Whether you’re new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed carry permit may seem daunting. It doesn’t have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing the laws. Applying for a CCW varies by state. Read about the process for getting a Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun License below.
Similar to permit requirements, states vary greatly in their processes for how an applicant obtains a concealed handgun permit, what their permits/licenses are called, whether licenses include photographs, whether fingerprinting is required, license duration, license costs and turnaround times. Some states allow an applicant to complete an application online, while others require an in-person visit to the office of the respective issuing authority. There are even states that require the applicant to provide a list of non-related character references.
Concealed Carry Permit Basics
Kansas is a shall-issue, permitless carry state. Shall-issue means licensing authorities are compelled to issue a license as long as an applicant meets the basic requirements set out by state law. State patrol issues licenses at the state level.
Open and concealed carry are legal without a license in Kansas. Anyone at least 18 years of age and legally entitled to possess a firearm may openly carry a firearm in public without a license or permit. Permitless concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years old that is not prohibited from carrying a firearm.
Concealed Carry Handgun Licenses (CCHLs) are restricted to residents and members of the military stationed in Kansas. The minimum age to obtain a provisional CCHL is 18 years old, and one must be 21 years old to obtain a standard CCHL.
Federally Prohibited Persons
The Federal Gun Control Act of 1968 and the Federal Omnibus Consolidated Appropriations Act of 1997 make it illegal for a person who fits into any of the prohibited categories to ship, transport, receive or possess firearms or ammunition. These laws prevent a state from issuing a concealed handgun permit/license as it would be illegal for people who fit in these categories, by federal law, to own or possess a gun.
What Are the License Requirements in Kansas?
An applicant must:
- Be at least 21 years old for a standard CCHL and 18 to 20 years old for a provisional permit
- Have completed an eight-hour firearms training course or other approved training
- Be a citizen of the United States, a permanent resident alien or an eligible non-immigrant alien
- Be a resident of Kansas with a valid driver’s license or state-issued identification card, or reside in Kansas while serving on active duty in the military
- Be a resident of the county where you are applying
- Have read the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act and be familiar with its provisions
- Meet federal law requirements
Do I Need Firearms Training in Kansas?
Yes, the applicant must complete an eight-hour handgun safety and training course approved by the attorney general. The course must include:
- Training in the safe storage of handguns
- Actual firing of weapons
- Instruction in Kansas laws governing the carrying of concealed handguns and the use of deadly force
Safety and training courses taken outside the state of Kansas can satisfy Kansas’ concealed carry permitting requirement if the attorney general has certified that the out-of-state course meets or exceeds the standards set by Kansas law.
Training exemptions include prior handgun training of retired law enforcement (if retired less than 8 years) and current Department of Corrections officers, parole officers or Federal Bureau of Prisons officers if completed within the past 12 months.
Be sure to verify that any firearm training you receive to obtain your license is approved by the state of Kansas.
No additional training is required for license renewals.
How Do I Get a Concealed Handgun Permit in Kansas?
Step 1: Complete a firearm training course if required.
Step 2: Download and read the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act.
Step 3: Download and complete the application.
Step 4: Take the completed application with the following documents to the sheriff in the county of residence:
- Photocopy of certificate showing completion of training course
- A 2×2 passport-style color photograph taken within the preceding 30 days
- A photocopy of your Kansas driver’s license or Kansas identification card
- Two checks: one for $79.50 payable to the Office of the Attorney General and $32.50 payable to the Sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence.
You will be fingerprinted.
You will be notified if your application has been approved
For more information, visit the USCCA Kansas gun laws page now…