Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Maine's concealed carry laws. Applying for a CCH varies by state.
Read about the process for getting a Maine Carry Concealed Handguns below.
COMPLETE a training course within five years prior to the date of application.
READ the Maine concealed carry pamphlet: Laws Relating to Permits to Carry Concealed Handguns.
DOWNLOAD the application
MAIL your completed application and the following documentation to the state police or your local police station:
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX.
You will be notified within 30 days of whether your application has been approved or denied.
An applicant must provide proof that they have completed a course within five years that meets:
Potential exemption: The demonstration of knowledge of handgun safety to the issuing authority may not be required of any applicant who was or is in any of the U.S. armed forces and has received at least basic firearms training.
An applicant must:
*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Maine.
$35 for New Permits
$20 for Renewals
Valid for Four Years from Date of Issue
30 Day Processing for Residents of 5+ years; 60 Day Processing Time for Residents Less Than 5 Years.
Moving to Maine and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply?Maine issues resident and non-resident permits, so you can apply for your permit at any time. You may apply as a resident once you have a voter's registration card, a Maine driver's license or state ID.
Moving from Maine and have a Maine resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Maine permit remains valid?If a person with a Maine permit to carry concealed handguns establishes residency in another state, the permit is valid provided you follow the procedures in the above referenced Name/Address changes section.
Renewals are the responsibility of the permittee. You must submit renewal applications within 6 months of the expiration of your permit.
DOWNLOAD the appropriate application - Resident or Non-Resident.
Renewals must be submitted within six months of the expiration of your permit.
MAIL your completed application to the state police or take to your local police station. You will need the following:
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX.
You will be notified if your application has been approved.
The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You NeedBecome a member
Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your FamilyFind a USCCA Class