is carrying the handgun for personal protection; and
(iv) Does not use the handgun to kill wildlife wounded by a vertical bow or crossbow.

[Nat. Resources Code § 10-408(b)(2)]

Hunter Harassment Law?

Is there a Hunter Harassment Law in Maryland?

Yes. While on private land that is owned by another person or in a hunting area on land managed by the Department, a person may not:

  • Interfere intentionally with the lawful taking of wildlife by another person;  or
  • Harass, drive, or disturb any game animal intentionally for the purpose of disrupting a lawful hunt.

[Nat. Resources Code § 10-422]

Have Questions? Contact Our Award-Winning, Wisconsin-Based Member Services Team 24/7 at 800-674-9779​


State Constitutional Provision
That all Government of right originates from the People, is founded in compact only, and instituted solely for the good of the whole; and they have, at all times, the inalienable right to alter, reform or abolish their Form of Government in such manner as they may deem expedient. -Article 1, Section 1"
MARYLAND HAS NO CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION GRANTING A RIGHT TO BEAR ARMS.

Maryland Concealed Carry Reciprocity With Other States

Which states' permits does Maryland honor?

Maryland does not honor any other states’ permits/licenses.


Other States' Reciprocity With Maryland

Which states honor permits from Maryland?

Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.


States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Maryland

Maryland offers resident and non-resident permits. If indicated with “Resident only” below, that state only honors Maryland resident permits (and not those issued to non-residents).

Michigan (at least 21 years old and resident permits only)
Texas (at least 21 years old)
Utah (at least 21 years old)

Permitless Carry States

Anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry it concealed in permitless carry states without a permit/license. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.

Arizona (if at least 21 years old)
Alaska (if at least 21 years old)
Arkansas (if at least 21 years old)
Idaho (at least 18 years old)
Kansas (if at least 21 years old)
Kentucky (if at least 21 years old)
Maine (if at least 21 years old)
Missouri (if at least 19 years old)
New Hampshire (if at least 18 years old)
Oklahoma (if at least 21 years old)
South Dakota (if at least 18 years old)
Vermont (if at least 18 years old)
West Virginia (if at least 21 years old)

Maryland Concealed Carry Permit Information

Requirements:

An applicant must:

  • Be at least 21 years old (an applicant between 18 and 21 years of age may only be issued a wear and carry permit to possess a regulated firearm required for employment);
  • Be a citizen of the United States or legal resident alien;
  • Have successfully completed required firearms training, within 2 years, prior to submitting an application;
  • Not have been convicted of a felony or of a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than 1 year;
  • Not have been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence;
  • Not be subject to a restraining order or other similar court order;
  • Not have been committed within the previous 10 years to any juvenile detention center for longer than 1 year;
  • Not be a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance or determined to be of unsound mind;
  • Not have a mental illness;
  • Not have received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution or similar treatment facility for any reason;
  • Not, based on the results of investigation, exhibit a propensity for violence or instability;
  • Not be a fugitive from justice;
  • Not have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces;
  • Not be subject to a firearms seizure order;
  • Show good cause as to why he or she needs a firearm; and
  • Meet federal law requirements.
Fees:

Initial Permit $75

Renewal  $50

Valid For:

Initial permits expire on the last day of the holder’s birth month following 2 years after the date the permit is issued and may be renewed for successive periods of 3 years each.

Processing Time:

90 days

Application:
Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permits:

Maryland will grant permits to non-residents. Non-residents use the same process as residents.

Name/Address Changes:

You must notify the Licensing Division of address changes, in writing, within 30 days of any change. You must mail this change to:

Maryland State Police
Licensing Division
1111 Reisterstown Road
Pikesville, MD 21208
ATTN: Handgun Permit Unit

Lost/Stolen Permits:

You must submit a notarized letter advising the circumstances surrounding the disappearance of the permit. Submit a $10 check or money order and one passport-sized photograph taken within the last 30 days. If you are a security guard, private detective, armored car guard or special police officer, also provide a company letter from your current employer verifying your employment.​

Residency Changes:

Moving to Maryland and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply?
Maryland issues resident and non-resident permits, so you can apply for your permit at any time. 

