I can legally carry a concealed firearm in Illinois, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?
Based on our most recent research, the USCCA has identified Illinois as one of just two states with statutes against carrying a concealed firearm while wearing a mask (the other being California). However, sheriffs and county prosecutors in Illinois have made statements indicating that wearing a mask to protect others from COVID-19 while carrying a gun isn’t illegal as long as the wearer isn’t wearing the mask while committing a crime.
If you have further questions, we recommend that you reach out to your local law enforcement office, or district attorney.
Illinois is a shall-issue state, meaning that Illinois State Police must issue a concealed carry license if the applicant meets certain qualifications. However, Illinois differs from other states in that it still gives law enforcement the right to object to a concealed carry license being issued if they think the applicant is a danger to public safety or himself/herself. If the police do object, then the case is heard by the Concealed Carry Licensing Review Board, who will make the final decision as to whether or not a license is issued. The applicant is notified by mail of the Board’s decision. There is an appeal process.
Open carry of a handgun on your person or in a vehicle is illegal.
An Illinois Concealed Carry License (CCL) is required to concealed carry a firearm in Illinois. Applicants must be 21 or older. The license permits the licensee to carry a concealed loaded or unloaded handgun on his or her person or within a vehicle. A 16-hour firearms training course conducted by a state-approved instructor is required for all new concealed carry license applications. Non-resident licenses are only available for residents of Arkansas, Idaho, Mississippi, Nevada, Texas and Virginia. In terms of reciprocity, Illinois does not honor CCW licenses from any other state.
Illinois law requires residents to have a Firearm Owners Identification Card (FOID) to possess a firearm or ammunition. FOID card holders (without a CCL) can legally carry unloaded firearms that are enclosed in a case.
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, FOID card holders & CCL licensees who submit their renewal application will remain valid during the duration of the state’s disaster proclamation and for a period of 18 months following the termination of the disaster, even if their renewal application is/was not submitted prior to expiration. In addition, CCL licensees will not be required to immediately submit proof of three-hour training with their CCL renewal application but will need to submit proof of their training within 18 months following the termination of the state’s disaster proclamation in order to maintain the validity of their CCL license.
Use of Force in Defense of Person A person is justified in the use of force when and to the extent that he or she reasonably believes that such conduct is necessary to defend himself or another against such other’s imminent use of unlawful force. However, he is justified in the use of deadly force only if he reasonably believes that such force is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm to himself or another, or the commission of a forcible felony.
Use of Force in Defense of Dwelling A person is justified in the use of force when and to the extent that he or she reasonably believes that such conduct is necessary to prevent or terminate such other’s unlawful entry into or attack upon a dwelling. However, one is justified in the use of deadly force only if:
The entry is made or attempted in a violent, riotous or tumultuous manner, and he or she reasonably believes that such force is necessary to prevent an assault upon, or offer of personal violence to, one’s self or another then in the dwelling, or
He or she reasonably believes that such force is necessary to prevent the commission of a felony in the dwelling.
Use of Force in Defense of Other Property A person is justified in the use of force when and to the extent that he or she reasonably believes that such conduct is necessary to prevent or terminate such other’s trespass on or other tortious or criminal interference with either real property (other than a dwelling) or personal property, lawfully in one’s possession or in the possession of another who is a member of his or her immediate family or household or of a person whose property one has a legal duty to protect. However, a person is justified in the use of deadly force only if he or she reasonably believes that such force is necessary to prevent the commission of a forcible felony.
Liability In no case shall any act involving the justified use of force give rise to any claim or liability, unless the use of force involves willful or wanton misconduct.
No. Illinois does not recognize constitutional carry.
Open Carry Permitted?
Is open carry permitted in Illinois?
No. Open carry is not permitted in Illinois.
Gun Permit Licensure?
If Illinois requires a permit to carry a concealed firearm, how are those permits issued?
Shall issue, with discretion.
Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?
What is the minimum age in Illinois to get a concealed carry permit?
