I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Kansas, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?
Based on our most recent research, the USCCA has identified just two states with statutes against carrying a concealed firearm while wearing a mask: California and Illinois (although sheriffs and county prosecutors in Illinois have made statements indicating that wearing a mask to protect others from COVID-19 while carrying a gun isn’t illegal as long as the wearer isn’t wearing the mask while committing a crime). Due to the large number of inquiries, some states have publicly addressed their laws regarding wearing masks, clarifying that they actually refer to individuals concealing their identity with the intention to commit illegal acts or to specifically hide their identity, and do not address wearing a mask while legally carrying a concealed firearm. Although we have not conducted an exhaustive search, we found no statute in Kansas addressing masks.
If you have further questions, we recommend that you reach out to your local law enforcement office, or district attorney.
There are no requirements for permits to purchase handguns and no firearms registration. Background checks are not required for private sales. Background checks are required if you’re purchasing a handgun from a Federal Firearms Dealer, with the exception of Kansas concealed carry handgun license holders.
Open and concealed carry are legal in Kansas. Anyone at least 18 years of age that is not prohibited from carrying a firearm may openly carry a firearm in public without a license or permit, while the minimum age for concealed carry is 21. Concealed Carry Handgun Licenses (CCHL) are restricted to residents and members of the military stationed in Kansas. The minimum age to obtain a concealed carry permit is 21, and a firearms training course is required. The applicant must complete an 8-hour handgun safety and training course approved by the attorney general. In terms of reciprocity, since Kansas has permitless carry, any person 21 years of age and older who can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm on his or her person without a license or permit. Due to COVID-19 state of disaster emergency, the late fee is waived for a renewal of a licensee whose CCHL expired on or after March 12, 2020. The modifications and accommodations will be in effect until October 1 or until otherwise modified by the attorney general. In addition, a modified renewal application form will require an unsworn declaration instead of notarization.
The minimum age to possess a firearm with a barrel less than 12 inches long is 18 years old and individuals under 21 years of age may concealed carry only when on their own land, abode, or fixed place of business. There are other exceptions for 18-year-olds, including when attending a firearms safety course, target shooting at established ranges or when hunting.
Defense of Person A person is justified in the use of force when and to the extent that the person reasonably believes that such use of force is necessary to defend the person or a third person against the imminent use of unlawful force.
A person is justified in the use of deadly force if such person reasonably believes that such use of deadly force is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm to such person or a third person.
Defense of Dwelling, Place of Work or Occupied Vehicle A person is justified in the use of force when and to the extent that the person reasonably believes that such use of force is necessary to prevent or terminate such other’s unlawful entry into or attack upon such person’s dwelling, place of work or occupied vehicle.
A person is justified in the use of deadly force to prevent or terminate unlawful entry into or attack upon any dwelling, place of work or occupied vehicle if such person reasonably believes that such use of deadly force is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm to such person or another.
Defense of Property Other Than Dwelling, Place of Work or Occupied Vehicle A person who is lawfully in possession of property other than a dwelling, place of work or occupied vehicle is justified in the use of force for the purpose of preventing or terminating an unlawful interference with such property. Only such use of force as a reasonable person would deem necessary to prevent or terminate the interference may intentionally be used.
Does Kansas issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?
Yes, only to active-duty military personnel and their dependents stationed in Kansas.
Public Access to Concealed Carry Registry?
Does Kansas allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?
Kansas does not allow personal application or license information of concealed weapons license holders to be made public, however the information is available for law enforcement. In addition, records of individuals who have had their licenses suspended or revoked are open to inspection under the state’s public records act.
Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Kansas?
Yes, without a permit for anyone at least 21 years old and allowed to possess a firearm. The minimum age for possessing and transporting a handgun unloaded and secured in a vehicle without any type of permit/license to carry firearms is 18.
Carry at Roadside Rest Areas?
Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Kansas?
Carry in State/National Parks, State/National Forests and Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)?
Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in Kansas?
Can you carry a firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Kansas?
Yes, unless posted.
Carry/Possess at a hotel?
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Kansas?
Kansas statutes don't specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See theHandguns at Hotels pagefor additional information.
Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?
Does Kansas have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?
No employer may prohibit possession of a handgun in a private means of conveyance, even if parked on the employer’s premises. In addition, no public employer shall restrict or otherwise prohibit by personnel policies any employee, who is legally qualified, from carrying any concealed handgun while engaged in the duties of such employee's employment outside of such employer's place of business, including while in a means of conveyance.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times, or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Kansas?
No. Kansas does not require a permit to buy a handgun.
Background Checks for Private Gun Sales?
Are background checks required for private gun sales in Kansas?
No. Private firearms transfers are not subject to a background check requirement, although federal and state purchaser prohibitions, including age restrictions, still apply. It is recommended that you retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun.
Kansas permit exempts from background check?
Does my current Kansas concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?
Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Kansas?
No. There is no waiting period to purchase a handgun in Kansas.
Do handguns need to be registered in Kansas?
No. You do not have to register a handgun in Kansas.
Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?
What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Kansas?
You must be at least 18 years old to possess or transport a handgun in Kansas.
Possess a handgun on my private property without a permit?
Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home without a permit?
Yes. Permitless carry is allowed in Kansas for anyone legally entitled to carry a firearm. In addition. individuals between 18 and 21 years of age may carry a firearm on their own land, abode, or fixed place of business.
