Hawaii permit process

How To Get Your Hawaii Concealed Carry Permit

Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Hawaii's concealed carry laws. Applying for a HLC varies by state.

Read about the process for getting a Hawaii Hawaii License to Carry below.

Find a CCW Training Class

What Are the Firearms Training Requirements in Hawaii?

Hawaii has no requirements to obtain an HLC. However, Hawaii does have training requirements to purchase or possess a pistol or revolver. To obtain a permit to purchase, he or she must complete one of the following:

  • An approved hunter education course as authorized under state law
  • A firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency of the state or of any county
  • A firearms safety or training course offered to law enforcement officers, security guards, investigators, deputy sheriffs or any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement by a state or county law enforcement agency
  • A firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state-certified or NRA-certified firearms instructor or a certified military firearms instructor that provides a minimum of two hours of live-fire training at a firing range and a total of at least four hours of classroom instruction — which may include video — that focuses on:
  • The safe use, handling and storage of firearms and firearms safety in the home
  • Education on the firearms-related laws of Hawaii

No additional training is required for license renewals.

What Are the Hawaii License to Carry a Handgun Requirements?

An applicant must:

  • Be at least 21 years old;
  • Be a lawful resident of Hawaii or lawful permanent resident alien residing in the State of Hawaii (per the August 10,2020, stipulation and order by the United States District Court for the District of Hawaii in the Alanoa Nickel lawsuit);
  • Be able to possess a firearm under Hawaii law;
  • Not have been judged to be insane or incapacitated under Hawaii law;
  • Be qualified to use a firearm; and
  • Meet federal law requirements.

*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Hawaii.

What are the Fees and Terms?

$10 for Initial and Renewal Licenses

Valid for One Year from Date of Issue

$42 for Fingerprinting

No processing time specified

Where Can I Find Application Forms?


What Concealed Carry Permit Options Exist Based on Residency?

Non-Resident Concealed Carry Licenses:

Hawaii doesn’t issue licenses to non-residents.

Residency Changes:

Moving to Hawaii and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply?Hawaii issues licenses to residents only and is now a shall-issue state. The county chief of police grants licenses. You can apply for your license with the chief of police once you have established your residence in that county.

Moving from Hawaii and have a Hawaii resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Hawaii license remains valid?If a person with a Hawaii license to concealed carry establishes residency in another state, the license expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.

How Do I Renew My Concealed Carry Permit in Hawaii?

There is no published policy on renewals.

Step 1

No process is outlined in the rules. Contact your county chief of police and provide the reason you fear injury to your person or property.

Become a member of the USCCA today!

The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You Need

Become a member
Find a USCCA class near you!

Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your Family

Find a USCCA Class

Do Your Homework!

Make sure you understand Hawaii Gun Laws and Hawaii concealed carry reciprocity with other states.