You must be at least 21 years old to carry concealed in Illinois.
Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?
Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in Illinois with a concealed carry permit (or under permitless carry if applicable)?
No. An Illinois concealed carry permit does not cover weapons other than handguns.
Tasers or Stun Guns?
Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Illinois?
Yes. Stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase with a FOID. Note: On March 21, 2019 the Illinois Supreme Court ruled that what was essentially a comprehensive ban that prohibited carrying stun guns and Tasers in public in 720 ILCS 5/24-1(a)(4) was unconstitutional. The court didn’t mention the provision in the same statute that makes it illegal to carry stun guns and Tasers on public streets or public land within city limits. It’s not clear whether that prohibition could still be enforced or would withstand a legal challenge in light of the Webb decision. However, it’s against Illinois law to have a stun gun or Taser under certain circumstances and in certain places, including:
when you intend to use the weapon unlawfully against someone else;
while you’re masked or hooded in a way to hide your identity;
in a place licensed to sell intoxicating beverages;
at any licensed public gathering where admission is charged;
Does Illinois issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?
Yes, but only residents of states or territories of the United States that have laws substantially similar to the requirements to obtain a license under the Firearm Concealed Carry Act are eligible. Currently, the only states considered to be substantially similar are Arkansas, Idaho, Mississippi, Nevada, Texas and Virginia.
Public Access to Concealed Carry Registry?
Does Illinois allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law?
No. The Illinois concealed carry registry is not publicly accessible.
Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Illinois?
Yes, anyone with an an Illinois CCL may keep or carry a loaded or unloaded concealed firearm on or about his or her person. Non-residents may transport a loaded concealed handgun in a vehicle if they are in possession of a valid CCW permit from their home state. Non-residents from states that allow for either concealed and/or open carry without a license are not required to produce a license provided they are;
Carry in State/National Parks, State/National Forests and Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)?
Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in Illinois?
Yes, only with an Illinois CCL, though not in posted buildings, IDNR State Refuge areas, IDNR Dedicated Nature Preserves or IDNR children's playground areas. See theNational Parks webpage for links to each Park in Illinois.
Carry in Bars/Restaurants That Serve Alcohol?
Can you carry a firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in Illinois?
You may not concealed carry in any building, real property or parking area under the control of an establishment that serves alcohol on its premises, if more than 50% of the establishment's gross receipts within the prior 3 months is from the sale of alcohol.
Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in Illinois?
Per the IL State Police, assuming no local ordinance applies and the hotel isn’t posted, firearms can be possessed in hotels, provided the firearm is carried into the room unloaded and enclosed in a case. The individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about it's concealed carry policy. See theHandgunsat Hotels page for additional information.
Store in a Vehicle in an Employee Parking Lot?
Does Illinois have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot?
Any licensee prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm into the parking area of a prohibited location shall be permitted to carry a concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area and may store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plain view within the vehicle in the parking area. A licensee may carry a concealed firearm in the immediate area surrounding his or her vehicle within a prohibited parking lot area only for the limited purpose of storing or retrieving a firearm within the vehicle's trunk. For purposes of this subsection, "case" includes a glove compartment or console that completely encloses the concealed firearm or ammunition, the trunk of the vehicle, or a firearm carrying box, shipping box or other container.
Anyone with an FOID card can have a firearm that is not immediately accessible or unloaded and enclosed in a case, firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other container in a vehicle.
Does Illinois have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns?
No. Although local municipalities imposed magazine limits in the past, the state now has preemption for all handgun laws and has no magazine limits.
Does Illinois have ammunition restrictions?
Yes. Armor-piercing ammunition is prohibited. "Armor piercing bullet" means any handgun bullet or handgun ammunition with projectiles or projectile cores, or fully jacketed bullets larger than 22 caliber designed and intended for use in a handgun and whose jacket has a weight of more than 25% of the total weight of the projectile, and excluding those handgun projectiles whose cores are composed of soft materials such as copper, lead or lead alloys, zinc or zinc alloys, frangible projectiles designed primarily for sporting purposes, and any other projectiles or projectile cores that the U. S. Secretary of the Treasury finds to be primarily intended to be used for sporting purposes or industrial purposes or that otherwise does not constitute "armor piercing ammunition" as that term is defined by federal law.
