Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Arizona's concealed carry laws. Applying for a CWP varies by state.
Read about the process for getting a Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit below.
COMPLETE a firearms safety training course, or meet one of the exemptions outlined in the Training Requirements Section.
DOWNLOAD and complete the Concealed Carry Weapons Permit application (or contact the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit via email to request an application packet)
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX -- You will be notified if your application has been approved.
A CWP applicant must demonstrate competence with a firearm through any of the following:
A Concealed Carry and Home Defense Fundamentals Class from the USCCA meets permitting requirements in Arizona.
An applicant must:
*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Arizona.
Up to 75 days to process
$60 for ra new permit
$43 for a replacement permit
Valid for Five Years from Date of Issue
Moving to Arizona and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply? Is your concealed carry permit from your former state transferable?Arizona doesn't distinguish between resident and non-resident permits, so you can apply for your permit at any time. You may carry concealed utilizing another state's permit as long as that permit is valid and in good standing. Although your permit isn't transferable, you may be able to use it as proof of firearms competence when applying for an Arizona permit. Contact the permit unit for additional information.
Moving from Arizona and have an Arizona resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Arizona permit remains valid?If a person with an Arizona concealed weapon permit establishes residency in another state, the permit is valid until it expires provided that individual submits the above referenced name/address change form.
Renewals may be processed between 90 days prior to expiration and 60 days after expiration. If your permit is expired more than 60 days, and you still want to possess a concealed weapons permit, you must apply for a new permit. You may use your expired permit card as proof you have attended the firearms safety training, if it is in good standing.
COMPLETE the renewal application, include the applicable fee and mail them to DPS.
AZ DPS-CWPU Attn: Renewal
P.O. Box 6488
Phoenix, AZ 85005-6488
You may also drop off your application packet at the DPS Public Service Center building located at 2222 W. Encanto Blvd in Phoenix between the hours of 8:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. Please go to the main entrance.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX -- Typically, applications are processed within 75 days of receipt if no additional research is required.
The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You NeedBecome a member
Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your FamilyFind a USCCA Class