Nevada is a shall-issue state with concealed carry permits issued at the county level.
No permit or firearms registration is required when buying a handgun from a private individual in Nevada. However, as of January 2, 2020, all sales are required to be conducted through a licensed federal firearms dealer with a background check. There are exceptions for some temporary transfers and sales or transfers of firearms between immediate family members.
Open carry is legal in Nevada without a permit. Anyone 18 and older who can legally possess a firearm may openly carry virtually anywhere in the state. For open carry in a vehicle, the firearm may be anywhere except concealed upon the person without a concealed firearms permit. Open carry is actually legal in more places than concealed carry is. Signs on public buildings only prohibit concealed carry. Areas that are off-limits include school premises, including parking lots and wherever legislature is conducting business.
Concealed carry is legal for residents with a Nevada Firearm permit and for non-residents with a license/permit from a state Nevada honors. To apply for a Concealed Firearm Permit, a person must be 21 (18 for military), complete an approved course in firearm safety and demonstrate competence (qualify) with any handgun. Both residents and non-residents can obtain permits. Some areas are off-limits, such as school premises, including parking lots, and inside public airports. In terms of reciprocity, Nevada recognizes permits from states that meet specific criteria and maintains the list on its website. The Nevada Sheriffs and Chiefs Association issued the following statement regarding the COVID-19 crisis and the validity of concealed carry permits that were set to expire during the Declaration of Emergency by Governor Sisolak. All licenses and permits issued by the State of Nevada or by local jurisdictions that are set to expire during this state of emergency have been extended 90 days either from their current expiration date or 90 days after the state of emergency is lifted, whichever is later IF reduced government operations due to the state of emergency makes timely renewal impracticable or impossible. Check with your sheriff’s office to find out the status of operations for their CCW unit.
Nevada is a Castle Doctrine state and has a “stand your ground” law. There is no duty to retreat inside one’s home or place of work. In Nevada, the use of force for self-defense must meet certain criteria. The force used must be immediately necessary, must be in good faith and must be a reasonable response to the aggressor’s actions.
Resistance by Party About to Be Injured
Resistance sufficient to prevent the offense may be made by the party about to be injured:
To prevent an offense against his or her person, family or some member of his or her family; or
To prevent an illegal attempt — by force — to take or injure property in his or her lawful possession.
Resistance by Other Persons
Any other person, in aid or defense of a person about to be injured, may make resistance sufficient to prevent the offense.
Homicide is justified in necessary self-defense or in defense of an occupied habitation, an occupied motor vehicle or a person against one who manifestly intends or endeavors to commit a crime of violence, or against any person or persons who manifestly intend and endeavor, in a violent, riotous, tumultuous or surreptitious manner, to enter the occupied habitation or occupied motor vehicle of another for the purpose of assaulting or offering personal violence to any person dwelling or being within.
This only applies if the person is not the original aggressor, has a right to be present at the location where deadly force is used and is not actively engaged in a criminal activity.
“Crime of violence” means any felony for which there is a substantial risk that force or violence may be used against the person or property of another in the commission of the felony.
“Motor vehicle” means every vehicle which is self-propelled.
“Residence” means any house, room, apartment, tenement or other building, vehicle, vehicle trailer, semitrailer, house trailer or boat designed or intended for occupancy as a residence.
Immunity from Civil Liability
Force which is intended or likely to cause death or bodily injury is immune from civil liability or the wrongful death of a person against whom such force was used if the use of such force was justified.
Yes, without a permit. Any person who is at least 18 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm can open carry.
Gun Permit Licensure?
If Nevada requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?
Nevada is a shall-issue state.
Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?
What is the minimum age in Nevada to get a concealed carry permit?
You must be at least 21 years old to get a concealed carry permit in Nevada.
Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?
Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Nevada with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?
No. A Nevada concealed carry permit does not allow the carry of weapons other than handguns.
Tasers or Stun Guns?
Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Nevada?
Yes. Stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a permit.
Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray?
Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Nevada?
Yes, any person except for convicted felons, may possess and use tear gas aerosol spray weapons containing not more than 2 fluid ounces of crystalline powder containing ortho-chlorobenzalmalononitrile for use as an instrument of self-defense.
Only adults may purchase pepper spray and sellers must record and maintain for not less than 2 years the name and address of the purchaser and the brand name, model number or type, and serial number of the weapon, if there is one.
Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Nevada?
Yes, with a Nevada Firearm permit or a license/permit from a state Nevada honors. Without a permit, a handgun may not be concealed on your person. It must either be entirely visible or in a concealed place away from your person. In addition, although this ordinance conflicts with Nevada state law, North Las Vegas city ordinance 9.32.080 prohibits the carrying of dangerous and deadly weapons in vehicles unless carried in good faith for the purpose of “honest work, trade or business, or for the purpose of legitimate sport or recreation.”
Carry at Roadside Rest Areas?
Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Nevada?
Yes, with a Nevada Firearm permit or a license/permit from a state Nevada honors.
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Nevada?