Note - Most Full Metal Jacket (FMJ) handgun ammunition commonly used for training is exempt based on jacket weight or core composition. Read the label for details.
Residents must obtain a Firearm Owner's Identification (FOID) card in order to buy ammunition. Even if buying ammo outside the state, residents need that FOID card and a driver's license or state-issued identification card in order to take shipment of ammunition.
Are "No Weapons Allowed" signs enforced in Illinois? If yes, violating the sign would be considered to be a crime. If no, violating the sign would not be considered a criminal offense.
Signs stating that the carrying of firearms is prohibited shall be clearly and conspicuously posted at the entrance of a building, premises or real property specified in this section as a prohibited area, unless the building or premises is a private residence. The sign shall provide persons entering the property notice that they are entering a prohibited area in which, pursuant to the act, they shall not carry a concealed firearm. Signs shall be of a uniform design as established by the Department and shall be 4" by 6" in size.
Except as otherwise provided, a licensee in violation of this Act shall be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation is a Class A misdemeanor. The department may suspend a license for up to 6 months for a second violation and shall permanently revoke a license for 3 or more violations of Section 65 of this Act. Any person convicted of a violation under this Section shall pay a $150 fee to be deposited into the Mental Health Reporting Fund, plus any applicable court costs or fees.
Does Illinois have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)?
Yes. The regulation, licensing, possession, registration, and transportation of handguns and ammunition for handguns by concealed handgun licensees are exclusive powers and functions of the State. Any ordinance or regulation, or portion thereof that purports to impose regulations or restrictions on licensees or handguns and ammunition for handguns shall be invalid in its application to licensees.
Local municipalities can regulate:
Individuals who do not possess a valid FOID card or CCL;
Firearms other than handguns; and
Matters related to the sale, purchase and storage of all firearms.
Yes. An immediate family member of a person or a law enforcement officer may file a petition prohibiting and enjoining a named person from having in his or her custody or control, purchasing, possessing, or receiving any firearms.
No. However, a person commits intimidation when, with intent to cause another to perform or to omit the performance of any act, he or she communicates to another, directly or indirectly by any means, a threat to inflict physical harm on the person threatened or any other person or on property.
Does Illinois have laws regarding carrying a firearm while using alcohol or drugs?
Not while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or combination of compounds, or any combination thereof, under the standards set forth in § 11-501(a) of the Illinois Vehicle Code.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times, or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in Illinois?
Yes. A Firearm Owners Identification Card (FOID) is required when purchasing a handgun in Illinois. However, there is an exception for transfers that occur at the place of business of a federally licensed firearm dealer, if the federally licensed firearm dealer conducts a background check on the prospective recipient of the firearm and follows all other applicable federal, State, and local laws. In addition, Cook County has a one gun purchase per month ordinance.
Background Checks for Private Gun Sales? Exceptions?
Are background checks required for private gun sales in Illinois? Are there exceptions?
If a firearm is being sold privately, then by law the seller must verify the purchaser’s FOID card and also keep a record of any sale for a period of 10 years. To verify the purchaser’s FOID card, the seller must contact the state police and receive a transfer approval number by phone call or online. All firearms sellers must abide by statutory waiting periods.
There are certain exceptions to the FOID requirement, including:
Transfers as a bona fide gift to the transferor’s husband, wife, son, daughter, stepson, stepdaughter, father, mother, stepfather, stepmother, brother, sister, nephew, niece, uncle, aunt, grandfather, grandmother, grandson, granddaughter, father-in-law, mother-in-law, son-in-law or daughter-in-law; and
Temporary transfers that occur while in the home of the unlicensed transferee, if the unlicensed transferee is not otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms and the unlicensed transferee reasonably believes that possession of the firearm is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm.
