As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it can be to stay up to date on Michigan gun laws…
Michigan gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked Michigan firearms questions. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding your state’s gun laws.
Can You Carry a Loaded Gun in Your Car in Michigan?
Handguns may only be carried with a valid concealed pistol license. Without a permit, handguns must be unloaded and enclosed in a case, inaccessible from the interior of the vehicle or carried in the trunk.
Do You Need a Concealed Carry Permit to Carry in Michigan?
Concealed carryConcealed Carry is the practice of carrying a concealed weapon on one’s person in public. Concealed firearms can be carried on a person’s body, typically in a holster, or off body in a purse, backpack or other specialized concealment accessories and garments. is legal with a Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) and for any individual who has a CCW license/permit issued by his or her home state. A Michigan resident may only carry a handgun registered to him or her.
Is It Legal to Open Carry in Michigan?
A Michigan resident can open carryOpen Carry means to carry a firearm in public in circumstances where the firearm is fully or partially (e.g, holstered) visible to others. without a permit. A non-resident must have a permit from his or her home state in order to openly carry.
Is Michigan a Stand Your Ground State?
Michigan is a Castle DoctrineCastle Doctrine is the concept that an individual has a right to be safe and secure within his or her own home or “castle” and should not have to retreat from his or her home to be safe. state and has a “stand your groundSo-called “stand-your-ground” laws allow armed individuals who believe they are in imminent danger to use deadly force under certain circumstances, without first attempting to retreat from the danger.” law. A person may use deadly force and has no duty to retreat. The individual must have an honest and reasonable belief that such force is necessary to prevent the imminent death, great bodily harm or sexual assault to himself or herself or another individual. Any person who uses a gun legitimately in self-defense has immunity from civil liability.
How Long Is a Michigan CPL Certificate Good For?
A Michigan CPL is valid for approximately five years. A concealed carry permit expires on the licensee’s birthdate — between four and five years from date of original issue.
How Much Is a CCW License in Michigan?
A new Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) costs $100. The renewal fee is $115.
Do I Need to Register My Gun in Michigan?
Long guns (rifles and shotguns) do not need to be registered in Michigan. However, some handgun sales must be registered with local law enforcement. You must acquire a License to Purchase prior to acquiring a pistol. The acquisition can be through purchase, gift or inheritance. A License to Purchase is not needed for anyone with a valid Michigan Concealed Pistol License or for firearms dealers purchasing from wholesalers (among others). Someone with a valid Michigan Concealed Pistol License must, however, complete a Pistol Sales Record when buying a pistol.
Ready to Learn More About Michigan Gun Laws?
It is your responsibility as a Michigan gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map has been designed to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about Michigan’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit the Michigan gun laws page now…
Additionally, continued firearms training is crucial to protecting your family. Find a gun range in Michigan through our “Find a Gun Range” resource — made possible by our partnership with WhereToShoot.org.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and, as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.