I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Alaska, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?
Based on our most recent research, the USCCA has identified just two states with statutes against carrying a concealed firearm while wearing a mask: California and Illinois (although sheriffs and county prosecutors in Illinois have made statements indicating that wearing a mask to protect others from COVID-19 while carrying a gun isn’t illegal as long as the wearer isn’t wearing the mask while committing a crime). Due to the large number of inquiries, some states have publicly addressed their laws regarding wearing masks, clarifying that they actually refer to individuals concealing their identity with the intention to commit illegal acts or to specifically hide their identity, and do not address wearing a mask while legally carrying a concealed firearm. Although we have not conducted an exhaustive search, we found no statute in Alaska addressing masks.
If you have further questions, we recommend that you reach out to your local law enforcement office, or district attorney.
Alaska is a shall-issue, constitutional carry state. There is no firearms registration, no permit is required to purchase firearms and no background check is required to buy a handgun from a private individual.
Open carry is legal in Alaska for any person who is legally allowed to possess a firearm. The minimum age to open carry is 16. This conflicts with federal law, which prevents anyone under 18 from possessing a firearm. Some areas are off-limits, including K-12 schools and any place where intoxicating liquor is sold for on-site consumption.
Concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years of age or older who can legally possess a firearm — a permit is not required. Residents who are seeking to be exempt from background checks when purchasing additional firearms or who want to carry a firearm in other states can obtain a concealed handgun permit to use in states with which Alaska has a reciprocity agreement. Concealed handgun permits are issued by the Alaska State Police and require a firearms training course that has been state-approved. Alaska does not issue permits to non-residents. In terms of reciprocity, since Alaska has permitless carry, any person 21 years of age and older who can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm on his or her person without a license or permit.
Alaska is a Castle Doctrine state and has a “stand your ground” law. A person has no duty to retreat before using deadly force in the person’s temporary or permanent residence, property owned or leased, at his or her workplace, or when protecting a child or a member of the household.
Use of Non-Deadly Force in Defense of Self A person is justified in using non-deadly force when and to the extent the person reasonably believes it is necessary for self-defense against the use of unlawful force by the other person, unless:
The person used the force in mutual combat not authorized by law;
The person claiming self-defense provoked the other’s conduct;
The person claiming self-defense was the initial aggressor; or
The person claiming self-defense possessed a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument while committing a felony or exacting revenge.
Use of Deadly Force in Defense of Self A person who is justified in using non-deadly force may use deadly force in self-defense when and to the extent the person reasonably believes the use of deadly force is necessary for self-defense against:
Serious physical injury;
Sexual abuse of a minor; or
A person may not use deadly force under this section if the person knows that, with complete personal safety and with complete safety as to others being defended, the person can avoid the necessity of using deadly force by leaving the area of the encounter, except there is no duty to retreat if the person is protecting a child or a member of the person’s household, is on premises that the person:
Owns or leases;
Resides in, temporarily or permanently;
Is employed to work; or
Is a guest or agent of the owner, lessor or resident.
Use of Force in Defense of a Third Person A person is justified in using force when and to the extent the person reasonably believes it is necessary to defend a third person when the third person would be justified in using that degree of force for self-defense.
Use of Force in Defense of Property and Premises A person may use non-deadly force when and to the extent the person reasonably believes it is necessary to terminate the commission or attempted commission of:
An unlawful taking or damaging of property or services; or
Criminal trespass upon the premises;
A person may use deadly force when and to the extent the person reasonably believes it necessary to terminate the commission or attempted commission of:
Arson upon a dwelling or occupied building; or
Burglary in an occupied dwelling or building.
A person in a vehicle — or forcibly removed from a vehicle — may use deadly force when and to the extent the person reasonably believes it is necessary to terminate a carjacking.
A person outside of a vehicle may use deadly force when and to the extent the person reasonably believes it is necessary to terminate the theft of that vehicle when another person is inside of the vehicle.
Immunity: Use of Defensive Force Any person who uses a gun in self-defense has immunity from criminal and civil law.
