Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing California's concealed carry laws. Applying for a CCW varies by state.
Read about the process for getting a California Concealed Carry Weapons License below.
CONTACT your county sheriff’s or local police chief’s office to verify the application process and the approved training courses.
COMPLETE an approved training course or provide proof of exemption (active duty or honorably retired military, law enforcement, etc.) pursuant to California Penal Code Section 31700.
VERIFY with your local sheriff if your jurisdiction requires a psychological evaluation.
SUBMIT the application and required documents by using the online licensing portal or mail in your application
IN-PERSON VISIT -- Do not bring any firearms unless instructed to do so by the county sheriff’s office. You will also need the following:
You will be fingerprinted, photographed and interviewed.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX -- You will be notified by mail within 90 days if your application has been approved or denied.
California requires a minimum 8-hour training including:
California is now a shall-issue state since the Supreme Court’s ruling on the NYSRPA v. Bruen on June 23, 2022. Licenses are issued by the county sheriff’s office or local police station and while there are some minimums, each county in California is able to set additional requirements to the minimum. Make sure to contact your local sheriff to find all of the requirements to get your CCW permit.
The licensing authority may require either a course not to exceed 16 hours or a community college course not to exceed 24 hours certified by the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training.
For license renewal applicants, the course of training may be any course acceptable to the licensing authority, shall be no less than four hours and shall include live-fire shooting exercises.
An applicant must:
*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of California.
Processing will complete within 90 days of Background Check completion
Contact your issuing authority as fees are variable (expect at least $70)
Fees on License Renewal are also variable. Contact your local authority
Valid for Two Years from Date of Issue
Contact your issuing authority for their consideration. CCWLs may be issued to individuals who work in the state and/or active duty military members permanently stationed in California.
Renewals are the responsibility of the licensee and you may not receive any notification. Contact your issuing authority well in advance of your CCWL expiration date to determine how many days prior to expiration they recommend you submit your renewal (typically at least 30 - 90 days).
COMPLETE your 4-Hour CCWL Renewal Class
IF REQUIRED -- Additional psychological testing of an applicant seeking license renewal shall be required only if there is compelling evidence to indicate that a test is necessary.
CONTACT YOUR LOCAL AUTHORITY - Use the online licensing portal to submit your application or download the application and follow the renewal process according to your issuing authority.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX - You will be notified if your application has been approved or declined.
The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You NeedBecome a member
Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your FamilyFind a USCCA Class