Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Illinois's concealed carry laws. Applying for a CCL varies by state.
Read about the process for getting a Illinois Concealed Carry License below.
APPLY for an Illinois Firearm Owner ID.
o to the Illinois State Police website and get a user ID and password. You will need the following:
You will be notified by email if your FOID application has been approved.
COMPLETE your firearms training course provided by an Illinois State Police-approved instructor.
COMPLETE the online application for a CCL.
There are also options for submitting paper applications as well as a phone-in method (217-782-7980).
Optional: An applicant is not required to submit fingerprints with the application. However, the department has an additional 30 days to review an application that does not include fingerprints. If opting to provide fingerprints, go to a fingerprint vendor and have your prints taken.
NOTE: Applicants will be assigned a transaction control number (TCN) at the time of fingerprinting and will be required to retain that TCN to complete the application. Specify to the Live Scan vendor that your fingerprint application is for the concealed carry application.
Make your payment.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX.
You will be notified by email if your CCL application has been approved. Allow 90 days for processing or 120 days if electronic fingerprints are not provided.
An applicant must complete a 16-hour firearms training course consisting of:
CERTIFICATE OF LIVE-FIRE EXERCISE BY CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR CONSISTING OF:
Members of the military and persons who have completed a firearms training course in another state that has been approved by Illinois can obtain a credit of 8 hours toward the required 16-hour course.
A three-hour firearms training course conducted by a state-approved instructor is required for all concealed carry license renewals.
An applicant must:
*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Illinois.
Based on the passage of HB 562 (2021), the following process will be implemented as of January 1, 2022. The Illinois State Police will create a combined FOID and CCL, offering cardholders the ability to apply for renewal 6 months before the expiration date, and and will update FOID and CCL renewal dates to be the same for one cardholder.
Beginning January 1, 2022, if the FOID expires during the term of the licensee's CCL, the FOID and the license remain valid during the validity of the CCL and the licensee does not have to renew his or her FOID, if the FOID has not been otherwise renewed as provided in this Act. Unless the Illinois State Police has reason to believe the licensee is no longer eligible for the card, the Illinois State Police may automatically renew the licensee's FOID.
Valid for Five Years from Date of Issue
90 - 120 Day Processing Time
$150 Initial License, $300 Non-Resident Initial License
$150 for License Renewal, $300 Non-Resident Renewal
Illinois grants non-resident licenses only to residents of states or territories of the United States that have laws related to firearm ownership, possession and carrying that are substantially similar to the requirements to Illinois. Currently, the only states considered to be substantially similar are Arkansas, Idaho, Mississippi, Nevada, Texas and Virginia. The application is the same as for residents.
Moving to Illinois and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply?Illinois issues licenses to residents and select non-residents as noted above. Residents are required to obtain a Firearm Owner's Identification (FOID) card in order to apply for a license. Non-residents are not required to have a FOID provided they have a valid concealed carry permit issued in their home state. Any new resident who is not otherwise prohibited from possessing or using a firearm, is not required to have a FOID card to possess firearms or firearms ammunition, until 60 calendar days after he or she obtains an Illinois driver's license or Illinois ID Card.
Moving from Illinois and have a Illinois resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Illinois license remains valid?Simply mail your FOID and CCL back to the Firearms Services Bureau at 801 S. 7th Street, Suite 400M, Springfield Illinois 62703. Include a note that you have moved out of state and are surrendering your FOID/CCL. If you are moving to a substantially similar state and wish to have an Illinois CCL, you will have to re-apply as a non-resident.
Renewals are the responsibility of the licensee. Based on the passage of HB 562 (2021), the following process will be implemented as of January 1, 2022. The Illinois State Police will create a combined FOID and CCL, will notify a CCL holder 6 months prior to the expiration, that the CCL is going to expire and provide instructions for renewal. FOID and CCL renewal dates will be the same for a cardholder.A license is invalid upon expiration of the license, unless the licensee has submitted an application to renew the license, and the applicant is otherwise eligible to possess a license under this Act. A licensee is ineligible to renew their license outside of that timeframe and is required to take the 16-hour training course and submit a new application.
In addition, FOID card applicants will not be required to submit fingerprints, but if they do, or they share with the Illinois State Police the fingerprints they filed to receive their concealed carry license, they will be eligible for automatic renewal without a renewal fee, provided they purchased a gun sometime within the 10-year period between renewals and passed the ISP background check in the process.
COMPLETE firearms training provided by an ISP-approved instructor.
LOGIN to the State Police firearms website and apply for a renewal of your license.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX. You will be notified if your application has been approved.
The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You NeedBecome a member
Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your FamilyFind a USCCA Class