Whether you're new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn't have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing Mississippi's concealed carry laws. Applying for a SFP or E-SFP varies by state.
Read about the process for getting a Mississippi Standard Firearm Permit or Enhanced Firearm Permit below.
COMPLETE a firearms training course.
The SFP permit does not require a training course. However, the USCCA recommends that anyone who makes the choice to carry a concealed firearm obtain as much training as possible in order to be a responsibly armed American.
E-SFP applicants must complete an eight-hour training course.
DOWNLOAD and complete the application. It must be notarized.
VISIT your local Department of Public Safety office or a Mississippi Highway Patrol substation. You will need:
Your fingerprints will be taken.
Pay the fee.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX.
You will be notified if your application has been approved within 45 days.
Yes and no.
There is no requirement for standard firearms permit applicants to complete a handgun training course. Applicants for enhanced firearms permits must complete an eight-hour course on firearms safety taught by an enhanced-permit-certified firearms instructor.
Exemptions: With proper documentation, any member or veteran of any active or reserve component branch of the U.S. armed forces, honorably retired law enforcement officer or honorably retired veteran having completed law enforcement or combat training with pistols or other handguns may be exempt from the training requirement for E-SFPs.
An applicant must:
*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Mississippi.
$112 for Initial Permit
$72 for Permit Renewals; $52 for Individuals 65 or OIder
Initial Permit Valid for Five Years, Permit Renewals Valid for Four Years
45 Day Processing Time
Moving to Mississippi and interested in applying for a resident permit? How soon can you apply?Mississippi issues standard permits to residents and non-residents, although enhanced permits are only issued to residents, so you can apply for your standard permit at any time. In order to apply for a standard resident permit, you may need to provide a Mississippi driver's license or state ID.
Moving from Mississippi and have a Mississippi resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Mississippi permit remains valid?If a person with a Mississippi firearms permit establishes residency in another state, the permit may not be valid. Contact the Firearm Permit Unit for details.
Renewals are the responsibility of the permittee. Renewal packages are mailed out 90 days before a permits expiry date. The licensee must renew his or her license on or before the expiration date by filing with the department the renewal form, a notarized affidavit stating that the licensee remains qualified. There is a late fee of $15 that can be payed for up to 6 months past the expiry date. Any permits expired for more than 6 months are marked as permanently expired and you will need to make a new application for a permit.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX.
Renewal packages are mailed out 90 days before a permits expiry date. The licensee must renew his or her license on or before the expiration date by filing with the department the renewal form, a notarized affidavit stating that the licensee remains qualified. There is a late fee of $15 that can be payed for up to 6 months past the expiry date. Any permits expired for more than 6 months are marked as permanently expired and you will need to make a new application for a permit.
DOWNLOAD the application form and complete it. The application must be notarized.
SUBMIT your application and these documents by mail or in-person:
Mail-In Renewal Address:
Firearm Permit Division
P.O. Box 958
Jackson, MS 39205
Renewals may be mailed in for the first renewal and then every other time of renewal. The applicant must appear in person every 10 years for the purpose of obtaining a new photograph at a Department of Public Safety office or High Patrol substation.
CHECK YOUR MAILBOX.
You will be notified if your application has been approved.
The USCCA has the CCW Permit Resources You NeedBecome a member
Learn the Skills You Need to Protect You & Your FamilyFind a USCCA Class