As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it may be to stay up to date on your state’s gun laws…

Arizona residents, you’re in luck. We’ve accumulated some of the most frequently asked questions about Arizona gun laws and are now bringing you the answers! (Not from Arizona? Find your state and check back soon for more to come…)

Can I Open Carry in Arizona Without Being a Resident?

Open carry is legal in Arizona for any person who is at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm. Some areas are off limits, including schools and liquor stores that have posted “no weapons” signs.

Do You Need a Concealed Carry Permit to Have a Gun in Your Car in Arizona?

No. Anyone that is 21 years old and can legally purchase/own a firearm can conceal carry a firearm in their car. Firearms must be in plain view from outside the vehicle for anyone that is under 21 years old.

Take an Arizona in-person class

Is Arizona a Stand Your Ground State?

Arizona state laws effectively allow people to stand their ground. If you’re not engaged in an unlawful act and you’re in a place you have a right to be, you don’t have to retreat when someone threatens or assaults you. Nevertheless, you can only use proportional and reasonable force when immediately necessary to protect against potentially deadly force.

Do You Have to Register a Gun in Arizona?

No. In fact, Arizona Rev. Stat. § 13-3102(B) states that no political subdivision of the state may “require the licensing or registration of firearms or ammunition or any firearm or ammunition components or related accessories…”

Can You Carry a Gun in the Grand Canyon?

Yes. Federal law makes park firearm regulations reflect state law. Anyone who can legally possess firearms under applicable federal, state and local laws, can possess firearms in the Grand Canyon. However, the park buildings (visitor centers, ranger stations, offices, fee collection buildings and maintenance facilities, etc.) are still federal facilities and off limits to firearms. These places are marked with signs at all public entrances.

Can a Non-Resident Carry Concealed in Arizona?

Yes. Anyone at least 21 years old who can legally possess a firearm, may conceal carry a firearm without a permit. Arizona Concealed Weapons Permits (CWP) are issued to both residents and non-residents, though.

Can You Carry a Gun into a Bank in Arizona?

There are no federal or state laws prohibiting carry in banks in Arizona. As private property, carry is allowed unless a sign is posted prohibiting firearms.

Ready to Learn More About Arizona Gun Laws?

It’s your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map is the ultimate tool for armed citizens like you to stay informed. To learn more about this state’s permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements visit Arizona’s gun laws page now…


The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.