Louisiana Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws

Carry allowed with my Louisiana permit?
No
Yes
Yes, Selected State(s)

Have concealed carry permits from more than one state?

Check out our new Multi-State Permit Tool here!

4.6M

STATE POPULATION

37

STATES HONORED

21

MINIMUM AGE TO CC

37

RECIPROCATING STATES

10

ATTORNEYS IN USCCA NETWORK

100

USCCA CERTIFIED INSTRUCTORS

397k

PERMITS ISSUED

5

YEARS PERMIT VALID

8.6%

PERMIT PERCENTAGE

NEED ANSWERS NOW?

There's a lot of information here, so our Customer Engagement Team is always ready to help:

Summary of Louisiana Gun Laws

Louisiana is a shall-issue state. Concealed weapons permits are processed at the state level by the Department of Public Safety.

There is no permit, background check or firearms registration required when buying a handgun from a private individual.

The state of Louisiana does not prohibit the open carry of firearms in public. Therefore, it is legal in Louisiana without a permit for anyone at least 18 years old that is not prohibited from possessing a firearm. Some areas are off-limits, including parades and bars.

Concealed carry is legal for residents with a Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) and for non-residents with a permit/license from a state recognized by Louisiana. As of August 1st, 2022, constitutional carry is legal for resident active duty military and veterans only. However, on March 5th, 2024, the governor signed a permitless carry bill into law, making Louisiana a constitutional carry state. The law will take effect on July 4th, 2024. CHPs are available for residents and members of the military permanently stationed in Louisiana; non-resident permits are not available. Applicants must be at least 21 years old, a resident of LA and complete a firearms training course. There are exemptions for non-residents who are in the military and have a Louisiana driver’s license or Louisiana state ID. In terms of reciprocity, Louisiana honors permits issued by states that recognize Louisiana permits.

Use of Force in Defense

The use of force is justifiable under either of the following circumstances:

  • When committed for the purpose of preventing a forcible offense against the person or a forcible offense or trespass against property in a person’s lawful possession, provided that the force or violence used must be reasonable and apparently necessary to prevent such offense.
  • When committed by a person against an unlawful entry into the dwelling, place of business or motor vehicle, and the person using the force or violence reasonably believes that the use of force or violence is necessary to prevent the entry or to compel the intruder to leave the dwelling, place of business or motor vehicle.

Self-Defense

Louisiana is a Castle Doctrine state with a “stand your ground” statute. There is no duty to retreat in any place a person has the legal right to be before using force or violence and a person may meet force with force.

Defense of Others

It is justifiable to use deadly force when it is reasonably apparent that the person attacked could have justifiably used such means himself, and when it is reasonably believed that such intervention is necessary to protect the other person.

[La. Rev. Stat. 14:19, 14:20 & 14:22]

Join the USCCA todayJoin the USCCA todayJoin the USCCA today

Louisiana Gun Laws at a Glance

Carry Basics
Constitutional Carry?
Does Louisiana allow constitutional carry?

No. Louisiana does not allow constitutional carry. As of August 1st, 2022, constitutional carry is legal for residents of Louisiana that are active duty military and veterans only. Furthermore, on March 5th, 2024, the governor signed a permitless carry bill into law, making Louisiana a constitutional carry state. The law will take effect on July 4th, 2024.

Open Carry Permitted?
Is open carry permitted in Louisiana?

Yes, without a permit. Any person who is at least 18 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm can open carry.

[La. Rev. Stat. § 40:1382(A)]

Gun Permit Licensure?
If Louisiana requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?

Louisiana is a shall-issue state.

AMMUNITION RESTRICTIONS?
Does Louisiana have ammunition restrictions?
Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?
What is the minimum age in Louisiana to get a concealed carry permit?

You must be at least 21 years old to concealed carry in Louisiana.

Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?
Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Louisiana with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?

No. A Louisiana concealed carry permit only allows for the carrying of handguns.

Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray?
Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Louisiana?

Yes. There is no statute prohibiting the purchase or use of pepper spray in Louisiana.

MAGAZINE LIMITS FOR HANDGUNS?
Does Louisiana have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?

No. Louisiana places no restrictions on capacity for handgun magazines.

Tasers or Stun Guns?
Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Louisiana?

Yes. Stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a permit.

Join the USCCA todayJoin the USCCA todayJoin the USCCA today
Carry Locations
STORE IN A VEHICLE IN AN EMPLOYEE PARKING LOT?
Does Louisiana have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?

