Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Kansas's concealed carry laws. Applying for a CCHL varies by state.
Read about the process for getting a Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun License below.
COMPLETE a firearm training course
DOWNLOAD and complete the application.
You should also download and read the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act.
VISIT your local sheriff's office, bringing your completed application and:
You will be fingerprinted.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX.
You will be notified within 90 days if your application has been approved.
An application must complete an eight-hour handgun safety and training course approved by the Attorney General. The course must include:
Safety and training courses taken outside the state of Kansas can satisfy Kansas’ concealed carry permitting requirement if the attorney general has certified that the out-of-state course meets or exceeds the standards set by Kansas law.
Training exemptions include prior handgun training of retired law enforcement (if retired less than eight years) and current Department of Corrections officers, parole officers or Federal Bureau of Prisons officers if completed within the past 12 months.
An applicant must:
*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Kansas.
90 Day Processing Time
$32.50 for Initial License
$25 for License Renewals
Valid for Four Years from Date of Issue
Non-resident licenses are limited to active-duty military personnel and their dependents stationed in Kansas. The process is the same as for residents.
Moving to Kansas and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply?Kansas issues licenses to residents and active duty military personnel and their dependents stationed in the state. You can apply for your license with the Kansas Attorney General’s Office once you are a resident of Kansas with a valid driver’s license or state-issued identification card, or reside in Kansas while serving on active duty in the military.
Moving from Kansas and have a Kansas resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Kansas license remains valid?If a person with a Kansas concealed carry handgun license establishes residency in another state, the license expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state.
Renewals are the responsibility of the licensee., however a renewal notice, instructions and an application form will be mailed to the licensee’s address at least 90 days before expiration. For the time being, renewal applications will not be available online or made available on the Attorney General’s website. This most likely will change as the renewal process develops. Failure to submit a renewal application prior to expiration will result in an additional fee of $15.00. Licenses are considered permanently expired 6 months after the expiration date. Holders of a permanently expired license will have to submit a new application.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX.
You will be mailed a renewal notice and application form at least 90 days before expiration.
COMPLETE the application form and have it notarized.
DELIVER your completed, notarized application. You can either mail-in certified mail or hand deliver the following documents to the Attorney General's Office in Topeka:
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX.
When approved, licensees receive a notice of approval to renew their license. The notice of approval must be taken to a Kansas Driver’s License Station for issuance. Licenses will be renewed for 4 years from the date of expiration.
The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You NeedBecome a member
Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your FamilyFind a USCCA Class