As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it may be to stay updated on gun laws…
Nebraska gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked firearms questions in your state. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding Nebraska gun laws. (Not from Nebraska? Check the Legal & Second Amendment tab for your state.)
Can You Have a Gun in Your Car in Nebraska?
Yes, you can carry a loaded handgun in a vehicle without a permit if it is in plain sight. However, some cities have ordinances on carrying firearms in a vehicle without a permit.
Is Nebraska an Open Carry State? Can a Non-Resident Open Carry in Nebraska?
Yes. Open carry is legal in Nebraska without a permit for anyone at least 18 years of age that is not prohibited from carrying a firearm. However, state preemption allows local governments to regulate the open carrying of firearms. In the city of Omaha, for example, a concealed carry permit is required.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in Nebraska? Do I Have to Register My Gun in Nebraska?
No. Nebraska does not have a waiting period after purchasing a handgun. In terms of gun registration, although there is no statewide registration, the City of Omaha requires the registration of all handguns. The city of Lincoln requires reporting of firearms sales other than long guns commonly used for sporting purposes.
Can Felons Own Guns in Nebraska?
No. Per Nebraska Revised Statute 28-1206, no one who has previously been convicted of a felony or that is a fugitive from justice can possess a deadly weapon. In addition, any person that is the subject of a current and validly issued domestic violence protection order, harassment protection order or sexual assault protection order, and is knowingly violating such order, can’t possess a deadly weapon. There are additional factors in the statute that also prohibit a person from possessing deadly weapons.
Which States Honor My Nebraska Concealed Carry Permit?
There are 34 states that honor a Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP). This includes 18 states with full reciprocity, four states that honor only Nebraska CHP’s possessed by Nebraska residents and the currently 12 permitless carry states.
- Colorado (resident permits only)
- Florida (resident permits only)
- Michigan (resident permits only)
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Carolina (resident permits only)
Permitless Carry States
- Alaska (if at least 21 years old)
- Arizona (if at least 21 years old)
- Arkansas (if at least 21 years old)
- Kansas (if at least 21 years old)
- Kentucky (if at least 21 years old)
- Maine (permit recognized; see Maine Reciprocity section for details)
- Mississippi (if at least 21 years old)
- Missouri (if at least 19 years old)
- New Hampshire (if at least 18 years old)
- South Dakota (if at least 18 years old)
- Vermont (if at least 18 years old)
- West Virginia (if at least 21 years old)
Can I Shoot an Intruder in Nebraska? Is Nebraska a Stand Your Ground State?
That’s a very complex question. However, Nebraska is a Castle Doctrine state. The use of deadly force is only justifiable if a person believes that such force is necessary to protect oneself against death, serious bodily harm, kidnapping or sexual intercourse compelled by force or threat.
This is provided that the person didn’t provoke the attack. If the person can avoid the necessity of using such force with complete safety by retreating or surrendering possession of a thing, he or she must do so. There is no duty to retreat while in a person’s dwelling or workplace. Present law requires citizens, if outside their homes, vehicles or outbuildings, to retreat before protecting themselves or family against violent intruders.
Can a Non-Resident Buy a Handgun in Nebraska?
No. A handgun certificate or a concealed carry permit is required for the purchase of a handgun in Nebraska. In order to obtain a handgun certificate or a concealed carry permit, you must be a Nebraska resident, a member of the military permanently stationed in Nebraska or the spouse of a member of the military.
Ready to Learn More About Nebraska Gun Laws?
It is your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map has been designed to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about Nebraska’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit the Nebraska gun laws page now…
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.