Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Colorado's concealed carry laws. Applying for a CCW varies by state.
Read about the process for getting a Colorado Concealed Carry Weapon below.
COMPLETE a firearm training course
DOWNLOAD or pick up an application from your local sheriff's office
BRING your completed, unsigned application to your local sheriff's office. You will need the following documents:
You will be fingerprinted.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX - You will be notified if your application has been approved.
Applicants must complete and obtain a certificate from one of:
The training cannot be through an online course but must be attended in person at a physical location with a certified instructor.
An applicant must:
*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Colorado.
$52 initial permit. Sheriff can charge an additional fee up to $100
$50 to $63 Permit Renewal Fee
Valid for Five Years from Date of Issue
90 Day Processing Time
Moving to Colorado and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply?Colorado issues permits to residents and members of the military permanently stationed in Colorado and their immediate family members. You can apply for your permit with your local sheriff once you have established your residence.
Moving from Colorado and have a Colorado resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Colorado permit remains valid?If a person with a Colorado permit to carry a concealed weapon establishes residency in another state, the permit expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.
Renewals are the responsibility of the permittee.
DOWNLOAD the renewal application form
SUBMIT a completed renewal form, photo ID, proof of residency (i.e., lease agreement, mortgage statement, copy of tax statement), a notarized affidavit stating that the permittee remains qualified pursuant to the criteria specified and renewal fee.
You will be notified if your application has been approved.
The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You NeedBecome a member
Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your FamilyFind a USCCA Class