As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it can be to stay up to date on state gun laws…
Indiana gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked Indiana firearms questions. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding Indiana gun laws.
Can I Carry a Gun in My Car in Indiana?
Yes, with a valid concealed carry license. Without a permit, handguns must be unloaded, not readily accessible and secured in a case.
Can an 18-Year-Old Carry a Handgun in Indiana?
Yes, 18-year-olds can open carry and concealed carry in Indiana with a valid license to carry.
Can I Get a Gun Permit With a Misdemeanor in Indiana?
The requirements for an Indiana License to Carry a Handgun (LCH) include that an applicant is a “proper person.” Depending on the nature of the misdemeanor conviction and how long ago you were convicted, you may not be eligible for an LCH. For example, convictions for crimes for which the person could have been sentenced for more than one year and for any crime involving an inability to safely handle a handgun would disqualify an applicant.
Does Indiana Have a Lifetime Gun Permit?
Yes, As of July 1, 2020, the fee for a lifetime license will be $50 for anyone who does not currently possess a valid Indiana handgun license, and $40 for anyone who currently possesses a valid Indiana handgun license.
Can I Carry a Gun in a Bar in Indiana?
Yes, with a valid CCW permit/license, provided the property is not posted as prohibiting firearms. There are no statutes prohibiting the possession of firearms in bars or restaurants in Indiana.
*As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgment, slow your reaction times or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Can I Carry a Gun in a State Park in Indiana?
Yes. With a valid CCW permit/license, firearms can be carried in Indiana state and national parks.
In Which States Is My Indiana Permit Valid?
The Indiana License to Carry a Handgun (LCH) is currently honored in 32 states however that is subject to change. Check the USCCA Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map for current information. The website provides detailed information on those states along with restrictions that apply, primarily for states where the minimum age to carry is 21 years old.
Ready to Learn More About Indiana Gun Laws?
It is your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. We designed the USCCA Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about Indiana’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit the Indiana gun laws page now…
In addition, continued training is crucial to protecting your family. Find a shooting range in Indiana through our “Find a Shooting Range” resource — made possible by our partnership with the National Shooting Sports Foundation and WhereToShoot.org.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. Members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and, as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.