I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Nebraska, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?
Based on our most recent research, the USCCA has identified just two states with statutes against carrying a concealed firearm while wearing a mask: California and Illinois (although sheriffs and county prosecutors in Illinois have made statements indicating that wearing a mask to protect others from COVID-19 while carrying a gun isn’t illegal as long as the wearer isn’t wearing the mask while committing a crime). Due to the large number of inquiries, some states have publicly addressed their laws regarding wearing masks actually refer to individuals concealing their identity with the intention to commit illegal acts or to specifically hide their identity, and do not address wearing a mask while legally carrying a concealed firearm. Although we have not conducted an exhaustive search, we found no statute in Nebraska addressing masks.
If you have further questions, we recommend that you reach out to your local law enforcement office, or district attorney.
Nebraska is a shall-issue state. Permits are issued at the state level by the State Patrol Department.
A handgun certificate or a concealed carry permit is required for any purchase of a handgun, even private sales. The city of Omaha requires handgun registration, although concealed handgun permit holders are exempt.
Open carry is legal without a permit in Nebraska for anyone at least 18 years of age that is not prohibited from carrying a firearm, although it may be restricted by local governments. For open carry in a vehicle, the firearm must be clearly visible. Some areas are off-limits, including schools. The city of Omaha requires individuals to possess a concealed carry permit to openly carry within the city.
Concealed carry is legal for residents with a Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) and for non-residents with a license/permit from a state Nebraska honors. The minimum age to obtain a CHP is 21 years old. Applicants must also complete a firearms training course. Permits are restricted to residents and military personnel and their spouses stationed in Nebraska. The city of Lincoln prohibits the possession of a firearm by anyone who has been convicted of certain misdemeanors within the last 10 years, including stalking, violation of an order of protection, sexual assault and public indecency. In terms of reciprocity, Nebraska will recognize permits issued by those states which have standards equal to or greater than Nebraska.
Nebraska is a Castle Doctrine state. There is no duty to retreat while in a person’s dwelling or workplace. Present law requires citizens, if outside their homes, vehicles or outbuildings, to retreat before protecting themselves or family against violent intruders.
Use of Force in Self-Protection The use of force upon or toward another person is justifiable:
When the actor believes that such force is immediately necessary to protect himself against the use of unlawful force by such other person on the present occasion;
When the actor believes that such force is necessary to protect himself against death, serious bodily harm, kidnapping or sexual intercourse compelled by force or threat;
To resist force used by the occupier or possessor of property if:
The actor has been unlawfully dispossessed of the property and is making a re-entry or recapture justified by section 28-1411; or
The actor believes that such force is necessary to protect himself against death or serious bodily harm.
The use of deadly force is not justifiableif:
The actor provoked the use of force against himself or herself in the same encounter; or
The actor knows that he can avoid the necessity of using such force with complete safety by retreating, surrendering possession of an item or by complying with a demand that he or she abstain from any action which one has no duty to take, except that:
The actor shall not be obliged to retreat from his or her dwelling or place of work, unless the person was the initial aggressor or is assailed in the place of work by another person whose place of work the actor knows it to be.
Use of Force for Protection of Other Persons The use of force is justifiable to protect a third person when:
The actor would be justified in using such force to protect himself or herself against the injury he or she believes to be threatened to the person whom one seeks to protect;
Under the circumstances the person whom he or she seeks to protect would be justified in using such protective force; and
The actor believes that his or her intervention is necessary for the protection of such other person.
A person is not required to retreat before using force in the protection of another person against the use of unlawful force unless one knows that he can thereby secure the complete safety of such other person. However, there is no duty to retreat when in the other’s dwelling or place of work.
In addition § NRS 28-1413 refers to the use of force by persons with special responsibility for care, discipline or safety of others.
Use of Force for Protection of Property The use of force is justifiable when the actor believes that such force is immediately necessary:
To prevent or terminate an unlawful entry or other trespass upon land or a trespass against or the unlawful carrying away of tangible, movable property; or
To effect an entry or re-entry upon land or to retake tangible movable property.
Yes, without a permit for anyone at least 18 years of age that is not prohibited from carrying a firearm. However, state preemption allows local governments to regulate the open carrying of firearms. In the city of Omaha, a concealed carry permit is required.
Gun Permit Licensure?
If Nebraska requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?
Nebraska is a shall issue state.
Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?
What is the minimum age in Nebraska to get a concealed carry permit?
