Carrying a firearm for self-defense comes with a lot of responsibility. Knowing the laws where you carry is just one important task you must undertake as an armed American. To help with that, we will be providing you with a summary of basic carry laws for several states. Learn about the most important things to know when carrying in the Old Colony State below.
Concealed Carry Permitting in Massachusetts
The open carry of non-large-capacity firearms is allowed only with a Class B license. Due to revisions to licensure, there may be Class B licenses that are still valid. However, no new Class B licenses are being issued.
Concealed carry is legal in Massachusetts for individuals who have a Massachusetts License to Carry (LTC) or a formerly issued and valid Class A LTC. LTCs are issued to residents and non-residents. The minimum age is 21 years old. LTCs require a state-approved firearms training course. Massachusetts does not honor permits from any other states.
A Firearm Identification (FID) Card or LTC is required to purchase a firearm — including private party transfers of handguns. A purchaser must be at least 21 years old to buy a handgun. Although there is no firearms registration, transfers of firearms ownership are required to be recorded with the Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security (EOPSS).
Massachusetts prohibits handgun magazines that allow more than 10 rounds. Any person with a license to carry is permitted to purchase, possess and carry all types of lawful ammunition.
Stun guns and Tasers are legal with an LTC, as long as they are in a shape that resembles a gun (not “covert” electronic weapons that resemble other objects like pens). Pepper spray can be carried without an LTC.
Where Can One Concealed Carry in Massachusetts?
Anyone with a Massachusetts LTC can carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in Massachusetts. Carry in a vehicle is not allowed without a permit, whether loaded or unloaded, unless the possessor is at his or her residence or place of business.
Locations where a concealed handgun may be carried include:
- Restaurants that serve alcohol (unless posted)
- State/national parks
- State/national forests
- Wildlife Management Areas
- Roadside rest areas
Locations where concealed carry is prohibited, even for permit holders, include:
- Elementary or secondary schools, colleges or universities
- Logan Airport security zones
- When using an off-highway vehicle such as a snowmobile
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal or state law or regulation
Visit the USCCA Massachusetts gun laws page now…