New York permit process

How To Get Your New York Concealed Carry Permit

Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing New York's concealed carry laws. Applying for a NYPL varies by state.

Read about the process for getting a New York Pistol License below.

Steps To Get A New York Concealed Carry Permit

1

COMPLETE a handgun safety course

2

DOWNLOAD and complete the state application and the form for your county.


You will also need two passport-style photographs

3

VISIT your local county sheriff or courthouse to submit your application. You will be fingerprinted.


You will undergo various background checks by New York State and the FBI and will be interviewed by local police.

4

Your application is then submitted to one of the licensing judges, police commissioner or sheriff for consideration.

5

CHECK YOUR MAILBOX

You will be notified of your approval or denial.

Find a CCW Training Class

What Are the Firearms Training Requirements in New York?

As of July 1, 2022, an applicant must:

  • Complete 16 hours of classroom training, including:
  • Two hours on a live range
  • Pass a written test with a score of at least 80 percent.

What Are the New York License to Carry a Handgun Requirements?

An applicant must:

  • Be 21 years of age or older except there is no minimum age for honorably discharged members of the U.S. military;
  • Be a U.S. citizen or legal resident;
  • Not have been admitted to the United States under a non-immigrant visa;
  • Be of good moral character; 
  • Reside or maintain a principal place of business within the county in which the application is filed;
  • Some counties may require successful completion of a firearms safety course;
  • Not have been convicted anywhere of a felony or a serious offense;
  • Not be a fugitive from justice;
  • Not be subject to a protective court order;
  • Not be an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance as defined in section 21 U.S.C. 802;
  • Be free from any mental disorders, defects or diseases that would impair his or her ability to safely possess or use a firearm;
  • Not have had a license revoked or not be under a suspension or ineligibility order;
  • Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence;
  • Not have been involuntarily committed to a facility under the jurisdiction of an office of the department of mental hygiene;
  • In the county of Westchester, have successfully completed a firearms safety course and test as evidenced by a certificate of completion issued in his or her name and endorsed and affirmed under the penalties of perjury by a duly authorized instructor;
  • Not have had a guardian appointed for him or her pursuant to any provision of state law, based on a determination that as a result of marked subnormal intelligence, mental illness, incapacity, condition or disease, he or she lacks the mental capacity to contract or manage his or her own affairs;
  • Not have good cause that exists for the denial of the license; and
  • Meet federal law requirements.

*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of New York.

What are the Fees and Terms?

Valid for Three Years from Date of Issue

~$20 for Initial License, Varies by County

Up To Six Months Processing, Varies Greatly by County

~$10 for Permit Recertification, Varies by County

Where Can I Find Application Forms?

What Concealed Carry Permit Options Exist Based on Residency?

Non-Resident Concealed Carry Licenses:

Part-time NY State residents or anyone who is principally employed or has his principal place of business in the state may apply to the licensing officer where such place of business is located. The process is the same as for residents.

Residency Changes:

Moving to New York and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply?New York issues licenses to residents, part-time residents and anyone who is principally employed or has his principal place of business in the state. You can apply for your license to the county sheriff or court system where you or your business is located once you have established your residence or business in that county.

Moving from New York and have a New York resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your New York license remains valid?If a person with a New York pistol license establishes residency in another state, the pistol license expires upon the establishment of residence in the other state. Business licenses expire if employment is terminated or the business relocates outside of the state.

How Do I Renew My Concealed Carry Permit in New York?

Recertification is the responsibility of the licensee. The pistol license recertification provision of the SAFE Act was passed by the Legislature and signed into law by the Governor in 2013. Its goal is to strengthen and improve the accuracy of record keeping at both the state and local levels. Letters were sent to license holders over a year ago, reminding them of the January 31, 2018, deadline and additional reminders have been made public through the press and social media.

The State Police are now working to process all recertifications and update its database. This process is expected to take between 9-12 months, after which, local licensing authorities will be provided with the updated, accurate licensing information. As ‎the goal is compliance, the State Police will not take criminal enforcement action ‎against individuals who have unknowingly failed to recertify, instead they will continue to accept recertifications‎ throughout 2018.

If you currently have a New York City, Nassau County, Suffolk County or Westchester County license, you must follow the requirements that are in place in your county, rather than use the New York State recertification system.

1

COMPLETE your online Recertification. Recertification can only be done online. Paper forms are no longer accepted.


If you currently have a New York City, Nassau County, Suffolk County or Westchester County license, you must follow the requirements that are in place in your county, rather than use the New York State recertification system.

Become a member of the USCCA today!

The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You Need

Become a member
Find a USCCA class near you!

Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your Family

Find a USCCA Class

Do Your Homework!

Make sure you understand New York Gun Laws and New York concealed carry reciprocity with other states.