No property owner, tenant, public or private employer, or business entity shall prohibit any person who lawfully possesses a firearm from transporting or storing a firearm in a locked, privately-owned motor vehicle in any parking lot, parking garage, or other designated parking area. However, firearms must be hidden from plain view or within a locked case or container within the vehicle.  This does not apply to properties where the possession of firearms is prohibited under state or federal law.

[La. Rev. Stat. § 32:292.1]

CARRY IN VEHICLE?
Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Louisiana?

Yes. Per the Louisiana State Police (LSP) Concealed Handguns Frequently Asked Questions, under most circumstances, carrying a handgun in a motor vehicle is legal in Louisiana.

CARRY AT ROADSIDE REST AREAS?
Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in Louisiana?

Yes.

CARRY IN STATE/NATIONAL PARKS, STATE/NATIONAL FORESTS AND WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS (WMAS)?
Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in Louisiana?

Yes, with a Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit or a permit from a state Louisiana recognizes.

[La. Rev. Stat. § 56:1691 and La. Admin. Code Tit. 25 Part IX § 313(C)]

CARRY IN RESTAURANTS THAT SERVE ALCOHOL?
Can you carry a concealed firearm in restaurants that serve alcohol in Louisiana?

Any establishment that sells alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises is off-limits for concealed carry permit holders. For restaurants with bars, the bar areas are off-limits. In addition, some establishments may post signs stating that firearms are not allowed. Based on the Louisiana State Police website, for purposes of concealed handgun law, a permittee is considered under the influence of alcohol when a blood alcohol reading of .05% or greater by weight of alcohol in the blood is obtained, or a blood or urine test shows any confirmed presence of a CDS.

[La. Rev. Stat. § 95:5]

CARRY/POSSESS AT A HOTEL?
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Louisiana?

Louisiana statutes don't specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See the Handguns at Hotels page for additional information.

Key State Laws
PUBLIC ACCESS TO CONCEALED CARRY REGISTRY?
Does Louisiana allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?

No. The public cannot access the Louisiana concealed carry registry.

Preemption?
Does Louisiana have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?

Yes. As of August 1, 2020, there is statewide preemption of all gun laws. 

[La. Rev. Stat. § 40:1796]

Red Flag Law?
Does Louisiana have a red flag law?

No. Louisiana does not have a red flag law.

Duty to Inform Officer You're Carrying?
Do you have a duty to notify a police officer that you're carrying a concealed firearm in Louisiana?

Yes. By Louisiana state law, you have a duty to inform law enforcement that you are carrying a concealed weapon.

[La. Rev. Stat. § 40:1379.3(I)(2)]

NON-RESIDENT PERMITTING?
Does Louisiana issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?

Yes, but only for members of the military permanently stationed in Louisiana with a Louisiana driver’s license or Louisiana state ID.

DRIVER'S LICENSE LINKED TO Carry Permit?
Is my Louisiana driver’s license linked to my Louisiana carry permit?

Yes. Your Louisiana driver’s license is linked to your Louisiana concealed handgun permit. Therefore, a law enforcement officer will be notified immediately that you are a concealed carry permit holder if they run your driver’s license.

"No Weapons Allowed" Signs Enforced?
Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Louisiana? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.

No. Not mentioned in state statutes.

Brandishing?
Does Louisiana state law define brandishing?

No definition of brandishing was found in Louisiana law. However, negligent carrying of a concealed handgun is the intentional or criminally negligent carrying by any person when it is foreseeable that the handgun may discharge, or when others are placed in reasonable apprehension that the handgun may discharge, or when the handgun is being carried, brandished or displayed under circumstances that create a reasonable apprehension on the part of members of the public or a law enforcement official that a crime is being committed or is about to be committed.

[La. Rev. Stat. 40:1382]

Carry While Using Alcohol or a Controlled Dangerous Substance?
Does Louisiana have laws regarding carrying a concealed firearm while using alcohol or a controlled dangerous substance?

Not while under the influence of alcohol (BAC of 0.05 or greater) or a controlled dangerous substance (when a blood test or urine test shows any confirmed presence of a controlled dangerous substance as defined in L.R.S. 40:961 and 40:964).

[La. Rev. Stat. § 40:1379.3(I)(1)]

As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times, or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.

Handgun Purchase & Possession
BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR PRIVATE GUN SALES?
Are background checks required for private gun sales in Louisiana?

No. Private firearms transfers are not subject to a background check requirement, although federal and state purchaser prohibitions, including age restrictions, still apply. It is recommended that you retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun.

POSSESS A HANDGUN ON MY PRIVATE PROPERTY WITHOUT A PERMIT?
Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home without a permit?

