Whether you’re new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed handgun permit may seem daunting. It doesn’t have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing the laws. Applying for a CCW varies by state. Read about the process for getting a Alaska Concealed Weapons Permit below.
Similar to permit requirements, states vary greatly in their processes for how an applicant obtains a concealed handgun permit, what their permits/licenses are called, whether licenses include photographs, whether fingerprinting is required, license duration, license costs and turnaround times. Some states allow an applicant to complete an application online, while others require an in-person visit to the office of the respective issuing authority. There are even states that require the applicant to provide a list of non-related character references.
Concealed Handgun Permit Basics
Alaska is a shall-issue, permitless carry state. Shall-issue means licensing authorities in Alaska are compelled to issue a license as long as an applicant meets the basic requirements set out by state law. There is no license, background check or firearms registration required when buying a handgun from a private individual.
Open carry is legal in Alaska for any person who is legally allowed to possess a firearm. The minimum age to open carry is 16. This conflicts with federal law, which prevents anyone under 18 years of age from possessing a firearm.
Concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years of age or older who can legally possess a firearm. A permit is not required. Residents who are seeking to be exempt from background checks when purchasing additional firearms or who want to carry a firearm in other states can obtain a concealed handgun permit to use in states with which Alaska has a reciprocity agreement. Concealed handgun permits are issued by the Alaska State Police and require a firearms training course that has been state-approved. Alaska does not issue permits to non-residents. A concealed handgun permit is valid for up to five years. They expire on the applicant’s birthday. In terms of reciprocity, since Alaska has permitless carry, any person 21 years of age and older who can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm on his or her person without a license or permit.
Federally Prohibited Persons
The Federal Gun Control Act of 1968 and the Federal Omnibus Consolidated Appropriations Act of 1997 make it illegal for a person who fits into any of the prohibited categories to ship, transport, receive or possess firearms or ammunition. These laws prevent a state from issuing a concealed handgun permit/license as it would be illegal for people who fit in these categories, by federal law, to own or possess a gun.
What Are the License Requirements in Alaska?
An applicant must:
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Be eligible to own or possess a handgun under state and federal law
- Have been a resident of Alaska for the preceding 90 days
- Not have been convicted of two or more class A misdemeanors (or similar laws in another jurisdiction) within the preceding 6 years
- Not currently be in, nor in the preceding 3 years been ordered by a court to complete, an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program
- Not suffer a physical infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun
- Have successfully completed a handgun training course within the last 12 months or be an honorably retired peace officer that can provide specific documentation
- Meet federal law requirements
*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Alaska.
Do I Need Firearms Training in Alaska?
Yes, applicants must successfully complete a handgun competency course that is approved by the Alaska Department of Public Safety within the 12 months prior to the application. There are no online or correspondence courses or programs outside of Alaska that are approved.
Handgun courses must test the applicant’s:
- Knowledge of Alaska law relating to firearms and the use of deadly force
- Familiarity with the basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of handguns
- Knowledge of self-defense principles
- Physical competence with a handgun
How Do I Get a Concealed Handgun Permit in Alaska?
Step 1: Complete a firearms course within 12 months of application (except for exempt honorably retired peace officers).
Step 2: Have your fingerprints taken by an approved vendor.
Step 3: Download and complete the application form.
Step 4: Take the completed application to the State Troopers’ office with the following:
- Training course certificate
- Valid Alaska driver’s license or identification card
- A passport-style photograph taken within 30 days
- Two complete sets of fingerprints on FBI-approved fingerprint cards
- You will be notified if your application has been approved
- Pay the fee
Step 5: You will be notified within 30 days if your application has been approved or denied.
For more information, visit the USCCA Alaska gun laws page now…
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.