Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Rhode Island's concealed carry laws. Applying for a LCCW varies by state.
Read about the process for getting a Rhode Island License to Carry Concealed Weapons below.
OBTAIN your firearms qualification within one year of submitting your application
GATHER YOUR DOCUMENTS
Download the application. Complete the form and have it notarized. You will need three typed, signed and dated notarized reference letters.
Have passport-style photographs taken. You will need two photos.
If applying through the attorney general, the application must be signed or stamped by the local police chief or a city hall official in the city or town of the applicant’s residence.
SUBMIT your documentation and pay application fees
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX
You will be notified by mail of approval or denial of the license. If approved, you must appear in person to pick up your license.
Rhode Island requires concealed handgun license applicants to certify that they are qualified to use a handgun of a caliber equal to or greater than the caliber of handgun they intend to carry.
APPLICANTS MUST SCORE 195 OR BETTER OUT OF 300 WITH 30 CONSECUTIVE ROUNDS ON ANY U.S. ARMY "L" TARGET
The applicant is required to obtain a score of 195 or better out of a possible score of 300, with 30 consecutive rounds at a distance of 25 yards on any U.S. Army “L” target, firing slow fire.
The range officers of the Rhode Island state police or any city or town police department maintaining a regular and continuing firearms training program, a pistol instructor certified by the National Rifle Association and/or the United States Revolver Association, or any other qualified persons that the attorney general may designate are authorized to certify the qualification.
An applicant must:
*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Rhode Island.
$40 for Permit Renewals
Valid for Four Years from Date of Issue
90 Day Processing
$40 for Initial Permit
Non-resident licenses processed by local authorities are granted with a valid CCW from another state. Licenses may be issued by the Attorney General to non-residents without CCW permits from their home state. Non-residents use the same process as residents.
Moving to Rhode Island and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply?Rhode Island issues licenses to residents, individuals with businesses in the state and permit holders from other states. The Attorney General can also issue licenses to non-residents without concealed carry permits from their home state. In order to apply for a resident license, you may need to provide a Rhode Island driver's license or state ID.
Moving from Rhode Island and have a Rhode Island resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Rhode Island license remains valid?If a person with a Rhode Island resident license to carry concealed weapons establishes residency in another state, the license may be valid until it expires. Contact your issuing authority for details.
Allow 90 days for processing of your application due to the fact that this department is dependent on other agencies for information necessary to complete the application.
OBTAIN your firearms qualification within 1 year of submitting your application.
DOWNLOAD the application. Complete the form and have it notarized.
GATHER YOUR DOCUMENTS
SUBMIT your documentation. If applying through the attorney general, the application must be signed or stamped by the local police chief or a city hall official in the city or town of the applicant’s residence.
Pay the fees.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX
You will be notified by mail of approval or denial of license. If approved, you must appear in person to pick up license.
The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You NeedBecome a member
Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your FamilyFind a USCCA Class