Yes, without a permit for any person who is legally allowed to possess a firearm. The minimum age to open carry is 16. This conflicts with federal law, which prevents anyone under 18 from possessing a firearm.
Gun Permit Licensure?
If Alaska requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?
Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?
What is the minimum age in Alaska to get a concealed carry permit?
Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?
Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Alaska with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?
Tasers or Stun Guns?
Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Alaska?
Yes. Stun guns and Tasers are defined as defensive weapons and are legal to purchase and possess without a permit.
It is illegal for K-12 students to have stun guns or Tasers on school property or on school buses without the prior permission of the chief administrative officer of the school or district, or the designee of the chief administrative officer for the possession.
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Alaska?
Alaska statutes don't specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See the Handguns at Hotels page for additional information.
Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?
Does Alaska have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?
The state, a municipality or a person may not adopt or enforce a law, ordinance, policy or rule that prohibits an individual from possessing a firearm while that individual is within a motor vehicle. Nor prohibit an individual from storing a firearm that is locked in the individual's motor vehicle while the motor vehicle is otherwise legally parked in or on state or municipal property or another person's property. This section applies only to possession of a firearm by an individual who may legally possess a firearm under state and federal law.
An employer or its agent may, however, prohibit firearms possession in the following areas:
(1) Within a “restricted access area” (an area beyond a secure point where visitors are screened that does not include common areas of ingress and egress open to the general public);
(2) Within a vehicle owned, leased or rented by the employer or its agent; or
(3) In a parking lot owned or controlled by the employer within 300 feet of the secured restricted access area.
Does Alaska have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?
Does Alaska have ammunition restrictions?
"No Weapons Allowed" Signs Enforced?
Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Alaska? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.
Yes. A permittee may not possess a concealed handgun anywhere a person is prohibited from possessing a handgun under state or federal law. In addition to any other penalty provided by law, a person who violates this section is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.
Does Alaska have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?
Yes. The authority to regulate firearms is reserved to the state, and, except as specifically provided by statute, a municipality may not enact or enforce an ordinance regulating the possession, ownership, sale, transfer, use, carrying, transportation, licensing, taxation or registration of firearms. Municipalities may enact and enforce ordinances that, in part, restrict the discharge of firearms, prohibit firearms in restricted access areas or municipal government buildings.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Alaska?
Background Checks for Private Gun Sales?
Are background checks required for private gun sales in Alaska?
No. Private firearms transfers are not subject to a background check requirement, although federal and state purchaser prohibitions, including age restrictions, still apply. It is recommended that you retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun.
Alaska Permit Exempts from Background Check?
Does my current Alaska concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?
Yes, for concealed weapons permits marked NICS-Exempt only.
Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Alaska?
Do handguns need to be registered in Alaska?
Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?
What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Alaska?
16 years old.
(a) A person commits the crime of misconduct involving weapons in the fifth degree if the person;
(3) being an unemancipated minor under 16 years of age, possesses a firearm, switchblade or gravity knife without the consent of a parent or guardian of the minor.
Possess a handgun on my private property without a permit?
Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home without a permit?
Yes. Permitless carry is allowed in Alaska for anyone legally entitled to carry a firearm. However, it is prohibited for any person from knowingly carrying a concealed weapon in the residence of another without his or her permission.
Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in Alaska?
Yes, for self defense only and not as a legal means of harvest.
Carry While Bow Hunting?
Can you concealed carry while bowhunting in Alaska?
Yes, provided the firearm is legal, there is no prohibition against carrying a concealed weapon for anyone that is at least 21 years old who is legally allowed to possess a firearm, The handgun must be for self defense only and not as a legal means of harvest.
Hunter Harassment Law?
Is there a Hunter Harassment Law in Alaska?
It is illegal to intentionally obstruct or hinder another person’s lawful hunting, fishing, trapping or viewing of fish and game. Illegal activities include positioning one’s self in a location where human presence may alter the behavior of fish or game another person is pursuing. It is also illegal to create a sight, sound, smell, or physical stimulus to alter the behavior of fish and game another person is attempting to take.
