Pennsylvania permit process

How To Get Your Pennsylvania Concealed Carry Permit

Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Pennsylvania's concealed carry laws. Applying for a LCF varies by state.

Read about the process for getting a Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearms below.

Steps To Get A Pennsylvania Concealed Carry Permit

1

DOWNLOAD or visit your local sheriff's office to pick up and complete an application. Some counties offer online applications.


Non-residents that currently have a Concealed Carry Permit or similar to carry a firearm from another state may turn in a Non-Resident application at any sheriff's office. Note - some counties do not process Non-Resident permits.

2

VISIT your local sheriff's office or chief of police. Applicants must:

  • State a reason for seeking the license, which may include self-defense, employment, hunting, target shooting, gun collecting or “another proper reason”
  • Provide a driver’s license or state ID (or, if a resident of another state, your license or permit from that state)
  • Provide two references that are not family members

Take the completed application to your county sheriff’s office or the chief of police.

Pay the fee.

Your photo will be taken.

3

SAME DAY PERMIT

If your background check clears quickly, you may be able to leave with your license. Otherwise, you will be notified by mail within 45 days if your application has been approved.

Find a CCW Training Class

What Are the Firearms Training Requirements in Pennsylvania?

Pennsylvania law does not require applicants for a License to Carry Firearms to undergo firearms safety training or otherwise demonstrate knowledge of firearms safety. However, the USCCA recommends anyone who makes the choice to carry a concealed firearm obtain as much training as possible in order to be a responsibly armed American.

What Are the Pennsylvania License to Carry a Handgun Requirements?

An applicant must:

  • Be at least 21 years of age;
  • Be a resident of the county the application is filed it for at least 90 days, or if from another state, possess a permit/license from that state;
  • Not have a character and reputation indicating the applicant would be likely to act in a manner dangerous to public safety;
  • Not have been convicted of, or adjudicated delinquent in the past 10 years for, any offense under The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act;
  • Qualify to possess a firearm under Pennsylvania law and must not have been convicted of, or adjudicated delinquent in the past 10 years for, any of the crimes which disqualify individuals from firearm possession under Pennsylvania law;
  • Be of sound mind and never have been committed to a mental institution;
  • Not be addicted to or an unlawful user of marijuana or a stimulant, depressant or narcotic drug;
  • Not be a habitual drunkard;
  • Not have been convicted of a crime punishable by more than 1 year of imprisonment;
  • Not be an undocumented alien;
  • Not have been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces;
  • Not be a fugitive from justice;
  • Not be otherwise prohibited from possessing, using, manufacturing, controlling, purchasing, selling or transferring a firearm as provided by Pennsylvania law; and
  • Meet federal law requirements.

*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Pennsylvania.

What are the Fees and Terms?

$20 for Initial Permit

Valid for Five Years from Date of Issue

45 Day Processing Time

$20 for Permit Renewals

Where Can I Find Application Forms?

What Concealed Carry Permit Options Exist Based on Residency?

Non-Resident Concealed Carry Licenses:

Non-residents who possess a current license or permit or similar document to carry a firearm issued by their home state (if a license is provided for by the laws of that state) may apply for a non-resident license. The process is similar to that for residents.

*Please note that a Pennsylvania non-resident LCF is typically valid for 5 years, but is tied to your resident license. Therefore, if your resident permit expires or is revoked, your LCF is no longer valid. [18 Pa. Cons. Stat, § 6109(e)(ix) and (i)]

Residency Changes:

Moving to Pennsylvania and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply?Pennsylvania issues licenses to residents and permit holders from other states. You can apply for your resident license to the sheriff of your county once you have been a resident of the county for at least 90 days.

Moving from Pennsylvania and have a Pennsylvania resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Pennsylvania license remains valid?If a person with a Pennsylvania resident license to carry firearms establishes residency in another state, the license may expire upon the establishment of residence in the other state. Contact your local issuing authority for details.

How Do I Renew My Concealed Carry Permit in Pennsylvania?

Renewals can be accepted up to 60 days in advance of your license expiring. Applicants with expired licenses more than 60 days old will be considered new applicants.

You have the following two types of licenses to choose from:

  • Hard Plastic, similar to drivers license, $46.00, you do not need to supply photo for this option.
  • Laminated paper license with photo attached, $25.00 You must supply 2 official passport photographs to obtain this license.
1


Renewals can be accepted up to 60 days in advance of your license expiring. Applicants with expired licenses more than 60 days old will be considered new applicants.

You have the following two types of licenses to choose from:

  • Hard Plastic, similar to drivers license, $46.00, you do not need to supply photo for this option.
  • Laminated paper license with photo attached, $25.00 You must supply 2 official passport photographs to obtain this license.


2

YOU MAY need to schedule an appointment with the sheriffs office to renew your handgun license, the procedure will vary between counties. Download the application or go to your county sheriff’s office to obtain an application. The application requires you to provide two references that are not family members.

3

BRING YOUR DOCUMENTATION

You will be required to take the following;

  • A completed application;
  • Your expired handgun license;
  • Foreign-born applicants who are U.S. Citizens must supply Passport or Naturalization Paperwork;
  • Foreign-born applicants who are not U.S. Citizens must provide proof of immigration status and 90 days proof of residency (i.e. 3 months of utility bills); and
  • A driver's license with your current address on it.

Pay the fee.

4

If your background check clears quickly, you may be able to leave with your license. Otherwise, you will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.

Become a member of the USCCA today!

The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You Need

Become a member
Find a USCCA class near you!

Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your Family

Find a USCCA Class

Do Your Homework!

Make sure you understand Pennsylvania Gun Laws and Pennsylvania concealed carry reciprocity with other states.