Iowa permit process

How To Get Your Iowa Concealed Carry Permit

Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Iowa's concealed carry laws. Applying for a PCW varies by state.

Read about the process for getting a Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons below.

Steps To Get A Iowa Concealed Carry Permit

1

COMPLETE a firearms training course within 24 months prior to the date of application.

2

DOWNLOAD the application or pick up from your sheriff’s office. Professional permit applications for non-residents must be made to the commissioner of public safety.

3

VISIT your local county sheriff’s office or the commissioner of public safety. You will need the following documents:

  • Photocopy of firearms training certificate
  • Driver’s license
  • Completed application form


Pay the fee.

4

CHECK YOUR MAILBOX. You will be notified within 30 days if your application has been approved.

Find a CCW Training Class

What Are the Firearms Training Requirements in Iowa?

An applicant shall demonstrate knowledge of firearms safety by completing any of the following in a live or web-based form completed within 24 months prior to the date of the application:

  • y National Rifle Association handgun safety training course or a handgun safety training course offered by an instructor certified by an organization approved by the Department of Public Safety
  • Any handgun safety training course available to the public offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, private or public institution or organization, or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or an organization approved by the Department of Public Safety pursuant to Section 724.9A or another state’s Department of Public Safety, state police department or similar certifying body
  • Any handgun safety training course offered for security personnel approved by the Department of Public Safety
  • Small-arms training while serving with the U.S. armed forces
  • Law enforcement agency firearms training course
  • Hunter education program approved by the Iowa Natural Resource Commission, if the program includes handgun safety training


What Are the Iowa License to Carry a Handgun Requirements?

An applicant must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age for a professional permit;
  • Be at least 21 years of age for a non-professional permit;
  • Complete a firearms training course;
  • Not be "addicted to the use of alcohol" per Iowa Admin. Code r. 661-91.1;
  • Have no pending charges;
  • Have no felony convictions;
  • Have no outstanding arrest warrants;
  • Not be subject to the firearm possession, receipt, transportation or control prohibitions;
  • Not have been convicted within the previous 3 years in any court of a serious or aggravated misdemeanor not involving a firearm or explosives for which the court could have imprisoned him or her for more than 1 year, even if he or she received a shorter sentence, including probation;
  • Not bear probable cause to use a weapon unlawfully or in such other manner as would endanger the person’s self or others based on prior actions in the last 2 years; and
  • Meet federal law requirements.

If you are unsure of your eligibility, take the Carry Eligibility Quiz on the Iowa Department of Public Safety website and consult an attorney.

What are the Fees and Terms?

30 Day Processing Time

$50 for Initial Permit

$25 for Renewals and Duplicates

Valid for Five Years from Date of Issue

Where Can I Find Application Forms?

What Concealed Carry Permit Options Exist Based on Residency?

Residency Changes:

Moving to Iowa and interested in applying for a permit? How soon can you apply?Iowa issues permits to residents, members of the military and limited non-residents who work or go to school in Iowa. You can apply for a resident permit with the sheriff of your county once you have established your residence in that county and have an Iowa Driver's license or state-issued ID.

Moving from Iowa and have an Iowa resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Iowa permit remains valid?If a person with an Iowa permit to concealed carry establishes residency in another state, he or she should contact the issuing authority for a determination as to how long the permit remains valid.

How Do I Renew My Concealed Carry Permit in Iowa?

Renewals are the responsibility of the permittee. A person wishing to renew a Permit to Carry Weapons must apply within 30 days before the permit expires, or within 30 days after the permit expires, otherwise the higher NEW permit fee must be charged.

1

DOWNLOAD the renewal application or pick up from your Sheriff's office. Professional permit applications for non-residents must be made to the Commissioner of Public Safety.

2

APPLY in person at your local county Sheriff’s office or the Commissioner of Public Safety. You will need the following documents:

  • Drivers license; and
  • Completed application form.

Pay the fee.

3

CHECK YOUR MAILBOX. You will be notified within 30 days if your renewal application has been approved.

Become a member of the USCCA today!

The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You Need

Become a member
Find a USCCA class near you!

Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your Family

Find a USCCA Class

Do Your Homework!

Make sure you understand Iowa Gun Laws and Iowa concealed carry reciprocity with other states.