Yes. Carrying a handgun is permitted for anyone legally entitled to carry a firearm, without a license, in or on property that the person carrying the handgun legally controls.

[La. Rev. Stat. 14:95.2(C)(4)]

No individual to whom a concealed handgun permit is issued may carry such concealed handgun into the private residence of another without first receiving the consent of that person.

[La. Rev. Stat. § 1379.3(o)]

MINIMUM AGE TO POSSESS AND TRANSPORT?
What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Louisiana?

You must be at least 18 years old to transport or possess a handgun in Louisiana.

[La. Rev. Stat. § 14:95.8]

PURCHASE PERMITS?
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Louisiana?

No. You do not need a permit to buy a handgun in Louisiana.

LOUISIANA PERMIT EXEMPTS FROM BACKGROUND CHECK?
Does my current Louisiana concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?

Yes. Five-year concealed handgun permits issued on or after March 9, 2015 qualify. Lifetime permits do not qualify.

WAITING PERIOD?
Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Louisiana?

No. There is no waiting period to purchase a handgun in Louisiana.

HANDGUN REGISTRATION?
Do handguns need to be registered in Louisiana?

No. Handguns do not need to be registered in Louisiana.

Our rights shouldn't stop when we cross state lines. Support National Reciprocity. Take Action: Sign the Petition NowOur rights shouldn't stop when we cross state lines. Support National Reciprocity. Take Action: Sign the Petition NowOur rights shouldn't stop when we cross state lines. Support National Reciprocity. Take Action: Sign the Petition Now

Related Blog Posts

Have Questions? Contact Our Award-Winning, Wisconsin-Based Member Services Team 24/7 at 800-674-9779


STATE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

The right of each citizen to keep and bear arms is fundamental and shall not be infringed. Any restriction on this right shall be subject to strict scrutiny." ARTICLE 1, § 11

Louisiana Concealed Carry Reciprocity With Other States

Which states' permits does Louisiana honor?

Alabama (at least 21 years old)

Alaska

Arizona

Arkansas

Colorado

Florida (handguns only)

Georgia (at least 21 years old)

Idaho (Enhanced permits only)

Indiana (at least 21 years old)

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Maine (at least 21 years old)

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri (at least 21 years old)

Montana (at least 21 years old)

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire (at least 21 years old)

North Carolina

North Dakota (Class 1 permits only)

Ohio

Oklahoma

Pennsylvania

South Carolina

South Dakota (at least 21 years old)

Tennessee

Texas

Utah (at least 21 years old)

Vermont (even though VT doesn't issue licenses)

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia (at least 21 years old)

Wisconsin

Wyoming

Louisiana honors permits issued by states that recognize Louisiana permits. The minimum age to conceal carry is 21 years old. Louisiana residents must have a Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) to carry in the state.


Other States' Reciprocity With Louisiana

Which states honor permits from Louisiana?

Alabama (permitless carry, at least 19 years old)

Arkansas (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Idaho (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Indiana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Minnesota

Montana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Nevada

New Hampshire (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

North Carolina

North Dakota (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

South Dakota (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Vermont (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Virginia

Washington

Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.


States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Louisiana

Louisiana offers resident and non-resident (military with Louisiana State ID's) permits. If indicated with “Resident only” below, that state only honors Louisiana resident permits (and not those issued to non-residents).

Alaska (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Arizona (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Colorado (at least 21 years old and resident permits only)

Florida (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Georgia (Permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Iowa (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Kansas (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Kentucky (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Maine (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Michigan (at least 21 years old and resident permits only)

Mississippi (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Missouri (permitless carry, at least 19 years old, 18 for military)

Nebraska (Permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Ohio (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Oklahoma (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Pennsylvania (resident permits only)

South Carolina (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Tennessee (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Texas (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Utah (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

West Virginia (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Wisconsin (only permits issued/renewed on or after 3/9/2015)

Wyoming (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)


Permitless Carry States

Alabama (permitless carry, at least 19 years old)

Alaska (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Arizona (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Arkansas (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Florida (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Georgia (Permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Idaho (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Indiana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Iowa (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Kansas (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Kentucky (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Maine (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Mississippi (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Missouri (permitless carry, at least 19 years old, 18 for military)

Montana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Nebraska (Permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

New Hampshire (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

North Dakota (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Ohio (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Oklahoma (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

South Carolina (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

South Dakota (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Tennessee (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Texas (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Utah (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Vermont (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

West Virginia (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Wyoming (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

*PC-18 = permitless carry if at least 18 years old

*PC-21 = permitless carry if at least 21 years old

Permitless carry includes constitutional carry states as well as states where an individual must meet certain qualifications, e.g., no DUIs in the last 10 years, in order to legally carry (Tennessee). Each state determines the requirements and any limitations on the carry of firearms. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.