You must be at least 21 years old to get a concealed carry permit in Nebraska.
Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?
Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Nebraska with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?
No. A concealed carry permit does not allow the carry of weapons other than handguns.
Tasers or Stun Guns?
Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Nebraska?
Yes. Stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a permit.
Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray?
Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Nebraska?
Yes. There is no statute prohibiting the purchase or use of pepper spray in Nebraska.
Does Nebraska issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?
Yes, but only to military personnel and their spouses, who are treated as residents.
Public Access to Concealed Carry Registry?
Does Nebraska allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?
No, however the information is available for law enforcement.
Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Nebraska?
Yes, with a Nebraska Concealed handgun permit or a license/permit from a state Nebraska honors.
Carry in State/National Parks, State/National Forests and Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)?
Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in Nebraska?
Yes, with a Nebraska Concealed handgun permit or a license/permit from a state Nebraska honors, unless posted.
Carry in Bars/Restaurants That Serve Alcohol?
Can you carry a firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Nebraska?
You can concealed carry in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol with a Nebraska concealed carry permit or a permit/license from a state that Nebraska honors, unless posted and provided you consume no alcohol. However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants.
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Nebraska?
Any private business may prohibit a permitholder from carrying a concealed handgun into or onto the place or premises. The property must be posted with conspicuous notice that carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited or a request made that the permitholder remove the concealed handgun from the place or premises. The individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See theHandguns at Hotels page for additional information.
Does Nebraska have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?
Nebraska law allows a concealed handgun permit holder to carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle even in the parking area of a location where concealed handgun possession is generally prohibited. The only requirement is that, prior to exiting the vehicle, the permit holder must lock the handgun inside the glove box, trunk or other compartment of the vehicle, or a storage box securely attached to the vehicle.
Does Nebraska have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?
No. Nebraska does not have magazine capacity restrictions.
Does Nebraska have ammunition restrictions?
No. Nebraska does not have ammunition restrictions.
"No Weapons Allowed" Signs Enforced?
Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Nebraska? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.
Yes. Any place or premises open to the public must post conspicuous notice that carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited in or on the place or premises, or make a request that the permitholder remove the concealed handgun from the place or premises.
A permitholder who violates § 69-2441 is guilty of a Class III misdemeanor for the first violation and a Class I misdemeanor for any second or subsequent violation.
A permitholder convicted of a violation of section 69-2441 that occurred on property owned by the state or any political subdivision of the state may also have his or her permit revoked. A permitholder convicted of a violation of section 69-2441 that did not occur on property owned by the state or any political subdivision of the state shall not have his or her permit revoked for a first offense but may have his or her permit revoked for any second or subsequent offense.
No. However, a person commits the offense of assault in the third degree if he intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another person, or threatens another person in a menacing manner.
Carry While Using Alcohol or a Controlled Substance?
Does Nebraska have laws regarding carrying a firearm while using alcohol or a controlled substance?
Not while consuming or while the permit holder has remaining in his or her blood, urine or breath any previously consumed alcohol or any controlled substance, as defined in NRS § 28-401. A permitholder does not violate this subsection if the controlled substance in his or her blood, urine, or breath was lawfully obtained and was taken in therapeutically prescribed amounts.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Nebraska?
Yes. A handgun certificate or a concealed carry permit is required for the purchase of a handgun. The Lancaster County Sheriff will not issue a Nebraska permit to purchase a handgun if the applicant is a Lincoln resident and is prohibited by Lincoln Municipal Code 9.36.100 from possessing firearms.
Background Checks for Private Gun Sales?
Are background checks required for private gun sales in Nebraska?
Yes. A person acquiring a handgun must have either a handgun certificate or a concealed handgun permit and has therefore been subject to a background check.
Exceptions include transfers between a person and his or her spouse, sibling, parent, child, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, or grandparent or if the person acquiring the handgun is a holder of a Nebraska CHP.
Does my current Nebraska concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?
Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Nebraska?
No. Nebraska does not have a waiting period after purchasing a handgun.
Do handguns need to be registered in Nebraska?
Although there is no statewide registration, the City of Omaha requires the registration of all handguns. The City of Lincoln requires reporting of firearms sales other than long guns commonly used for sporting purposes.
Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?
What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Nebraska?
18 years old. However, this does not apply to the temporary loan of handguns for instruction under the immediate supervision of a parent or guardian or adult instructor.
Possess a handgun on my private property without a permit?
Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home without a permit?