Have Questions? Contact Our Award-Winning, Wisconsin-Based Member Services Team 24/7 at 800-674-9779
State Constitutional Provision
A person has the right to keep and bear arms for the defense of self, family, home and state, for lawful hunting and recreational use, and for any other lawful purpose; but standing armies, in time of peace, are dangerous to liberty, and shall not be tolerated, and the military shall be in strict subordination to the civil power."
Kansas residents can carry a concealed defensive firearm in the state of Oklahoma without any type of permit. You must carry your Kansas driver's license or state-issued ID when carrying your firearm in Oklahoma.
Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.
States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Kansas
Kansas offers resident and non-resident (active-duty military personnel and their dependents stationed in Kansas) permits. If indicated with “Resident only” below, that state only honors Kansas resident permits (and not those issued to non-residents).
Licensees must notify the Concealed Carry Licensing Unit (CCLU) of the attorney general’s office in writing within 30 days of losing a concealed carry handgun license or having it stolen. Complete the Lost or Destroyed Permit form and have it notarized. Mail it along with a fee of $15.00 in the form of a cashier’s check, personal check or money order made payable to the Office of Attorney General at the address on the form. Once notified, the CCLU will send the licensee an approval notice to re-issue the license. The licensee will have to go to an approved Kansas Department of Revenue station to obtain the re-issued CCHL. The Kansas Department of Revenue will charge a fee to generate a new CCHL.
Moving to Kansas and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply? Kansas issues licenses to residents and active duty military personnel and their dependents stationed in the state. You can apply for your permit with the Kansas State Patrol once you are a resident of Kansas with a valid driver’s license or state-issued identification card, or reside in Kansas while serving on active duty in the military.
Moving from Kansas and have a Kansas resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Kansas permit remains valid? If a person with a Kansas concealed carry handgun license establishes residency in another state, the license expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.
The applicant must complete an 8-hour handgun safety and training course approved by the attorney general. The course must include:
Training in the safe storage of handguns;
Actual firing of weapons; and
Instruction in Kansas laws governing the carrying of concealed handguns and the use of deadly force.
Safety and training courses taken outside the state of Kansas can satisfy Kansas’ concealed carry permitting requirement if the attorney general has certified that the out-of-state course meets or exceeds the standards set by Kansas law.
Training Exemptions – Kansas recognizes prior handgun training of retired law enforcement (if retired less than 8 years) and current Department of Corrections officers, parole officers or Federal Bureau of Prisons officers if completed within the past 12 months.
Be sure to verify that any firearm training you receive in order to obtain your permit is approved by the state of Kansas.
No additional training is required for permit renewals.
A renewal notice, instructions and an application form will be mailed to the licensee’s address at least 90 days before expiration. For the time being, renewal applications will not be available online or made available on the Attorney General’s website. This most likely will change as the renewal process develops. Failure to submit a renewal application prior to expiration will result in an additional fee of $15.00. Licenses are considered permanently expired 6 months after the expiration date. Holders of a permanently expired license will have to submit a new application.
Complete the application form and have it notarized.
Either mail the completed, notarized application with the following documents via certified mail to the Attorney General or hand deliver the package to the Attorney General’s Office (Topeka) in lieu of certified mail.
A passport-style color photograph taken within the preceding 30 days;and
A check, for $25 (payable to Kansas Attorney General).
When approved, licensees will be mailed a notice of approval to renew their license. The notice of approval must be taken to a Kansas Driver’s License Station for issuance. Licenses will be renewed for 4 years from the date of expiration.
Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.
Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c05(g) outlines the requirements for RLEOs to qualify in Kansas. The Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) has established a procedure for providing qualified retired or separated law enforcement officers the opportunity for annual firearms qualification on the State of Kansas standard firearms qualification course of fire at KLETC. Qualification dates can be found on the KLETC website.
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Kansas?
Places off-limits even with a permit/license
Public and private K-12 schools, if posted “No Firearms” or at any regularly scheduled school-sponsored activity or event with "adequate security measures," if posted (except a firearm secured in a motor vehicle by a parent, guardian, custodian or someone authorized to act in such person's behalf who is delivering or collecting a student is allowed);
Any public areas of public colleges, universities or municipal buildings that have been equipped with adequate security measures, including armed personnel and electronic equipment such as metal detectors at all public entrances and are posted “No Firearms”;
Only the public areas of state or municipal buildings that are equipped with electronic equipment and armed personnel and are conspicuously posted with signage;
The following institutions are exempt from having adequate security measures in place before the concealed carry of handguns can be prohibited:
State- or municipal-owned medical care facilities and adult care homes;
Community mental health centers;
Indigent health care clinics; and
Any buildings located in the health care district associated with the University of Kansas Medical Center.
Secure areas of any buildings for a correctional facility, jail facility or law enforcement agency;
It is legal to open and concealed carry all knives that are legal to own in Kansas. It is illegal to possess with intent to use unlawfully against another, a dagger, dirk, billy, blackjack, slungshot, dangerous knife, straight-edged razor, throwing star, stiletto, or any other dangerous or deadly weapon or instrument of like character. Ballistic knives and throwing stars are illegal. Students are prohibited from carrying switchblades or gravity knives on school property.
Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.
If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email firstname.lastname@example.org and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!
Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
Should you have any questions regarding the legal process, membership or any of the great features and benefits a USCCA Membership provides, feel free to contact our award-winning Wisconsin-based Member Services team at any time.
Uncover the Backstory Free Book
Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.
Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.
But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…
We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.