Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Minnesota's concealed carry laws. Applying for a PCP varies by state.
Read about the process for getting a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol below.
COMPLETE a firearms training course within one year of your application.
DOWNLOAD the application or pick one up from the local sheriff's office
SUBMIT your documentation to the sheriff's office for the county in which you reside:
Pay the fee.
Non-residents must apply in-person to any Minnesota county sheriff.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX.
You will be notified if your application has been approved within 30 days.
Applicants must present evidence of having received training from a certified instructor* within one year of original application and each renewal. Firearms training must include:
Although members of the military receive superb firearms training, they must receive training from an instructor that has been certified by an approved business organization in Minnesota. This additional training pertains to the legal aspects of “permit to carry issues.” Military members can contact their local sheriff’s office for further clarification and consideration.
*The Minnesota Department of Public Safety maintains a list of certified firearms instructors.
An applicant must:
*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Minnesota.
Valid for Five Years from Date of Issue
New Permit Fee Up to $100, Determined by County Sheriff
Permit Renewal Up To $75, Determined by County Sheriff before Date of Expiration
30 Day Processing Time
Moving to Minnesota and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply?Minnesota issues resident and non-resident permits, so you can apply for your permit at any time. In order to apply for a resident permit, you may need to provide a Minnesota driver's license or state ID.
Moving from Minnesota and have a Minnesota resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Minnesota permit remains valid?If a person with a Minnesota permit to concealed carry establishes residency in another state, the permit is valid until it expires provided he or she submits the above referenced name/address change form.
Renewals are the responsibility of the permittee. Permit holders may renew their permit beginning 90 days prior to the expiration date of the current permit. After the expiration date, but within 30 days after the expiration, you can renew your permit by paying an additional late fee of $10. 31 days after expiration, you will no longer be able to renew your permit, but will have to apply for a new gun permit. For late renewals, it is important to note that your expired permit is not valid until you receive your new card.
COMPLETE your firearm training course within one year of renewal.
Permit holders may renew their permit beginning 90 days prior to the expiration date of the current permit. After the expiration date, but within 30 days after the expiration, you can renew your permit by paying an additional late fee of $10. 31 days after expiration, you will no longer be able to renew your permit, but will have to apply for a new gun permit. For late renewals, it is important to note that your expired permit is not valid until you receive your new card.
DOWNLOAD the application or pick up from the county clerk's office
VISIT the county clerk's office of which you reside and bring the following documents:
Pay the fee. The county clerk will provide a receipt for payment of fees.
Non-Residents must visit any Sheriff's Department in the State and sign the application under oath. Include the above documents as well.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX.
The county clerk shall issue a license or notice of statutory disqualification within 45 days after the date the applicant has classifiable fingerprints taken.
The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You NeedBecome a member
Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your FamilyFind a USCCA Class