Moving from Maryland and have a Maryland resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Maryland permit remains valid?
If a person with a Maryland wear/carry handgun permit establishes residency in another state, the permit is valid until it expires provided you submit the above referenced Name/Address change form.


Maryland Concealed Carry Permit Application Process

How to Apply for a Maryland Concealed Carry Permit

Step 1:

Complete a state-approved firearm training course within 2 years of application; 16 hours are required.

Step 2:

Get fingerprints taken at an Electronic Fingerprint Processing Center authorized by the Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services.

Step 3:

Complete your application using the online licensing portal. As of October 1, 2019, paper applications will be rejected and returned to the applicant with instructions to submit the Wear and Carry Permit application via the licensing portal. You will need the following:

  • A copy of your firearms training certificate;
  • 2 passport-style color photographs of yourself from the past 30 days; and
  • Electronic fingerprints.

Note: Application fees cannot be made online. They must be paid within 14 days by check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Police.

Step 4:

You will receive application status updates via email as your application progresses and will be notified by mail within 90 days of submittal of a complete application whether your application has been approved or denied.


Firearms Training Requirements in Maryland

To qualify for a handgun permit, applicants must successfully complete, prior to application and each renewal, a firearms training course approved by the Secretary of State Police that includes:

  • For an initial application, a minimum of 16 hours of instruction by a qualified handgun instructor; or
  • For a renewal application, 8 hours of instruction by a qualified handgun instructor.

The training includes classroom instruction on state firearms law, home firearms safety, and handgun mechanisms and operation. A firearms qualification component is also required that demonstrates the applicant’s proficiency and use of the firearm with a minimum score of 70% accuracy. There are training exemptions for law enforcement officers, members of the military and qualified handgun instructors.

Be sure to verify that any firearm training you receive in order to obtain your permit is approved by the state of Maryland.

Find a USCCA Class Near You

Find a Shooting Range in Maryland


Maryland Concealed Carry Permit Renewal Process

How to Renew a Maryland Concealed Carry Permit

Step 1:

A handgun permit may be renewed for successive periods of 3 years each. The renewal process should be started no less than 90 business days from expiration of the permit. If the Licensing Division does not receive the renewal application, satisfactorily completed, by the expiration date, the applicant must begin as a new applicant and complete all requirements necessary for an initial application.

Step 2:

Complete an 8 hour firearms training course within 2 years of submitting your renewal application.

Step 3:

Complete your application using the online licensing portal. As of October 1, 2019, paper applications will be rejected and returned to the applicant with instructions to submit the Wear and Carry Permit application via the licensing portal. You will need the following:

  • A copy of your firearms training certificate;
  • 2 passport-style color photographs of yourself from the past 30 days; and
  • The application fee.
Step 4:

You will be notified by mail within 90 days whether your application has been approved or denied.


Law Enforcement Officers (LEO)/Retired LEOs

Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details, check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.

LEOs and RLEOs are exempt from the Maryland prohibition on purchasing high-capacity magazines. Active and retired Maryland and Federal LEOs are not required to obtain a handgun qualification license (HQL) to purchase a handgun. However, out-of-state retired and active LEOs living in Maryland must obtain an HQL but are exempt from the training requirements. The MD Police and Correctional Training Commissions issues firearm certifications to Maryland residents whom they train. RLEOS must have a retired/separated LEO ID card. The New LEOSA Training Packet has details.   

The Maryland Department of State Police only provides an identification card to carry a concealed handgun to State of Maryland qualified separated law enforcement officers who have separated from the Maryland Department of State Police.


