Maryland permit process

How To Get Your Maryland Concealed Carry Permit

Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Maryland's concealed carry laws. Applying for a WCHP varies by state.

Read about the process for getting a Maryland Wear/Carry Handgun Permit below.

Steps To Get A Maryland Concealed Carry Permit

Step 1:

COMPLETE a state-approved firearm training course within two years of application or meet a training exemption.

Step 2:


Get fingerprints taken at an Electronic Fingerprint Processing Center authorized by the Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services.

Step 3:

COMPLETE your application using the online licensing portal. You will need the following:

  • A copy of your firearms training certificate
  • Passport-style color photographs of yourself from the past 30 days
  • Electronic fingerprints

Pay the fee.

Step 4:


You will receive application status updates via email as your application progresses and will be notified within 90 days of submittal of a complete application whether your application has been approved or denied.

Find a CCW Training Class

What Are the Firearms Training Requirements in Maryland?

Applicants must successfully complete, prior to application and renewal, a firearms training course approved by the secretary of State Police that includes:

  • For an initial application, a minimum of 16 hours of instruction by a qualified handgun instructor
  • For a renewal application, eight hours of instruction by a qualified handgun instructor.
  • State firearms law
  • Home firearms safety
  • Handgun mechanisms and operation


  • Applicants must demonstrate proficiency and use of the firearm with a minimum score of 70% accuracy.

A firearms qualification component that demonstrates the applicant’s proficiency and use of the firearm with a minimum score of 70 percent accuracy is also required.

Exemptions: There are training exemptions for active or retired law enforcement officers, active, retired or honorably discharged members of the U.S. armed forces or the National Guard, and qualified handgun instructors registered with the Maryland State Police.

Be sure to verify that any firearms training you receive to obtain your permit is approved by the state of Maryland.

What Are the Maryland License to Carry a Handgun Requirements?

An applicant must:

  • Be at least 21 years old (an applicant between 18 and 21 years of age may only be issued a wear and carry permit to possess a regulated firearm required for employment);
  • Have successfully completed required firearms training, within 2 years, prior to submitting an application or meet a training exemption;
  • Not have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than 1 year has been imposed; or convicted of a criminal offense for which you could have been sentenced to more than 2 years incarceration (or has been pardoned or granted relief under 19 U.S.C. Section 925(c));
  • Not have been convicted of a crime involving the possession, use, or distribution of a controlled dangerous substance;
  • Not be presently an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance unless under legitimate medical direction;
  • If under age 30, have no adjudications of delinquency in a juvenile court for any act that would be a felony or “crime of violence” if committed by an adult or for any misdemeanor carrying a statutory penalty of 2 years or more, and have never been committed to any detention, training or correctional institution for more than 1 year as a juvenile;
  • Based on an investigation, not have exhibited a propensity for violence or instability that may reasonably render the person’s possession of a handgun a danger to the person or others;
  • Meet federal law requirements.

*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Maryland.

What are the Fees and Terms?

$75 Initial Permit / $125 after 10/01/23

90 Day Processing

$50 Renewing Permit / $75 starting 10/01/23

Initial Permit Valid for 2 Years, Expires on Holder's Birth Month. Permit May Be Renewed Successively For 3 Year Periods

Where Can I Find Application Forms?

What Concealed Carry Permit Options Exist Based on Residency?

Residency Changes:

Moving to Maryland and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply?Maryland issues resident and non-resident permits, so you can apply for your permit at any time. 

Moving from Maryland and have a Maryland resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Maryland permit remains valid?If a person with a Maryland wear/carry handgun permit establishes residency in another state, the permit is valid until it expires provided you submit the above referenced Name/Address change form.

How Do I Renew My Concealed Carry Permit in Maryland?

Renewals are the responsibility of the permittee. A handgun permit may be renewed for successive periods of 3 years each. The renewal process should be started no less than 90 business days from expiration of the permit. If the Licensing Division does not receive the renewal application, satisfactorily completed, by the expiration date, the applicant must begin as a new applicant and complete all requirements necessary for an initial application.

Step 1

THE RENEWAL PROCESS should be started no less than 90 business days before expiration of the permit.

Step 2

COMPLETE an 8 hour firearms training course within two years of submitting your renewal application.

Step 3

COMPLETE your application using the online licensing portal. As of October 1, 2019, paper applications will be rejected and returned to the applicant with instructions to submit the Wear and Carry Permit application via the licensing portal. You will need the following:

  • A copy of your firearms training certificate;
  • 2 passport-style color photographs of yourself from the past 30 days; and
  • The application fee.

Step 4


You will be notified within 90 days whether your application has been approved or denied.

Become a member of the USCCA today!

The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You Need

Become a member
Find a USCCA class near you!

Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your Family

Find a USCCA Class

Do Your Homework!

Make sure you understand Maryland Gun Laws and Maryland concealed carry reciprocity with other states.