Have Questions? Contact Our Award-Winning, Wisconsin-Based Member Services Team 24/7 at 800-674-9779
State Constitutional Provision
A well-regulated militia being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed. The individual right to keep and bear arms shall not be denied or infringed by the state or political subdivision of the State."
Alaska residents can carry a concealed defensive firearm in the state of Oklahoma without any type of permit. You must carry your driver's license or state-issued ID when carrying your firearm in Oklahoma.
Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.
States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Alaska
An Address Change form is recommended for use to change an address. Notification of address change can also be by letter or email. Delivery to the Permits and Licensing Unit may be by email, letter, fax or personal delivery. There is no fee for change of address.
A change of name or other information that will require a new permit to be issued, such as through marriage or a court decree, must be reported to the Department of Public Safety within 30 days of the change. A copy of the document that caused the change and a written request must be faxed, mailed or delivered to the Department of Public Safety. The fee to change data that requires a new permit be printed is $25.00. The old permit does not have to be returned.
A lost, stolen or damaged permit that is still within its valid period may be replaced by completing the replacement request form and submitting the form, payment of fees and a new photograph. Even if the form is filled out online, it must still be printed out for an original signature and submitted in hard copy. The form must be submitted in person to an office of the Department of Public Safety or to a municipal police agency that is authorized to accept the forms and verify the holder’s identification. There is a $25 fee for the replacement permit.
Moving to Alaska and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply? Alaska issues permits to residents only. In order to apply for your permit, you must be an Alaska resident and have lived in the state for more than 90 days.
Moving from Alaska and have an Alaska resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Alaska permit remains valid? If a person with an Alaska concealed handgun permit establishes residency in another state, the pistol permit expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.
A permit holder may renew his or her permit beginning 90 days before the expiration date. Permits may not be renewed after they have been expired more than 60 days. If the holder desires a permit after 60 days, the “new permit” process must be completed, including completion of a new competency course.
Renewal forms may be downloaded and completed by hand or may be filled out online and printed out. The renewal form must have an original signature.
Send or take the completed renewal form to the State Troopers' office with a passport-style photograph taken within 30 days.
You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details, check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.
Since Alaska has constitutional carry allowing anyone 21 or older who may legally possess a firearm to carry, no special permit is required. Therefore, off-duty/retired federal and state law enforcement officers may carry concealed weapons in Alaska without a permit or meeting the annual LEOSA qualification requirement. Since Alaska doesn’t issue IDs, Alaska LEOs/retired LEOs cannot carry under LEOSA outside of Alaska. If an Alaska LEO/retired LEO plans to travel to another state that has reciprocity with Alaska, he or she may apply for an Alaska concealed handgun permit.
Carry in bars/restaurants that serve alcohol? Concealed carry is allowed in restaurants, unless posted and provided you consume no alcohol. However, it is not allowed in bars.
Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? Yes.
Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes.
Carry in state/national parks, state/national forests and WMAs? Yes.
Carry in places of worship? There is no state statute prohibiting concealed carry in places of worship. However, since places of worship are private property, they may post signs prohibiting firearms.
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Alaska?
Places off-limits even with a permit/license
In or around any public or private K-12 school or on a school bus without the knowledge and consent of the school's administrator (weapons may be unloaded and locked in the trunk of a car or secured in a locked container);
The state of Alaska does not forbid the ownership of any type of knife. Anyone over the age of 21 can carry a concealed knife, but the carrier must alert any law enforcement with whom they come into contact about anything beyond a pocketknife. Anyone possessing a knife that can be defined as a deadly weapon should also report his or her weapon before visiting a house so that he or she can receive explicit permission to take the knife inside. Students K-12 may never take knives to school. Adults can only have a knife on the premise of these schools, including parking lots, with the written approval of the school’s principal.
Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.
If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email email@example.com and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!
Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
Should you have any questions regarding the legal process, membership or any of the great features and benefits a USCCA Membership provides, feel free to contact our award-winning Wisconsin-based Member Services team at any time.
Uncover the Backstory Free Book
Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.
Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.
But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…
We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.