Nevada statutes don't specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See theHandguns at Hotels pagefor additional information.
Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?
Does Nevada have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?
Do you have a duty to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Nevada?
There is no duty to inform a law enforcement officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Nevada. However, both the permit and proper identification must be presented if requested by a peace officer.
Yes, Nevada has a red flag law. The law authorizes a family or household member or a law enforcement officer to file a verified application to obtain an ex parte or extended order against a person who poses a risk of causing personal injury to himself or herself or another person. This prevents a person from possessing or having under his or her custody or control, or from purchasing or otherwise acquiring any firearm.
No definition of brandishing was found in Nevada law. However, a person who willfully aims any gun, pistol, revolver or other firearm, whether loaded or not, at or toward any human being is guilty of a crime.
A person having, carrying or procuring from another person any dirk, dirk-knife, sword, sword cane, pistol, gun or other deadly weapon, who, in the presence of two or more persons, draws or exhibits any of such deadly weapons in a rude, angry or threatening manner not in necessary self-defense, or who in any manner unlawfully uses that weapon in any fight or quarrel, is guilty of a crime.
Does Nevada have laws regarding carrying a concealed firearm while using alcohol or drugs?
Not while under the influence of alcohol (BAC of 0.08 or greater), any controlled substance, or under the combined influence of intoxicating liquor and a controlled substance. In addition, it is illegal to inhale, ingest, apply or otherwise use any chemical, poison or organic solvent, or any compound or combination of any of these, to a degree which renders you incapable of safely exercising actual physical control of a firearm. This prohibition does not apply to the actual physical possession of a firearm by a person who was within the person’s personal residence and had the firearm in his or her possession solely for self-defense.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Does Nevada issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?
Yes. Non-resident permits are issued to anyone who qualifies.
PUBLIC ACCESS TO CONCEALED CARRY REGISTRY?
Does Nevada allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?
No, however, the information is available for law enforcement.
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Nevada?
No. A permit is not required to purchase a handgun in Nevada.
Background Checks for Private Gun Sales? Exceptions?
Are background checks required for private gun sales in Nevada? Are there exceptions?
Yes. As of January 2, 2020, sales are required to be conducted through a licensed federal firearms dealer with a background check. There are exceptions including:
The sale or transfer of a firearm between immediate family members, which means spouses and domestic partners. Also included are, whether by whole or half blood, adoption or step-relation: parents, children, siblings, grandparents, grandchildren, aunts, uncles, nieces and nephews.
The transfer of a firearm to an executor, administrator, trustee or personal representative of an estate or a trust that occurs by operation of law upon the death of the former owner of the firearm.
A temporary transfer of a firearm to a person who is not prohibited from buying or possessing firearms under state or federal law if the transfer is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm or lasts only as long as immediately necessary to prevent such imminent death or great bodily harm.
Does my current Nevada concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?
No, although NV permits qualify with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and firearms as alternatives to the background check requirements of the Brady law for up to 5 years from the date of issuance, the state of NV requires background checks for all firearm purchases.
The State of Nevada recognizes other states' permits in accordance with SB 175 and AB 488 and maintains the list on their website. The minimum age is 21 years old. Nevada residents must have a Nevada Firearm permit in order to carry in the state.
Anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry it concealed in permitless carry states without a permit/license. The minimum age* for permitless carry is shown. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.
*PC-18 = permitless carry if at least 18 years old
*PC-21 = permitless carry if at least 21 years old
Be at least 21 years old or at least 18 and active duty military, reserve military or honorably discharged;
Be a lawful resident of the United States;
Not have been dishonorably discharged from military service;
Provide the documentation to demonstrate competence with a firearm;
Not be a fugitive from justice;
Not have been judicially declared mentally incompetent or insane;
Not have been admitted to a mental health facility within the last 5 years;
Not have habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that your normal faculties were impaired, including DUI convictions within previous 5 years;
Not be a medical marijuana patient;
Not have been convicted of a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence, including misdemeanor convictions, within the last 3 years;
Not have been convicted of a felony;
Not have been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or currently subject to a restraining order or other order of protection against violence;
Not be currently subject to an ex parte or extended order for protection against high-risk behavior (effective on January 1, 2020);
Not be currently on parole or probation;
Not have been, within the preceding 5 years, subject to any requirements imposed by a court as a condition to withholding the entry of judgment for your conviction of a felony; or suspension of your sentence for the conviction of a felony; or indictment by a Grand Jury;
Not have made a false statement on any application;
Not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under state and federal law, city and/or county ordinances; and
In addition, the sheriff may deny an application or revoke a permit if he or she receives a “sworn affidavit stating articulable facts based upon personal knowledge” from any person 18 years of age or older that the applicant or permittee is prohibited from possessing a permit.
Non-resident permits are issued to anyone who qualifies. However, you must apply in person at the issuing office. The process is the same as for residents.
For name changes, you must present yourself in person at the LVMPD Records and Fingerprint Bureau, provide proof of the name change (marriage certificate, court document) and pay the fee. A new photo will be taken, along with a signature with your new name.
