Connecticut permit process

How To Get Your Connecticut Concealed Carry Permit

Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Connecticut's concealed carry laws. Applying for a CTPP varies by state.

Read about the process for getting a Connecticut Connecticut Pistol Permit below.

Steps To Get A Connecticut Concealed Carry Permit


COMPLETE a handgun safety course


DOWNLOAD the application


TAKE the unsigned, completed application to the local chief of police, city or town hall or first selectman of your town. (Non-residents apply to the DESPP.) You will sign it in the presence of an official and need the following documents:

  • Two fingerprint cards for a criminal history check;
  • Two copies of your birth certificate or passport; and
  • Firearms training certificate.

Pay the fees.


APPROVAL - The local authority will issue a Temporary State Permit to Carry Pistols or Revolvers/Eligibility Certificate effective for 60 days.


WITHIN the 60 day period, go to a DESPP, Division of State Police, pistol permit location and complete the State Application to Carry Pistols and Revolvers. You will need the following:

  • The Temporary State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers issued by the local authority
  • Proof you are legally and lawfully in the United States (e.g., certified copy of birth certificate, U.S. passport, etc.)
  • Valid state-issued photo ID card

Upon approval, your permit will be issued.

Find a CCW Training Class

What Are the Firearms Training Requirements in Connecticut?

An applicant is required to complete a handgun safety course approved by the DESPP.

  • Meets requirements of DESPP
  • Fire a semi-automatic pistol or a revolver

Computer-generated programs, dry-fire, other simulated shooting tools, plastic bullets, air guns or any other alternatives to live fire are not acceptable.

No additional training is required for permit renewals. Be sure to verify that any firearm training you receive in order to obtain your permit is approved by the state of Connecticut.

What Are the Connecticut License to Carry a Handgun Requirements?

An applicant must:

  • Be at least 21 years of age;
  • Be a legal resident of the United States;
  • Have a residence or business in the jurisdiction in which they are applying;
  • Intend to use the handgun for only lawful purposes;
  • Be a “suitable person” to receive a permit;
  • Have successfully completed an approved handgun safety course;
  • Not have been convicted of a felony or a violation of:
    • Criminal possession of a narcotic substance,
    • Criminally negligent homicide,
    • Assault in the third degree,
    • Reckless endangerment in the first degree,
    • Unlawful restraint in the second degree,
    • Riot in the first degree, or
    • Stalking in the second degree;
  • Not have been convicted as a delinquent for the commission of a serious juvenile offense;
  • Not have been discharged from custody within the preceding 20 years after having been found not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease or defect;
  • Not have been confined in a hospital for persons with psychiatric disabilities,
  • Not have been voluntarily admitted on or after October 1, 2013, to a hospital for persons with psychiatric disabilities within the preceding 12 months by order of a probate court;
  • Not be subject to a restraining or protective order issued by a court in a case involving the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force against another person;
  • Not be subject to a firearms seizure order issued for posing a risk of personal injury to self or others after a hearing;
  • Not be an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States; and
  • Meet federal law requirements.

*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Connecticut.

What are the Fees and Terms?

$105 for Initial Permit

$70 Permit Renewals

Valid for Five Years from Date of Issue

60 Day Processing

Where Can I Find Application Forms?

What Concealed Carry Permit Options Exist Based on Residency?

Residency Changes:

Moving to Connecticut and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply?Connecticut issues permits to residents and non-residents who hold a valid permit/license issued by a recognized United States jurisdiction, so you can apply for your permit at any time. 

Moving from Connecticut and have a Connecticut resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Connecticut permit remains valid?If a person with a Connecticut pistol permit establishes residency in another state, the permit is valid until it expires provided you notify the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit of the change of address and continue to renew your permit.

How Do I Renew My Concealed Carry Permit in Connecticut?

Renewals are the responsibility of the permittee. Ninety days prior to the expiration of your permit, the issuing authority will mail out a renewal letter to your last known address. All pistol permits may be renewed by mail or in person at DESPP Headquarters 90 days prior to expiration or up to 90 days after expiration. No permit can be renewed after the 90 day grace period following the expiration date. 



Ninety days prior to the expiration of your permit, the issuing authority will mail out a renewal letter to your last known address. All pistol permits may be renewed by mail or in person at DESPP Headquarters 90 days prior to expiration or up to 90 days after expiration.


CONFIRM the accuracy of the information on DPS-129-C or, if one wasn't received, download the form. If corrections are required, draw a single line through any incorrect information and write in the correct information. 



Present the corrected form to DESPP. Unless the Place of Birth section on the DPS-129-C states, “VERIFIED”, provide proof of being legally and lawfully in United States: U.S. Passport, Birth Certificate or Permanent Resident ID issued by I.C.E. or Naturalization Certificate. Your photograph and signature will be taken at DESPP.



Sign the corrected form in the presence of a notary prior to mailing. Using transparent tape, attach a color passport photo, taken within the previous 6 months, in the box provided. Proof of legal and lawful presence in the United States is required. Acceptable forms of proof include a birth certificate, U.S. passport, or documentation of permanent residence from the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services. Include payment. 



Upon approval, your permit will be issued.

Become a member of the USCCA today!

The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You Need

Become a member
Find a USCCA class near you!

Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your Family

Find a USCCA Class

Do Your Homework!

Make sure you understand Connecticut Gun Laws and Connecticut concealed carry reciprocity with other states.