Louisiana Concealed Carry License Information

Residency Changes:

Moving to Louisiana and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply?Louisiana issues permits to residents and members of the military permanently stationed in Louisiana with a Louisiana driver’s license or Louisiana state ID only. You can apply for your permit with the Department of Public Safety once you have a Louisiana driver’s license or Louisiana state ID.

Moving from Louisiana and have a Louisiana resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Louisiana permit remains valid?According to LAC 55:I:1309.F, when a permittee ceases to reside in Louisiana the permit becomes invalid and must be returned to the Department of Public Safety. If the individual returns to Louisiana, he or she must reapply for a permit.

However, LRS 40:1379.3 J (4) states that a person who maintains a dwelling in Louisiana, but is residing elsewhere as a member of the United States military or as a student, is still considered to be a resident of Louisiana.

Requirements:

An applicant must:

  • Be at least 21 years old;
  • Have completed a firearms training course;
  • Be a resident of the state of Louisiana or a member of the military permanently stationed in Louisiana;
  • Be a U.S. citizen;
  • Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor in this or any other state relating to a controlled dangerous substance within the last 5 years;
  • Not have been convicted of a crime of violence within the last 5 years;
  • Not have been convicted of a crime of violence or any crime punishable by imprisonment for a term of 1 year or greater. However, a person who has been convicted of a violation of 18 U.S.C. 491(a) shall be permitted to qualify for a concealed handgun permit if 15 or more years have elapsed;
  • Not have a history of engaging in violent behavior (there is a rebuttable presumption that an applicant has a history of engaging in violent behavior upon proof that, within the last 10 years, the applicant has, on 3 or more occasions, been arrested for or charged with any “crime of violence,” or has on 2 or more occasions been arrested for or charged with any crime of violence punishable by death);
  • Not have had a permit revoked within 4 years prior to the most recent application;
  • Not have had a permit denied within 1 year prior to the most recent application;
  • Not be a fugitive from justice;
  • Not be an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana, depressants, stimulants or narcotic drugs;
  • Not have been adjudicated to be mentally deficient or been committed to a mental institution (unless the applicant’s right to possess a firearm has been legally restored);
  • Not have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States; and
  • Meet federal law requirements.

*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Louisiana.

Fees:

Initial permits and renewals - $125 (65 years and older or active duty military personnel - $62.50)Lifetime permits - $500.00 (65 years and older or active duty military personnel - $250.00) 

*Note Louisiana exempts HONORABLY DISCHARGED veterans of the U.S. armed forces from all fees associated with 5-year or lifetime concealed handgun permits. This Act doesn’t affect currently active military personnel. Active duty personnel remain eligible to receive the half price discount with a copy of your most recent orders.

*Note If any applicant has not continuously resided in Louisiana for the past 15 years an additional $50.00 fee is required (HONORABLY DISCHARGED VETERANS ONLY are exempt from this fee). 

Valid For:

5 years

Processing Time:

No state law on file

Application:
Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permits:

Yes, but only for members of the military permanently stationed in Louisiana with a Louisiana driver’s license or Louisiana state ID. The process is the same as for residents.

Name/Address Changes:

Any permittee must notify the Department of any address or name change within 30 days of the change. Failure to timely notify the department of a name or address change may result in suspension of the permit for up to 30 days.

Complete the online change of address form.

Lost/Stolen Permits:

If your permit is lost or stolen, you need to notify the Concealed Handgun Permit Unit in a notarized written statement completely describing the loss or theft. Include a copy of any police reports made pertaining to this matter. A new permit will be mailed to your address of record.


Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit Application Process

How to Apply for a Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit


Firearms Training Requirements in Louisiana

An applicant shall demonstrate competence with a handgun by any one of the following:

  • Completion of any National Rifle Association handguns safety or training course conducted by a National Rifle Association certified instructor;
  • Completion of any Department of Public Safety and Corrections approved firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school;
  • Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class approved by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections and offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement;
  • Completion of small arms training while serving with the Armed Forces of the United States of America as evidenced by a DD-214 or service record evidence of having successfully completed small arms training and qualification.
  • The National Rifle Association’s personal protection course.

Refresher training is required for all permit renewal applications.