For changes of address, you must notify the sheriff who issued your permit in writing within 30 days of the permanent address change by printing and completing the CCW Change of Address form. A permittee who fails to notify the sheriff pursuant to the provisions of this section is subject to a civil penalty of $25. There is no fee for an address change; however you will not get a new permit issued nor will you receive any type of sticker with the updated address. If you would like to obtain a new permit that reflects the new address, there is a $15 fee.
You will need to go to the issuing office and file an affidavit that your permit was lost or stolen. A replacement fee of $15 will be charged.
Moving to Nevada and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply? Nevada issues resident and non-resident permits, so you can apply for your permit at any time. If you move to Nevada with a reciprocal out-of-state CCW permit, you may use that permit for only the first 60 days of living in-state. Afterward, you need to get a new CCW permit issued from your local sheriff's office.
Moving from Nevada and have a Nevada resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Nevada permit remains valid? If a person with a Nevada concealed weapon permit establishes residency in another state, the permit is valid until it expires provided you submit the above referenced name/address change form.
Take a concealed firearms qualification course from a certified firearms instructor.
Download an application or pick one up from your county sheriff’s office. Clark County residents or out-of-state residents who received firearms training in Clark County may apply for a permit using this online portal.
Take the (unsigned) completed application to the law enforcement office with the following:
Proof of residency (valid driver’s license);
Proof of citizenship; and
You will be required to sign the application in front of a witness at the station.
You will be fingerprinted and photographed.
You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
Permit applicants must demonstrate competence with handguns by presenting a certificate or other documentation to the sheriff which shows that the applicant successfully completed a course in firearm safety:
Approved by a sheriff in this state; or
Offered by a federal, state or local law enforcement agency, community college, university or national organization that certifies instructors in firearm safety.
Training must include instruction in the use of handguns, as well as instruction on Nevada’s laws relating to the use of a firearm. Online or out-of-state courses will not be accepted. There are some counties that require any training to take place in the county where you file the application.
Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.
Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.3678 establishes thatqualified RLEOs that are Nevada residents may apply to the sheriff of the county in which he or she resides for LEOSA certification. It requires law enforcement agencies to offer RLEOs who retired from the agency the opportunity to obtain the firearms qualification at least twice per year at the same facility at which the agency provides firearms training for its active law enforcement officers. Sheriff‐approved firearms instructors (pursuant to the concealed weapon permit law, NRS 202.3657) may also conduct LEOSA qualification shoots.
Carry in bars/restaurants that serve alcohol? Yes, unless posted, and provided you are not under the influence.
Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? Yes. The handgun must be visible if on a person. Handguns in a glove box, on or under a seat are allowed. You will need a permit to concealed carry a handgun in a holster or pocket while in a vehicle.
Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes.
Carry in state/national parks, state/national forests and WMAs? Yes.
Carry in places of worship? There is no state statute prohibiting concealed carry in places of worship. However, since places of worship are private property, they may post signs prohibiting firearms.
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Nevada?
Places off-limits even with a permit/license
Public and private K-12 schools (including parking lots);
Child care facilities;
Facilities belonging to the University of Nevada, the Community College System or any other vocational/technical school (including parking lots);
Public buildings with metal detectors or signs prohibiting firearms at each public entrance (unless a permittee that is employed there); and
Under Nevada law, it is legal to own any type of knife. It is legal to open or concealed carry any type of knife, except that it is illegal to concealed carry a machete or any instrument which could be considered a dangerous or deadly weapon. Dirks, daggers and switchblades may not be possessed on school property. Municipalities may have additional restrictions. For example, Clark County doesn't allow concealed carry of any knife with a blade of 3 inches or more without written permission from the sheriff.
I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Nevada, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?
There is no known statute in Nevada making it illegal to wear a COVID mask while carrying concealed. City and county Sheriff's and district attorneys have indicated that anyone with a valid concealed weapon permit can carry a can do so while abiding by Nevada’s face covering mandate.
Can I carry at a casino?
Casinos are private property and are likely posted with no firearms signs. You could be asked to disarm or leave the property if your firearm was observed. Failure to do so would be considered a trespass violation.
CARRY WHILE GUN HUNTING?
Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in Nevada?
CARRY WHILE BOW HUNTING?
Can you concealed carry while bow hunting in Nevada?
Yes. A person who is hunting during any period of an open season during which hunting is restricted to the use of only archery equipment or a muzzle-loading firearm may carry for self-defense a handgun that has a barrel length of less than 8 inches; and does not have a telescopic sight. The handgun may not be used to hunt any wildlife.
Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.
If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email [email protected] and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!
Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
If you have any questions regarding USCCA Membership, Delta Defense, handguns laws or the lawful process of carrying concealed, please contact the award-winning Delta Defense Customer Engagement Team.
Uncover the Backstory Free Book
Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.
Are You Born to Protect?
Get Your FREE USCCA Sticker! Enter your email below:
Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.
But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…
We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.