New Jersey permit process

How To Get Your New Jersey Concealed Carry Permit

Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing New Jersey's concealed carry laws. Applying for a PCH varies by state.

Read about the process for getting a New Jersey Permit to Carry a Handgun below.

Steps To Get A New Jersey Concealed Carry Permit

Step 1:

COMPLETE a firearm training course

Step 2:

DOWNLOAD the application

Step 3:

GATHER your documents.


  • Obtain four references (must have known the applicant for a minimum of three years).
  • Complete the application form in triplicate and have all three notarized.
  • Have four passport-style photographs taken.

Step 4:

VISIT your local state police station. Bring:

Pay the fee.


Your fingerprints will be taken.

Step 5:

If the application has been approved by the chief police officer or the superintendent, you must present it to the superior court of your county (or to the superior court in any county where you intend to carry a handgun in the case of a nonresident or employee of an armored car company). The court shall issue the permit to the applicant, but only if it is satisfied that the applicant is a person of good character who is not subject to any of the disabilities set forth in Section 2C:58-3(c).

Find a CCW Training Class

What Are the Firearms Training Requirements in New Jersey?

New Jersey requires that applicants for a permit to carry a handgun demonstrate a “thorough familiarity” with the safe handling and use of handguns, as evidenced by:

  • Completion of a firearms training course substantially equivalent to the firearms training approved by the Police Training Commission
  • Submission of the applicant’s most recent handgun qualification scores utilizing the handgun(s) he or she intends to carry as evidenced by test firings, administered by a certified firearms instructor of a police academy, a certified firearms instructor of the National Rifle Association (NRA) or any other recognized certified firearms instructor
  • Passage of any test of New Jersey’s laws governing the use of force, administered by a certified instructor of a police academy, a certified instructor of the NRA or any other recognized certified instructor


What Are the New Jersey License to Carry a Handgun Requirements?

An applicant must:

  • Be at least 21 years old;
  • Be a person of good character;
  • Have demonstrated he or she is familiar with the safe handling and use of handguns;
  • Not be subject to any of the disabilities set forth under state law to obtain a permit to purchase a handgun or a Firearms Purchaser Identification Card;
  • Not have an outstanding arrest warrant for an indictable offense;
  • Not have certain restraining orders or who have violated any restraining orders;
  • Not have restraining orders in other jurisdictions;
  • Not have had voluntary admissions into mental institutions or hospitals;
  • Have references from 4 persons who have known applicant for a minimum of 3 years; and
  • Meet federal law requirements.

*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of New Jersey.

What are the Fees and Terms?

$50 Permit Renewal fee

Valid for Two Years from Date of Issue

60 Day Processing

$200 for Initial Permit

Where Can I Find Application Forms?

What Concealed Carry Permit Options Exist Based on Residency?

Residency Changes:

Moving to New Jersey and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply?New Jersey issues resident and non-resident permits, so you can apply for your permit at any time. In order to apply for a resident permit, you may need to provide a New Jersey driver's license or state ID.

Moving from New Jersey and have a New Jersey resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your New Jersey permit remains valid?If a person with a New Jersey concealed weapons permit establishes residency in another state, the permit is valid until it expires provided you submit the above referenced Name/Address change form.

How Do I Renew My Concealed Carry Permit in New Jersey?

Renewals are the responsibility of the permittee. Permits may be renewed every 2 years in the same manner and subject to the same conditions as in the case of original applications. Superintendent of the New Jersey State Police in conjunction with the state's Attorney General, issued new requirements titled “Use of Force Interim Training for Private Citizen Concealed Carry.” This will require permit holders to complete additional training by the end of December, 2023.

Step 1

COMPLETE your firearm training course.

Step 2

DOWNLOAD the application.

Step 3

GATHER your documents. You will need to:

  • Complete the application form in triplicate and have all three notarized.
  • Obtain three references (must have known the applicant for a minimum of 3 years).
  • Have 4 passport-style photographs taken.

Step 4

VISIT your local police station and bring:

Pay the fee.

Your fingerprints will be taken.

Become a member of the USCCA today!

The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You Need

Become a member
Find a USCCA class near you!

Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your Family

Find a USCCA Class

Do Your Homework!

Make sure you understand New Jersey Gun Laws and New Jersey concealed carry reciprocity with other states.