Maryland Location Restrictions

Where Can I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Maryland?
  • Carry in bars/restaurants that serve alcohol? Yes.
  • Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? No.
  • Carry in roadside rest areas? No.
  • Carry in WMAs? Yes.
  • Carry in places of worship? There is no state statute prohibiting concealed carry in places of worship. However, since places of worship are private property, they may post signs prohibiting firearms.
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Maryland?

Places off-limits even with a permit/license


FAQ: Maryland Concealed Carry Questions

What Are the Knife Laws in Maryland?

There are no limitations on the types of knives you can own in Maryland. You cannot concealed carry a throwing star, dirk, switchblade, gravity knife or Bowie knife. Although there is no law against open carry of throwing stars, dirks, switchblades, gravity knives or Bowie knives, it is illegal to carry them "with the intent to harm someone." All knives are banned from Maryland schools. Maryland municipalities may have additional restrictions.

[Crim. Law §§ 4-101, 4-102(b)]


Maryland Gun Laws Updates:

Date Details
2020-09-03

Added information on Self Defense in the Summary

2020-07-23

Updated info about grace period for WCHP renewals due to COVID 19 to Summary section

2020-06-30

Added information on wearing a COVID 19 mask while carrying concealed above the Summary

2020-05-05

Added info on handguns at hotels in At A Glance table

2020-04-17

Added info on handguns on private property in At A Glance table

2020-04-06

Added statutory link and details on private gun sales in At A Glance table

2020-02-25

Added info on carry in bars to the At A Glance table

2020-02-19

Added related blog posts with links

2020-02-14

Added info regarding residency changes and resulting impacts on carry permits

2020-01-29

Updated the knife laws and added statutory references

2019-12-19

Added info on the approved handgun roster and a link to the roster to the At A Glance table

2019-12-05

Added info on handgun purchase process in At A Glance table

2019-12-04

Added info on whether a valid state ccw permit exempts a person from needing a background check when purchasing a firearm to the At A Glance table

2019-12-02

Added Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray info for Baltimore and Ocean City to the At A Glance table

2019-11-19

Added statutory references and links for can’t carry locations

2019-10-31

Added brandishing info to At A Glance table

2019-10-15

Added Hunter Harassment info to At A Glance table

2019-10-01

Added Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray to the At A Glance table

2019-10-01

Updated Permit Info and Application info with new online licensing portal details

2019-09-06

Added Carry While Hunting info to At A Glance table

2019-08-13

Added anchor links to various sections below the Summary

2019-07-25

Added minimum age to possess and transport a handgun to At A Glance table

2019-05-24

Added stun gun/Taser info to At A Glance table

2019-05-01

Added permit renewal and name/address change info

2019-04-18

Links checked

2019-03-28

Added info on state implementation of Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act (LEOSA)

2019-03-06

Clarified high capacity magazine limitations in the At A Glance table per info from a member (thanks!)

2019-02-20

Added info and a link to vehicle carry in At A Glance table

2019-02-15

Added pages on https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/resources/ for Federal Gun Laws, Traveling with Firearms & Terminology

2019-02-09

Added ammunition restrictions to At A Glance table

2019-01-25

Added church carry info to location restrictions section

2019-01-25

Links checked

2019-01-24

Added info about alcohol or prescription medication in At A Glance table

2019-01-10

Mag limit added to At A Glance table

2018-12-13

Added preemption info to At A Glance table

Did We Miss Something?

Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated, trained and legally protected at all times. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.

If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email support@uscca.com and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!

Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.

The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.

Should you have any questions regarding the legal process, membership or any of the great features and benefits a USCCA Membership provides, feel free to contact our award-winning Wisconsin-based Member Services team at any time.

Are You Born to Protect?

Get Your FREE USCCA Sticker! Enter your email below:

Thanks!

You're Ready to Begin Your Journey to Becoming an Ultimate Protector.


But the USCCA is about more than a look or a tagline…

Laptop and mobile training view

We’re the lifesaving resource every gun owner needs to keep their family safe.

Learn More