As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it can be to stay up to date on gun laws.
Alaska gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked firearms questions in your state. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding Alaska gun laws. (Not from Alaska? Check the Legal & Second Amendment tab for your state.)
Can You Carry a Gun in Alaska? Do You Need a Concealed Carry Permit in Alaska?
Open carry is legal in Alaska for any person who is legally allowed to possess a firearm. The minimum age to open carry is 16. This conflicts with federal law, which prevents anyone under 18 from possessing a firearm. Concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years of age or older who can legally possess a firearm; a permit is not required.
Does Alaska Have Strict Gun Laws?
Alaska is a shall-issue, constitutional carry state. Firearms do not need to be registered, and no permit is required to purchase. No background check is required to buy a handgun from a private individual. Stun guns, Tasers and pepper spray are also legal to purchase and possess without a permit. There are no ammunition restrictions or magazine limits for handguns.
Can You Carry a Loaded Gun in Your Car in Alaska?
Yes, anyone at least 21 years old who can legally own a handgun can carry (openly or concealed) a loaded firearm in his or her vehicle.
Do You Need a Background Check to Buy a Gun in Alaska? Do You Have to Register Your Gun in Alaska?
The federal background check requirement was adopted in 1994. Federally licensed firearms dealers must, among other things, perform background checks on prospective firearms purchasers. Applicants for Alaska Concealed Handgun Permits who want their permits to allow them to forego a NICS background check when purchasing firearms may complete a NICS-Exempt Concealed Handgun Permit Supplement Form. Handguns don’t need to be registered in Alaska.
How Old Do You Have to Be to Carry a Handgun in Alaska?
The minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Alaska is 16. However, this conflicts with federal law, which prevents anyone under 18 from possessing a firearm.
Is Alaska a ‘Stand Your Ground’ State?
Yes. Alaska is a Castle Doctrine state and has a “stand your ground” law. A person may use deadly force in self-defense upon another person when and to the extent the person reasonably believes the use of deadly force is necessary for self-defense against death, serious physical injury, kidnapping, sexual assault or abuse, or robbery. A person has no duty to retreat before using deadly force in his or her temporary or permanent residence, property owned or leased, at his or her workplace, or when protecting a child or a member of the household. Any person who uses a gun in self-defense has immunity from criminal and civil law.
Can I Carry a Gun in Denali National Park?
Yes, as of Feb. 22, 2010, a federal law allows people who can legally possess firearms under applicable federal and Alaska state law to legally possess firearms within Denali National Park and Preserve.
Ready to Learn More About Alaska Gun Laws?
It is your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map has been designed to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about Alaska’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit the Alaska gun laws page now…
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and, as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.