As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it can be to stay up to date on gun laws…

Vermont gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked firearms questions in your state. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding Vermont gun laws. (Not from Vermont? Check the Legal & Second Amendment tab for your state.)

Can You Have a Loaded Gun in Your Car in Vermont?

Yes. Anyone at least 18 years old and not otherwise prohibited from possessing a firearm can carry a loaded handgun in a vehicle without a permit.

Can a Non-Resident Carry a Gun?

Yes. Vermont is a constitutional carry state. Anyone at least 18 years old and not otherwise prohibited by statute from possessing a firearm can carry a handgun openly or concealed without a permit.

Do You Need a Permit to Concealed Carry in Vermont?

No. Since Vermont is a constitutional carry state, anyone at least 18 years old and not otherwise prohibited by statute from possessing a firearm can carry a handgun openly or concealed without a permit.

Does Vermont Have a ‘Stand Your Ground’ Law?

No. Vermont does not have Castle Doctrine or a “stand your ground” law. But courts have consistently ruled that there is no duty to retreat when attacked in your dwelling. The law in Vermont states, “If a person kills or wounds another under any of the circumstances enumerated below, he or she shall be guiltless: (1) In the just and necessary defense of his or her own life or the life of his or her husband, wife, parent, child, brother, sister, master, mistress, servant, guardian or ward; or (2) In the suppression of a person attempting to commit murder, sexual assault, aggravated sexual assault, burglary or robbery with force or violence.”

Can a Non-Resident Buy a Handgun in Vermont?

As per federal law, you may only purchase a handgun in a state in which you do not have residency if it is transferred through a federally licensed firearms dealer (FFL) in that state and mailed to an FFL in your state. Vermont requires background checks be performed for all firearms transfers except those between immediate family members and law enforcement.

Are There Magazine Limits for Handguns?

Yes. No more than 15 rounds are permitted for handguns. In 2018, Vermont enacted legislation to generally restrict the sale, purchase, possession, manufacture and importation of large-capacity ammunition-feeding devices. There is a grandfather provision for large-capacity magazines that were lawfully possessed on or before April 11, 2018. There are various exemptions, which include law enforcement, government officials and shooting competitions. Additional exemptions include an attached tubular device designed to accept and capable of operating only with .22-caliber rimfire ammunition as well as curios or relics.

On March 25, 2022, Gov. Phil Scott signed S. 4 into law, which permits a non-resident to transport a high-capacity magazine into the state for the exclusive purpose of use in an organized shooting competition sponsored by an entity registered with the secretary of state. The device also must be lawfully possessed under the laws of another state. It will go into effect on July 1, 2022.

Where Can I Carry a Gun in Vermont?

There are only a few places where open and/or concealed carry of firearms is prohibited in Vermont. They include:

  • Any elementary, middle or high school, including buildings and grounds and on a school bus
  • State institutions
  • State buildings
  • Residential treatment program properties
  • Private game preserves, refuges and the Mud Creek controlled hunting area in Alburgh
  • Courthouses
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or state law or regulation

On March 25, 2022, Gov. Phil Scott signed S. 4 into law, which restricts possession of firearms in hospital buildings. It will go into effect on July 1, 2022.

Ready to Learn More About Vermont Gun Laws?

It is your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map has been designed to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about Vermont’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit the Vermont gun laws page now…

The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and, as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.