Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Florida's concealed carry laws. Applying for a CWL varies by state.
Read about the process for getting a Florida Concealed Weapons License below.
COMPLETE a firearms training course
YOU WILL NEED:
SUBMIT your application either online or in person and pay the $97 fee as well as the optional $12 to $22 convenience fee the Tax Collector may require.
ONLINE APPLICATION: Have your fingerprints taken by a Division of Licensing Regional Office or law enforcement agency within 90 days of submitting your online application.
IN-PERSON APPLICATION: Staff will take your fingerprints and photo.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX - You will receive or be denied within 90 days of your application.
Florida requires proof of competency with a firearm. One of the following certificates of completion is acceptable:
No additional training is required for license renewals.
An applicant must:
*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Florida.
$97 for Initial Permit. Tax Collector may add $12-$22 convenience fee.
$45 Resident License Renewal. $87 Non-Resident License Renewal
Valid for Seven Years from Date of Issue
90 Day Processing Time
Florida issues licenses to non-residents.The process is the same as for residents.
Moving to Florida and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply?Florida issues licenses to residents and non-residents. You can apply for your Florida resident license once you have registered to vote, made a statement of domicile or filed for a homestead tax exemption on property in Florida. If you have a valid concealed carry license issued in your former home state, that license remains in effect for 90 days following the date on which you establish legal state residence in Florida.
Moving from Florida and have a Florida resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Florida license remains valid?If a person with a Florida concealed weapons license establishes residency in another state, the license is valid until it expires provided you notify the Division of Licensing of your change of address as required.
Renewals are the responsibility of the licensee. However, approximately 150 days prior to the expiration date of your license, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) will send you a renewal form with complete instructions on how to renew your license. If you fail to renew your license by its expiration date, you may renew it up to 6 months after it has expired. However, there is a late fee of $15 for renewing after the expiration date.
If your license has been expired for longer than 6 months, it cannot be renewed. You must apply for a new license.
There are three options for renewal: online, in person at an FDACS regional office or an authorized Florida tax collector's office in your area, or by mail.
RENEW BY MAIL:
Complete your renewal form and mail it to the address below:
Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Renewal Division of Licensing
P.O. Box 6387
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6387
RENEW IN PERSON:
Schedule an appointment online and bring the following documents:
A tax collector deputy will take your photograph and submit your renewal application electronically to the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services for processing. Staff will also take fingerprints when applicable; fingerprints are required for out-of-state renewals.
VISITING A REGIONAL OFFICE:
You should be able to complete the entire process of applying for a renewal license in an hour or less. Your application will be processed while you wait and you will receive your license in minutes.
VISIT A TAX COLLECTOR'S OFFICE:
Eligible Florida residents should be able to complete the entire process of applying for a renewal license in an hour or less; your application will be processed while you wait and you will receive your license in minutes. If you are a non-Florida resident or your application requires a name change, you will receive your license by mail.
RENEWING BY MAIL:
You should receive your license within two weeks.
The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You NeedBecome a member
Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your FamilyFind a USCCA Class