Nevada permit process

How To Get Your Nevada Concealed Carry Permit

Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Nevada's concealed carry laws. Applying for a varies by state.

Read about the process for getting a Nevada Concealed Carry Firearm Permit below.

Steps To Get A Nevada Concealed Carry Permit


COMPLETE a concealed firearms qualification course from a certified firearms instructor. Training must include a live-fire component.


DOWNLOAD an application or pick one up from your county sheriff’s office. Clark County residents or out-of-state residents who received firearms training in Clark County may apply for a permit using the online portal.


VISIT your local law enforcement office with the unsigned application, and bring:

  • Training certificate
  • Proof of residency (valid driver’s license)
  • Proof of citizenship
  • Permit fee

You will be required to sign the application in front of a witness at the station.

You will be fingerprinted and photographed.



You will be notified if your application has been approved.

Find a CCW Training Class

What Are the Firearms Training Requirements in Nevada?

Permit applicants must demonstrate competence with handguns by presenting a certificate or other documentation to the sheriff that shows the applicant successfully completed a course in firearm safety either:

  • Approved by a sheriff in this state
  • Offered by a federal, state or local law enforcement agency, community college, university or national organization that certifies instructors in firearms safety

Firearms training must include instruction in the use of handguns (typically an eight-hour class with live-fire qualification), as well as instruction on Nevada’s laws relating to the use of a firearm. Online or out-of-state courses will not be accepted. There are some counties that require any training to take place in the county where you file the application.

Training is also required for permit renewals.

What Are the Nevada License to Carry a Handgun Requirements?

An applicant must:

  • Be at least 21 years old or at least 18 and active duty military, reserve military or honorably discharged;
  • Be a lawful resident of the United States; 
  • Not have been dishonorably discharged from military service;
  • Provide the documentation to demonstrate competence with a firearm;
  • Not be a fugitive from justice;
  • Not have been judicially declared mentally incompetent or insane;
  • Not have been admitted to a mental health facility within the last 5 years;
  • Not have habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that your normal faculties were impaired, including DUI convictions within previous 5 years; 
  • Not be a medical marijuana patient;
  • Not have been convicted of a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence, including misdemeanor convictions, within the last 3 years;
  • Not have been convicted of a felony;
  • Not have been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or currently subject to a restraining order or other order of protection against violence;
  • Not be currently subject to an ex parte or extended order for protection against high-risk behavior (effective on January 1, 2020);
  • Not be currently on parole or probation;
  • Not have been, within the preceding 5 years, subject to any requirements imposed by a court as a condition to withholding the entry of judgment for your conviction of a felony; or suspension of your sentence for the conviction of a felony; or indictment by a Grand Jury;
  • Not have made a false statement on any application;
  • Not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under state and federal law, city and/or county ordinances; and
  • Meet federal law requirements.

In addition, the sheriff may deny an application or revoke a permit if he or she receives a “sworn affidavit stating articulable facts based upon personal knowledge” from any person 18 years of age or older that the applicant or permittee is prohibited from possessing a permit.

*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Nevada.

What are the Fees and Terms?

~$96 Initial Permit, varies by county

$63 for Permit Renewal

Valid for Five Years from Date of Issue

120 Day Processing Time

Where Can I Find Application Forms?


What Concealed Carry Permit Options Exist Based on Residency?

Residency Changes:

Moving to Nevada and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply?Nevada issues resident and non-resident permits, so you can apply for your permit at any time. If you move to Nevada with a reciprocal out-of-state CCW permit, you may use that permit for only the first 60 days of living in-state. Afterward, you need to get a new CCW permit issued from your local sheriff's office.

Moving from Nevada and have a Nevada resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Nevada permit remains valid?If a person with a Nevada concealed weapon permit establishes residency in another state, the permit is valid until it expires provided you submit the above referenced name/address change form.

How Do I Renew My Concealed Carry Permit in Nevada?

Renewals are the responsibility of the permittee. You may begin the renewal process at any time, but no credit will be provided for early renewals.


COMPLETE a refresher firearm training course and live fire qualification.


DOWNLOAD an application or pick one up from your county sheriff’s office.


VISIT your local law enforcement office. Bring:

  • Your unsigned application
  • Training certificate;
  • Proof of residency (valid driver’s license); 
  • Proof of citizenship if not born in the U.S.; and
  • Permit fee

You will be required to sign the application in front of a witness at the station.

You will be fingerprinted and photographed.



You will be notified if your application has been approved.

Become a member of the USCCA today!

The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You Need

Become a member
Find a USCCA class near you!

Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your Family

Find a USCCA Class

Do Your Homework!

Make sure you understand Nevada Gun Laws and Nevada concealed carry reciprocity with other states.