Yes. A permit is not required for anyone legally entitled to carry a firearm to carry a concealed weapon if the circumstances justify a prudent person in carrying the weapon for he defense of his or her person, property, or family.
Handgun Purchase Process To purchase, rent, lease or receive a handgun in Nebraska, whether through a licensed firearms dealer or a private transaction, you must possess a Firearm Purchase Certificate. Transfers between members of the same family are excluded from this requirement. A certificate is not required if the person acquiring a handgun is a licensed firearms dealer, is doing so on behalf of a law enforcement agency, if the purchaser possesses a valid Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit, or the transfer is temporary and the transferee remains in the immediate vicinity of the transferor or within the premises of an established shooting facility.
This certificate must be obtained through your local county sheriff’s office and is valid for 3 years from the date it is issued. It does not restrict the number of firearms a holder may purchase. A permit will be issued within 3 days. In order to apply you will need to present a valid Nebraska driver’s license or state-issued ID card and pay an application fee. The minimum age to apply for a Firearms Purchase Certificate is 21.
Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in Nebraska?
Carry While Bow Hunting?
Can you concealed carry while bowhunting in Nebraska?
001.01B It shall be unlawful:
001.01B5 to hunt antelope or deer, under authority of an archery permit while in possession of, or having under control, any firearm, or to hunt antelope or deer under authority of a muzzleloader permit while in possession of, or having under control, any breech-loading firearm, except that this shall not prohibit carrying a firearm within the enclosed portion of a vehicle.
Yes. No person shall knowingly and intentionally interfere or attempt to interfere with another person who is not trespassing and who is lawfully hunting or trapping any game bird, game animal, fur-bearing animal, or other wild mammal or bird or engaged in activity associated with hunting, trapping or fishing. Activity associated with hunting, trapping, or fishing shall mean travel, camping, or other acts that are preparatory to or in conjunction with hunting, trapping, or fishing on lands or waters upon which hunting, trapping, or fishing may lawfully occur and that are done by a hunter, a trapper, or an angler or by a member of a hunting, trapping, or fishing party.
Interfere shall mean:
Disturbing, scaring, chasing, or otherwise driving away by any means any game bird, game animal, fur-bearing animal, other wild mammal or bird, or game fish, but shall not include releasing a non-fur-bearing animal, except a coyote, from a trap;
Impeding or obstructing a person who is engaged in an activity associated with hunting, trapping, or fishing;
Affecting the condition or location of personal property intended for use in hunting, trapping, or fishing; or
Intentionally placing himself or herself into the line of fire for the purpose of interfering with lawful hunting or trapping.
Have Questions? Contact Our Award-Winning, Wisconsin-Based Member Services Team 24/7 at 800-674-9779
State Constitutional Provision
All persons ... have certain ... rights, among these are ... the right to keep and bear arms for security or defense of self, family, home and others, and for lawful common defense, hunting, recreational use and all other lawful purposes, and such rights shall not be denied or infringed by the state or any subdivision thereof."
Nebraska will recognize CHP permits issued by those states which the Nebraska Attorney General has determined have standards equal to or greater than Nebraska. Nebraska residents must have a Nebraska CHP in order to carry in the state.
Anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry it concealed in permitless carry states without a permit/license. The minimum age* for permitless carry is shown. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.
*PC-18 = permitless carry if at least 18 years old
*PC-21 = permitless carry if at least 21 years old
Have resided in Nebraska for the previous 180 days, be a new resident to Nebraska with a permit from a state that is recognized by Nebraska or be a member of the military permanently stationed in Nebraska or their spouse;
Pass an approved firearms training course;
Complete a vision test;
Not be on parole, probation, house arrest or work release;
Not have pled guilty or no contest to, or not have been convicted of a felony;
Not have pled guilty or no contest to, or not have been convicted of, a misdemeanor crime of violence within the immediately preceding 10 years;
Not have been found in the previous 10 years to be a mentally ill and dangerous person and not be currently adjudged mentally incompetent;
Never have had a conviction for violation of any law relating to firearms, unlawful use of a weapon or controlled substances in the past 10 years; and
Yes, but only for members of the military permanently stationed in Nebraska and their spouses. The process is the same as for residents.
Permit holders who change name or address are required to notify the Nebraska State Patrol (NSP) Concealed Handgun Permit Program within 30 days of the change in name or address using the application form prescribed by the Nebraska State Patrol. The application form should be accompanied with a copy of the applicant’s updated Nebraska driver’s license and current concealed handgun permit. A change of name or address request can also be completed online.
