As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it may be to stay up to date on Utah gun laws…
Utah gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked Utah firearms questions. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding Utah gun laws. (Not from Utah? Don’t worry, your state is coming soon…)
Can You Have a Loaded Gun in Your Car in Utah?
Yes, a loaded gun is allowed in vehicles, if you have a permit.
Without a permit for anyone that can legally possess a firearm, as long as the vehicle is in the person’s lawful possession or the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle.
Is Utah a Gun-Friendly State?
That depends on an individual’s point of view. Open carry is legal in Utah with a concealed carry permit. Concealed carry is legal with a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) or a permit from another state or county. Utah will honor all other state’s permits.
Firearms buyers must be at least 18 years old unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, but no permit, background check or firearms registration required when buying a handgun from a private individual. There are a number of places that are off-limits even with a CFP. These can be found on our Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws by State website.
Is Utah an Open Carry State?
Open carry is legal with a concealed carry permit. Without a permit, you can only open carry a handgun if it is unloaded and at least two actions from being fired (e.g., rack the slide to chamber, then pull the trigger).
Can You Conceal Carry in Utah Without a Permit?
A permit is required to conceal carry in Utah. Utah honors all other state and county permits.
How Much Is a Concealed Carry Permit in Utah?
A Utah CFP costs $52. This does not include the cost of required training, fingerprinting and photos.
Is Utah a Stand Your Ground State?
Utah is a Castle Doctrine state and has a “stand your ground” law. There is no duty to retreat if a person feels deadly force is justified to prevent a felony from being committed. The law applies in defense of real property or personal property at a person’s residence or any place where a person has a legal right to be.
Ready to Learn More About Utah Gun Laws?
It is your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map has been designed to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about Utah’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit the Utah gun laws page now…
Additionally, continued firearms training is crucial to protecting your family. Find a gun range in Utah through our “Find a Shooting Range” resource — made possible by our partnership with the National Shooting Sports Foundation (NSSF).