Find a USCCA Certified Instructor or Firearms Training Class Near You


USCCA train with confidenceUSCCA train with confidenceUSCCA train with confidence

Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit Renewal Process

How to Renew a Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit


Law Enforcement Officers (LEO)/Retired LEOs

Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.

Louisiana Rev. Stat. §§ 40:1379.1.3 and 1.4 establish the state requirements for LEOs and RLEOs to carry under LEOSA. The statutes indicate that once qualified, the officers may carry a concealed firearm anywhere in the state, including any place open to the public. Annual firearm qualification is conducted by the Peace Officer Standards and Training Council (POST). The POST procedures state that if a retired officer was certified at the time of retirement and has not experienced a five-year break in full-time law enforcement service, the officer need only qualify with his weapon. If the retired officer failed to maintain his firearms qualification, he must successfully complete the Pre-Academy Firearms Course as prescribed by POST. POST has over 600 certified firearms instructors across the state. 

RLEO Handgun Qualification Procedures and Form


Louisiana Location Restrictions

WHERE CAN'T I CARRY A CONCEALED FIREARM IN LOUISIANA?
Places off-limits even with a permit/license
  • Any school campus or school bus;
  • A law enforcement office, station or building;
  • A detention facility, prison or jail;
  • A courthouse or courtroom;
  • A polling place;
  • A municipal building or other public building or structure, only if the building or structure is utilized as the meeting place of the governing authority of a political subdivision;
  • The State Capitol building;
  • Any portion of an airport facility where the carrying of firearms is prohibited under federal law, except that no person shall be prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the terminal, if the firearm is encased for shipment for the purpose of checking such firearm as lawful baggage;
  • A parade or demonstration for which a permit was issued by a governmental entity;
  • A private residence of another without first receiving the consent of that person;
  • Any establishment that sells alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises (for restaurants with bars, the bar areas are off-limits);
  • Designated gaming areas of casinos other than for full-time commissioned law enforcement officers who are on duty and within their respective jurisdiction or on-duty gaming security personnel who are licensed by the Louisiana State Board of Private Security Examiners [La. Rev. State 42:17.2905]; and
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or state law or regulation.

La. Rev. Stat. §§ 40:1379.3(N) & (O)

WHERE CAN I CARRY A CONCEALED FIREARM IN LOUISIANA?
  • Carry in restaurants that serve alcohol? You can concealed carry in the restaurant area of an eatery, unless posted. However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants.
  • Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? Yes.
  • Carry in roadside rest areas? Yes.
  • Carry in state/national parks, state/national forests, and WMAs? Yes.
  • Carry in places of worship? Yes, as of August 1, 2020, with permission from someone with authority.

FAQ: Louisiana Concealed Carry Questions

WHAT ARE THE KNIFE LAWS IN LOUISIANA?

It is legal to own and open or concealed carry any knife in Louisiana, except that it is not legal to concealed carry an automatic switchblade or any other automatic knife. Knives may not be carried on the property of elementary, secondary, high schools, vocational-technical schools, school buses and school functions/activities. The City of Shreveport prohibits possession of weapons at government facilities and facilities owned by the city.

[LRS 14, § 95(4)(a), 95.2 & Shreveport Code § 50-135.2]

WEAR A COVID MASK & CARRY?
I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Louisiana, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?

There is no known statute in Louisiana making it illegal to wear a COVID mask while carrying concealed. A state statute was identified, making it illegal to wear a hood, mask, or facial disguise with the intention of concealing the person’s identity in any public place.

[LRS Tit. 14, § 313

CARRY WHILE GUN HUNTING?
Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in Louisiana?

Yes.

CARRY WHILE BOW HUNTING?
Can you concealed carry while bow hunting in Louisiana?

Yes. Bow hunters may carry any caliber of firearm on their person, while hunting with a bow. 

[La. Rev. Stat. 56:116.1 (E)]

HUNTER HARASSMENT LAW?
Is there a Hunter Harassment Law in Louisiana?

Yes. No person shall interfere with the lawful taking of a wild animal by a hunter, trapper, or fisherman or interfere with the process of taking, with intent to prevent the taking on lands or waters managed by the state or upon private lands or waters.

[La. Rev. Stat. § 56:648.1]


Louisiana Gun Laws Updates

2021-05-18
Added info on driver's license link to permit in At A Glance table

Did We Miss Something?

Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.

If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email support@uscca.com and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!

Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.

The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.

If you have any questions regarding USCCA Membership, Delta Defense, handguns laws or the lawful process of carrying concealed, please contact the award-winning Delta Defense Customer Engagement Team.