Does my current Illinois concealed carry permit exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm?
Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in Illinois?
Yes. As of January 1, 2019, the waiting period for the purchase of all guns is 72 hours. The purchaser must also have a FOID card issued by the State Police to purchase any firearm or ammunition.
Do handguns need to be registered in Illinois?
No. Illinois does not require handguns to be registered.
Minimum Age to Possess and Transport?
What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in Illinois?
18 years old.
Must have a FOID Card. A person who is under 21 years of age must have the written consent of his or her parent or legal guardian to possess and acquire firearms and firearm ammunition. This includes having your application signed by a notary public. Also, he or she must not have been convicted of a misdemeanor other than a traffic offense or adjudged delinquent. The parent or legal guardian providing written consent must be eligible to possess a valid FOID card.
Possess a handgun on my private property without a permit?
Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home without a permit?
Yes. A permit is not needed for anyone legally entitled to carry a firearm to carry a pistol, revolver, stun gun, taser or other firearm on the person’s land, or in their own home, fixed place of business, or on the land or in the legal dwelling of another person as an invitee with that person’s permission.
FOID Card Application Process Illinois residents require a Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) card to purchase or possess a firearm or ammunition in the state, (although new residents that are legally allowed to possess firearms have until 60 days from when they obtain an Illinois driver's license or state ID to obtain a FOID). A FOID card is also required to apply for an Illinois Concealed Carry License (CCL). Private firearms sellers must verify that the purchaser has a valid FOID Card and keep records of the sale for at least 10 years.
You must apply online for a FOID. If you have not used the online portal before, you will start by registering as a new user. Once that is complete, you will need the following:
An Illinois-issued Driver’s License or State ID Card. Non-residents employed as an armed security guard, law enforcement officer or a member of the U.S. Military stationed in Illinois may need to upload an Out-of-State Affidavit, Employment Requirement Certification and possibly additional documents proving employment status or military orders
A passport-sized photo of yourself taken in the last 30 days
Any necessary fees (there is a military fee exemption)
Your application will be either approved or denied within 30 days of the date on which it is received. You can check the status of your application on the FOID website. A FOID card is valid for 10 years.
Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in Illinois?
No. Under the current regulations, concealed carry permit holders are not allowed to possess any firearm, including a concealed firearm, when deer or turkey hunting unless the firearm carried is legal for taking the species being hunted.
Yes. A person commits hunter or fisherman interference when he or she intentionally or knowingly:
Obstructs or interferes with the lawful taking of wildlife or aquatic life by another person with the specific intent to prevent that lawful taking;
Drives or disturbs wildlife or aquatic life for the purpose of disrupting a lawful taking of wildlife or aquatic life;
Blocks, impedes, or physically harasses another person who is engaged in the process of lawfully taking wildlife or aquatic life;
Uses natural or artificial visual, aural, olfactory, gustatory, or physical stimuli to affect wildlife or aquatic life behavior in order to hinder or prevent the lawful taking of wildlife or aquatic life;
Erects barriers with the intent to deny ingress or egress to or from areas where the lawful taking of wildlife or aquatic life may occur;
Intentionally interjects himself or herself into the line of fire or fishing lines of a person lawfully taking wildlife or aquatic life;
Affects the physical condition or placement of personal or public property intended for use in the lawful taking of wildlife or aquatic life in order to impair the usefulness of the property or prevent the use of the property;
Enters or remains upon or over private lands without the permission of the owner or the owner's agent, with the intent to violate this subsection;
Fails to obey the order of a peace officer to desist from conduct in violation of this subsection; or
Uses a drone in a way that interferes with another person's lawful taking of wildlife or aquatic life.
Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.
States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with Illinois
Illinois offers resident and non-resident (residents of Arkansas, Idaho, Mississippi, Nevada, Texas and Virginia) permits. If indicated with “Resident only” below, that state only honors Illinois resident permits (and not those issued to non-residents).
Anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry it concealed in permitless carry states without a permit/license. The minimum age* for permitless carry is shown. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.
*PC-18 = permitless carry if at least 18 years old
*PC-21 = permitless carry if at least 21 years old
Be an Illinois resident or employed in Illinois as a security guard, law enforcement officer or by the US military;
Complete a paper application by calling (217)782-7980 or apply online;
Be at least 21 years old or 18 with written consent of a parent or legal guardian;
Not have been convicted of any Felony under the laws of this or any other jurisdiction;
Not have been adjudicated as a mental defective;
Not have been a patient in a mental institution or any part of a medical facility for the treatment of mental illness within the past 5 years;
Not be intellectually disabled or developmentally disabled;
Not have used or been addicted to any controlled substance or narcotics in violation of state or federal law within the past year;
Not be the subject of an existing Order of Protection or a No Contact/No Stalking Order;
Not have been convicted of battery, assault, aggravated assault, violation of an order of protection, or a substantially similar offense in which a firearm was used or possessed within the past 5 years;
Not have been convicted of domestic battery (felony or misdemeanor), aggravated domestic battery or a substantially similar offense;
Not have been adjudicated by a court as a mental defective or ordered by a court, board or authorized entity to in-patient or out-patient mental health treatment;
Not be an alien who is unlawfully present in the United States;
Not have failed a drug test for a drug for which you did not have a prescription within the past year;
Not have been admitted to the United States under a non-immigrant visa of the Immigration and Nationality Act;
Never have renounced my citizenship as a citizen of the United States;
Not have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;
Not be a fugitive from justice; and
Not be prohibited from acquiring or possessing firearms or firearm ammunition by any Illinois State statute or by federal law.
Illinois grants non-resident permits only to residents of states or territories of the United States that have laws related to firearm ownership, possession and carrying that are substantially similar to the requirements to Illinois. Currently, the only states considered to be substantially similar are Arkansas, Idaho, Mississippi, Nevada, Texas and Virginia. The application is the same as for residents.
Notify the Department within 30 days of moving or changing residence or any change of name and submit the appropriate fee. The Department may require a notarized statement that you have changed your residence or name, including the prior and current address or name and the date you moved or changed your name.
You must report your IL CCL lost or stolen within 10 days of discovering it has been lost or stolen. You will need to provide a notarized statement and, if applicable, a copy of the police report stating that it was stolen. There is a replacement fee.
Moving to Illinois and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply? Illinois issues licenses to residents and select non-residents as noted above. Residents are required to obtain a Firearm Owner's Identification (FOID) card in order to apply for a license. Non-residents are not required to have a FOID provided they have a valid concealed carry permit issued in their home state. Any new resident who is not otherwise prohibited from possessing or using a firearm, is not required to have a FOID card to possess firearms or firearms ammunition, until 60 calendar days after he or she obtains an Illinois driver's license or Illinois ID Card.
Moving from Illinois and have a Illinois resident permit? Does that permit transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Illinois permit remains valid? Simply mail it back to the Firearms Services Bureau at 801 S. 7th Street, Suite 400M, Springfield Illinois 62703. Include a note that you have moved out of state and are surrendering your CCL. If you are moving to a substantially similar state and wish to have an Illinois CCL, you will have to re-apply as a non-resident.
Illinois Concealed Carry Permit Application Process
How to Apply for a Illinois Concealed Carry Permit
Complete firearms training provided by an ISP-approved instructor.
Complete the online application. Go to the Illinois State Police website and get a user ID and password. The following documents are required:
A valid Illinois driver’s license or state ID
An Illinois State Police user ID and password
An electronic copy of your training certificate(s)
A valid FOID or FOID in process
An electronic head and shoulders photo taken within the previous 30 days
Provide the last 10 years of residency
Optional — An applicant is not required to submit fingerprints with the application; however, the department has an additional 30 days to review an application that does not include fingerprints. If opting to provide fingerprints, go to a fingerprint vendor and have your prints taken.