A permit holder moving to another state shall return the permit to the NSP Concealed Handgun Permit Program for cancellation. The permit is not valid if the permit holder is no longer a resident of Nebraska.
You must notify NSP within 10 days and request a replacement permit. The request can be made online. You must not carry a concealed handgun until the permit is replaced, as the law requires you to have the permit in your possession at any time you carry a concealed handgun.
Moving to Nebraska and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply? Nebraska issues permits to residents and members of the military stationed in Nebraska and their spouses only. You can apply for your permit once you have been a resident of Nebraska for 180 days or if you are a new resident to Nebraska with a permit from a state that is recognized by Nebraska.
Moving from Nebraska and have a Nebraska resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Nebraska permit remains valid? If a person with a Nebraska pistol permit establishes residency in another state, the pistol permit expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.
Nebraska Concealed Carry Permit Application Process
How to Apply for a Nebraska Concealed Carry Permit
If you don’t have a driver's license, download the vision statement form from the State Patrol website, schedule a vision test and provide the form for completion by your optometrist or opthamologist. A driver’s license proves your vision was tested and passed.
A concealed handgun permit applicant must complete a handgun training and safety course within the 3 years preceding the issuance of a permit. The Nebraska State Patrol certifies instructors and the curriculum must include:
Safe handling of a handgun;
Safe handling of handgun ammunition;
Safe handgun shooting fundamentals;
A demonstration of competency with a handgun with respect to the minimum safety and training requirements;
Federal, state and local laws pertaining to the purchase, ownership, transportation and possession of handguns;
Federal, state and local laws pertaining to the use of a handgun, use of a handgun for self-defense, and laws relating to justifiable homicide and the various degrees of assault;
Knowledge of ways to avoid a criminal attack and to defuse or control a violent confrontation; and
Proper storage practices for handguns and ammunition, including storage practices which would reduce the possibility of accidental injury to a child.
Be sure to verify that any firearm training you receive in order to obtain your permit is approved by the state of Nebraska.
Current permit holders may renew a permit to carry a concealed handgun within the four months prior to expiration of the initial permit at any Nebraska State Patrol Troop Headquarters. A permit holder letting an initial permit expire without applying for a renewal will be required to apply for another initial permit and meet all of the requirements for an initial permit.
Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details, check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.
Neb. Admin. Code Title 79, Ch. 11 sets firearms certification standards. The Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center (NLETC) qualifies retired officers. Retired officers can make an appointment with the lead firearms instructor to shoot the course at NLETC. They can also shoot the qualification course under the supervision of any Nebraska Firearms Instructor at another agency range with the permission of the firearms instructor’s agency.
Where Can I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Nebraska?
Carry in bars/restaurants that serve alcohol? You can concealed carry in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol, unless posted and provided you consume no alcohol. However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants.
Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? No.
Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes.
Carry in state/national parks, state/national forests and WMAs? Yes, unless posted.
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Nebraska?
Places off-limits even with a permit/license
Police, sheriff or Nebraska State Patrol station or office;
Detention facility, prison or jail;
Courtroom or building which contains a courtroom;
Polling place during a bona fide election;
Meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality or other political subdivision;
Meeting of the legislature or a committee of the legislature;
Professional, semi-professional or collegiate athletic event;
Place of worship;
Hospital, emergency room or trauma center;
Political rally or fundraiser;
Establishment having a license issued under the Nebraska Liquor Control Act that derives over one half of its total income from the sale of alcoholic liquor;
A place or premises where the person, entity or employer in control has prohibited permit holders from carrying concealed handguns;
Building, grounds, vehicle or sponsored activity or athletic event of any elementary, vocational or secondary school, or postsecondary career school, college or university [Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-1204];
Offutt Air Force Base, except current and former military law enforcement personnel who have permits that allow qualifying military police to carry concealed weapons may carry [Internal Policy as of January 2020];
It is legal to open carry any type of knife in Nebraska, except for convicted felons, fugitives or person's knowingly violating a domestic violence protective order. Concealed carry of any knife having a blade longer than 3½ inches or capable of inflicting cutting, stabbing or tearing wounds is illegal.
Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.
If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email email@example.com and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!
Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
If you have any questions regarding USCCA Membership, Delta Defense, handguns laws or the lawful process of carrying concealed, please contact the award-winning Delta Defense Customer Engagement Team.
Uncover the Backstory Free Book
Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.
Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.
But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…
We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.