NOTE: Applicants will be assigned a transaction control number (TCN) at the time of fingerprinting and will be required to retain that TCN to complete the application. Specify to the Live Scan vendor that your fingerprint application is for the concealed carry application.
Make your payment.
Allow 90 days for processing, or 120 days if electronic fingerprints are not provided.
You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
You are eligible to renew your license if it is valid and you are within 90 days of the expiration date. A license is invalid upon expiration of the license, unless the licensee has submitted an application to renew the license, and the applicant is otherwise eligible to possess a license under this Act. A licensee is ineligible to renew their license outside of that timeframe and is required to take the 16-hour training course and submit a new application.
Complete firearms training provided by an ISP-approved instructor.
Law enforcement officers (LEOs) and Retired LEOs (RLEOs) may choose to carry under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), often referred to as HR 218. Under 18 U.S. Code §§ 926B & 926C, qualified LEOs and qualified retired LEOs, or those separated from service in good standing, can carry a concealed firearm in any jurisdiction in the United States, regardless of state or local laws, with some exceptions. For details check out our Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA) page.
520 ILCS 5/3.4b states that a current or retired law enforcement officer authorized by law to possess a concealed firearm shall be exempt from the provisions of that Code prohibiting possession of those firearms. The Illinois Law Enforcement Training Standards Board was created under 50 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 705/10. The Illinois Retired Officer Concealed Carry (IROCC) is a program of the Board and the Law Enforcement Training Advisory Commission under Illinois Public Act 094-0103. The IROCC coordinates yearly firearm qualification and issues firearm qualification cards for LEOs and retired LEOs. The process and applications can be found on the IROCC website.
Where Can I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Illinois?
Carry in bars/restaurants that serve alcohol? You may not concealed carry in any building, real property or parking area under the control of an establishment that serves alcohol on its premises, if more than 50% of the establishment's gross receipts within the prior 3 months is from the sale of alcohol.
Carry in my vehicle without a permit/license? No.
Carry in roadside rest areas? No.
Carry in state/national parks, state/national forests, and WMAs? Yes.
Carry in places of worship? There is no State statute prohibiting concealed carry in places of worship. However, since places of worship are private property, they may post signs prohibiting firearms.
Carry on public transportation? No.
Where Can't I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Illinois?
Any building, real property, and parking area (except a permittee may carry a concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area and may store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plain view within the vehicle in the parking area. A licensee may carry a concealed firearm in the immediate area surrounding his or her vehicle within a prohibited parking lot area only for the limited purpose of storing or retrieving a firearm within the vehicle's trunk) under the control of an:
Elementary school, secondary school, pre-school, child-care facility, colleges and universities and in a vehicle on any public way within 1,000 feet of the real property comprising a school;
Any stadium, arena, or the real property or parking area under the control of a stadium, arena, or any collegiate or professional sporting event;
You can own any knife you would like as long as it is not a ballistic knife or throwing star. Carry of a switchblade is legal with a FOID card. Automatic knives are in the gray area since they are activated by pressing a button, but balisong knives are legal. However, there are some areas (such as courthouses, public parks, public transportation) that are off-limits.
Here at the USCCA, it is our mission to provide responsible gun owners with the tools they need to be educated and trained. Our team is constantly working to provide you with the most up-to-date and comprehensive list of self-defense laws available for every state.
If you have any questions that you don’t see answered here — let us know! Just email firstname.lastname@example.org and we will be sure to get your question resolved. Your feedback matters to us, and we appreciate you helping to make this page the best possible resource for responsible gun owners!
Permit numbers were obtained from the Crime Prevention Resource Center’s publication entitled, “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States.” Numbers include resident and non-resident permits for those states that issue both.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
If you have any questions regarding USCCA Membership, Delta Defense, handguns laws or the lawful process of carrying concealed, please contact the award-winning Delta DefenseCustomer Engagement Team.
Uncover the Backstory Free Book
Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.
Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.
But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…
We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.